Alliance United Auto Insurance Review [2024]

Alliance United Auto Insurance, a California-focused provider, prioritizes offering cost-effective coverage to drivers, with rates often more affordable for minimal protection compared to many competitors.

UPDATED: Feb 25, 2024Fact Checked

Jimmy McMillan

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jimmy McMillan is an entrepreneur and the founder of HeartLifeInsurance.com, an independent life insurance brokerage. His company specializes in life insurance for people with heart problems. He knows personally how difficult it is to secure health and life insurance after a heart attack. Jimmy is a licensed insurance agent from coast to coast who has been featured on ValientCEO and the podcast...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Schimri Yoyo

Licensed Agent & Financial Advisor

Schimri Yoyo is a financial advisor with active life and health insurance licenses in seven states and over 20 years of experience. During his career, he has held roles at Foresters Financial, Strayer University, Minnesota Life, Securian Financial Services, Delaware Valley Advisors, Bridgemark Wealth Management, and Fidelity.  Schimri is an educator eager to assist individuals and families in ...

Licensed Agent & Financial Advisor

UPDATED: Feb 25, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Feb 25, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 25, 2024Fact Checked
2.9
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Alliance United

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Affordable rates for minimal coverage.
  • Strong A.M. Best rating.

Cons

  • Higher than average number of complaints compared to similarly-sized competitors.
  • Customers can only purchase coverage through an insurance agent.

Final Verdict: Review of Alliance United

Alliance United provides auto insurance to customers in California. The company has competitive rates and a strong A.M. Best rating but has more complaints than competitors of a similar size.

Knowing more about Alliance United Insurance will help you decide if the company is a good option for you.

Before jumping into this Alliance United Insurance review, enter your ZIP code to find free car insurance rates in your area.

[su_box title="The Lowdown" style="default"]
  • Alliance United Insurance focuses on the minimum coverage
  • Alliance United Insurance has more complaints than most competitors
  • Alliance United Insurance has been rated an A by A.M. Best
[/su_box] Alliance United provides auto insurance to customers in California. The company has competitive rates and a strong A.M. Best rating but has more complaints than competitors of a similar size. Knowing more about Alliance United Insurance will help you decide if the company is a good option for you. Before jumping into this Alliance United Insurance review, enter your ZIP code to find free car insurance rates in your area.

What You Should Know About Alliance United Insurance Company - A Kemper Company

Credit rating agencies regularly rate insurance companies based on their financial strength. Comparing the ratings allows customers to determine if the company is likely to provide a payout when customers file a claim.

Kemper Alliance United has been rated an A by A.M. Best, the most trusted credit rating agency. The agency describes this rating as excellent, indicating that the company will provide a payout in most circumstances.

Additionally, the Better Business Bureau (BBB) rates companies based on their business practices. Alliance United has been rated an A+ by the BBB, indicating that the company is transparent when dealing with customers.

Does Alliance United Insurance have any complaints?

The Better Business Bureau (BBB) and the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) review complaints made about insurance companies. Examining these reviews will help you determine the company’s quality of service.

At the time of this review, the BBB has received 435 complaints about Alliance United Insurance. Of the 435 complaints, 350 are about the company’s products or services. The second most common complaint is about the company’s billing practices.

According to the NAIC, Alliance United has a complaint index ratio of 27.72. This number indicates that the company has far more complaints than a similarly-sized competitor.

While Alliance United has a large number of complaints, looking through the individual grievances will help you determine if they should be a concern for you.

How can you buy Alliance United Insurance?

Customers looking to buy Alliance United auto insurance must go through an insurance agent. The company works with over 900 insurance brokers. Unfortunately, the company doesn’t allow customers to receive a quote or purchase coverage through their website.

How can you make Alliance United Insurance payments?

Customers can make an Alliance United payment in multiple ways, including through electronic fund transfer or by mail. The best option depends on your personal preference. Those that prefer to pay online can do so by using a:

  • Checking account
  • Savings account
  • Debit card
  • Credit card
  • E-check

Other options include sending money via MoneyGram or by mail. Customers can pay by mail with a check, money order, or cashier’s check. Customers choosing this option should send their payment to:

P.O. Box 660420
Dallas, TX
75266-0420

Customers have the option of making a monthly payment or paying in full.

How do you file Alliance United Insurance claims?

Alliance United provides three ways for customers to file claims. You can either report a claim to the company website, the parent company’s website, or by phone. To file a claim online, you can visit the claims page at one of the following websites:

  • www.allianceunited.com
  • www.kemper.com

If you prefer to file your claim over the phone, you can reach an Alliance United Insurance customer service representative at 1-800-508-5833. Representatives are available seven days a week between 7:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. (PST).

What is Alliance United Insurance?

Alliance United Insurance was founded in 2004, focusing on providing minimally-required auto coverage to drivers in California. The company was purchased in 2015 by the Kemper Corporation. (For more information, read our “Kemper Corporation Insurance Review“).

Now owned by Kemper, Alliance United still only provides coverage in California but could be expanding soon.

Alliance United Insurance Company - A Kemper Company Insurance Coverage Options

Alliance United focuses on providing drivers with the minimally-required coverage in California. As a result, the company offers fewer coverage options than most competitors. However, drivers can still receive a full coverage policy, ensuring they’re ready for any situation.

Insurance companies price coverage individually, so drivers can choose which coverage types they prefer. For this reason, it’s essential to know which coverages are offered by each company. The following table shows the primary options offered by Alliance United.

Alliance United Insurance Auto Coverages
Auto Insurance TypesPurpose of Coverage
Bodily injury liabilityPays for medical bills if someone else suffers an injury in an accident caused by you.
CollisionCovers damage to your car after an accident.
ComprehensiveCovers damage to your car when you’re not driving.
Property damage liabilityLiability coverage that covers the cost of any property damage you’ve caused in an accident.
Uninsured/underinsured motoristCovers the costs if you’re in an accident caused by a driver with little or no car insurance.

Alliance United offers fewer options than most other companies. However, since the company focuses on providing the minimum amount of coverage, drivers with poor credit or a bad driving record are more likely to find approval from the company.

Currently, Alliance United only offers auto coverage. However, the parent company, Kemper Corporation, offers additional options, like commercial, renters, and home insurance.

Alliance United Insurance: The Bottom Line

Alliance United provides drivers in California with auto insurance. Despite focusing on the minimally-required coverage, customers can receive additional insurance options. The company has strong ratings by A.M. Best and the BBB but has more complaints than most competitors.

Learning more about Alliance United Insurance will help you decide if the company is a good fit.

Now that you know about Alliance United Insurance, enter your ZIP code to get free car insurance quotes in your area.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Alliance United Insurance Company - A Kemper Company Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileAlliance UnitedNational Average
Clean Record$110$119
1+ Ticket$150$147
1+ Accident$180$173
DUI$300$209
Poor Credit$189$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver

Auto insurance companies use several factors to determine the risk of drivers. Those considered less risky to insure will receive lower rates. Some of the most common aspects used to assess the risk of drivers include:

  • Age
  • Gender
  • Vehicle
  • Credit history
  • Driving record

The best way to ensure that you’re receiving low rates is to compare quotes from various companies. The following chart shows the average full coverage and minimum coverage Alliance United auto insurance rates compared with other companies in California.

Alliance United Insurance Average Annual Full Coverage and Minimum Coverage Rates vs. Other Companies in California
CompanyAverage Annual Full Coverage RatesAverage Annual Minimum Coverage Rates
AAA$1.948$672
Alliance United$2,359$595
Allstate$1,896$705
American Family$1.218$542
Farmers$1,540$587
Geico$1,260$416
Nationwide$1,533$566
Progressive$1,910$769
State Farm$1,681$681
Travelers$1.769$752
USAA$1,484$539

As you can see, you can find affordable Alliance United auto insurance quotes for minimum coverage. However, the company is more expensive than most competitors when drivers add more policy options.

Alliance United Insurance Company - A Kemper Company Discounts Available

DiscountAlliance United
Anti Theft7%
Good Student15%
Low Mileage10%
Paperless5%
Safe Driver18%
Senior Driver8%

Auto insurance can be expensive if you are considered a risky driver. Fortunately, you can lower your rates by combining multiple discounts. The common discounts offered by insurance companies depend on various factors, including your:

  • Age
  • Driving record
  • Lifestyle
  • Policy

The following table shows Alliance United auto insurance company discounts.

Alliance United Insurance Auto Discounts
Auto DiscountDiscount Description
Multi-car/multi-driverA discount for each vehicle on the multi-car/multi-driver policy, as long as all the vehicles are one the same policy and garaged at the same address.
Good driverA 20% discount for drivers who have been licensed for the past three years and don't have more than one DMV violation point and/or one at-fault accident during that time.
RenewalA discount is automatically applied to renewed policies that qualify.
Mature driverFor customers aged 55 and older who have completed an approved driver-improvement course in three years.

Alliance United offers fewer discounts than most competitors. However, these discounts are available for most drivers, and combining them will lower your rates.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Alliance United Auto Insurance?

Alliance United Auto Insurance is an insurance company that provides auto insurance coverage to drivers in California. The company was founded in 2004 and was later acquired by Kemper Corporation in 2015.

What is the A.M. Best rating of Alliance United Auto Insurance?

Alliance United Auto Insurance has an A.M. Best rating of A, which is considered excellent and indicates that the company is financially stable and is likely to pay out on claims.

Does Alliance United Auto Insurance have any complaints?

At the time of this review, the Better Business Bureau (BBB) has received 435 complaints about Alliance United Auto Insurance, with the majority of them relating to the company’s products or services. Additionally, the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) reports that Alliance United has a complaint index ratio of 27.72, which is higher than similarly-sized competitors.

What should I do if I have a complaint or concern about Alliance United Insurance?

If you have a complaint or concern about Alliance United Insurance, you can contact their customer service department at 1-800-508-5833. Alternatively, you can reach out to the Better Business Bureau or the National Association of Insurance Commissioners to file a complaint.

How can I make Alliance United Auto Insurance payments?

Alliance United Auto Insurance customers can make payments via electronic fund transfer or by mail. Payments can be made online using a debit or credit card, or through MoneyGram, or by mail using a check, money order, or cashier’s check.

How do I file an Alliance United Auto Insurance claim?

Alliance United Auto Insurance allows customers to file claims online through the company website or the parent company’s website, or by phone by calling 1-800-508-5833. Representatives are available seven days a week between 7:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. (PST).

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jimmy McMillan

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jimmy McMillan is an entrepreneur and the founder of HeartLifeInsurance.com, an independent life insurance brokerage. His company specializes in life insurance for people with heart problems. He knows personally how difficult it is to secure health and life insurance after a heart attack. Jimmy is a licensed insurance agent from coast to coast who has been featured on ValientCEO and the podcast...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Schimri Yoyo

Licensed Agent & Financial Advisor

Schimri Yoyo is a financial advisor with active life and health insurance licenses in seven states and over 20 years of experience. During his career, he has held roles at Foresters Financial, Strayer University, Minnesota Life, Securian Financial Services, Delaware Valley Advisors, Bridgemark Wealth Management, and Fidelity.  Schimri is an educator eager to assist individuals and families in ...

Licensed Agent & Financial Advisor

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Alliance United Insurance Company - A Kemper Company

2.93 (164 reviews)
1
November 3, 2021

jsalas

Horrible auto insurance!

Can’t say much on customer service because they never answer their phone or return phone call. Transparency is something they lack in . DO NOT get this company as your auyo insurance, only if you like [REDACTED] . No one has spoke to me about my claim since I filed it . Anyone using kemper for auto trying getting a hold of their so call supervisor [REDACTED] maybe someone else besides me have better luck on getting help.
5
August 1, 2020

tinkunicorn

great

loved them just lost my job and had to give them up. very affordable and eager to help the customers out
4
June 16, 2020

mglib

Happy with this service!

Very good! Always reliable and easy to use. Have been using this for many years and have recommended to all my friends and family and everybody loves it
5
May 4, 2020

Scottwalt

Great and easy

This was a great and easy process with this company I referred to anyone Anytime Anyplace so if you're looking for a great policy please check this company out you will not be disappointed
5
March 25, 2020

saintmarco

Best auto insurance for the average american

Best company you can get an auto insurance from. their service is durable and reliable and efficient , kindly go for Alliance insurance for the best auto insurance
3
February 5, 2020

ThomasVitacco

We Unite

Everything went well besides when you had to call them or talking to customer service . It would always take forever when I called
1
January 11, 2020

AnonymousLG

The No Call Back Lack Of Compassion Company

Car insurance review they are very bad in customer service. I got into an accident and they gave me the run around. The appraiser [REDACTED NAME] does not return any emails or returns call nor her manage. Manager you’re lucky I don’t have your name handy.. What the heck they both just ignore..!!??! I never get a clear answer when you actually get someone on the line. I’ve been waiting since December to get reimbursed on a rental car wh...
Car insurance review they are very bad in customer service. I got into an accident and they gave me the run around. The appraiser [REDACTED NAME] does not return any emails or returns call nor her manage. Manager you’re lucky I don’t have your name handy.. What the heck they both just ignore..!!??! I never get a clear answer when you actually get someone on the line. I’ve been waiting since December to get reimbursed on a rental car which their process is on a reimbursement basis.. Stick to more reputable companies like Mercury or State Farm. I hope this helps the consumers.
1
November 26, 2019

Stela

Alliance Ins cancels policy-takes 4 days to notify insured.

My debit card was replaced and mailed to me. I activated the new debit card, spoke to an agent at the bank, as the card numbers were the same and no other action was needed. As it happened, Alliance United's request for funds on 8/27 were not released by my bank due to the new expiration dates on the replacement debit card. On 8/29, I was involved in an accident, and was not informed that the payment had been refused, not by the bank, nor Allian...
My debit card was replaced and mailed to me. I activated the new debit card, spoke to an agent at the bank, as the card numbers were the same and no other action was needed. As it happened, Alliance United's request for funds on 8/27 were not released by my bank due to the new expiration dates on the replacement debit card. On 8/29, I was involved in an accident, and was not informed that the payment had been refused, not by the bank, nor Alliance. Alliance cancelled my policy at midnight on 8/27 and generated an automatic USPS letter that notified me 4 days after - they had cancelled my policy that I was not insured. This was a devastating sequence of events, the USPS notification of the non payment of the premium was an unsafe action in response. Alliance could have called, texted or emailed the news of the snafu with the debit card.
1
October 19, 2019

vero13

stay away

they suck i got into an accident and they gave me the run around and still do they dont return calls ande never give a clear answer when you actually get someone on the line
1
October 4, 2019

Simontoyou

[REDACTED WORD] alliance united

Piece of [REDACTED WORD] company that doesn't give a [REDACTED WORD] about their customers. They will charge you extra at every possible point, they will never contact you by phone or email, and they have no respect for loyalty. I would rather be scammed to my face than stabbed in the back.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption