Allstate Pay-Per-Mile Service Review for 2023

Allstate's pay per mile program gives you a rate based on how many miles you drive. Allstate Milewise takes a daily rate and adds it to the per-mile rate, giving you your total cost per day. As you drive and accrue daily and mileage charges, your account pays for these trips. It replenishes automatically when your balance is low. You can track your pay-per-mile services through the Allstate mobile app.

UPDATED: Jun 28, 2022Fact Checked

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Full Bio →

Written by Daniel Walker
Licensed Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Full Bio →

Reviewed by Daniel Walker
Licensed Insurance Agent Daniel Walker

UPDATED: Jun 28, 2022

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

The Lowdown

  • Milewise is best for stay-at-home parents, commuters, people who work from home, and retirees
  • How much you save with Milewise depends on how much you drive
  • As you drive and accrue daily and mileage charges, your account pays for these trips

Auto insurance has taken a slightly different turn when it comes to calculating rates.

A new type of insurance is dependent on the miles that are driven, called pay per mile insurance. There is a daily rate that a driver must pay whether they have driven that day or not. Allstate’s pay-per-mile service is called Milewise.

Before learning more about Milewise, enter your ZIP code to get free auto insurance quotes today.

What is Milewise?

Allstate offers a type of car insurance that is based solely on the miles you drive; it comes with the same reliable coverage and claims service that you would expect from Allstate. This program is called Milewise.

Some people, such as stay-at-home parents, commuters, people who work from home, and retirees, drive less than the average driver. The Milewise rate is made up of a flat daily rate plus a per-mile rate when you drive. Essentially, the less you drive, the less you pay.

How much you save with Milewise depends on how much you drive. Allstate offers a feature on its website to view your estimated percent savings for miles driven between 1,000 and 10,000.

Annual Miles DrivenAverage Percent Savings
10,00020%
8,00031%
5,00049%
2,00066%

Compare RatesStart Now →

Allstate follows the formula daily rate + per-mile rate = total cost per day. You pay a low daily rate and per-mile rate when you drive. When your account reaches its minimum balance, it’s automatically replenished via the credit card on file.

As you drive and accrue daily and mileage charges, your account pays for these trips. It replenishes automatically when your balance is low.

The pay-per-mile service works by putting a palm-sized device in your vehicle. You plug the device into your car under the dash and steering column. It detects driving information so you can see your mileage and trip habits on demand. Make sure the device is installed and operating correctly to record your trips.

After you install the Milewise device in your vehicle, the details it gathers on your driving patterns act as a rating factor at your next policy renewal. The pay-per-mile program tracks how many miles you drive, speeds over 80 miles per hour, sudden braking, and late-night driving.

ProsCons
Superior financial strength ratingsNot available in all states
Several available discountsNewer program with few customer reviews
Fewer complaints than average for a company of its size
Money-saving potential for infrequent drivers

Compare RatesStart Now →

How can I sign up for Milewise?

Sign up for Allstate Milewise in four quick and easy steps.

  1. Enroll by entering your ZIP code and getting a quote from Allstate. You’ll need personal information, along with vehicle information such as your car’s year, make and model, and VIN.
  2. Set up your device and app. Locate your vehicle’s OBD-II port near the steering column. Most likely, you will find it on the driver’s side under the dash. Match the v-shape orientation of the plug with the port and click it into place. You will also need to download the Allstate mobile app and set up an account.
  3. Monitor your insurance cost by setting a spending goal for the month. View your trips and track your progress. Have a credit card or debit card on file. When you hit your minimum balance, Milewise will automatically reload your account, so there is no need to remember the due date for your bill.
  4. If you want to cancel for any reason, you’ll need to call your Allstate agent. Have your account number ready to go, and you may be asked to provide a written request for cancellation.

Milewise in the Allstate Mobile App

You can track your pay-per-mile services through the Allstate mobile app. In the app, you can access your policy details, account balance, miles driven, and safe driving status. You can also review your weekly spending and set goals.

Dig into detailed maps, get personalized driving feedback, and see your safe driving trends — safe driving trends are based on braking, speed, and the time of day that you are driving. Through the app, you can also view vehicle diagnostics, get car maintenance reminders, find a mechanic, and schedule repairs.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Is Milewise offered all over the United States?

Milewise is not offered in all 50 states. The following states offer Milewise:

  • Washington
  • Oregon
  • Idaho
  • Arizona
  • Texas
  • Oklahoma
  • Missouri
  • Illinois
  • Indiana
  • Ohio
  • Wisconsin
  • Minnesota
  • Pennsylvania
  • Maryland
  • West Virginia
  • Virginia
  • Delaware
  • New Jersey
  • Massachusetts
  • South Carolina
  • Florida

Should you sign up for Allstate Milewise?

Allstate Milewise reviews are mixed, with some customers noting that they saved money and others annoyed that the Milewise device documents their driving patterns.

In addition, other Allstate Milewise complaints state that Metromile is cheaper. However, Metromile is not available all over the U.S. If you can’t get Metromile where you live, Allstate Milewise might be your best option.

It’s worth getting a quote and doing the math to determine if this would be a good deal for you based on how frequently you drive.

Allstate Pay-Per-Mile Service: The Bottom Line

If Allstate Milewise is offered in your state and you don’t drive very much, you may benefit from the program. After having explored how Milewise works in this article, you should have a better understanding of whether it’s right for you.

Now that you’ve learned all about Allstate’s pay-per-mile service, enter your ZIP code and get free car insurance quotes today.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Frequently Asked Questions: Allstate Milewise

Need to know more about Allstate Milewise? Read the frequently asked questions below.

#1 – Can I move the Milewise device from one vehicle to another? 

No. The Milewise device follows the car, not the driver. Be sure to keep each device plugged into the car originally designated on the policy.

#2 – What happens on days I don’t drive at all? 

On the days you don’t do any driving, only the daily rate is deducted from your Milewise account.

#3 – I’ve got some questions. Who do I contact? 

You can contact your Allstate agent or call the Customer Care Team at 877-389-0047.

Allstate Pay-Per-Mile Service Review for 2023 Additional Information

Allstate Pay-Per-Mile Service Review for 2022 is a company that was incorporated in . Allstate Pay-Per-Mile Service Review for 2022 is a insurance company and has assets of , capital of $, and net surplus of $.

The president of Allstate Pay-Per-Mile Service Review for 2022 is , the treasurer is , and the secretary is . Allstate Pay-Per-Mile Service Review for 2022 insurance plans include
.

Allstate Pay-Per-Mile Service Review for 2022 is located in , and the phone number for Allstate Pay-Per-Mile Service Review for 2022 claims, customer, service, and additional information is .

Allstate Pay-Per-Mile Service Review for 2022 Insurance Quotes

If you already have Allstate Pay-Per-Mile Service Review for 2022 insurance quotes then be sure that you compare your quoted Allstate Pay-Per-Mile Service Review for 2022 insurance plans with insurance quotes from many other top insurance companies so that you can find the very best insurance plan for your needs. Enter your zip code in for free insurance quotes now!

Reviews
for Allstate

4.00 (11,410 reviews)
0.5
October 17, 2022

Valencia Harris

ALLSTATE INSURANCE

PLEASE DO NOT SUBJECT YOURSELF TO THIS HORRIFIC EXPERIENCE. I wish I had come to this site before made the HUGE mistake of switching my auto insurance and bundling it with Allstate. They were fine as my homeowner\'s plan. I switched my auto coverage in August trying to reduce my auto insurance due to the increase with my previous plan to save money. I paid my policy in full, was mistake #1, In October my Allstate coverage increased by 89.00, I ...
PLEASE DO NOT SUBJECT YOURSELF TO THIS HORRIFIC EXPERIENCE. I wish I had come to this site before made the HUGE mistake of switching my auto insurance and bundling it with Allstate. They were fine as my homeowner\'s plan. I switched my auto coverage in August trying to reduce my auto insurance due to the increase with my previous plan to save money. I paid my policy in full, was mistake #1, In October my Allstate coverage increased by 89.00, I called to get an explanation, to call this a customer service department would be a LIE! There was NO customer services at all, in fact speaking with Juan and Pat was like speaking with a child who had yet to learn how to comprehend, think or articulate. They simply read the document I had in hand to me as if I couldn\'t read even though I told them I have it, but it doesn\'t give an explanation of why the increase took place. The only response I received from either of them was insults Pat told me I could cancel my coverage as if she didn\'t care, Juan told me nothing. I am so disheartened cause I will need to start looking for other coverage and it seems like the staff these establishments are hiring are inept and inadequate they aren\'t able to function. They won\'t let you speak with a supervisor, one rattled paper in the phone to get me off of the phone. They ar enasty and purposely unhelpful, I wrote Allstste on line and never received a response from their customer service.
1
June 4, 2022

Keith_G__

As Discriminatory As You Can Possibly Get

My wife worked at one of Allstate's satellite offices. I proposed to her over the weekend. On Monday, her boss fired her after showing her ring off to a coworker. He took her into his office and explained she was being fired because he "believed in the Bible." My wife and I called Allstate HR at the corporate office and told them what had happened and they told us that because my wife worked at a satellite office, which were owned and run by indi...
My wife worked at one of Allstate's satellite offices. I proposed to her over the weekend. On Monday, her boss fired her after showing her ring off to a coworker. He took her into his office and explained she was being fired because he "believed in the Bible." My wife and I called Allstate HR at the corporate office and told them what had happened and they told us that because my wife worked at a satellite office, which were owned and run by individual people, those satellite offices could be run however they wanted and none of AllStates corporate protections applied. They basically said 'too bad so sad.' A little while later, before we'd had a chance to switch insurance companies yet (a long and tedious process) I got into a car accident. The other driver ran a red light, hitting me and I was sent to the hospital. I'm a transgender man and was literally about to change my legal name within a few days. I called Allstate to file the claim and asked that they use my new legal name. They said they couldn't because it wouldn't be official for a few days. I said 'fine, I'll call back in a few days." They then threatened me and told me if I didn't file "RIGHT NOW" they wouldn't take care of my claim. I was then forced to give my statement while being deadnamed and misgendered the entire time. Believe it or not this story it gets worse. So months go by. MONTHS. The insurance that was paying for a rental car runs out. I still have no reimebursment so I cannot buy a new car (mine was totaled.) I'm bein harassed by the bank over my car note, which obviously I wasn't paying since my car was totaled and Allstate was SUPPOSED to reimburse me for nearly everything. I had excellent coverage and excellent credit. I'm in constant contact with them. E-mails, phone calls, more e-mail, more phone calls. Every. Single. Day. And they will not give me the money. Excuse after excuse, and I'm deadnamed and misgendered every single time. Even though now my legal name has changed, they insisted on putting my dead name and wrong gender on the original report. So now people are VERY confused when they talk to me, hearing my deep masculine voice and seeing my pretty feminine name on paper. THANKS ALLSTATE! I was humiliated, endlessly, every day for over NINE MONTHS. Meanwhile, my wife is driving me to and from work because the insurance covering the rental car ran out months ago. My credit is being destroyed because I have no insurance money to buy a new car or pay the bank for the old car fee with, and I'm still recovering physically from the crash. I end up getting a lawyer and I told them "give me my money you've owed me for over 9 months now by tomorrow or I'm suing you." Magically, the next day, all the money was released. Allstate put me through a [REDACTED WORD] I cannot describe properly on this complaint. I never imagined in all my life how much hardship and hurt an insurance company could truly cause. Stay away. Far FAR away.
1
February 15, 2022

brenda_trammell

RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SCAMMERS!!!

worse insurance EVER !!! STAY AWAY !!!and i have had a few RUDE CUSTOMER SERVICE AND SCAMMERS MY PAYMENT FOR THE MONTH WAS A 100.00 MORE AND 1ST CS PERSON TRY TO TELL ME OVER SOME PAPER WORK THAT I GOT AND DIDNT SIGN, NEVER HAPPEN!! AND THE STUPID LADY I TALK TO NEXT TOLD ME IT WENT UP FOR TALKING IT OFF OF AUTO PAY WTH [REDACTED]
1
February 11, 2022

Akiraw1_

The worst insurance ever

Absolutely the worst insurance company ever complete liars scammers and they charge a ridiculous price….Liberty mutual is the best route if you ask me
1
January 6, 2022

pirish101

Way overpriced! Will scam you if you cancel!

After shopping around I found a policy that was 1/3 the cost (Literally 1/3 the cost) and cancelled. After canceling I was charged 30% of the yearly fee after only having insurance for 13 days. Total scam hidden in the fine print.
1
January 2, 2022

Carolyn0022

Untrained and Ignorant CS Team and Managers

All the customer service reps and their managers are ignorant. They will have me scenarios on how they are not liable for the damages. I called many times and talked with many people there. All are stupid and unhelpful!! Stay away
1
December 17, 2021

Allstate_Sucks_in_CA

Allstate SUCKS

Horrible experience! I've been with Allstate 18 years, time to change companies, they suck. Filed an auto claim 5 months ago, car has yet to be repaired. Allstate has provided every excuse from repair shop isn't listed as preferred supplier, even though Allstate provided me with the shop contacts to billing issues with subcontractors with the shop. Now I'm told the estimate that was done 2 months ago wasn't done correctly and another adjuster has...
Horrible experience! I've been with Allstate 18 years, time to change companies, they suck. Filed an auto claim 5 months ago, car has yet to be repaired. Allstate has provided every excuse from repair shop isn't listed as preferred supplier, even though Allstate provided me with the shop contacts to billing issues with subcontractors with the shop. Now I'm told the estimate that was done 2 months ago wasn't done correctly and another adjuster has to look at it. Funny, Allstate knows how to cash my check every month. Too many insurance companies out there to pay for crap experiences like this, go someplace else.
3
August 9, 2021

Shaytys50_

Unprofessional Agent

My experience with the agent that handled my uninsured Motorist bodily injury claim. The Agent was very rude, she was very unprofessional, I was in a bad accident on 4-22-2021, I wasn’t the cause of the accident. Someone hit me while I was sitting at a red light. Hit me from the back. And the driver drove off, so I reported the accident to My!!! Insurance Company!!! Allstate! I been A Customer of Allstate for over 8 years! And the way I was t...
My experience with the agent that handled my uninsured Motorist bodily injury claim. The Agent was very rude, she was very unprofessional, I was in a bad accident on 4-22-2021, I wasn’t the cause of the accident. Someone hit me while I was sitting at a red light. Hit me from the back. And the driver drove off, so I reported the accident to My!!! Insurance Company!!! Allstate! I been A Customer of Allstate for over 8 years! And the way I was treated by the one Agent! She has know customer service skills. Her name is [REDACTED NAME].
2
July 6, 2021

rickcf

Need to watch them and Drivewise is a scam.

In my experience Drivewise is a scam and the tech I spoke to a few weeks ago said it was broke but I 'should not uninstall it.'. It was ok years ago then they changed the programming that suddenly created false driving events on all 3 of my vehicles. Every trip, even driving my farm truck on my property started giving hard braking events. Then they remove the ability to get rid of those false reports on their website. So I had to use the pho...
In my experience Drivewise is a scam and the tech I spoke to a few weeks ago said it was broke but I 'should not uninstall it.'. It was ok years ago then they changed the programming that suddenly created false driving events on all 3 of my vehicles. Every trip, even driving my farm truck on my property started giving hard braking events. Then they remove the ability to get rid of those false reports on their website. So I had to use the phone app. But in the past year+ the phone app now hangs and crashes so you can't even do anything with it, worthless. My drivewise 'rewards' is very low if anything at all and our car rates are going up. We will be looking at other insurance again. We had allstate 15 years ago and dropped them because they raised the rates slowly over the competition and I will check to see if they are doing it again.
1
July 2, 2021

FedUpandInformed

Bizarre "Corporate/Underwriter Policies"

About two years ago we had Allstate try to auto add someone to our automobile policy. This was someone we didn't even know, and despite whatever Texas database they pulled the information from this individual did not live with us. Allstate put the burden of proof and getting it so this person would not be added on us, which is ridiculous. The hoops we had to jump through were insane, and at a very difficult time for our family. It is bad, mon...
About two years ago we had Allstate try to auto add someone to our automobile policy. This was someone we didn't even know, and despite whatever Texas database they pulled the information from this individual did not live with us. Allstate put the burden of proof and getting it so this person would not be added on us, which is ridiculous. The hoops we had to jump through were insane, and at a very difficult time for our family. It is bad, money grabbing corporate policies that were cited that were used to attempt to justify this. Who I have on my insurance and who I am paying for or not paying for is my business and my business alone, not Allstate's. Now, today, I receive an email notification that Allstate was going to add my 16 year old child to my insurance. A child that has a learner's permit and not a actual provisional or regular license. I call up the number I was given and some dubious line that smacked of "corporate policy" and underwriters policy was fed to me. They claimed that in the state of Texas, after 6 months of having a Learner's License that Texas considered them licensed, which is utter nonsense. No to mention the fact that this was suddenly dumped on us not six months later, but a couple months away from it being TWO YEARS since she got her Learner's License. This on top of the fact that before she received her Learner's License I spoke to Allstate representatives on what their policy was and was assured that as long as she had a Learner's License and was not an actual Licensed Driver that she was covered under our policy and did not need to be added in full since she couldn't drive on her own. Furthermore, Allstate has not updated their position on this policy online and I therefore find it highly suspect that our agent's office is doing this at this moment. If this is in fact not Allstate's position I would like to suggest they reign in their local agents because after these two issues, issues I have not had with any other insurance company we are now taking our business elsewhere. After having shopped around for additional quotes no other major insurance carrier that I spoke to has the requirement of fully adding our child, with her Learner's License to our insurance policy, and no misinformation concerning some fabricated "six month" limit. For the icing on the cake they could not forward any documentation to us concerning this supposed underwriting policy as it was something they didn't give out and was only for use "in house". Again, if this is not actually Allstate's position I want to make this company aware that some of their agents are pushing these underhanded practices and "corporate policies", perhaps for a chance to increase premiums. Her full addition would have nearly doubled our auto insurance. If it was an attempted money grab it has most certainly backfired as we are now leaving Allstate, will never return to Allstate, and will warn our friends and family, especially those that are facing new learning drivers of our issues and problems with Allstate as a cautionary tale. We should have left with the first instance of over reach. I did not sign up to have a corporation dictate to me. Had the first not happened we would still be leaving because of the second instance. My word to any and all, when it comes to Allstate caveat emptor (buyer beware)!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption