AAA Auto Insurance Review [2024]

Embark on the legacy of AAA Auto Insurance, a century-strong commitment to driver advocacy and safer roads, where renowned roadside assistance meets competitive rates and valuable membership benefits.

UPDATED: Feb 21, 2024Fact Checked

Laura Gunn

Insurance and Finance Writer

Laura Gunn is a former teacher who uses her passion for writing and learning to help others make the best decisions regarding finance and insurance. After stepping away from the classroom, Laura used her skills to write across many different industries including insurance, finance, real estate, home improvement, and healthcare.  Her experience in various industries has helped develop both her ...

Insurance and Finance Writer

Laura D. Adams

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Laura Adams is one of the nation’s leading finance, insurance, and small business authorities. As an award-winning author, spokesperson, and host of the top-rated Money Girl podcast since 2008, millions of readers and listeners benefit from her practical advice. Her mission is to empower consumers to live healthy and rich lives by planning for the future and making smart money decisions. She rec...

Insurance & Finance Analyst

UPDATED: Feb 21, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Feb 21, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 21, 2024Fact Checked
4.1
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

AAA

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$107

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Insurance rates are often among the top five cheapest auto insurance companies
  • Affordable teen auto insurance rates
  • Won’t raise your premiums as much as competitors after an at-fault accident
  • Wide variety of insurance products, including RV, boat, and offroad vehicle coverage
  • Comes with membership perks, including free roadside assistance, rental car coverage, and discounts at thousands of businesses across the country.

Cons

  • Only members can buy car insurance from AAA
  • Not all member benefits and coverage options are available in every state
  • Different subsidiaries underwrite AAA auto insurance in different states, which may result in a widely-varied customer service experience
  • Ranks low in customer satisfaction
  • More than average complaints for a large insurance company

Final Verdict: Review of AAA

The American Automobile Association (AAA) was established more than a century ago with the mission of advocating for driver and passenger rights, just laws, and safer vehicles. AAA was the first to offer roadside assistance, starting in 1915. Today, it is one of the most valuable benefits of a AAA membership.

Since that time, AAA has expanded to serve over 62 million members while offering beneficial membership benefits like its signature roadside assistance. Aside from offering a range of insurance and financial products and services, AAA has expanded its horizons to include travel-related services.

The AAA of today is made up of 30 clubs located across North America to serve its members. Keep reading to learn more about AAA auto insurance rates, coverage, and membership benefits.

AAA insurance is a membership-based option connecting clients with insurance companies. AAA auto policies are underwritten by different subsidiaries depending on where you live. So, it’s important to research which company you’re working with and to compare quotes from multiple local insurers. You must be a AAA member to buy insurance, but you’ll get numerous perks, including free roadside assistance, travel insurance, and discounts at nationwide businesses. Unfortunately, despite competitive rates, AAA customer service is below average regarding claims satisfaction. To best understand how your experience with AAA auto insurance would be, check the specific ratings of your region or club. Then, read the customer comments to get a sense of how it handles questions and claims processing, specifically for auto accidents.

What You Should Know About AAA

AAA is a private company with around 45,000 employees across the U.S. through its network of clubs and agents. It provides members with high-quality protection, service, and value through its full-service insurance agency — AAA Insurance.

AAA Insurance is a selection of insurance programs, services, and products for eligible members with the AAA brand. If you buy coverage from AAA, your policy may be underwritten by the following insurers:

As an AAA member, if you choose not to buy AAA auto insurance, a variety of A.M. Best-rated insurance providers are available through AAA for your home, car, and other insurance needs.

Member-based, exclusive discounts are also available, along with quick, nationwide claims service. Most of AAA’s partners offer qualified members discounted rates, and an AAA insurance agent can inform you of additional discounts that may result in even greater savings. Learn how much a AAA membership costs.

Is AAA car insurance good?

Financially, AAA is a strong company that you can count on to pay insurance claims. It receives an A+ from A.M. Best which determines financial strength and the ability to pay out claims to existing policyholders.

However, in terms of customer service and satisfaction, AAA is lacking. While it receives an A+ from the BBB via The Auto Club Group and has a 100% business response, it scores lower among other rating programs.

AAA Customer Service

AAA sells solid and reliable auto insurance. However, its lower overall customer satisfaction ratings tell the real story. AAA customer service for insurance is not the highest compared to other insurance companies.

The J.D. Power U.S. Auto Insurance Study rates insurance providers and gives a score based on a 1,000-point scale. Because AAA auto insurance is delivered to its customers regionally through different clubs, it receives several different ratings.

Find AAA customer service scores for your region below:

  • Texas. AAA (Automobile Club of Southern California) received a score of 835, lower than the region’s average of 844.
  • Southwest. AAA (CSAA Insurance Group) received a score of 798, far below other major insurance companies and the regional average of 827.
  • North Central. AAA (Automobile Club Group) received a score of 810, below the average of 838.
  • Mid-Atlantic. AAA (CSAA Insurance Group) received a score of 832, slightly below the regional average of 839.
  • Florida. AAA (Automobile Club Group) received a score of 849, above the regional average of 832.
  • Central. AAA (Automobile Club of Southern California) received a score of 838, a little higher than the region’s average of 835.
  • California. AAA (CSAA Insurance Group) received a score of 814, while AAA (Automobile Club of Southern California) received a score of 844. The region’s average was 820, making its combined score above average.

Overall, AAA comes slightly below average when you combine their regional scores. Read more about how the AAA auto insurance experience might go with our Auto Club Insurance Review. Find out if AAA is the same as Auto Club.

AAA Complaint Level

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) assigns a score to insurance companies based on the level and frequency of complaints, adjusted for company size. A score of 1.0 is average, and anything higher than this indicates more complaints filed.

AAA has a very high complaint level of 3.82, considering many large insurance companies have lower-than-average scores.

AAA Claims Handling

Where you live may influence how satisfied you are with your claims based on which subsidiary insurance company underwriters your policy.

For example, Automobile Club of Southern California had higher-than-average claims satisfaction, while Automobile Club Group and CSAA Insurance Group had lower-than-average claims satisfaction.

To improve your experience when filing a claim, ensure you know all the details of your coverage between the auto insurance and roadside features. Some benefits may be limited depending on your policy and the location where you require service.

AAA Insurance Coverage Options

As one of the largest national insurers by market share, AAA provides all of the standard auto insurance coverages that the competition does, including the legally required minimums and more.

The standard insurance AAA offers includes:

  • Bodily and property injury liability insurance. Covers costs for injuries, fatalities, or property damage caused by your negligence in an at-fault accident. Required by 48 states to legally drive.
  • Comprehensive auto insurance. Covers damages as a result of events beyond your control, such as weather, hitting an animal while driving, theft, fire, and vandalism.
  • Collision auto insurance. Covers repair costs for your vehicle after an accident or collision, regardless of who is at fault. Required when you’re financing or leasing a vehicle.
  • Underinsured drivers/uninsured drivers (UM/UIM). Covers your injuries and property damage following a collision with a driver who has little or no insurance. Required in some no-fault insurance states.
  • Personal injury protection insurance (PIP). Covers injuries and medical costs after an accident, including lost wages and other household costs while you recover. Often required in no-fault states.
  • Medical payments coverage (MedPay). Covers injuries, doctor visits, hospital stays, surgery, X-rays, and other medical expenses after an accident.

Liability insurance is also the legal minimum required in most states and adequate for older vehicles that may not be worth investing in repairs. However, we recommend full coverage if your car is too valuable or would be hard to replace with just your savings.

To put things in perspective, carrying liability-only insurance can mean the equivalent of paying one-third of full coverage auto insurance in terms of price. Still, you have much less coverage and will have to pay out of pocket for damages to your own vehicle if you’re at fault.

Full coverage auto insurance combines liability-only, collision, and comprehensive coverage to guarantee that you’re protected no matter what happens on the road. If you live in a no-fault insurance state, full coverage will often include a combination of UM/UIM, PIP, and MedPay.

AAA Auto Insurance Extra Coverage Options

On top of the standard minimum and full coverage policies listed above, AAA offers additional options you can use to supplement your policy:

  • Enhanced total loss replacement. After a collision, if your car is a total loss, AAA will pay to replace it with a brand-new vehicle.
  • Gap insurance coverage. This covers the difference between what you owe on a loan or lease and the vehicle’s actual cash value in the event of a total loss.
  • Enhanced exterior OEM coverage. AAA will purchase original exterior parts from the manufacturer for repairs Instead of using aftermarket components. Coverage excludes mechanical components and window glass.
  • Rideshare endorsement. Extends your personal auto policy to cover yourself, your vehicle, and your passengers when you drive for a transportation network company (TNC) like Uber or Lyft. Not available in every state.

Expect your monthly rates to increase if you add any of these coverages to your policy — for example, rideshare insurance costs between 15%-20% of your annual rates.

What other benefits does AAA auto insurance offer?

AAA offers the following options, which you may qualify for depending on your specific auto insurance plan:

  • Small-claim forgiveness. Available on all plans, a small claim— under $250 if you are at fault or under $750 for all other claims — won’t increase your rates.
  • Claim forgiveness loyalty. Your rates won’t rise after an accident if you remain claim-free for five years.
  • Claim forgiveness ultimate. A component of that Ultimate Plan that gives you an additional chance for claim forgiveness right away.
  • Claim-free rewards. For going the entire policy term without filing a claim, you’ll receive cash back or a renewal credit worth 3% up to $50.
  • Disappearing deductible. For each policy term you go without filing a claim, the comprehensive and collision deductibles on each vehicle are reduced by $50, up to $500.

These are just some of the extra coverages AAA Insurance offers to policyholders. AAA also sells home, renters, condo, business, boat, and life insurance where available.

It’s a good idea to remember this when considering your total insurance needs. For example, if you have an RV, it might make sense to get a AAA membership to save on auto and RV insurance. Speak with an agent to see what kind of benefits are available in your state.

Where is AAA auto insurance available?

AAA Auto insurance is available in all 50 states, but the underwriter will vary based on your region and ZIP code. For example, Auto Club Indemnity underwrites AAA policies in Texas, while Auto Club of Southern California underwrites policies in California, Kentucky, Maine, and more.

However, even if AAA is in your state, you may not have a AAA club in your city, and you will not be able to buy AAA car insurance.

AAA Auto Insurance: The Bottom Line

AAA insurance is a membership-based option connecting clients with insurance companies. AAA auto policies are underwritten by different subsidiaries depending on where you live. So, it’s important to research which company you’re working with and to compare quotes from multiple local insurers.

You must be a AAA member to buy insurance, but you’ll get numerous perks, including free roadside assistance, travel insurance, and discounts at nationwide businesses.

Unfortunately, despite competitive rates, AAA customer service is below average regarding claims satisfaction. To best understand how your experience with AAA auto insurance would be, check the specific ratings of your region or club. Then, read the customer comments to get a sense of how it handles questions and claims processing, specifically for auto accidents.

To see how AAA auto insurance compares to companies in your area, use our free comparison tool below. We’ll give you quotes from local insurers so you can find the best car insurance near you.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

AAA Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileAAANational Average
Clean Record$86$119
1+ Ticket$108$147
1+ Accident$133$173
DUI$148$209
Poor Credit$148$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver


If you want to buy auto insurance through AAA, you must become a member first.

AAA membership costs vary by where you live and the membership package you choose. Benefits increase with your membership level, which also increases your annual costs.

Compare AAA membership fees below:

  • AAA Classic costs $70/year.
  • AAA Plus costs $106/year.
  • AAA Premier costs $131/ year.

Once you’re a member, you will purchase the actual auto insurance through one of the many regional AAA Auto Clubs. AAA car insurance underwriters and coverage options vary by state, so compare multiple quotes from companies near you to see what’s available.

It’s important to remember that online quotes only serve as generalizations and that your actual costs may vary. The best way to figure out how much it will cost you is to get a precise, personalized auto insurance quote. Learn more about where to find the best auto insurance rates.

AAA Auto Insurance Rates by State

Numerous elements frequently impact insurance costs, and AAA will use the following to determine your monthly rates:

  • Age
  • Driving record, including any tickets
  • Personal consumer credit rating
  • History of claims
  • Gender
  • ZIP code
  • Annual mileage
  • Marital status
  • Type of vehicle insured

Not all states allow insurance companies to use gender or credit score when determining rates. Your state insurance laws also determine how much coverage you must carry, which will impact your rates.

Compare AAA minimum auto insurance vs. full coverage rates below.

How much is AAA minimum coverage car insurance?

A liability-only or minimum car insurance policy gives you the protection necessary to be able to drive legally, even though each state has different minimum coverage requirements.

Liability-only insurance is available from AAA at reasonable prices. To get an idea of how much the minimum auto insurance coverage recommended by AAA might cost you, see the table below:

Average Monthly Minimum Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum
Coverage Rates
Allstate$50
American Family$48
Farmers$56
Geico$24
Liberty Mutual$64
Nationwide$49
Progressive$40
State Farm$34
Travelers$39
Average$45

AAA’s average minimum coverage rates are quite cheap, coming in at $38 monthly for 30-year-old drivers.

Minimum insurance is less expensive than a full coverage policy because it doesn’t cover your car or medical costs. Therefore, we advise full coverage, including collision and comprehensive, unless your car is old or has lost value.

How much is an AAA full coverage car insurance policy?

A full coverage policy that includes liability, collision, and comprehensive coverages offers the best protection for you and your vehicle overall. Full coverage insurance is more expensive than minimum coverage, but it provides more security.

AAA car insurance rates for full coverage are cheaper than average but still more expensive than some of its competitors:

Average Monthly Full Coverage Rates for the Top 10 Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$166
American Family$116
Farmers$140
Geico$82
Liberty Mutual$177
Nationwide$120
Progressive$109
State Farm$91
Travelers$107
USAA$63
Average$123

A 30-year-old driver can expect to pay around $92 monthly for a full coverage AAA auto insurance policy. State Farm monthly rates are around the same price, but Geico is the cheapest overall for full coverage.

Drivers may choose not to carry full coverage if their car is old or has a low value, and AAA provides a variety of extra insurance plans to meet the needs of almost every driver.

AAA Auto Insurance Rates by Age

The price for a AAA full coverage auto insurance policy becomes much less expensive throughout the middle-aged driver demographic, as it does with most major national insurance companies.

Teens and young drivers under 25 pay the most for car insurance, but AAA offers teen insurance rates at $200 less than the national average. If you’re a young driver or plan on adding a teen to your insurance policy, compare AAA auto insurance rates by age below.

AAA Auto Insurance Rates for Teen Drivers

Due to their lack of experience and predisposition for distracted driving, insurance companies view teen drivers as high-risk. Male teenagers pay the highest rates, but as soon as they reach their early 20s, rates begin to decline.

See the table below to see how much the top insurers typically charge teen drivers:

Average Monthly Full Coverage Teenage Auto Insurance Rates by Gender
Insurance Company16-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record16-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record18-Year-Old Male with a Clean Record18-Year-Old Female with a Clean Record
Allstate$637.83$608.25$518.58$448.42
American Family$480.08$390.17$390.33$287.67
Farmers$741.75$777.50$603.17$573.25
Geico$311.92$297.75$253.58$219.58
Liberty Mutual$778.25$716$632.75$527.92
Nationwide$476.17$410.50$387.17$302.67
Progressive$813.83$801.42$661.75$590.83
State Farm$349.25$310.83$284$229.17
Travelers$896.83$708.83$729.17$522.58
National Average$609.58$557.92$495.58$411.33

Teen drivers fare much better with AAA than other companies, with an average rate of around $450/month. It’s still a lot of money, so see if you can add a teen driver to an existing policy at a reduced cost.

AAA Auto Insurance Rates for Young Adult Drivers

Drivers in their early twenties continue to pay higher rates than other age groups. The good news is your rates will drop as you approach 25 if you maintain a spotless driving record and don’t report any accidents.

This table compares young adult insurance rates from AAA and other national insurers:

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Age and by Company
Companies25-Year-Old Female25-Year-Old Male17-Year-Old Female17-Year-Old Male
Allstate$219.51$220.97$678.65$733.87
Farmers$172.13$179.75$810.38$773.12
Geico$108.35$111.96$259.76$385.52
Liberty Mutual$279.38$296.29$544.95$882.56
Nationwide$170.12$216.52$304.87$452.46
Progressive$192.71$187.71$527.40$587.72
State Farm$181.32$192.87$497.40$641.39
Travelers$247.44$255.98$558.84$664.92
USAA$162.66$179.06$520.49$617.89

Young adult drivers pay about $350 per month for AAA full coverage, which is close to 50% less than Travelers auto insurance for drivers their age and 25% less than the national average.

AAA Auto Insurance Rates for Adult Drivers

Since they have extra driving experience and are involved in fewer accidents than teens and young adults, adult drivers in their 30s and 40s typically pay lower rates.

Vehicle insurance quotes are generally similar and do not differ significantly between people in their 30s to mid-50s. As a result, if you ever need to file a claim, choosing the right auto insurance company for lifetime needs depends heavily on customer service and claims satisfaction.

AAA Auto Insurance Rates for Senior Drivers

Insurance providers view motorists in their 60s as higher risk due to age-related issues like slower reflexes, vision loss, or other health issues. Due to these issues, they are more likely to have a collision, which increases the cost of their auto insurance by necessitating a payout to their insurance company.

Use this table to compare senior auto insurance rates across companies:

Average Monthly Full Coverage Senior Auto Insurance Rates by Gender
Insurance Company60-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record60-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record65-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record65-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record
Allstate$153.92$149.75$156.50$158.33
American Family$99.17$97.92$107.58$106.33
Farmers$122.83$115.25$130.08$130.67
Geico$74.33$72.67$78.42$78.17
Liberty Mutual$157.50$146.50$168.50$165.92
Nationwide$104.42$99.08$112.25$110.58
Progressive$95.25$92.08$102.83$109.33
State Farm$76$76$84.17$84.17
Travelers$88.75$87.67$95.42$94.17
National Average$108$104.08$115.08$115.25

Senior drivers insured with AAA auto can anticipate paying about $84 monthly for full coverage car insurance and $32 for liability-only. These rates will rise as drivers enter their 70s and 80s.

Senior Defensive Driving Discount is, however, available to senior drivers. RoadWise from AAA is senior defensive driving program that improves driving habits by helping seniors adapt to the age-related physical changes that impact their driving.

The driver improvement courses provided by AAA can be taken in person, online, or both ways.

AAA Auto Insurance Rates by Driver History

Along with your age and ZIP code, driver history will have the biggest impact on your rates. Insurance companies use your driving record to assess your level of risk, as high-risk drivers are more likely to file claims.

Things like speeding tickets, auto accidents, DUI/DWI charges, and other moving violations will increase your risk as a driver. Fortunately, AAA offers affordable auto insurance for high-risk drivers, especially those with DUIs.

Compare AAA car insurance rates by driving history below to see how much your rates go up after a speeding ticket, accident, or DUI.

AAA Auto Insurance Rates After a Speeding Ticket

Receiving a moving violation shows insurance companies that you drive dangerously, so your auto insurance rates will increase. Because your insurance company verifies your driving history at each policy renewal, you’ll recognize higher rates if you renew with a traffic violation, especially speeding or reckless driving.

But this is another area where AAA shines. Drivers with AAA may pay around 25% more monthly than a driver with a clean record, yet 40% less than the national average for a driver with a ticket.

See how AAA compares to other insurance companies after a speeding ticket:

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates with One Speeding Ticket
CompanyAverage Rates with Clean RecordAverage Rates with 1 Speeding Violation
Allstate$318.33$373.63
American Family$224.47$252.15
Farmers$288.38$339.92
Geico$178.83$220.45
Liberty Mutual$397.86$475.11
Nationwide$228.85$259.47
Progressive$282.76$333.52
State Farm$235.10$265.50
Travelers$287.31$355.07
USAA$161.14$182.77

Only Geico and State Farm offer lower auto insurance rates after a ticket than AAA.

AAA Auto Insurance Rates After an Auto Accident

AAA drivers can expect to pay about 20% less than the national average after an accident, though rates will almost certainly increase.

This table shows how much rates increase after an auto accident compared to a clean record:

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with One Accident
CompanyAverage Rates with Clean RecordAverage Rates with 1 Accident
Allstate$318.33$415.64
American Family$224.47$310.23
Farmers$288.38$376.56
Geico$178.83$266.06
Liberty Mutual$397.86$517.07
Nationwide$228.85$283.08
Progressive$282.76$398.09
State Farm$235.10$283
Travelers$287.31$357.48
USAA$161.14$209.69

AAA policyholders pay around $50 more per month after an accident. Geico, State Farm, Nationwide, and Travelers tend to offer lower prices to this demographic, but AAA is still competitive.

AAA Auto Insurance Rates After a DUI

Because insurance companies take DUI offenses seriously, you can anticipate paying much higher auto insurance rates if you renew with a DUI on your record.

Compare AAA car insurance rates after a DUI to other top companies:

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates with One DUI
CompanyAverage Monthly Rates with Clean RecordAverage Monthly Rates with 1 DUI
Allstate$318.33$521.73
American Family$224.47$360.85
Farmers$288.38$393.23
Geico$178.83$406.32
Liberty Mutual$397.86$634.46
Nationwide$228.85$378.60
Progressive$282.76$330.80
State Farm$235.10$303.07
Travelers$287.31$478.45
USAA$161.14$292.17

A 45-year-old with a DUI can expect to pay around $150/month, or almost 20% less than the national average for minimum liability auto coverage.

As an alternative, State Farm DUI rates are $112, almost 50% cheaper than the U.S. average. Progressive also offers cheaper rates at $140.

However, AAA is cheaper than Geico, Nationwide, and most other top insurers in the country and is consistently one of the least expensive options for DUI auto insurance.

AAA Discounts Available

DiscountAAA Auto Insurance
Anti Theft12%
Good Student18%
Low Mileage8%
Paperless6%
Safe Driver22%
Senior Driver11%

Membership benefits and auto insurance discounts are the biggest perks of being an AAA member.

AAA offers policyholders the following participatory, household/driver, and vehicle discounts. Eligibility and availability will vary by state.

AAA Participatory Discounts

Participation discounts are based on your lifestyle as a driver and how you choose to buy car insurance, whether it’s online or through an agent.

These are the participatory discounts you might be eligible for from AAA:

  • AAA membership discounts. This discount honors your loyalty to AAA by rewarding you for your length of membership.
  • Paperless. Save money by receiving your documents electronically (a condition of the AAA Essential plan).
  • Advanced purchase policy. When you buy your policy a predetermined number of days before coverage starts, you can be eligible for a discount.
  • Pay in full, upfront. Pay the entire premium within seven days of the policy’s start date to receive a discount.
  • Auto-pay electronic funds transfer discount. Enroll in an automatic payment (EFT) plan when starting a new policy or renewing an existing one.
  • AAA safety inspection. This discount is given to authorized automobiles that have successfully passed a AAA Safety Inspection.
  • Defensive driver. Receive a discount on your insurance premium when you successfully complete an approved defensive driving course.
  • Good student. Students who maintain a B (3.0 GPA) or better grade point average earn a discount.
  • Student away from home. Students living at least 100 miles away from home without a vehicle earn a discount.
  • Teen driver training. Teens can save between 4%-5% on auto insurance by taking a AAA-approved driver training course.
  • Occupation discount. Based on your attained education and occupation.

AAA also offers a usage-based insurance (UBI) program — AAADrive — that uses telematics to track your driving habits with your smartphone and improve your driving skills. Safe drivers receive a discount at their policy renewal.

Usage-based insurance isn’t available in every state, and AAA requires drivers to track at least 1,000 miles annually or a total of 25 trips to earn the AAADrive discount. Compare AAA to other auto insurance companies for people who don’t drive often to see if UBI works for you.

AAA Household and Driver Discounts

These discounts are based on your policy, including the number of drivers and vehicles you insure:

  • Multi-vehicle. Save when you insure more than one vehicle with AAA.
  • New young motorist. Earn a discount when you add a driver under 20 to an existing policy.
  • Continuity discount. AAA rewards a discount to drivers when they switch to AAA and have no lapse in coverage while insured with their prior carrier.
  • Multi-product (bundle discount). Buy home, condo, renters, or life insurance from AAA to bundle with your auto insurance policy.

AAA Vehicle Discounts

AAA also offers insurance discounts unique to the kind of vehicle you insure.

Consider the type of car you have to the discounts you can earn below:

  • Vehicle safety. Autos with specific factory-installed safety features earn an additional discount.
  • Anti-theft discount. Install GPS trackers or other anti-theft devices to get this discount.
  • New vehicle. Customers are rewarded with a lower new vehicle premium.

Although AAA offers some of the lowest rates, the company also offers many discounts to give policyholders even more chances to save money on car insurance.

Your policy, vehicle, and personal traits are just a few variables that affect your discount eligibility. To learn about the discounts you qualify for, speak with a sales representative from AAA Insurance.

How else can you save on AAA auto insurance rates?

Even though AAA currently offers rates that are lower than the industry average, there are other ways to lower your insurance costs, and there are ways for policyholders to get additional discounts to help their bottom line.

Even though many things like your age or the state you live in are outside of your control, there are still some general factors you can control to lower your auto insurance rates:

  • Raise the deductible. The higher your deductible, which is the amount you must pay out of pocket before insurance coverage kicks in, the cheaper your car insurance will be. However, don’t increase it to more than you can afford to pay out of pocket.
  • Get a car with lower insurance and driving costs. Consider purchasing a low-value or easily repairable vehicle if you want to save money on your AAA auto insurance because insurers typically charge less for these types of vehicles.
  • Practice safe driving habits. Your auto insurance provider will pay attention if you drive defensively, don’t get into accidents, and don’t get any tickets and reward you with lower rates.
  • Drop unnecessary coverage. If your older car has depreciated to the point where you no longer require collision and comprehensive insurance, you may choose to carry liability-only insurance.
  • Compare insurance quotes online. Your chance of saving money is always increased by comparison shopping. List all the major auto insurance companies discounts, then use that information to your advantage when you call an agent.

Make sure any insurance agent or company representative knows you’re shopping around for coverage. This can encourage them to offer you a better deal, as you might become a lifelong customer.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is AAA auto insurance available in all 50 states?

Yes, AAA auto insurance is available in all 50 states. However, the underwriter may vary based on your region and ZIP code. It’s important to research which company underwrites AAA policies in your area and compare quotes from multiple local insurers.

What does AAA auto insurance cover?

AAA provides standard auto insurance coverages, including liability insurance, which is the legal minimum required in most states. Additionally, AAA offers full coverage, combining liability, collision, and comprehensive coverage

How does AAA customer service and satisfaction compare to other insurance companies?

While AAA is financially strong and receives an A+ from A.M. Best, its customer service ratings are slightly below average. According to the J.D. Power U.S. Auto Insurance Study, AAA comes slightly below average when regional scores are combined.

What discounts does AAA offer on auto insurance?

AAA provides various discounts for its auto insurance policyholders. These include participatory discounts based on lifestyle and how you choose to buy insurance, household and driver discounts, and vehicle discounts.

How does AAA auto insurance rates vary by age and driving history?

AAA auto insurance rates vary based on factors such as age and driving history. Generally, rates become less expensive for middle-aged drivers, with teens and young adults paying higher premiums. Rates may also be impacted by factors like speeding tickets, accidents, or DUI offenses.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Laura Gunn

Insurance and Finance Writer

Laura Gunn is a former teacher who uses her passion for writing and learning to help others make the best decisions regarding finance and insurance. After stepping away from the classroom, Laura used her skills to write across many different industries including insurance, finance, real estate, home improvement, and healthcare.  Her experience in various industries has helped develop both her ...

Insurance and Finance Writer

Laura D. Adams

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Laura Adams is one of the nation’s leading finance, insurance, and small business authorities. As an award-winning author, spokesperson, and host of the top-rated Money Girl podcast since 2008, millions of readers and listeners benefit from her practical advice. Her mission is to empower consumers to live healthy and rich lives by planning for the future and making smart money decisions. She rec...

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for AAA

4.12 (2,934 reviews)
0.5
October 13, 2023

Sally Ayres

AAA review

I just had an appalling experience trying to cancel my Mom\'s AAA insurance after she developed dementia and stopped driving. They threw up every barrier to what should have been a simple process, and even refused to accept my Power of Attorney documents electronically. The representative was extremely rude and copped an attitude. I think they refuse to close accounts so they can keep fraudulently charging non-driving seniors. This is a crooked ...
I just had an appalling experience trying to cancel my Mom\'s AAA insurance after she developed dementia and stopped driving. They threw up every barrier to what should have been a simple process, and even refused to accept my Power of Attorney documents electronically. The representative was extremely rude and copped an attitude. I think they refuse to close accounts so they can keep fraudulently charging non-driving seniors. This is a crooked company, and nobody should do business with them.
1
October 12, 2023

sally_a

Crooks

I just had an appalling experience trying to cancel my Mom's AAA insurance after she developed dementia and stopped driving. They threw up every barrier to what should have been a simple process, and even refused to accept my Power of Attorney documents electronically. The representative was extremely rude and copped an attitude. I think they refuse to close accounts so they can keep fraudulently charging non-driving seniors. This is a crooked c...
I just had an appalling experience trying to cancel my Mom's AAA insurance after she developed dementia and stopped driving. They threw up every barrier to what should have been a simple process, and even refused to accept my Power of Attorney documents electronically. The representative was extremely rude and copped an attitude. I think they refuse to close accounts so they can keep fraudulently charging non-driving seniors. This is a crooked company, and nobody should do business with them.
1
September 19, 2023

Teezee

Don’t buy triple AAA

I have Tripple aaa till this day 2023 been a member for the pass 8 years I was never involved into a accident till recently and I can finally say Tripple AAA is horrible they won’t take care of you doesnt not make you feel part of the team the only thing they are good at is taking our money dont go with triple AAA ROADSIDE is also horrible unless u don’t mind waiting 2 hours for help still have open claims they have no idea how to settle
1
July 5, 2023

Tia_15

DON'T CALL AAA IF THE CRASH ISN'T YOUR FAULT!!!!!!!

Just changed over to AAA Texas from AAA California/Nevada/Utah in May 2023. Received our new policies (Auto, RV, & Renters) in the mail, postmarked 6/22/23. We had already had the insurance in Texas for 2 months/2 payments. On the very same day we received a "Notice of Cancellation & Termination of Insurance", postmarked 6/23/23! This notice stated that my husband "does not meet our acceptability guidelines for coverage". Their reason? "He's had...
Just changed over to AAA Texas from AAA California/Nevada/Utah in May 2023. Received our new policies (Auto, RV, & Renters) in the mail, postmarked 6/22/23. We had already had the insurance in Texas for 2 months/2 payments. On the very same day we received a "Notice of Cancellation & Termination of Insurance", postmarked 6/23/23! This notice stated that my husband "does not meet our acceptability guidelines for coverage". Their reason? "He's had too many claims". NO HE HASN'T!!!! He has had exactly ONE claim in the entire time we've been with them. He sideswiped a gate with our travel trailer & damaged the trailer; zero damage to the truck. There were two other incidents that were the fault of the other drivers. Incident # 1 was a drunk driver in a motorhome crashed into our parked truck in 2021. We weren't even in the truck. It was witnessed, photographed, he was caught, I got a police report, & the guy's insurance information. Incident #2 was a guy who sideswiped me as I was driving. He stopped, I got a photo of his car & plate, and then he drove off without giving me any information. It was all on traffic cameras, so the cops found him, got his insurance information, impounded his car, & cited him for hit & run. Again, I provided all of this information & police report to AAA. THAT was where I went wrong, apparently. I found out from my AAA representative, Kimesha that since no one was in the truck when it was hit by the motorhome drunk, they put my husband down as the "claimant", even though he had nothing to do with it. So that meant that he had two claims in his name within 3 years. Here's what else she educated me on..... even though the back of your insurance card says in Step 4 "Call our AAA Accident Assist Hotline at 1-800-67-CLAIM to report the accident and, if necessary, have your vehicle towed to the repair shop or location of your preference" ... DON'T DO IT!!! ANY time you call and speak to a AAA representative to ask ANY questions about anything to do with your policy they WILL start a claim on your policy. You want to ask about your deductible... LOOK IT UP YOURSELF!!! Just asking that instigates a claim, apparently! Also, if the incident was not your fault DO NOT CALL AAA TO REPORT IT! DO NOT GIVE THE OTHER DRIVER'S INSURANCE INFORMATION TO AAA, thinking they will "deal with it". (Like insurance companies used to do) They won't "waste resources" dealing with it anymore. It costs less for them to just pay for the repairs themselves, than to hire people to chase down other insurance companies & adjusters! Too many phone calls, or too many "claims" (even when YOU do all the footwork getting insurance info, police reports, photos, etc.) and they WILL ABSOLUTELY CANCEL YOU. We never made a late payment, we never called to ask questions we could find the answers to online, we did EXACTLY what our AAA insurance card says to do. And we got cancelled because of two incidents that were NOT our fault, and one that was our fault within 3 years. This is a disgusting, misleading, sleazy way to do business. Also, my cancellation notice says I have coverage until 12:01 a.m. on July 8, which is day 59 of their 60 day window to terminate our insurance . Today (July 5, 2023) I tried to go online to my account to remove my automatic payment information & cancel my Renter's Insurance policy. I am locked out already, 3 days before my cancellation, so I can't remove my payment information from the website. Anyone want to take bets against them trying to put an automatic payment through? If I could give them a -10 rating, I would. DON'T USE AAA!!!!! And DON'T do Step 4 on the back of your insurance card if the crash isn't your fault! They will count it against you, even after they WAIVED THE DEDUCTIBLE because "you didn't cause the accident".
1
September 12, 2022

cordarei

inefficient claims

I am dealing with a claim right now. Good luck getting one on the phone. I've only lucked out of reaching a live person 2 out of every 10 calls made, and they NEVER return your call back. I'm sitting on a claim for almost 30 days because they can't reach their insured. They sent a person out to the insured's house and the claim agent doesn't have a status of that. I was told that it will be 2 days before they can get in touch with the person who ...
I am dealing with a claim right now. Good luck getting one on the phone. I've only lucked out of reaching a live person 2 out of every 10 calls made, and they NEVER return your call back. I'm sitting on a claim for almost 30 days because they can't reach their insured. They sent a person out to the insured's house and the claim agent doesn't have a status of that. I was told that it will be 2 days before they can get in touch with the person who went to the insured driver's house. How hard should it be to pick up a phone and call the person who went out? They can't get in touch with their insured driver, and they can't tell me what the protocol is if they are unable to get in touch. Their claim adjusters are highly inefficient.
1
February 28, 2022

tom_pop

Breach of Trust -- Raises Premium Without Notifying Consumer

AAA increased my annual premium by $319 a year after just one month on the plan -- and without giving me any notice. I only happened to catch it because I saw the cost of my next bill was significantly higher. I feel like AAA has a pretty stellar reputation, so I was shocked when this happened. When I cancelled my policy, I was hit with a huge fee as well, but I was so discouraged by this customer service experience that I just wanted out -- even...
AAA increased my annual premium by $319 a year after just one month on the plan -- and without giving me any notice. I only happened to catch it because I saw the cost of my next bill was significantly higher. I feel like AAA has a pretty stellar reputation, so I was shocked when this happened. When I cancelled my policy, I was hit with a huge fee as well, but I was so discouraged by this customer service experience that I just wanted out -- even if other insurers are going to charge me similar rates.
5
July 25, 2021

CCADE

Excellent, Fast Professional & Friendly Service

Locked Out Of Car. [REDACTED NAME] Did A Excellent & Professional Job! & AAA Service Was Exactly Worth My Premier Membership For Our Family. We R Very Grateful For His Service. On Such A Hot Day He Gave Service With A Smile👏Thank U [REDACTED NAME] For Being Such A Dedicated Young Man To Your Job. We Will Tell Others About AAA! & 👌EXCELLENT SERVICE.
1
April 2, 2021

vintagemx465

Home Owners Insurance

I have been a AAA member for over 27 years (one way or another). I received a letter saying they no longer could insure my home because the dangers of my house location. I called and asked what Dangers and they could not answer after several attempts (intimidation)? I later received another letter stating I had to have a video review of my home (invasion of privacy). After the video, was contacted by phone stating they wanted to see permits (hara...
I have been a AAA member for over 27 years (one way or another). I received a letter saying they no longer could insure my home because the dangers of my house location. I called and asked what Dangers and they could not answer after several attempts (intimidation)? I later received another letter stating I had to have a video review of my home (invasion of privacy). After the video, was contacted by phone stating they wanted to see permits (harassment). In that same phone conversation, I told the person that I wanted to see the renewal amount and then we could talk. I received my renewal and AAA gave me a 40% increase on my policy. Bottom line is after the intimidation, invasion of privacy and the harassment, I will not renew my homeowners, auto and Roadside Service with this terrible company... Just check the reviews on AAA's reputations on paying claims (or lack of). They like "Kicking the Can Down the Road" (a claim), but really kick the policy owners to the curb.
1
January 24, 2021

Always_Cold

Good customer service

I made my call about 10 am or so today (Sunday 1/24/2021). I was assisted by a AAA member, and I let her know that my mother's car has a dead battery and for them to come and take a look at it. My mother is also a AAA member. The AAA battery was purchased on 2/7/2020 (it is less than a year old) by me on her behalf, and I have told her to limit going out since she is immunocompromised. A Deerfield (company that is contracted by AAA) gentleman [RE...
I made my call about 10 am or so today (Sunday 1/24/2021). I was assisted by a AAA member, and I let her know that my mother's car has a dead battery and for them to come and take a look at it. My mother is also a AAA member. The AAA battery was purchased on 2/7/2020 (it is less than a year old) by me on her behalf, and I have told her to limit going out since she is immunocompromised. A Deerfield (company that is contracted by AAA) gentleman [REDACTED NAME] came out and asked me how long the car has been sitting there. I told him about 2 weeks. He flat out refused to replace my battery which is under a 6-year warranty after showing me that it is a bad battery (after he hooked it to his machine; it said BAD battery in RED). I talked to [REDACTED NAME], a AAA customer service employee, who was wonderful and assisted me (on behalf of my mother) in every way while [REDACTED NAME] was rude to [REDACTED NAME] and me. [REDACTED NAME] called his supervisor [REDACTED NAME] who was also rude to me and [REDACTED NAME]. [REDACTED NAME], the Deerfield supervisor, told me and my mother to drive around and if the car goes dead again, to call AAA back. How ethical is it of Deerfield to let my elderly mother drive around on a bad battery waiting for it to fail while putting her in an unsafe position (should she get stalled in a bad place; and what if I was not there to help her since I'm a healthcare worker and can't just leave)? This is just begging for bad things to happen. [REDACTED NAME] connected me with the Resolutions Dept; I talked to [REDACTED NAME] in the Resolutions Dept and [REDACTED NAME] apologized and said he would send someone out to replace the battery since he himself agreed that the battery was under warranty. In about 45 mins or so I got a call from Auto-to-go who said they will NOT replace my mother's battery. So, I called AAA AGAIN. I spoke to [REDACTED NAME] in the Resolutions Department who tried to help and said [REDACTED NAME] (who is her supervisor) would call me as he was a supervisor in the Resolutions Department. 2.5 hours later, no call. So, I called AGAIN and spoke to [REDACTED NAME] who said she couldn't do anything but put in a complaint against Deerfield and the "Service Monitoring Dept" would be calling me in about 5-7 business days. She did end up giving me a complaint #; she did do at least that much for me. But obviously, that didn't help me in my current situation. I and my mother have been loyal PLUS members for 13 years and have never encountered such terrible customer service from AAA or Deerfield. Is the Resolutions Dept in name only because no one has been able to help me/my mother or been able to resolve this? After an hour long wait (I was on hold that whole time), I was finally able to talk to the supervisor in the Resolutions Dept, [REDACTED NAME], who I thought would help me. But my luck - not only was [REDACTED NAME] rude, but she was also of no help. She said I need to get my (mother's) battery recharged myself by driving to Autozone with no offer to tow us there- seems like AAA was putting me and my mother in harm's way (they didn't care if the battery or me and/or my elderly mother was stalled on the road) just so I could get off their back - at least [REDACTED NAME] made it seem like that. She said "we have to follow the battery protocol." I told her all she had to do was offer to tow the car to the nearest AAA and have them charge the battery for us, but she didn't. I had to come up with that idea all on my own. Later, she claimed it to be her idea. Unbelievable. My mother and I are very shocked and terribly disappointed in the customer service shown by the Resolutions Department. It is now almost 4 pm with no resolution and me calling them 4 times, and on hold for an hour each time I called. They must think I have nothing better to do than be on hold. [REDACTED NAME], then, tells me to call again in the morning so they can tow my mother's car to a AAA shop and get the battery recharged. That was all she had to do to help a customer out, but she didn't even do that! [REDACTED NAME] was continuously clacking on the keyboard and who knows what all she was typing/saying about me. She didn't even have the courtesy to answer me when I asked a question; she said "I'm making notes about this." She just continued to type without apologizing as she never answered my question. Unclear why they have people like [REDACTED NAME] as supervisors in a Resolution Department. Maybe I should be a supervisor at AAA because here would have been my response, and the response I was hoping for (that never happened). It would have also been a way to have kept a 13-year loyal member happy. What should have been said was: I'm so sorry this happened to you/your mother's car. Let's fix this by towing you to the nearest AAA location, getting your battery charged; if it's bad, we'll replace it; if it's not, it is charged now and you will not have any further trouble. Once charged, let's tow it back to your house so you don't have to worry about this. Now THAT would be good customer service to a loyal member that would have kept me and my mother a loyal member, and I would give AAA stellar reviews. Now instead I've got to call AAA in the morning, have my mother's car towed, have to worry about missing AAA's call as I'm seeing patients (and murphy's law dictates that's bound to happen), and have to worry about how to get the car back as I'll be at work and will not be able to get to it in time. Being a healthcare worker/essential worker, I do everything in my power to protect my elderly parents, one of whom has cancer, by telling them not to go anywhere unless absolutely necessary. In these covid times, when people are sick, AAA expects us to be on the road and not leave our cars in our driveway (which means we are doing the socially responsible thing in not going out and socially distancing per CDC recommendations). It also means you can't get sick from covid or go out of town or in non-covid times, on a vacation -if you do and your car is sitting there, it hasn't followed "the battery protocol," and AAA will not be able to help you, nor will they replace your battery that is less than a year old and under a 6-year warranty. I mean why do I or my mother even have AAA especially if they can't help me or my elderly mother when we need them the most? Now I have to call AAA AGAIN tomorrow regarding the tow, and I can only hope I am available as I'm a healthcare worker who is actually taking care of covid patients. I will NEVER be buying AAA batteries -they will die on you before the year is up; and I certainly will not be renewing mine and my mother's AAA membership. I currently have a very poor opinion of AAA which I have never before had in the 13 years that I have been with them; this would have been my 14th year had I renewed. They have shown me in more ways than one that this membership, nor I/my mother, as a customer is worth much to them.
5
January 22, 2021

kathleenl1963

Best Insurance Ever

The price for this homeowners and auto insurance is fantastic. When I switched from Liberty Mutual I saved more than 1000 a year.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption