Auto-Owners Life Insurance Company Review (2024)

Auto-Owners Life Insurance Company stands as a beacon of trust and reliability, offering a comprehensive suite of coverage options for auto, homeowners, and life insurance, underscored by an esteemed A++ rating from A.M. Best and a commitment to affordability, personalization, and exceptional customer service.

UPDATED: Jun 14, 2024Fact Checked

Laura D. Adams

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Laura Adams is one of the nation’s leading finance, insurance, and small business authorities. As an award-winning author, spokesperson, and host of the top-rated Money Girl podcast since 2008, millions of readers and listeners benefit from her practical advice. Her mission is to empower consumers to live healthy and rich lives by planning for the future and making smart money decisions. She rec...

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Jun 14, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jun 14, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jun 14, 2024Fact Checked
4.2
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Auto-Owners Life Insurance Company

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$100

A.M. Best rating:

A++

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Diverse Range of Insurance: Offers auto, homeowners, and life insurance to meet various needs.
  • Customizable Coverage: Tailors policies to individual requirements, ensuring comprehensive protection.
  • Multi-Policy Discounts: Provides opportunities for savings by bundling multiple insurance policies.
  • Strong Financial Standing: Holds an A++ rating from A.M. Best, reflecting its financial stability.
  • Positive Customer Feedback: Garnered positive reviews for excellent customer service and claims processing.

Cons

  • Limited Online Presence: Website could offer more robust online account management features.
  • Complex Policies: Some policy options may be intricate, requiring thorough understanding.

Auto-Owners Life Insurance Company emerges as a beacon of trust and reliability in the realm of insurance. With an esteemed A++ rating from A.M. Best, the company offers a comprehensive suite of coverage options that span beyond the conventional.

Whether it’s safeguarding your vehicle with comprehensive auto insurance, protecting your cherished home through homeowners insurance, or securing your family’s future with a range of life insurance policies, Auto-Owners stands poised to cater to your individual needs.

The allure of customizable coverage is heightened by the enticing prospect of multi-policy discounts, emphasizing the company’s commitment to affordability and personalization. Backed by a reputation for exceptional customer service, prompt claims processing, and an array of discounts, Auto-Owners bridges the gap between traditional values and modern demands.

As you navigate the intricate world of insurance, Auto-Owners’ dedication to financial security, personal protection, and customer-centricity ensures that you are not merely insured, but truly empowered to face life’s uncertainties with confidence.

Auto-Owners Insurance Group Insurance Coverage Options

Auto-Owners Life Insurance Company provides a comprehensive range of coverage options to meet diverse needs:

  • Auto Insurance: Offering a complete spectrum of coverage, including liability, collision, and comprehensive packages, Auto-Owners ensures protection for your vehicle in various scenarios.
  • Homeowners Insurance: Safeguard your most valuable asset with property, liability, and additional living expenses coverage, ensuring financial security against unexpected events.
  • Life Insurance: With a variety of policies such as term life, whole life, and universal life, Auto-Owners ensures your loved ones are financially protected in the event of your passing.

These coverage options allow policyholders to tailor their insurance plans according to their unique circumstances, providing a sense of security and peace of mind.

Read more: Auto-Owners Insurance Company Review

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Auto-Owners Insurance Group Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileAuto-Owners LifeNational Average
Clean Record$120$119
1+ Ticket$148$147
1+ Accident$175$173
DUI$210$209
Poor Credit$206$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver

Compare RatesStart Now →

Auto-Owners Insurance Group Discounts Available

DiscountAuto-Owners Life
Anti Theft5%
Good Student10%
Low Mileage8%
Paperless5%
Safe Driver15%
Senior Driver7%

Compare RatesStart Now →


Auto-Owners Life Insurance Company extends various discounts to enhance the affordability of their coverage:

  • Multi-Policy Discounts: Policyholders can enjoy savings by bundling multiple insurance policies, such as auto and homeowners insurance, under Auto-Owners. This not only streamlines coverage but also reduces overall premium costs.
  • Safe Driving Discounts: Auto-Owners rewards safe driving habits with discounts for drivers who maintain a clean driving record and demonstrate responsible behavior on the road.
  • Good Student Discounts: Students with exceptional academic performance may qualify for discounts, promoting both educational excellence and reduced insurance costs.
  • Anti-Theft Discounts: Vehicles equipped with anti-theft devices and security features are eligible for discounts, encouraging theft prevention measures.
  • Paid-in-Full Discounts: Policyholders who choose to pay their premiums in full, rather than through installments, can benefit from additional cost savings.

These discounts reflect Auto-Owners’ commitment to providing affordable coverage options while incentivizing responsible behavior and security measures.

How Auto-Owners Insurance Group Ranks Among Providers

Auto-Owners Life Insurance Company operates in a competitive landscape with several notable competitors vying for the attention of insurance seekers. Some of its main competitors include:

  • State Farm: A well-established insurance giant, State Farm offers a wide range of insurance products, including auto, homeowners, and life insurance. Known for its extensive network of agents and strong customer service, State Farm is a prominent player in the industry.
  • Allstate: Another major player, Allstate provides comprehensive insurance solutions, including auto, homeowners, and life insurance. Known for its innovative tools like Drivewise and Quickfoto Claim, Allstate offers a blend of traditional coverage and modern technology.
  • Geico: Renowned for its humorous advertisements, Geico offers competitive rates and a straightforward online experience. Specializing in auto insurance, Geico’s direct-to-consumer model and focus on digital convenience set it apart.
  • Progressive: Recognized for its “Name Your Price” tool and extensive advertising campaigns, Progressive offers a range of coverage options for auto, homeowners, and other insurance types. Its user-friendly online interface and Snapshot program appeal to tech-savvy consumers.
  • Nationwide: With a broad spectrum of insurance offerings, Nationwide emphasizes personalized customer service. Its versatile policies, including auto and homeowners insurance, cater to a diverse clientele.

These competitors, alongside others, contribute to a dynamic insurance market where Auto-Owners distinguishes itself through its tailored coverage options, strong financial standing, and commitment to excellent customer service.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Auto-Owners Life Insurance Company Claims Process

Ease of Filing a Claim (Online, Over the Phone, Mobile Apps)

Auto-Owners Life Insurance Company understands the importance of a seamless claims process. They offer multiple avenues for policyholders to file a claim, ensuring convenience and accessibility.

You can initiate a claim online through their official website, over the phone by contacting their customer service, or even via their mobile app. This variety of options allows you to choose the method that best suits your preferences and needs.

Average Claim Processing Time

Prompt claims processing is a crucial factor when evaluating an insurance company. Auto-Owners aims to deliver on this front by efficiently handling claims. While specific processing times may vary depending on the nature and complexity of the claim, they prioritize a swift resolution. Policyholders can expect a reasonable turnaround time for claim settlements.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and Payouts

Customer feedback is a valuable indicator of an insurance company’s performance in the claims department. Auto-Owners Life Insurance Company is committed to exceptional customer service, and this extends to their handling of claims.

They have received positive feedback from customers regarding the efficiency and fairness of their claim resolutions and payouts. This positive reputation underscores their dedication to ensuring policyholders are well taken care of during critical moments.

Auto-Owners Life Insurance Company Digital and Technological Features

Mobile App Features and Functionality

Auto owners understand the importance of staying connected in the digital age. Their mobile app offers a range of features and functionalities designed to enhance the overall customer experience. Policyholders can use the app to access their insurance information, make payments, view policy documents, and even file claims conveniently from their mobile devices.

Online account management capabilities

Managing your insurance policies and accounts online has never been easier. Auto-Owners provides robust online account management capabilities that allow policyholders to access and update their information, view billing details, and track claim progress. This online portal empowers customers with the tools they need to stay in control of their insurance needs.

Digital Tools and Resources

In addition to their mobile app and online account management, Auto-Owners offers a range of digital tools and resources to assist policyholders in making informed decisions.

These resources may include educational materials, calculators, and interactive features that help customers understand their coverage options and make the right choices for their insurance needs. This commitment to digital empowerment sets Auto-Owners apart in the insurance industry.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Auto-Owners exclusively focused on life insurance?

No, Auto-Owners offers a diverse range of insurance types, including auto, homeowners, and life insurance. Their comprehensive coverage options cater to various needs.

Can I customize my coverage based on my requirements?

Absolutely! Auto-Owners is committed to providing personalized coverage. They offer customizable options to tailor your insurance plans according to your specific needs and circumstances.

Are there any discounts available for policyholders?

Yes, Auto-Owners provides multiple discount opportunities. You can benefit from multi-policy discounts by bundling your insurance policies. Safe driving discounts, good student discounts, and anti-theft discounts are also available to eligible customers.

How do I file a claim if the need arises?

Filing a claim with Auto-Owners is a straightforward process. You can file a claim through their official website or by reaching out to their customer service. They prioritize efficient claims processing to provide timely assistance when you need it.

What sets Auto-Owners apart from other insurance companies?

Auto-Owners stands out due to its commitment to exceptional customer service, customizable coverage options, and a strong financial standing reflected in its A++ rating from A.M. Best. Their range of insurance types, including auto, homeowners, and life insurance, along with various discounts, makes them a well-rounded choice in the insurance landscape.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Laura D. Adams

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Laura Adams is one of the nation’s leading finance, insurance, and small business authorities. As an award-winning author, spokesperson, and host of the top-rated Money Girl podcast since 2008, millions of readers and listeners benefit from her practical advice. Her mission is to empower consumers to live healthy and rich lives by planning for the future and making smart money decisions. She rec...

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Auto-Owners Insurance Group

4.15 (563 reviews)
1
February 1, 2021

helthscreen

Poor service

One of the worse companies I've worked with. They hit me with a bill 6 months after canceling. A cancelled in 2020 hit me with the bill in 2021 due to a "system issue" doesn't seem legal to hit someone with a bill 8 months later. I couldn't even log into my account to pay the bill because I am not longer a member there. How to chase them down online.
5
December 28, 2020

Vic_the_man

Good Enough

The company provided me with a good insurance coverage which came of good help when my car has a scratch on it
5
October 2, 2020

ellenamcd2

Well done Auto Owners Insurance

This is the first time I have had to file a claim with my Auto Insurance Company and both the agents and the auto insurance company Auto Owners Insurance did everything possible to make this as easy as possible. The Auto Body Shop a friend recommended were also wonderful...my car was show room ready in a very short time.
5
July 8, 2020

josechepe2001

Great policies and great road assistance

They provide great assitance when involved in an accident or having issues with your car specially for road assistance which is great
5
March 14, 2020

jessman1128

We love Auto Owners Insurance!

We have been very happy with our Auto Owners Insurance policy, agent, and company. We get very good rates and the service has always been excellent.
4
March 5, 2020

64061

Try auto owners.

They are very easy to work with and compete price wise with the others out there. I have full coverage for the same price I paid for liability only before.
5
February 24, 2020

VSchmitt

Good company from longtime customer

Auto Owners has always been a fair company to us. We have hit deer with vehicles and had one accident. I have had a policy with them for over 10 years. I continue to buy insurance from them because they continue to support me when needed.
5
February 24, 2020

pallam

Great policy for all our family needs

Great customer service. No significant rate increases. Prompt claims attention. Lowest pricing in the area. Can speak to a customer service rep easily, have not experienced long holds.
5
February 24, 2020

Tricia987654

Easy to love

Very easy to deal with and rates are some of the best in the area. The assessment time was quick and agents are responsive
4
February 23, 2020

db404

Agent mistakenly did not put comp on my oldest vehicle.

Reasonable prices considering Michigan auto insurance is very expensive. But unfortunately a newer agent neglected to put Comp on my oldest vehicle which I added last summer.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption