Allstate Insurance Company Review (2024)

Discover Allstate Insurance Company, a trusted innovator in comprehensive coverage across auto, home, and specialized insurance.

UPDATED: Feb 18, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 18, 2024Fact Checked

Laura D. Adams

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Laura Adams is one of the nation’s leading finance, insurance, and small business authorities. As an award-winning author, spokesperson, and host of the top-rated Money Girl podcast since 2008, millions of readers and listeners benefit from her practical advice. Her mission is to empower consumers to live healthy and rich lives by planning for the future and making smart money decisions. She rec...

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Feb 18, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Feb 18, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 18, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 18, 2024Fact Checked
4.0
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Allstate Insurance Company

Average monthly rate for healthy individuals:

$100

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Diverse range of insurance options
  • Advanced technology for seamless customer experience
  • Generous discounts and rewards for policyholders
  • Strong financial stability and A.M. Best rating
  • Commitment to community involvement and social responsibility

Cons

  • Premiums might be higher compared to some competitors
  • Limited availability of some specialized coverage options in certain regions
  • Claims process could be more streamlined for certain cases
  • Customer experiences with local agents may vary
  • Online-focused approach might not suit all customers’ preferences

Final Verdict: Review of Allstate Insurance Company

In the realm of insurance, few names carry the legacy of comprehensive coverage, innovation, and commitment to community quite like Allstate Insurance Company. As we’ve explored throughout this article, Allstate stands as a beacon of trust and reliability, offering a diverse array of insurance options to safeguard what matters most in your life.

From the moment you step onto the road to the security of your home, Allstate’s comprehensive auto and home insurance policies provide a safety net against life’s uncertainties. Their dedication to safe driving rewards, advanced safety technology, and flexible coverage options ensures that you’re protected on every journey.

Allstate Insurance Coverage Options

Allstate Insurance Company offers a comprehensive range of coverage options to cater to the diverse needs of its policyholders. Whether you’re looking to protect your home, vehicle, or other valuable assets, Allstate has you covered with its extensive array of insurance offerings. Here are some of the coverage options available:

Auto Insurance:

  • Liability Coverage
  • Collision Coverage
  • Comprehensive Coverage
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP)
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
  • Medical Payments Coverage
  • Roadside Assistance

Home Insurance:

  • Dwelling Coverage
  • Personal Property Coverage
  • Liability Coverage
  • Guest Medical Protection
  • Additional Living Expenses Coverage
  • Scheduled Personal Property (for high-value items)
  • Water Backup Coverage
  • Identity Theft Restoration Coverage
  • Green Improvement Reimbursement

Renters Insurance:

  • Personal Property Coverage
  • Liability Coverage
  • Additional Living Expenses Coverage
  • Guest Medical Protection
  • Identity Theft Restoration Coverage

Condo Insurance:

  • Dwelling Coverage (for interior structures)
  • Personal Property Coverage
  • Liability Coverage
  • Loss Assessment Coverage
  • Additional Living Expenses Coverage
  • Guest Medical Protection
  • Identity Theft Restoration Coverage

Life Insurance:

  • Term Life Insurance
  • Whole Life Insurance
  • Universal Life Insurance
  • Variable Life Insurance
  • Survivorship Life Insurance
  • Annuities

Motorcycle Insurance:

  • Liability Coverage
  • Collision Coverage
  • Comprehensive Coverage
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
  • Medical Payments Coverage
  • Roadside Assistance

Boat Insurance:

  • Liability Coverage
  • Physical Damage Coverage
  • Personal Property Coverage
  • Uninsured Watercraft Coverage
  • Wreck Removal Coverage
  • Fuel Spill Liability Coverage

Business Insurance:

  • Commercial Auto Insurance
  • Business Property Insurance
  • General Liability Insurance
  • Workers’ Compensation Insurance
  • Professional Liability Insurance
  • Cyber Insurance

Please note that this list is not exhaustive and might not reflect the current offerings of Allstate Insurance Company. It’s essential to directly consult Allstate or visit their official website to get accurate and up-to-date information about their coverage options and policies.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Allstate Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileAllstateNational Average
Clean Record$160$119
1+ Ticket$188$147
1+ Accident$225$173
DUI$270$209
Poor Credit$275$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver


View as image

Allstate Discounts Available

DiscountAllstate Insurance
Anti Theft11%
Good Student17%
Low Mileage13%
Paperless8%
Safe Driver18%
Senior Driver10%

Allstate Insurance Company is dedicated to providing policyholders with opportunities to save on their insurance premiums. With a variety of discounts available, customers can enjoy more affordable coverage without compromising on quality. Here are some of the notable discounts offered by Allstate:

  • Safe Driving Discount: Rewarding policyholders for maintaining a clean driving record and practicing safe driving habits.
  • Multi-Policy Discount: Bundling multiple insurance policies, such as auto and home insurance, to enjoy savings on both.
  • Good Student Discount: Offering lower rates to young drivers who excel academically.
  • Anti-Theft Device Discount: Providing discounts for vehicles equipped with anti-theft devices, reducing the risk of theft.
  • Full Payment Discount: Offering savings to customers who pay their premiums in full, rather than in installments.
  • Early Signing Discount: Encouraging customers to sign up for policies in advance, leading to cost savings.
  • Safe Car Discount: Offering discounts for vehicles equipped with advanced safety features.
  • Paperless Billing Discount: Rewarding customers who opt for paperless billing and electronic policy documents.
  • Responsible Payer Discount: Providing savings to policyholders who consistently make on-time premium payments.
  • New Car Discount: Offering discounts to customers insuring a new vehicle, as new cars often come with advanced safety features.

These discounts exemplify Allstate’s commitment to ensuring that its customers have access to competitive rates while still receiving comprehensive coverage and exceptional service. Keep in mind that the availability of these discounts may vary based on your location and specific policy details.

How Allstate Ranks Among Providers

Allstate Insurance Company operates in a competitive landscape where several other major insurance providers offer similar services to consumers. Understanding the company’s main competitors can provide valuable insights into the industry and help customers make informed decisions when choosing their insurance coverage.

Here are some of Allstate’s primary competitors:

State Farm: State Farm is one of the largest insurance providers in the United States, offering a wide range of insurance products including auto, home, life, and more. It is known for its extensive network of local agents, State Farm provides personalized service and a strong presence in communities.

Geico: Geico is well-known for its direct-to-consumer model, offering competitive rates through online platforms and call centers. The company’s witty advertising campaigns and focus on affordability have contributed to its popularity.

Progressive: Progressive is recognized for its innovative approach to auto insurance, including its usage-based insurance program called Snapshot. The company offers a variety of coverage options and is known for its responsive claims handling.

Liberty Mutual: Liberty Mutual provides a range of insurance products, including auto, home, and renters insurance. The company emphasizes customer service and offers various coverage enhancements for policyholders.

USAA: USAA primarily serves members of the military, veterans, and their families, offering a range of insurance and financial services. Known for its exceptional customer service and loyalty to its target audience.

Nationwide: Nationwide offers a diverse portfolio of insurance products for individuals and businesses. The company is recognized for its broad range of coverage options and customizable policies.

Farmers Insurance: Farmers Insurance provides various insurance solutions, including auto, home, and specialty coverage. The company’s agents offer personalized assistance to customers, and it’s known for its “We know a thing or two because we’ve seen a thing or two” advertising campaign.

These competitors, along with others in the insurance industry, vie for customers’ attention by offering unique features, coverage options, pricing structures, and customer experiences. As consumers evaluate their insurance needs, comparing these competitors’ offerings can help them make well-informed choices that align with their requirements and preferences.

Allstate Insurance Company Claims Process

Ease of Filing a Claim

Allstate Insurance Company offers multiple convenient methods for filing insurance claims, ensuring policyholders can choose the option that suits them best. Whether you prefer online, phone, or mobile app-based claim submission, Allstate has you covered.

Average Claim Processing Time

The speed at which insurance claims are processed can significantly impact a policyholder’s experience. Allstate strives to provide efficient claim processing to minimize the inconvenience caused by unexpected events. The average claim processing time with Allstate can vary depending on the nature and complexity of the claim.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and Payouts

Customer feedback is invaluable in assessing the quality of an insurance company’s claim resolutions and payouts. Allstate’s reputation and commitment to customer satisfaction are reflected in the reviews and testimonials from policyholders who have experienced their claim resolution process.

Digital and Technological Features of Allstate Insurance Company

Mobile App Features and Functionality

Allstate offers a user-friendly mobile app designed to enhance the overall customer experience. The app provides features and functionality for policyholders to manage their accounts, pay bills, access digital ID cards, and even file claims on-the-go. It’s a valuable tool for those who prefer digital convenience.

Online Account Management Capabilities

In addition to the mobile app, Allstate provides robust online account management capabilities through their website. Policyholders can log in to their accounts to review policy details, make changes, and access important documents, making it easy to stay informed and in control of their insurance coverage.

Digital Tools and Resources

Allstate recognizes the importance of providing policyholders with digital tools and resources to make informed decisions about their insurance. These tools may include calculators, educational resources, and articles to help customers better understand their coverage options and insurance-related topics.

These digital and technological features contribute to Allstate’s commitment to providing a modern and accessible insurance experience for its policyholders.

Frequently Asked Questions

What types of insurance does Allstate offer?

Allstate provides a diverse range of insurance options, including auto, home, renters, condo, life, motorcycle, boat, and business insurance.

How does Allstate differentiate itself from competitors in the insurance industry?

Allstate stands out through its commitment to comprehensive coverage, innovation, and a legacy of reliability, offering features such as safe driving rewards, advanced safety technology, and flexible coverage options.

Can you provide an overview of Allstate’s competitors in the insurance market?

Allstate’s primary competitors include State Farm, Geico, Progressive, Liberty Mutual, USAA, Nationwide, and Farmers Insurance, each offering unique features, coverage options, pricing structures, and customer experiences.

What digital and technological features does Allstate offer to enhance the customer experience?

Allstate prioritizes digital convenience with a user-friendly mobile app for managing accounts, paying bills, accessing digital ID cards, and filing claims. Additionally, their website provides robust online account management capabilities and digital tools/resources.

How efficient is Allstate’s claims process, and what options do policyholders have for filing claims?

Allstate offers multiple convenient methods for filing claims, including online, phone, and mobile app-based submissions. The efficiency of claim processing varies based on the nature and complexity of the claim, and customer feedback reflects the company’s commitment to satisfactory resolutions and payouts.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Laura D. Adams

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Laura Adams is one of the nation’s leading finance, insurance, and small business authorities. As an award-winning author, spokesperson, and host of the top-rated Money Girl podcast since 2008, millions of readers and listeners benefit from her practical advice. Her mission is to empower consumers to live healthy and rich lives by planning for the future and making smart money decisions. She rec...

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Allstate

4.00 (11,412 reviews)
3
June 20, 2023

EveC

Always lose arbitrations

I had gotten backed into. Have audio of it. Have video of her driving away with her damage and license. Have him on audio with his phone # and saying her name threatening if we call it into insurance. Allstate still lost the case and I'm out a deductible! In the 90's taxi ran stop sign police report said looked exactly like what happened and Allstate still lost that one too!!! Bye bye Allstate!
0.5
October 17, 2022

Valencia Harris

ALLSTATE INSURANCE

PLEASE DO NOT SUBJECT YOURSELF TO THIS HORRIFIC EXPERIENCE. I wish I had come to this site before made the HUGE mistake of switching my auto insurance and bundling it with Allstate. They were fine as my homeowner\'s plan. I switched my auto coverage in August trying to reduce my auto insurance due to the increase with my previous plan to save money. I paid my policy in full, was mistake #1, In October my Allstate coverage increased by 89.00, I ...
PLEASE DO NOT SUBJECT YOURSELF TO THIS HORRIFIC EXPERIENCE. I wish I had come to this site before made the HUGE mistake of switching my auto insurance and bundling it with Allstate. They were fine as my homeowner\'s plan. I switched my auto coverage in August trying to reduce my auto insurance due to the increase with my previous plan to save money. I paid my policy in full, was mistake #1, In October my Allstate coverage increased by 89.00, I called to get an explanation, to call this a customer service department would be a LIE! There was NO customer services at all, in fact speaking with Juan and Pat was like speaking with a child who had yet to learn how to comprehend, think or articulate. They simply read the document I had in hand to me as if I couldn\'t read even though I told them I have it, but it doesn\'t give an explanation of why the increase took place. The only response I received from either of them was insults Pat told me I could cancel my coverage as if she didn\'t care, Juan told me nothing. I am so disheartened cause I will need to start looking for other coverage and it seems like the staff these establishments are hiring are inept and inadequate they aren\'t able to function. They won\'t let you speak with a supervisor, one rattled paper in the phone to get me off of the phone. They ar enasty and purposely unhelpful, I wrote Allstste on line and never received a response from their customer service.
1
June 4, 2022

Keith_G__

As Discriminatory As You Can Possibly Get

My wife worked at one of Allstate's satellite offices. I proposed to her over the weekend. On Monday, her boss fired her after showing her ring off to a coworker. He took her into his office and explained she was being fired because he "believed in the Bible." My wife and I called Allstate HR at the corporate office and told them what had happened and they told us that because my wife worked at a satellite office, which were owned and run by indi...
My wife worked at one of Allstate's satellite offices. I proposed to her over the weekend. On Monday, her boss fired her after showing her ring off to a coworker. He took her into his office and explained she was being fired because he "believed in the Bible." My wife and I called Allstate HR at the corporate office and told them what had happened and they told us that because my wife worked at a satellite office, which were owned and run by individual people, those satellite offices could be run however they wanted and none of AllStates corporate protections applied. They basically said 'too bad so sad.' A little while later, before we'd had a chance to switch insurance companies yet (a long and tedious process) I got into a car accident. The other driver ran a red light, hitting me and I was sent to the hospital. I'm a transgender man and was literally about to change my legal name within a few days. I called Allstate to file the claim and asked that they use my new legal name. They said they couldn't because it wouldn't be official for a few days. I said 'fine, I'll call back in a few days." They then threatened me and told me if I didn't file "RIGHT NOW" they wouldn't take care of my claim. I was then forced to give my statement while being deadnamed and misgendered the entire time. Believe it or not this story it gets worse. So months go by. MONTHS. The insurance that was paying for a rental car runs out. I still have no reimebursment so I cannot buy a new car (mine was totaled.) I'm bein harassed by the bank over my car note, which obviously I wasn't paying since my car was totaled and Allstate was SUPPOSED to reimburse me for nearly everything. I had excellent coverage and excellent credit. I'm in constant contact with them. E-mails, phone calls, more e-mail, more phone calls. Every. Single. Day. And they will not give me the money. Excuse after excuse, and I'm deadnamed and misgendered every single time. Even though now my legal name has changed, they insisted on putting my dead name and wrong gender on the original report. So now people are VERY confused when they talk to me, hearing my deep masculine voice and seeing my pretty feminine name on paper. THANKS ALLSTATE! I was humiliated, endlessly, every day for over NINE MONTHS. Meanwhile, my wife is driving me to and from work because the insurance covering the rental car ran out months ago. My credit is being destroyed because I have no insurance money to buy a new car or pay the bank for the old car fee with, and I'm still recovering physically from the crash. I end up getting a lawyer and I told them "give me my money you've owed me for over 9 months now by tomorrow or I'm suing you." Magically, the next day, all the money was released. Allstate put me through a [REDACTED WORD] I cannot describe properly on this complaint. I never imagined in all my life how much hardship and hurt an insurance company could truly cause. Stay away. Far FAR away.
1
February 15, 2022

brenda_trammell

RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SCAMMERS!!!

worse insurance EVER !!! STAY AWAY !!!and i have had a few RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SCAMMERS MY PAYMENT FOR THE MONTH WAS A 100.00 MORE AND 1ST CS PERSON TRY TO TELL ME OVER SOME PAPER WORK THAT I GOT AND DIDNT SIGN, NEVER HAPPEN!! AND THE STUPID LADY I TALK TO NEXT TOLD ME IT WENT UP FOR TALKING IT OFF OF AUTO PAY WTH [REDACTED]
1
February 11, 2022

Akiraw1_

The worst insurance ever

Absolutely the worst insurance company ever complete liars scammers and they charge a ridiculous price….Liberty mutual is the best route if you ask me
1
January 6, 2022

pirish101

Way overpriced! Will scam you if you cancel!

After shopping around I found a policy that was 1/3 the cost (Literally 1/3 the cost) and cancelled. After canceling I was charged 30% of the yearly fee after only having insurance for 13 days. Total scam hidden in the fine print.
1
January 2, 2022

Carolyn0022

Untrained and Ignorant CS Team and Managers

All the customer service reps and their managers are ignorant. They will have me scenarios on how they are not liable for the damages. I called many times and talked with many people there. All are stupid and unhelpful!! Stay away
1
December 17, 2021

Allstate_Sucks_in_CA

Allstate SUCKS

Horrible experience! I've been with Allstate 18 years, time to change companies, they suck. Filed an auto claim 5 months ago, car has yet to be repaired. Allstate has provided every excuse from repair shop isn't listed as preferred supplier, even though Allstate provided me with the shop contacts to billing issues with subcontractors with the shop. Now I'm told the estimate that was done 2 months ago wasn't done correctly and another adjuster has...
Horrible experience! I've been with Allstate 18 years, time to change companies, they suck. Filed an auto claim 5 months ago, car has yet to be repaired. Allstate has provided every excuse from repair shop isn't listed as preferred supplier, even though Allstate provided me with the shop contacts to billing issues with subcontractors with the shop. Now I'm told the estimate that was done 2 months ago wasn't done correctly and another adjuster has to look at it. Funny, Allstate knows how to cash my check every month. Too many insurance companies out there to pay for crap experiences like this, go someplace else.
3
August 9, 2021

Shaytys50_

Unprofessional Agent

My experience with the agent that handled my uninsured Motorist bodily injury claim. The Agent was very rude, she was very unprofessional, I was in a bad accident on 4-22-2021, I wasn’t the cause of the accident. Someone hit me while I was sitting at a red light. Hit me from the back. And the driver drove off, so I reported the accident to My!!! Insurance Company!!! Allstate! I been A Customer of Allstate for over 8 years! And the way I was t...
My experience with the agent that handled my uninsured Motorist bodily injury claim. The Agent was very rude, she was very unprofessional, I was in a bad accident on 4-22-2021, I wasn’t the cause of the accident. Someone hit me while I was sitting at a red light. Hit me from the back. And the driver drove off, so I reported the accident to My!!! Insurance Company!!! Allstate! I been A Customer of Allstate for over 8 years! And the way I was treated by the one Agent! She has know customer service skills. Her name is [REDACTED NAME].
2
July 6, 2021

rickcf

Need to watch them and Drivewise is a scam.

In my experience Drivewise is a scam and the tech I spoke to a few weeks ago said it was broke but I 'should not uninstall it.'. It was ok years ago then they changed the programming that suddenly created false driving events on all 3 of my vehicles. Every trip, even driving my farm truck on my property started giving hard braking events. Then they remove the ability to get rid of those false reports on their website. So I had to use the pho...
In my experience Drivewise is a scam and the tech I spoke to a few weeks ago said it was broke but I 'should not uninstall it.'. It was ok years ago then they changed the programming that suddenly created false driving events on all 3 of my vehicles. Every trip, even driving my farm truck on my property started giving hard braking events. Then they remove the ability to get rid of those false reports on their website. So I had to use the phone app. But in the past year+ the phone app now hangs and crashes so you can't even do anything with it, worthless. My drivewise 'rewards' is very low if anything at all and our car rates are going up. We will be looking at other insurance again. We had allstate 15 years ago and dropped them because they raised the rates slowly over the competition and I will check to see if they are doing it again.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption