Allstate Auto Insurance Review [2024]

Discover Allstate, a trailblazing force in insurance since 1931, now the fourth-largest U.S. provider, offering diverse coverage options and maintaining a strong presence in auto insurance despite occasional concerns about rates.

UPDATED: Feb 24, 2024Fact Checked

Dorothea Hudson

Insurance and Finance Writer

Dorothea Hudson has been professionally writing in many spheres since 2013. She has written on entertainment, insurance, finance, travel, technology, AI, renewable energy, crypto, fundraising, and real estate for many websites. Her work has been published for British retailer Marks and Spencer, Kroger Magazine, the Vision Group, and more. Her passions include writing, music, running, travel, te...

Insurance and Finance Writer

Brandon Frady

Licensed Insurance Agent

Brandon Frady has been a licensed insurance agent and insurance office manager since 2018. He has experience in ventures from retail to finance, working positions from cashier to management, but it wasn’t until Brandon started working in the insurance industry that he truly felt at home in his career. In his day-to-day interactions, he aims to live out his business philosophy in how he treats hi...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Feb 24, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Feb 24, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 24, 2024Fact Checked
4.0
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Allstate

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$160

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Strong Reputation
  • Wide Range of Coverage Options
  • Innovative Tools and Technology
  • Strong Financial Stability
  • Local Agents and Customer Service
  • Discounts and Rewards

Cons

  • Cost
  • Limited Availability
  • Mixed Customer Service Reviews
  • Limited Discounts
  • Coverage Limitations
  • Limited Online Features

Final Verdict: Review of Allstate

Founded in Illinois in 1931, Allstate was one of the first insurance companies to sell policies through the mail. By the end of its first year, Allstate had over 4,000 policies. Today, the Allstate auto insurance company has grown to America’s fourth-largest insurance provider.

As one of the largest insurance companies in America, Allstate has coverage options for just about anyone. From basic state-required minimum liability insurance to full coverage with all extensive add-ons, you’ll probably find what you need with Allstate.

Wondering if an affordable Allstate auto insurance policy is right for you? Your best option to find rates that work for you is to shop as many companies as possible. If you’re ready to see what rates might look like for you, enter your ZIP code into our free tool today.

[su_box title="The Lowdown" style="default"]
  • Allstate Insurance offers liability, comprehensive, and collision insurance throughout the U.S.
  • Rates are usually more expensive than other large companies, though Allstate still commands a loyal customer base
  • Allstate receives complaints about high prices, as well as claim resolution issues
[/su_box] Founded in Illinois in 1931, Allstate was one of the first insurance companies to sell policies through the mail. By the end of its first year, Allstate had over 4,000 policies. Today, the Allstate auto insurance company has grown to America's fourth-largest insurance provider. As one of the largest insurance companies in America, Allstate has coverage options for just about anyone. From basic state-required minimum liability insurance to full coverage with all extensive add-ons, you’ll probably find what you need with Allstate. Wondering if an affordable Allstate auto insurance policy is right for you? Your best option to find rates that work for you is to shop as many companies as possible. If you’re ready to see what rates might look like for you, enter your ZIP code into our free tool today.

What You Should Know About allstate

Allstate is a famous insurance company that most people off the street could name. While they offer several insurance options and a long list of discounts, one of the most important considerations before buying a policy is how happy customers are.

One of the biggest complaints about Allstate is that rates are higher than other companies, sometimes by as much as 35%. However, a huge plus for Allstate is its Claim Satisfaction Guarantee. Allstate auto insurance claims are guaranteed to be resolved to the satisfaction of customers. If they’re not, Allstate promises a six-month credit towards the policy.

If you feel your claim was not handled correctly, you can contact your agent to get the process started. Allstate cut the program back a little in some states, but for the most part, customers love the guarantee.

As for professional ratings, Allstate does well. A.M. Best ranks Allstate’s financial strength at A+, while the Better Business Bureau also gives them an A+. J.D. Power notes that Allstate’s customer satisfaction is slightly below the national average, and the National Association of Insurance Commissioners notes a much higher level of complaints.

allstate Insurance Coverage Options

Allstate Insurance offers the same standard list of car insurance that most companies offer in all 50 states.

  • Liability. Liability covers damage to cars or property involved in an accident you caused. Most states (with the exception of New Hampshire) require a minimum amount of liability coverage to drive legally.
  • Comprehensive. This covers damage to your vehicle from sources other than collisions, including weather, vandalism, theft, and animal contact. If you don’t own your car, you likely need comprehensive coverage.
  • Collision. Regardless of who is at fault, collision helps repair your car after an accident.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist. If another driver strikes you and has inadequate insurance, uninsured/underinsured motorist can make up the difference.
  • Personal injury protection and medical payments. If you or your passengers are injured in an accident, this coverage can help pay any medical bills and make up for lost wages.

Aside from basic coverage, Allstate also offers several specialty types of insurance. These include commercial car insurance, rideshare, and GAP coverage.

Read more:

What add-ons does Allstate Insurance offer?

Allstate’s auto insurance quotes might be more expensive than most of its competition, but there’s no denying it offers an extensive list of insurance products. You can also purchase add-ons, such as rental car reimbursement, roadside assistance, and mechanical breakdown coverage.

Rental car reimbursement will cover the cost of a temporary replacement car while your vehicle is getting repairs in a mechanic’s shop, up to a maximum of 30 days. If you want to purchase this add-on, you’ll need a comprehensive or collision policy.

If you buy roadside assistance, it covers the cost of jump-starts, winching, locksmiths, fuel delivery, towing, and tire changes. You can make use of your add-on five times per period.

Allstate’s Your Choice Program

One of Allstate’s most attractive features is its Your Choice Auto program, which rewards you for your safe driving habits. Your Choice can help you save with several handy benefits.

First, deductible rewards cut your deductible by $100 when you sign up for the program, then takes another $100 for every year you don’t make a claim. Allstate will remove up to $500 from your deductible, meaning a $1,000 deductible can be down to $500 in four short years.

Second, Your Choice provides accident forgiveness. Allstate will waive the traditional price increase on your insurance after an incident depending on the accident. You can buy the conventional first-time-only option or pay more to cover several accidents within a three-year period.

If you have this coverage, you won’t lose your Good Driver discount. California residents are the exception — you might lose your Good Driver discount, even with accident forgiveness.

You can also get a safe driving bonus check if you sign up for this program. As long as you remain accident-free, you’ll receive a check for 5% of your total insurance price every six months. If you live in New York, this bonus comes as a discount instead of a check.

Finally, you get New Car Replacement with Your Choice. As long as you bought your car before 2012, Allstate will give you a check for the sales price of your vehicle if it was totaled within three model years. Although they specify 2012 as the starting year, for practicality’s sake, this applies to new cars bought within the last three years.

Read more: Does Allstate offer GAP insurance?

Get the Best Allstate Auto Insurance Quotes

The founders of Allstate wanted to create insurance products that were easily accessible. Since then, Allstate has grown and now offers coverage throughout the entire U.S. with plenty of insurance products and lots of discounts, Allstate can probably take care of your needs.

If you want to buy Allstate auto insurance, you should shop around to make sure they can give you the best rates. Enter your ZIP code into our free tool to see what quotes might look like for you.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

allstate Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileAllstateNational Average
Clean Record$160$119
1+ Ticket$188$147
1+ Accident$225$173
DUI$270$209
Poor Credit$275$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver



Allstate’s auto insurance rates are typically higher than its competitors and are one of the main reasons Allstate customers go elsewhere. Even with extensive discounts, Allstate customers can pay much more for coverage.

DriverAverage monthly Allstate priceMonthly national average price
17-year-old male$550$428
17-year-old female$482$482
25-year-old male$166$129
25-year-old female$159$123
60-year-old male$139$98
60-year-old female$136$123
Good drivers$149$110
Drivers with a speeding ticket$169$133
Drivers with an accident$209$156
Drivers with a DUI$218$175
Full coverage$157$116
Minimum coverge$140$103

As you can see, Allstate is higher than the national average in every category. However, Allstate offers a list of discounts to help save you as much money as possible.

allstate Discounts Available

DiscountAllstate Auto
Anti Theft8%
Good Student12%
Low Mileage10%
Paperless5%
Safe Driver15%
Senior Driver7%

Before you sign the paperwork for any policy, you should check with an agent to see how many discounts you’re eligible for. Taking advantage of discounts is one of the best ways to save money on your policy.

In fact, one of Allstate’s major selling points is that it offers an extensive list of discounts. Check below to get an idea of what you might qualify for.

  • Homeowner. If you own a home and have insurance on it, you might save 5% on your car insurance.
  • Bundling. Allstate offers more than car insurance. You can also purchase home, renters, business, umbrella, and many other types of insurance. Save up to ten percent by purchasing more than one policy.
  • Paid in full. If you pay for your entire policy instead of making monthly payments, you can save up to 10%.
  • Smart student. Teen drivers enrolled in school full-time and maintain good grades, go to school more than 100 miles from where their car is stored, or complete a teenSMART driver’s ed program can save about 20% (read our “teenSMART Driver Program Review” for more information).
  • Safe driver. As long as you meet Allstate’s safe driver requirements, you can save around 5%.

This is just a sampling of the discounts available through Allstate. When you sign up for a policy, your agent will ensure you get every discount you’re eligible for.

How allstate Ranks Among Providers

Here’s a detailed breakdown of how Allstate ranks among other insurance providers:

Financial Strength: Allstate maintains an exceptional A+ rating for financial strength from A.M. Best, indicating a high level of stability and ability to meet financial obligations.

Industry Presence: Founded in 1931, Allstate has solidified its position as the fourth-largest insurance provider in the United States. This enduring presence highlights its substantial impact on the insurance landscape.

Coverage Variety:  Allstate distinguishes itself by offering a wide range of coverage options. From meeting basic state-required minimum liability insurance to providing specialized coverage like commercial car insurance and rideshare options, Allstate aims to address diverse insurance needs.

Customer Satisfaction: While Allstate provides a Claim Satisfaction Guarantee, customer satisfaction reviews are diverse. Some customers commend Allstate’s services, while others express concerns about relatively higher insurance rates compared to other providers.

Discounts Galore: Allstate’s extensive list of discounts is a significant attraction for potential policyholders. Safe driving bonuses, deductible rewards, and other cost-saving incentives contribute to the company’s appeal.

Allstate’s impressive financial strength, diverse coverage options, and innovative programs position it as a solid contender in the insurance market. However, the mixed customer satisfaction reviews and cost considerations indicate areas where the company could focus on improvement for a more well-rounded customer experience.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Allstate’s history in the insurance industry?

Allstate, founded in 1931, initially pioneered mail-order insurance and has since grown to become the fourth-largest insurance provider in the United States.

What coverage options does Allstate offer?

Allstate provides a range of coverage options, from basic state-required minimum liability insurance to full coverage with extensive add-ons, catering to diverse insurance needs.

How does Allstate prioritize customer satisfaction in claims handling?

Allstate emphasizes customer satisfaction through its Claim Satisfaction Guarantee, ensuring that auto insurance claims are resolved to the customer’s satisfaction, backed by a promise of a six-month credit towards the policy if not.

Are there concerns about the cost of Allstate’s insurance?

While customers appreciate Allstate’s service, discounts, and available products, some express concerns about relatively higher insurance rates compared to other providers.

What sets Allstate apart in the competitive auto insurance landscape?

Allstate distinguishes itself with a robust financial strength rating, a variety of discounts, and a broad array of coverage options, solidifying its position as a significant player in the realm of auto insurance.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Dorothea Hudson

Insurance and Finance Writer

Dorothea Hudson has been professionally writing in many spheres since 2013. She has written on entertainment, insurance, finance, travel, technology, AI, renewable energy, crypto, fundraising, and real estate for many websites. Her work has been published for British retailer Marks and Spencer, Kroger Magazine, the Vision Group, and more. Her passions include writing, music, running, travel, te...

Insurance and Finance Writer

Brandon Frady

Licensed Insurance Agent

Brandon Frady has been a licensed insurance agent and insurance office manager since 2018. He has experience in ventures from retail to finance, working positions from cashier to management, but it wasn’t until Brandon started working in the insurance industry that he truly felt at home in his career. In his day-to-day interactions, he aims to live out his business philosophy in how he treats hi...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for allstate

4.00 (11,412 reviews)
3
June 20, 2023

EveC

Always lose arbitrations

I had gotten backed into. Have audio of it. Have video of her driving away with her damage and license. Have him on audio with his phone # and saying her name threatening if we call it into insurance. Allstate still lost the case and I'm out a deductible! In the 90's taxi ran stop sign police report said looked exactly like what happened and Allstate still lost that one too!!! Bye bye Allstate!
0.5
October 17, 2022

Valencia Harris

ALLSTATE INSURANCE

PLEASE DO NOT SUBJECT YOURSELF TO THIS HORRIFIC EXPERIENCE. I wish I had come to this site before made the HUGE mistake of switching my auto insurance and bundling it with Allstate. They were fine as my homeowner\'s plan. I switched my auto coverage in August trying to reduce my auto insurance due to the increase with my previous plan to save money. I paid my policy in full, was mistake #1, In October my Allstate coverage increased by 89.00, I ...
PLEASE DO NOT SUBJECT YOURSELF TO THIS HORRIFIC EXPERIENCE. I wish I had come to this site before made the HUGE mistake of switching my auto insurance and bundling it with Allstate. They were fine as my homeowner\'s plan. I switched my auto coverage in August trying to reduce my auto insurance due to the increase with my previous plan to save money. I paid my policy in full, was mistake #1, In October my Allstate coverage increased by 89.00, I called to get an explanation, to call this a customer service department would be a LIE! There was NO customer services at all, in fact speaking with Juan and Pat was like speaking with a child who had yet to learn how to comprehend, think or articulate. They simply read the document I had in hand to me as if I couldn\'t read even though I told them I have it, but it doesn\'t give an explanation of why the increase took place. The only response I received from either of them was insults Pat told me I could cancel my coverage as if she didn\'t care, Juan told me nothing. I am so disheartened cause I will need to start looking for other coverage and it seems like the staff these establishments are hiring are inept and inadequate they aren\'t able to function. They won\'t let you speak with a supervisor, one rattled paper in the phone to get me off of the phone. They ar enasty and purposely unhelpful, I wrote Allstste on line and never received a response from their customer service.
1
June 4, 2022

Keith_G__

As Discriminatory As You Can Possibly Get

My wife worked at one of Allstate's satellite offices. I proposed to her over the weekend. On Monday, her boss fired her after showing her ring off to a coworker. He took her into his office and explained she was being fired because he "believed in the Bible." My wife and I called Allstate HR at the corporate office and told them what had happened and they told us that because my wife worked at a satellite office, which were owned and run by indi...
My wife worked at one of Allstate's satellite offices. I proposed to her over the weekend. On Monday, her boss fired her after showing her ring off to a coworker. He took her into his office and explained she was being fired because he "believed in the Bible." My wife and I called Allstate HR at the corporate office and told them what had happened and they told us that because my wife worked at a satellite office, which were owned and run by individual people, those satellite offices could be run however they wanted and none of AllStates corporate protections applied. They basically said 'too bad so sad.' A little while later, before we'd had a chance to switch insurance companies yet (a long and tedious process) I got into a car accident. The other driver ran a red light, hitting me and I was sent to the hospital. I'm a transgender man and was literally about to change my legal name within a few days. I called Allstate to file the claim and asked that they use my new legal name. They said they couldn't because it wouldn't be official for a few days. I said 'fine, I'll call back in a few days." They then threatened me and told me if I didn't file "RIGHT NOW" they wouldn't take care of my claim. I was then forced to give my statement while being deadnamed and misgendered the entire time. Believe it or not this story it gets worse. So months go by. MONTHS. The insurance that was paying for a rental car runs out. I still have no reimebursment so I cannot buy a new car (mine was totaled.) I'm bein harassed by the bank over my car note, which obviously I wasn't paying since my car was totaled and Allstate was SUPPOSED to reimburse me for nearly everything. I had excellent coverage and excellent credit. I'm in constant contact with them. E-mails, phone calls, more e-mail, more phone calls. Every. Single. Day. And they will not give me the money. Excuse after excuse, and I'm deadnamed and misgendered every single time. Even though now my legal name has changed, they insisted on putting my dead name and wrong gender on the original report. So now people are VERY confused when they talk to me, hearing my deep masculine voice and seeing my pretty feminine name on paper. THANKS ALLSTATE! I was humiliated, endlessly, every day for over NINE MONTHS. Meanwhile, my wife is driving me to and from work because the insurance covering the rental car ran out months ago. My credit is being destroyed because I have no insurance money to buy a new car or pay the bank for the old car fee with, and I'm still recovering physically from the crash. I end up getting a lawyer and I told them "give me my money you've owed me for over 9 months now by tomorrow or I'm suing you." Magically, the next day, all the money was released. Allstate put me through a [REDACTED WORD] I cannot describe properly on this complaint. I never imagined in all my life how much hardship and hurt an insurance company could truly cause. Stay away. Far FAR away.
1
February 15, 2022

brenda_trammell

RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SCAMMERS!!!

worse insurance EVER !!! STAY AWAY !!!and i have had a few RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SCAMMERS MY PAYMENT FOR THE MONTH WAS A 100.00 MORE AND 1ST CS PERSON TRY TO TELL ME OVER SOME PAPER WORK THAT I GOT AND DIDNT SIGN, NEVER HAPPEN!! AND THE STUPID LADY I TALK TO NEXT TOLD ME IT WENT UP FOR TALKING IT OFF OF AUTO PAY WTH [REDACTED]
1
February 11, 2022

Akiraw1_

The worst insurance ever

Absolutely the worst insurance company ever complete liars scammers and they charge a ridiculous price….Liberty mutual is the best route if you ask me
1
January 6, 2022

pirish101

Way overpriced! Will scam you if you cancel!

After shopping around I found a policy that was 1/3 the cost (Literally 1/3 the cost) and cancelled. After canceling I was charged 30% of the yearly fee after only having insurance for 13 days. Total scam hidden in the fine print.
1
January 2, 2022

Carolyn0022

Untrained and Ignorant CS Team and Managers

All the customer service reps and their managers are ignorant. They will have me scenarios on how they are not liable for the damages. I called many times and talked with many people there. All are stupid and unhelpful!! Stay away
1
December 17, 2021

Allstate_Sucks_in_CA

Allstate SUCKS

Horrible experience! I've been with Allstate 18 years, time to change companies, they suck. Filed an auto claim 5 months ago, car has yet to be repaired. Allstate has provided every excuse from repair shop isn't listed as preferred supplier, even though Allstate provided me with the shop contacts to billing issues with subcontractors with the shop. Now I'm told the estimate that was done 2 months ago wasn't done correctly and another adjuster has...
Horrible experience! I've been with Allstate 18 years, time to change companies, they suck. Filed an auto claim 5 months ago, car has yet to be repaired. Allstate has provided every excuse from repair shop isn't listed as preferred supplier, even though Allstate provided me with the shop contacts to billing issues with subcontractors with the shop. Now I'm told the estimate that was done 2 months ago wasn't done correctly and another adjuster has to look at it. Funny, Allstate knows how to cash my check every month. Too many insurance companies out there to pay for crap experiences like this, go someplace else.
3
August 9, 2021

Shaytys50_

Unprofessional Agent

My experience with the agent that handled my uninsured Motorist bodily injury claim. The Agent was very rude, she was very unprofessional, I was in a bad accident on 4-22-2021, I wasn’t the cause of the accident. Someone hit me while I was sitting at a red light. Hit me from the back. And the driver drove off, so I reported the accident to My!!! Insurance Company!!! Allstate! I been A Customer of Allstate for over 8 years! And the way I was t...
My experience with the agent that handled my uninsured Motorist bodily injury claim. The Agent was very rude, she was very unprofessional, I was in a bad accident on 4-22-2021, I wasn’t the cause of the accident. Someone hit me while I was sitting at a red light. Hit me from the back. And the driver drove off, so I reported the accident to My!!! Insurance Company!!! Allstate! I been A Customer of Allstate for over 8 years! And the way I was treated by the one Agent! She has know customer service skills. Her name is [REDACTED NAME].
2
July 6, 2021

rickcf

Need to watch them and Drivewise is a scam.

In my experience Drivewise is a scam and the tech I spoke to a few weeks ago said it was broke but I 'should not uninstall it.'. It was ok years ago then they changed the programming that suddenly created false driving events on all 3 of my vehicles. Every trip, even driving my farm truck on my property started giving hard braking events. Then they remove the ability to get rid of those false reports on their website. So I had to use the pho...
In my experience Drivewise is a scam and the tech I spoke to a few weeks ago said it was broke but I 'should not uninstall it.'. It was ok years ago then they changed the programming that suddenly created false driving events on all 3 of my vehicles. Every trip, even driving my farm truck on my property started giving hard braking events. Then they remove the ability to get rid of those false reports on their website. So I had to use the phone app. But in the past year+ the phone app now hangs and crashes so you can't even do anything with it, worthless. My drivewise 'rewards' is very low if anything at all and our car rates are going up. We will be looking at other insurance again. We had allstate 15 years ago and dropped them because they raised the rates slowly over the competition and I will check to see if they are doing it again.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption