Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company Review (2024)

Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company is a security stronghold, distinguishing itself through tailored solutions, exceptional service, and a robust A++ rating, offering comprehensive coverage options and genuine peace of mind.

UPDATED: Jun 14, 2024Fact Checked

Laura D. Adams

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Laura Adams is one of the nation’s leading finance, insurance, and small business authorities. As an award-winning author, spokesperson, and host of the top-rated Money Girl podcast since 2008, millions of readers and listeners benefit from her practical advice. Her mission is to empower consumers to live healthy and rich lives by planning for the future and making smart money decisions. She rec...

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Jun 14, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jun 14, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jun 14, 2024Fact Checked
4.2
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$100

A.M. Best rating:

A++ (Superior)

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Diverse Range of Insurance Policies
  • Strong Financial Rating and Stability
  • Personalized and Tailored Coverage Options
  • Efficient Claims Processing
  • Positive Customer Experiences

Cons

  • Limited Online Policy Management Tools
  • Availability Varies by State
  • Not the Cheapest Option for All
  • Limited Mobile App Features
  • Fewer Discounts Compared to Some Competitors

In the realm of insurance, Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company emerges as a beacon of security and protection. With a comprehensive array of coverage options that span auto, home, business, and specialty insurance, they cater to the diverse needs of individuals and businesses alike.

What sets Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company apart is not just their extensive coverage but their unwavering commitment to personalized service. Their policies are more than financial safeguards; they are tailored solutions designed to fit your unique circumstances.

Backed by an impressive A++ (Superior) rating from A.M. Best, the company’s stability is a testament to its ability to provide the peace of mind you seek. From efficient claims processing to a history of positive customer experiences, every facet of Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company’s offerings reflects a dedication to your well-being.

As you navigate life’s uncertainties, remember that you’re not alone – Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company stands ready to safeguard your journey with a comprehensive coverage that’s as unique as you are.

Auto-Owners Insurance Group Insurance Coverage Options

Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company offers a comprehensive range of coverage options tailored to various aspects of life and business. These include:

  • Auto Insurance: From liability coverage to comprehensive and collision protection, their auto insurance policies safeguard you on the road, covering damages and liabilities that may arise from accidents.
  • Home Insurance: Protect your cherished abode with their home insurance, which encompasses not only the structure of your home but also your belongings. Whether it’s damage from a storm or theft, their policies provide the necessary safety net.
  • Business Insurance: For entrepreneurs and business owners, Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company offers coverage that shields your business against risks. This includes general liability, property insurance, and even business interruption coverage to help keep your operations running smoothly.
  • Specialty Insurance: Recognizing that unique circumstances require tailored solutions, their specialty insurance offerings cater to specific needs. Whether it’s a classic car, a vacation property, or specialized equipment, they have coverage options to match.

Each of these coverage options is designed to provide a sense of security and financial protection, giving you the peace of mind to navigate life’s twists and turns.

Read more:

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Auto-Owners Insurance Group Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileAuto-Owners SpecialtyNational Average
Clean Record$118$119
1+ Ticket$145$147
1+ Accident$174$173
DUI$208$209
Poor Credit$203$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver

Compare RatesStart Now →

Auto-Owners Insurance Group Discounts Available

DiscountAuto-Owners Specialty
Anti Theft6%
Good Student12%
Low Mileage9%
Paperless5%
Safe Driver18%
Senior Driver7%

Compare RatesStart Now →


Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company provides various discounts to help policyholders save on their premiums while maintaining comprehensive coverage. These discounts include:

  • Multi-Policy Discount: Save by bundling multiple insurance policies, such as auto and home insurance, with Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company.
  • Safe Driver Discount: Enjoy reduced rates if you have a clean driving record, demonstrating your commitment to safe driving practices.
  • Good Student Discount: Students with good academic performance can benefit from this discount, encouraging responsible behavior on the road.
  • Anti-Theft Device Discount: If your vehicle is equipped with anti-theft devices, you can qualify for a discount, as these devices lower the risk of theft.
  • Multi-Vehicle Discount: Insuring multiple vehicles with Auto-Owners can lead to cost savings, making it an attractive option for families with more than one car.
  • Payment Discounts: Opting for electronic funds transfer (EFT) or paying your premium in full upfront can lead to additional savings.
  • Mature Driver Discount: Older drivers who have completed defensive driving courses may qualify for a discount, reflecting their commitment to safe driving as they age.
  • Paperless Billing Discount: Choosing electronic billing and communication can often result in a discount, promoting environmental sustainability.
  • Renewal Discount: Staying loyal to Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company by renewing your policy can lead to special renewal discounts over time.

These discounts cater to a variety of circumstances, ensuring that policyholders can enjoy affordable coverage while benefiting from the company’s commitment to reward responsible behavior and loyalty.

How Auto-Owners Insurance Group Ranks Among Providers

Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company operates within a competitive landscape, with several notable competitors in the insurance industry. Some of its main competitors include:

  • State Farm: A well-established insurance giant, State Farm offers a wide range of insurance products, including auto, home, and life insurance. Known for its extensive agent network and customer-centric approach, State Farm is a significant player in the industry.
  • Allstate: Another prominent player, Allstate provides comprehensive coverage options, including auto, home, and life insurance. Known for its innovative tools and technology, Allstate offers features like Drivewise, which monitors driving behavior to potentially reduce premiums.
  • Progressive: Progressive stands out with its strong online presence and user-friendly tools. Offering competitive auto insurance rates and a range of coverage options, Progressive appeals to those seeking convenience and digital engagement.
  • Geico: Geico is known for its humorous advertising campaigns and competitive pricing. Offering a variety of insurance options, including auto, home, and more, Geico’s direct-to-consumer approach and focus on affordability attract a broad customer base.
  • Liberty Mutual: Liberty Mutual provides a range of insurance products and services, including auto, home, and renters insurance. With a focus on personalized coverage and a wide network of agents, Liberty Mutual competes strongly in the market.
  • Farmers: Farmers Insurance offers a variety of coverage options for homes, vehicles, and businesses. Known for its customizable policies and agent support, Farmers caters to individuals and businesses seeking tailored solutions.

These competitors share the goal of providing comprehensive coverage and exceptional service to policyholders. Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company distinguishes itself through its personalized approach, strong financial stability, and diverse range of coverage options, setting it apart within this competitive landscape.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company Claims Process

Ease of Filing a Claim (Online, Over the Phone, Mobile Apps)

Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company offers multiple convenient methods for policyholders to file insurance claims. Whether you prefer the ease of online submissions, the convenience of over-the-phone assistance, or the mobility of mobile apps, Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company has you covered.

This flexibility ensures that you can report a claim in a way that suits your preferences and lifestyle.

Average Claim Processing Time

The average claim processing time is a critical factor in evaluating an insurance company’s efficiency and customer service. Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company is committed to a streamlined claims process to minimize the stress and inconvenience often associated with filing a claim.

While specific processing times may vary depending on the nature and complexity of the claim, the company strives to provide swift and efficient claim resolutions to its policyholders.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and Payouts

Customer feedback is a valuable source of insight into an insurance company’s performance in handling claims. Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company has a history of positive customer experiences when it comes to claim resolutions and payouts.

Their commitment to personalized service and tailored solutions extends to the claims process, ensuring that policyholders receive fair and prompt compensation when they need it most.

Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company Digital and Technological Features

Mobile App Features and Functionality

Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company understands the importance of digital convenience in today’s fast-paced world. Their mobile app offers a range of features and functionality designed to enhance the overall insurance experience.

Whether you need to access your policy information, file a claim, or receive important updates, the mobile app provides a user-friendly platform to manage your insurance needs on the go.

Online Account Management Capabilities

Managing your insurance policies and accounts online has never been easier with Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company. Their online account management capabilities empower policyholders to review policy details, make payments, and update information with ease.

This digital convenience ensures that you have full control over your insurance matters, 24/7, from the comfort of your own home.

Digital Tools and Resources

Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company goes beyond the basics by offering a range of digital tools and resources to assist policyholders.

Whether you’re looking for educational materials, safety tips, or assistance in understanding your coverage options, their digital resources are readily available to help you make informed decisions and navigate the world of insurance effectively.

Frequently Asked Questions

What types of insurance does Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company offer?

Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company offers a diverse range of insurance coverage, including auto insurance, home insurance, business insurance, and specialty insurance tailored to unique needs.

How does Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company’s financial rating stand?

Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company boasts an exceptional A++ (Superior) rating from A.M. Best, indicating strong financial stability and the ability to meet policyholder obligations.

What is the average annual rate for a 45-year-old male driver with a clean record?

On average, a 45-year-old male driver with a clean driving record might expect an annual rate of around $1,200 with Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company.

How does the company’s complaint level compare?

Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company maintains a low complaint level, indicating a strong commitment to customer satisfaction and efficient claims handling.

What benefits does Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company offer?

Choosing Auto-Owners Specialty Insurance Company brings benefits like personalized coverage, efficient claims processing, a history of reliability, and a range of policy options to suit your needs.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Laura D. Adams

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Laura Adams is one of the nation’s leading finance, insurance, and small business authorities. As an award-winning author, spokesperson, and host of the top-rated Money Girl podcast since 2008, millions of readers and listeners benefit from her practical advice. Her mission is to empower consumers to live healthy and rich lives by planning for the future and making smart money decisions. She rec...

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Auto-Owners Insurance Group

4.15 (563 reviews)
1
February 1, 2021

helthscreen

Poor service

One of the worse companies I've worked with. They hit me with a bill 6 months after canceling. A cancelled in 2020 hit me with the bill in 2021 due to a "system issue" doesn't seem legal to hit someone with a bill 8 months later. I couldn't even log into my account to pay the bill because I am not longer a member there. How to chase them down online.
5
December 28, 2020

Vic_the_man

Good Enough

The company provided me with a good insurance coverage which came of good help when my car has a scratch on it
5
October 2, 2020

ellenamcd2

Well done Auto Owners Insurance

This is the first time I have had to file a claim with my Auto Insurance Company and both the agents and the auto insurance company Auto Owners Insurance did everything possible to make this as easy as possible. The Auto Body Shop a friend recommended were also wonderful...my car was show room ready in a very short time.
5
July 8, 2020

josechepe2001

Great policies and great road assistance

They provide great assitance when involved in an accident or having issues with your car specially for road assistance which is great
5
March 14, 2020

jessman1128

We love Auto Owners Insurance!

We have been very happy with our Auto Owners Insurance policy, agent, and company. We get very good rates and the service has always been excellent.
4
March 5, 2020

64061

Try auto owners.

They are very easy to work with and compete price wise with the others out there. I have full coverage for the same price I paid for liability only before.
5
February 24, 2020

VSchmitt

Good company from longtime customer

Auto Owners has always been a fair company to us. We have hit deer with vehicles and had one accident. I have had a policy with them for over 10 years. I continue to buy insurance from them because they continue to support me when needed.
5
February 24, 2020

pallam

Great policy for all our family needs

Great customer service. No significant rate increases. Prompt claims attention. Lowest pricing in the area. Can speak to a customer service rep easily, have not experienced long holds.
5
February 24, 2020

Tricia987654

Easy to love

Very easy to deal with and rates are some of the best in the area. The assessment time was quick and agents are responsive
4
February 23, 2020

db404

Agent mistakenly did not put comp on my oldest vehicle.

Reasonable prices considering Michigan auto insurance is very expensive. But unfortunately a newer agent neglected to put Comp on my oldest vehicle which I added last summer.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption