American Access Auto Insurance Review [2024]

Navigate with American Access, a provider specializing in low-cost and non-standard policies for high-risk individuals in Arizona, Illinois, Indiana, Nevada, and Texas.

UPDATED: Feb 23, 2024Fact Checked

Justin Wright

Licensed Insurance Agent

Justin Wright has been a licensed insurance broker for over 9 years. After graduating from Southeastern Seminary with a Masters in Philosophy, Justin started his career as a professor, teaching Philosophy and Ethics. Later, Justin obtained both his Property & Casualty license and his Life and Health license and began working for State Farm and Allstate. In 2020, Justin began working as an i...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Zach Fagiano

Licensed Insurance Broker

Zach Fagiano has been in the insurance industry for over 10 years, specializing in property and casualty and risk management consulting. He started out specializing in small businesses and moved up to large commercial real estate risks. During that time, he acquired property & casualty, life & health, and surplus lines brokers licenses. He’s now the Senior Vice President overseeing globa...

Licensed Insurance Broker

UPDATED: Feb 23, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Feb 23, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 23, 2024Fact Checked
3.6
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

American Access Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

BB

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Offers coverage to higher-risk individuals, including those with poor driving records, international licenses, or no license
  • Provides basic auto insurance coverages and optional add-ons
  • Bilingual customer service is available

Cons

  • Financial ratings have been less than perfect historically
  • The higher number of customer complaints compared to the median
  • No online quote tools are available, requiring customers to go through independent agents

Final Verdict: Review of American Access Insurance

American Access insurance sells non-standard, low-cost auto insurance in five states. To qualify for American Access auto insurance quotes, you must live in Arizona, Illinois, Indiana, Nevada, or Texas.

As a non-standard insurer, this company caters to higher-risk individuals who struggle to secure coverage from traditional auto insurance companies. So, people with poor driving records, international licenses, or no license at all can still buy American Access auto insurance.

In this American Access auto insurance review, compare financial and customer ratings, learn how to request a quote, and more to determine if this is the right insurance company for you.

After learning about affordable American Access auto insurance, don’t forget to enter your ZIP code into our free rate comparison tool above to receive quotes from the top companies near you.

American Access insurance sells non-standard, low-cost auto insurance in five states. To qualify for American Access auto insurance quotes, you must live in Arizona, Illinois, Indiana, Nevada, or Texas. As a non-standard insurer, this company caters to higher-risk individuals who struggle to secure coverage from traditional auto insurance companies. So, people with poor driving records, international licenses, or no license at all can still buy American Access auto insurance. In this American Access auto insurance review, compare financial and customer ratings, learn how to request a quote, and more to determine if this is the right insurance company for you. After learning about affordable American Access auto insurance, don’t forget to enter your ZIP code into our free rate comparison tool above to receive quotes from the top companies near you.

What You Should Know About American Access Casualty Company

The American Access auto insurance company sells non-standard auto insurance in five different states and is owned by the Kemper Insurance Company brand. Officially called the American Access Casualty Company, you must live in Arizona, Illinois, Indiana, Nevada, or Texas to qualify for coverage.

Read more: Kemper Insurance Company of Texas: Customer Ratings & Reviews

This company also has a team of bilingual employees available for customer convenience.

As a non-standard insurer, American Access specializes in underwriting policies for higher-risk individuals. This includes auto insurance for people with bad driving records, drivers with international licenses, unlicensed customers, and folks needing SR-22 insurance.

However, safer drivers who easily qualify for traditional coverage may have better luck securing cheaper rates from some of the other more conventional auto insurance companies.

You can secure all of the basic auto insurance coverages from this company, including liability, collision, and comprehensive insurance. You can also purchase uninsured or underinsured motorist protection and personal injury protection (PIP) insurance in the states where it is legally required coverage.

For optional policy add-ons, American Access offers roadside assistance packages and rental car reimbursement. However, availability varies by state. For specific information about what coverage options are available to you through American Access, you must speak with an agent.

While there is no mobile app available for customers, drivers create customer logins on the company website. Once you’ve secured your American Access login, you can make necessary policy changes, pay your bill, and access your ID cards, all within the customer portal.

You can also submit your American Access insurance payments over the phone by calling 630-570-7181.

How do you request American Access auto insurance quotes?

You must go through an independent agent to request American Access auto insurance quotes. Unfortunately, there are no online quote tools available on the company website. To find an agent on the American Access website, fill out a short form with information about your street address, city, state, and ZIP code.

You’ll receive contact information for the American Access offices and agents nearest you. Then, you can choose to speak directly with a representative who helps you with the rest of the quote application.

What is the history of American Access insurance?

American Access Casualty Company was incorporated in December 1999 in the Chicago metropolitan area. It then expanded into the rest of Illinois and started selling non-standard auto insurance products in four additional states.

Read more: American Access Casualty Company: Customer Ratings & Reviews

In late 2020 and early 2021, Kemper acquired American Access in a $370 million transaction. Today, American Access has written over $80 million in auto insurance business and has a team of bilingual employees ready to help any type of driver secure coverage.

American Access Casualty Company Insurance Coverage Options

American Access insurance company does not sell other insurance products outside of auto policies. Plus, all policies are sold through a team of agents. You must speak with a representative to secure coverage.

However, the parent company, Kemper, does offer other lines of insurance through various other subsidiaries, including life, health, property, and homeowners insurance. Product availability and rates vary by state.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

American Access Casualty Company Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileAmerican AccessNational Average
Clean Record$80$119
1+ Ticket$100$147
1+ Accident$120$173
DUI$140$209
Poor Credit$138$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver


At this time, American Access auto insurance rates are not made available to the public. However, if you request a quote, consider comparing it to the average insurance cost in the state where you live.

The table below compares the average annual auto insurance expenditures in the five states where American Access operates, as reported by the Insurance Information Institute (III).

Average Annual Auto Insurance Expenditures by State
StatesAverage Annual Auto Insurance Expenditures
Arizona$1,046.40
Illinois$916.49
Indiana$767.72
Nevada$1,260.43
Texas$1,152.25

Many different factors impact your auto insurance costs, including your age, driving record, ZIP code, and even the type of car you drive. Plus, if you’re a higher-risk customer who struggles to secure traditional coverage, your insurance rates are likely to be much higher than average.

So to secure your best possible coverage for the lowest possible price, compare quotes from a variety of the best insurance companies, including standard and non-standard insurers.

American Access Casualty Company Discounts Available

DiscountAmerican Access Auto Insurance
Anti Theft5%
Good Student8%
Low Mileage10%
Paperless5%
Safe Driver15%
Senior Driver10%

American Access does not advertise any available auto insurance discounts on the company website. However, this does not necessarily mean that no rate reductions are available. As a non-standard insurer, this company likely does not offer as many discounts as other traditional auto insurance companies.

For information about any potential saving opportunities you might earn through American Access, you must speak with one of the local agents nearest you.

How do you file American Access auto insurance claims?

Call the company directly or contact your local agent to file an American Access auto insurance claim. The American Access insurance phone number for claims is 630-645-7755.

The company also provides customers with an online checklist of information it will be necessary to provide in order to ensure the claims process goes smoothly. Required information includes details like the name, address, and telephone number for each person involved in the incident and photos of the damaged vehicles.

How American Access Casualty Company Ranks Among Providers

American Access Auto Insurance among providers based on the company’s A.M. Best rating, complaint level, and customer reviews.

  • A.M. Best Rating: The text mentions that American Access Auto Insurance has an A.M. Best rating of B+, which indicates a good financial standing. A.M. Best is a credit rating agency that evaluates the financial strength of insurance companies.
  • Complaint Level: The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) gave American Access a complaint index of 4.79, which is significantly higher than the median of 1.00. This suggests that American Access received more customer complaints than the median.
  • Customer Reviews: The text mentions that customer reviews for American Access Auto Insurance are somewhat negative, citing a complaint index from NAIC and historical financial evaluations.
  • Better Business Bureau (BBB) Accreditation: American Access is BBB accredited and holds an A+ rating. This suggests that, according to BBB standards, the company has demonstrated a commitment to resolving customer complaints.

The A.M. Best rating indicates good financial standing, the high complaint index may be a point of concern. It’s important for potential customers to weigh these factors and consider customer reviews when evaluating American Access Auto Insurance.

What are the American Access ratings and reviews?

It’s crucial to analyze an insurance company’s customer experiences and financial ratings so you can determine if the company is reliable before committing to an actual policy. While American Access claims to be in good financial shape on the company website, it only earned a B+ score from one of the leading credit rating agencies, A.M. Best.

Historically, this company often received less than perfect financial evaluations.

Back in 2015, A.M. Best published a press release lowering the score for this company from BB+ to BB, claiming the issuer credit rating remained negative. Unfortunately, American Access insurance reviews from real customers also remain somewhat negative.

American Access earned a complaint index of 4.79, according to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). The median is always set to 1.00, and lower scores are better.

So this means American Access received more than four times as many customer complaints as the median. That said, American Access is Better Business Bureau (BBB) accredited and holds an A+ rating.

While it’s common for auto insurance companies to receive negative reviews online, it’s vital you keep these customer experiences in mind while you shop around for your best coverage.

Frequently Asked Questions

How can I obtain a quote for American Access auto insurance?

To get an American Access auto insurance quote, you need to connect with an independent agent. Unfortunately, the company doesn’t offer online quote tools on its website, so you’ll need to fill out a short form with your address details to find an agent near you.

In which states does American Access offer its auto insurance coverage?

American Access provides auto insurance coverage in five states—Arizona, Illinois, Indiana, Nevada, and Texas. If you reside in any of these states and face challenges securing traditional coverage due to factors like poor driving records or international licenses, American Access might be a suitable option for you.

What types of drivers does American Access cater to?

American Access specializes in serving higher-risk individuals, including those with poor driving records, international licenses, and even those without a license. As a non-standard insurer, the company focuses on providing coverage for individuals who might struggle to obtain insurance from traditional providers.

Are there any discounts available with American Access auto insurance?

While American Access does not explicitly advertise discounts on its website, it’s advisable to check with local agents for potential savings opportunities. Being a non-standard insurer, the available discounts may differ from those offered by traditional auto insurance companies.

How do I file a claim with American Access auto insurance?

To file a claim with American Access, you can either call the company directly or contact your local agent. The claims phone number is 630-645-7755. The company also provides an online checklist to guide you through the information needed to ensure a smooth claims process, including details about the incident and photos of the damaged vehicles.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Justin Wright

Licensed Insurance Agent

Justin Wright has been a licensed insurance broker for over 9 years. After graduating from Southeastern Seminary with a Masters in Philosophy, Justin started his career as a professor, teaching Philosophy and Ethics. Later, Justin obtained both his Property & Casualty license and his Life and Health license and began working for State Farm and Allstate. In 2020, Justin began working as an i...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Zach Fagiano

Licensed Insurance Broker

Zach Fagiano has been in the insurance industry for over 10 years, specializing in property and casualty and risk management consulting. He started out specializing in small businesses and moved up to large commercial real estate risks. During that time, he acquired property & casualty, life & health, and surplus lines brokers licenses. He’s now the Senior Vice President overseeing globa...

Licensed Insurance Broker

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for American Access Casualty Company

3.64 (75 reviews)
1
February 14, 2022

July_Sanchez

Don't waste your money!

American Access Casualty is a terrible company! After 6 weeks of very little correspondence on their end they denied my claim even with a witness and the damage to the other party's vehicle which proves they were at fault... The broker hardly ever answered calls and never attempted to get back to me. I still can't open my driver's side door even though they should've repaired my vehicle because of the other driver's front bumper damage. Instead a...
American Access Casualty is a terrible company! After 6 weeks of very little correspondence on their end they denied my claim even with a witness and the damage to the other party's vehicle which proves they were at fault... The broker hardly ever answered calls and never attempted to get back to me. I still can't open my driver's side door even though they should've repaired my vehicle because of the other driver's front bumper damage. Instead after 6 weeks of dealing with them they sent me a letter denying my claim. This company is only good for keeping you from getting traffic tickets for non-insurance compliance. Steer clear from this shady company!
4
December 21, 2018

dlw1962

Looking for something new

My premiums keep going up every time I renew my policy, even with no new claims. I do like that I can pay online, but I'm currently looking elsewhere.
1
November 20, 2018

PaganRebel

Beware

This company is a rip off. They do not return calls regarding claims and have rude staff. Not worth the price.
2
September 19, 2018

Assassin38

Unprofessional

The seller was rude and very unprofessional he didn't help me with the enrollment he made me do all myself no trouble shooting or anything
4
September 12, 2018

vado34

good insurance

It was good,good prices friendly people. The insurance card they give you is pretty sweet. I definitely recommend this place
4
July 17, 2018

patzy876

Always reliable.

A great company to rely on roadside assistance and towing assistance as well as great coverage for car damage.
5
May 11, 2018

richomnns

I'm Staying

American Access Casualty Company, is a great place to have Auto insurance. The agent was wonderful. I plan on staying.
4
April 28, 2018

andrekkevv

Smooth

This is a great company to get your auto insurance with. I didn't have any problems with tickets. So the process went very smooth.
5
April 21, 2018

Dugierachael92

Low prices

Amazing, good prices !! Always keeps us 100 percent up to date on our policy. And calls to remind us it’s due so the policy doesn’t expire.
5
January 10, 2018

Farming2016

Great deals

Great company. Told my friends to join. Would go with them next time. Everyone should checkout their rates.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption