Bristol West Auto Insurance Review [2024]

Bristol West Auto Insurance emerges as a focal point for high-risk drivers, offering tailored coverage options and a seamless mobile app experience across the United States.

UPDATED: Dec 1, 2023Fact Checked

Schimri Yoyo

Licensed Agent & Financial Advisor

Schimri Yoyo is a financial advisor with active life and health insurance licenses in seven states and over 20 years of experience. During his career, he has held roles at Foresters Financial, Strayer University, Minnesota Life, Securian Financial Services, Delaware Valley Advisors, Bridgemark Wealth Management, and Fidelity.  Schimri is an educator eager to assist individuals and families in ...

Licensed Agent & Financial Advisor

Eric Stauffer

Licensed Insurance Agent

Eric Stauffer is an insurance agent and banker-turned-consumer advocate. His priority is educating individuals and families about the different types of insurance coverage. He is passionate about helping consumers find the best coverage for their budgets and personal needs. Eric is the CEO of C Street Media, a full-service marketing firm and the co-founder of ProperCents.com, a financial educat...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Dec 1, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Dec 1, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 1, 2023Fact Checked
2.2
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Bristol West

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Discounts available for safe drivers, multi-policy holders, and insuring multiple vehicles
  • Convenient online quoting and customer service options
  • Dedicated claims department
  • Established presence in the auto insurance industry

Cons

  • Availability limited to selected states
  • Limited information available
  • Pricing may vary depending on location, driving history, and other factors
  • Some customers may prefer a larger, more nationally recognized insurance provider
  • Coverage options may vary by state

Final Verdict: Review of Bristol West

Searching for auto insurance can be difficult and almost impossible if you have a bad driving record. In addition, high-risk drivers often have fewer options regarding proper car insurance coverage, and the options they find may be much more expensive than coverage with other companies.

If you’re a high-risk driver, you may be disappointed in the insurance companies you’ve found so far that have offered you coverage. Fortunately, Bristol West offers coverage for high-risk drivers and is available in many states in the U.S. Coverage with Bristol West costs more than coverage with many other companies, but non-standard drivers often appreciate Bristol West’s coverage options.

Bristol West offers coverage to people with bad driving records, and the company files SR-22 forms for drivers that need them. While you may find that rates with Bristol West are higher than rates with some other well-known companies, Bristol West offers the coverage you need to drive legally in your state.

Before you decide on car insurance coverage with Bristol West or any other company, shop online and compare quotes with several companies. Comparing quotes is a great way to determine which insurance company offers the coverage you’re looking for at a price that works for you.

Keep reading this Bristol West auto insurance review to see if the company’s coverage options and rates fit your needs.

Bristol West offers auto insurance to high-risk drivers throughout the U.S. If you're a high-risk driver, Bristol West may be a great option. Unfortunately, Bristol West insurance costs more than coverage with many other insurance companies. Still, the company may be a great option for you if you have a bad driving record. If you're a high-risk driver, you may find it difficult to get proper insurance in your state. Bristol West may be able to help. Occasionally, you may qualify for discounts with Bristol West that help you save on your monthly or annual auto insurance rates. Some discounts can help you save up to 25% on your auto insurance coverage. It's a good idea to speak with a Bristol West representative if you're considering the company to ask whether you are eligible for any discounts on coverage.

What You Should Know About Bristol West Insurance Services Inc.

Bristol West offers several benefits and helpful options for car insurance coverage. Since Bristol West offers coverage to high-risk drivers, the company has many policyholders that appreciate their coverage options and the potential to save on car insurance with different discount opportunities.

While Bristol West may be a great option for certain non-standard or high-risk drivers, the company doesn’t offer certain options that other companies like Geico, Farmers, and Progressive do. For example, Bristol West doesn’t offer a usage-based or pay-per-mile auto insurance program.

Many customers don’t realize that Bristol West is a subsidiary of Farmers Insurance. So, while Bristol West is a smaller company, it has the financial backing of a well-known insurance company throughout the U.S. Bristol West has an A, or excellent, financial strength rating and a stable future outlook with A.M. Best. Learn more about Farmers by visiting our Farmers auto insurance review.

Bristol West currently offers coverage through auto insurance agents. While customers can purchase coverage online, many choose to utilize a Bristol West agent. Agents allow policyholders the ability to have one contact person when looking for coverage, and they can also help if you ever need to file a claim or have questions about your coverage.

In theory, having an insurance agent helps you avoid the hassle of speaking with multiple people and gives you peace of mind that someone is looking out for your best interest regarding your car insurance policy.

Bristol West may not offer consistency regarding online auto insurance policies. For example, in some states and regions, you may be able to get a Bristol West insurance quote, while in other areas or states, you may have to call the company and speak directly with an agent. Unfortunately, this could make the process of getting a quote more complicated.

You can make a Bristol West car insurance claim online, over the phone, or via the Bristol West mobile app. The company’s mobile app allows you to pay your bill, view the specifics of your car insurance policy, and contact your agent if you have questions. Fortunately, you can save a copy of your insurance card to your mobile app if you ever need it while driving.

Does Bristol West have good customer service?

Bristol West has mixed reviews regarding customer service. The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) says Bristol West has higher-than-average customer complaints for a company of its size.

According to the NAIC, Bristol West customers cite inconsistent prices, issues with billing, and the company’s difficult-to-maneuver website as the biggest issues. Fortunately, customers often appreciate the company’s use of agents as they know who to speak to when they face issues with their policies.

If you’re considering purchasing a car insurance policy with Bristol West, read customer reviews to learn more about what past and current customers think about the company and how it handles car insurance claims.

What are the pros of a Bristol West auto insurance policy?

If you choose Bristol West as your car insurance company, you can look forward to several benefits. Some of the major benefits of a Bristol West car insurance policy include:

  • Coverage for high-risk drivers
  • Option to work directly with an insurance agent
  • SR-22 filings
  • Several payment options
  • Availability in most U.S. states

If you need auto insurance for high-risk drivers, you may have encountered certain companies that won’t offer you car insurance coverage. Additionally, companies that offered you coverage may have done so at a steep price. While Bristol West Insurance Company isn’t the cheapest car insurance option, the company works to keep competitive rates for non-standard drivers.

Bristol West uses auto insurance agents throughout the U.S. If you dread using a website to purchase a policy and would like to speak with an expert, Bristol West may be a great option. When you speak with an agent, you can ensure you get the coverage you need to stay safe and confident behind the wheel.

In addition, Bristol West files SR-22 forms for its policyholders that need one. Bristol West will file the document on your behalf if you need an SR-22 filing because of a blemish on your driving record. All you have to do is pay a small fee for the service.

You have options when it’s time to pay for your Bristol West auto insurance policy. You can pay in person, over the phone, or company website and Bristol West allows many customers to customize their payment plans. For example, if paying on a certain day of the month works best for you, Bristol West may allow you to do so.

Lastly, Bristol West is available in several states in the U.S. In fact, Bristol West sells car insurance in every U.S. state aside from Alaska, Washington D.C., Delaware, Hawaii, North Carolina, Rhode Island, Vermont, and West Virginia.

What are some cons of a Bristol West auto insurance policy?

While there are advantages to purchasing a car insurance policy with Bristol West, there are also some downsides. Some of the most significant disadvantages to a Bristol West auto insurance policy include:

  • High rates for good drivers
  • High rates for people who don’t qualify for discounts
  • A higher-than-average number of customer complaints for a company of its size
  • Not a great option for drivers who aren’t high risk

Bristol West offers coverage to high-risk and standard drivers, but good drivers may be surprised at how much a Bristol West policy costs. Since high-risk drivers pay high rates based on their driving record, Bristol West’s elevated rates aren’t surprising. However, if you’re a good driver with a clean driving record, you’ll probably find cheaper rates elsewhere.

Additionally, Bristol West rates are high for anyone who doesn’t qualify for one or more discounts with the company. Discounts can help you save up to 25% on your Bristol West car insurance policy. Still, the Bristol West auto insurance cost is probably too high if you don’t qualify for a discount.

Bristol West doesn’t have great customer reviews. Bristol West insurance reviews show a higher-than-average number of customer complaints. According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC), Bristol West customers make more complaints than expected for a company of its size.

Lastly, Bristol West is probably not a great idea for drivers who aren’t high risk. If you’re a high-risk driver, your coverage options will be limited, and you’ll pay more for coverage.

However, standard drivers with a clean driving record may be surprised to know the limits of Bristol West’s auto insurance coverage. If you’re not a high-risk driver, you should consider other companies for your car insurance needs.

Bristol West Insurance Services Inc. Insurance Coverage Options

 Bristol West offers the standard coverage options you might expect with a car insurance company, including, as liability, personal injury protection, and comprehensive coverage.

  • Bodily injury liability: Bodily injury liability protects you if you cause an accident and one or more people get injured.
  • Property damage liability: Property damage liability protects you if you cause an accident and damage someone’s vehicle or other personal property.
  • Personal injury protection (PIP): PIP coverage pays for medical bills associated with an accident. PIP insurance may also help with lost wages and funeral costs. Find the best personal injury protection (PIP) insurance coverage here. 
  • Medical payments (MedPay): MedPay coverage pays for medical bills like hospital visits and visits to the doctor. MedPay is similar to PIP coverage but is more specific.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage helps if you’re in an accident and the person responsible doesn’t carry the proper insurance.
  • Collision insurance: Collision insurance pays for repairs to your car after an accident.
  • Comprehensive insurance: Comprehensive insurance pays for repairs to your car if inclement weather, theft, vandalism, or wild animals damage it.

In addition to the coverages listed above, Bristol West offers add-on options to its policyholders. Some of the company’s most popular add-on coverage options include:

  • Gap insurance: Gap insurance pays the difference between how much you owe on your vehicle and your car’s actual cash value if you’re ever in an accident and your car gets totaled. Learn which auto insurance companies offer gap insurance here.
  • Roadside assistance: Bristol West Insurance roadside assistance helps if you’re stranded and need a tow, fuel services, lock-out services, or flat tire repair.
  • Rental car reimbursement: Rental car reimbursement pays you back if you have to rent a car because your vehicle is in the shop after a covered event. Bristol West’s rental car reimbursement pays $50 per day for up to 30 days.
  • Rideshare insurance: Bristol West’s rideshare insurance offers coverage to people who drive for companies like Uber and Lyft. A personal insurance policy doesn’t cover you if you’re in an accident, and coverage with Uber and Lyft is limited. Rideshare coverage helps fill the gap and ensure you’re never without proper insurance for your job.

Depending on what you’re looking for, you may find that Bristol West offers coverage that helps you customize your policy for added protection on the road. For example, if you work for a company like Uber or Lyft, Bristol West’s rideshare coverage may help you stay safe and avoid stressing over potential coverage issues while you’re on the clock.

What is SR-22 coverage?

SR-22 isn’t a type of insurance. Instead, drivers may need to file an SR-22 form with their state to drive legally. Some insurance companies won’t file an SR-22 form as it signifies you pose more of a risk on the road because of a bad driving record. Some of the main reasons you may need to file an SR-22 form include:

  • Driving with a suspended license
  • Driving without a license
  • Driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol
  • Multiple speeding tickets
  • Multiple traffic tickets
  • More than one at-fault accident
  • Failure to pay child support

You can get SR-22 coverage with Bristol West, though rates for this sort of coverage may cost more than you’re used to paying. You can compare Bristol West SR-22 coverage rates to other top SR-22 auto insurance coverage options in your area. Comparing quotes will help you see which company offers the coverage you need at a price that works with your budget.

Does Bristol West offer other insurance products?

Bristol West only offers car insurance. However, the company may offer discounts on coverage if you purchase certain insurance products through its parent company, Farmers Insurance.

Farmers offers insurance products like homeowners, renters, and motorcycle insurance. If you buy one or more products with Farmers, Bristol West may offer discounts of up to 25% on your insurance coverage. In addition, you can speak with a Bristol West agent or representative to learn more about your options for other insurance products.

Bristol West Auto Insurance: The Bottom Line

Bristol West offers auto insurance to high-risk drivers throughout the U.S. If you’re a high-risk driver, Bristol West may be a great option. Unfortunately, Bristol West insurance costs more than coverage with many other insurance companies. Still, the company may be a great option for you if you have a bad driving record. If you’re a high-risk driver, you may find it difficult to get proper insurance in your state. Bristol West may be able to help.

Occasionally, you may qualify for discounts with Bristol West that help you save on your monthly or annual auto insurance rates. Some discounts can help you save up to 25% on your auto insurance coverage. It’s a good idea to speak with a Bristol West representative if you’re considering the company to ask whether you are eligible for any discounts on coverage.

Before you commit to a Bristol West car insurance policy, finding and comparing quotes from several insurance companies is important. Comparing quotes can help you find the coverage you want and need on your vehicle without paying too much for your policy. 

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Bristol West Insurance Services Inc. Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileBristol WestNational Average
Clean Record$75$119
1+ Ticket$113$147
1+ Accident$146$173
DUI$250$209
Poor Credit$129$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver

View as image

The amount you’ll pay for Bristol West car insurance depends on several factors like age, location, gender, marital status, driving history, credit score, and coverage. Overall, Bristol West insurance will likely be more expensive than many other companies because it’s primarily a company for high-risk drivers.

High-risk or non-standard drivers often expect to pay more for their car insurance coverage since they have blemishes like accidents and speeding tickets on their driving records. Still, over time, all drivers should get lower car insurance rates if they work to keep their driving records clean.

How much is Bristol West for teen drivers?

Teen drivers pay more for car insurance than any other demographic. Most companies charge teens higher rates because they pose more risk behind the wheel. The national average for auto insurance for 16-year-old drivers is $618 per month for males and $566 per month for females.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Teenage Auto Insurance Rates by Gender
Insurance Company16-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record16-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record18-Year-Old Male with a Clean Record18-Year-Old Female with a Clean Record
Allstate$637.83$608.25$518.58$448.42
American Family$480.08$390.17$390.33$287.67
Farmers$741.75$777.50$603.17$573.25
Geico$311.92$297.75$253.58$219.58
Liberty Mutual$778.25$716$632.75$527.92
Nationwide$476.17$410.50$387.17$302.67
Progressive$813.83$801.42$661.75$590.83
State Farm$349.25$310.83$284$229.17
Travelers$896.83$708.83$729.17$522.58
National Average$609.58$557.92$495.58$411.33

While the information on Bristol West rates isn’t readily available online, Farmers auto insurance costs around $773 per month for a 16-year-old male and $810 per month for a 16-year-old female. Farmers rates are higher than the national average, and Bristol West may charge more for coverage if you’re a high-risk driver who needs minimum coverage on your vehicle.

Do Bristol West rates decrease as you age?

Expect to pay less for car insurance with Bristol West as you get older, though your driving record will impact your rates with the company.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by Age and Gender
Companies18-Year-Old Female18-Year-Old Male30-Year-Old Female30-Year-Old Male65-Year-Old Female65-Year-Old Male
Allstate$448.45$518.62$168.42$176.48158.33156.53
Farmers$597.48$628.61$160.08$167.16136.18135.62
Geico$219.55$253.62$89.87$86.7978.1678.45
Liberty Mutual$521.90$625.59$174.23$199.56167.43170.04
Nationwide$302.66$387.17$124.10$136.19110.55112.22
Progressive$590.85$661.74$130.78$136.05109.30102.84
State Farm$229.17$283.98$93.53$102.8584.1584.15
Travelers$530.19$739.74$99.18$107.6795.5396.76
USAA$180.43$202.79$74.09$79.4257.6857.39

The national average car insurance rate for a 30-year-old male is $139 per month, while a 30-year-old female pays $128 per month on average. Farmers charges $167 per month for a 30-year-old male and $160 per month for a 30-year-old female.

If you have one or more accidents or speeding tickets on your driving record, you can expect to pay higher rates for coverage. Additionally, you may have difficulty getting coverage with most companies if you have a DUI or DWI on your driving record.

Bristol West covers high-risk drivers, but you may pay significantly higher rates with a DUI or DWI on your record since you pose a high risk to insurance companies.

How much is a minimum coverage policy with Bristol West?

Some high-risk drivers may be interested in purchasing a minimum coverage policy with Bristol West. Minimum liability insurance coverage costs less than a full coverage auto insurance policy because it offers less protection. For example, the national average for a minimum coverage policy for a 45-year-old with a clean driving record is $45 per month.

Average Monthly Liability-Only vs. Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by Company
CompaniesMonthly Liability-Only Coverage Auto Insurance RatesMonthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates
Allstate$162$318
American Family$114$224
Farmers$147$288
Geico$91$179
Liberty Mutual$203$398
Nationwide$117$229
Progressive$144$283
State Farm$120$235
Travelers$147$287
USAA$82$161
National Average$133$260

Bristol West’s parent company, Farmers Insurance, charges around $53 monthly for the same demographic. However, Bristol West may charge higher rates because it deals primarily with high-risk drivers.

Remember that minimum coverage rates will increase if you have infractions on your driving record. For example, the national average for a 45-year-old driver with an at-fault accident on their record is $66 per month. In addition, if you’re 45 years old and have a DUI on your driving record, you’ll pay around $81 each month for a minimum coverage car insurance policy.

Bristol West Insurance Services Inc. Discounts Available

DiscountsBristol West
Anti Theft5%
Good Student13%
Low Mileage7%
Paperless4%
Safe Driver17%
Senior Driver6%

Policyholders can get auto insurance discounts with Bristol West, though percentages vary based on several factors. Some of the company’s most common and popular discounts include:

  • Multi-car discount: If you insure more than one car with Bristol West, you may save money on your coverage.
  • Bundling discount: Purchase more than one policy with Bristol West or Farmers and enjoy up to 15% savings on your car insurance coverage.
  • Paid-in-full discount: You’ll save money on your insurance premium if you pay for your entire policy upfront.
  • Electronic payment discount: Bristol West offers additional savings if you pay for your coverage electronically and receive electronic notifications rather than notifications by mail.
  • Homeowner discount: Save money on your car insurance if you own a home.
  • Non-owner discount: Save money on your car insurance with Bristol West if you purchase a non-owner car insurance policy.
  • Clean driving record discount: Drivers can save if they have a clean driving record and avoid car accidents and other driving infractions.

Some car insurance discounts can help you save up to 25% on your car insurance coverage. If you qualify for a discount, you can speak with a Bristol West agent to learn more about your options and how much you could save on your car insurance.

How Bristol West Insurance Services Inc. Ranks Among Providers

Bristol West Auto Insurance, a prominent player in the realm of high-risk coverage, stands out as a reliable choice for policyholders across the United States. This review delves into Bristol West’s unique features, covering standard options, add-ons, and the convenience of a user-friendly mobile app.

Geico: Geico, a leader in auto insurance, is recognized for competitive rates and user-friendly online services.

Farmers: As Bristol West’s parent company, Farmers Insurance offers stability and diverse coverage options, including home and motorcycle insurance.

Progressive: Progressive stands out for its innovative approach, introducing features like Snapshot for personalized rates based on driving behavior.

As we navigate through the specifics of Bristol West, it becomes crucial to weigh the pros and cons, comparing its rates and coverage against those of key competitors.

This comprehensive analysis aims to assist you in making informed decisions about your auto insurance needs, ensuring you find the right balance between cost and coverage. Secure your peace of mind on the road with a well-informed choice.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Bristol West Auto Insurance?

Bristol West Auto Insurance is a provider of auto insurance coverage for drivers in the United States. They offer a range of policies to meet the needs of different drivers.

How do I file a claim with Bristol West Auto Insurance?

If you need to file a claim with Bristol West Auto Insurance, you can do so by contacting their claims department. They will guide you through the process and provide the necessary forms and information.

Can I manage my Bristol West Auto Insurance policy online?

Yes, Bristol West Auto Insurance provides an online portal where policyholders can manage their policies, make payments, view documents, and update their information.

Does Bristol West Auto Insurance offer roadside assistance?

Yes, Bristol West Auto Insurance provides optional roadside assistance coverage. This can help with services like towing, flat tire changes, and lockout assistance.

Are there any penalties for canceling my Bristol West Auto Insurance policy?

Bristol West Auto Insurance may have specific cancellation policies outlined in your policy documents. It’s advisable to review the terms and conditions or contact their customer service for details.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Schimri Yoyo

Licensed Agent & Financial Advisor

Schimri Yoyo is a financial advisor with active life and health insurance licenses in seven states and over 20 years of experience. During his career, he has held roles at Foresters Financial, Strayer University, Minnesota Life, Securian Financial Services, Delaware Valley Advisors, Bridgemark Wealth Management, and Fidelity.  Schimri is an educator eager to assist individuals and families in ...

Licensed Agent & Financial Advisor

Eric Stauffer

Licensed Insurance Agent

Eric Stauffer is an insurance agent and banker-turned-consumer advocate. His priority is educating individuals and families about the different types of insurance coverage. He is passionate about helping consumers find the best coverage for their budgets and personal needs. Eric is the CEO of C Street Media, a full-service marketing firm and the co-founder of ProperCents.com, a financial educat...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Bristol West Insurance Services Inc.

2.23 (98 reviews)
1
December 28, 2023

Buzarsmichelle_gmail_com

Worst company ever

I called and had my policy set up in November was told nothing about being required to have health coverage and paid my 6 month premium in full. Got a letter the day after Christmas that my car insurance was canceled unless I could pay them 1600 dollars to make sure that I had medical coverage. I had already paid them 500 dollars November 9th. I never even received my insurance cards in the mail. You sit on hold for hours while trying to contact ...
I called and had my policy set up in November was told nothing about being required to have health coverage and paid my 6 month premium in full. Got a letter the day after Christmas that my car insurance was canceled unless I could pay them 1600 dollars to make sure that I had medical coverage. I had already paid them 500 dollars November 9th. I never even received my insurance cards in the mail. You sit on hold for hours while trying to contact someone regarding anything and their website doesn't actually allow you to do anything. Worst insurance company ever ibshouldnt have to pay 2 grand for 6 months of insurance when I've never had an accident or gotten a ticket and only needed liability for a car that isn't driven all winter and won't be again until June.
1
March 29, 2023

Miichelle

Ripoff

Recent,y Bristal West stated that they were cutting my auto insurance. I already paid the bill. Then they jump the cost by $28.00. I spoke with someone about this trying to see why. No problems gave occurred, Then another email was sent to me stating another increase by $10.00. They're trying to raise my cost by $38.00 for no reason. They couldn't explain what the increase was about either. Stay away from this company!!
1
January 3, 2023

Phoenix-Fire

This is straight up theft!

How do you spell out fraud and theft! I was being charged almost $400 a month for one dodge ram 2011. I had a second driver who had some speeding tickets which raised my insurance damn near $300. I removed said person from my insurance before my billing date. My insurance reflects that he has been removed! My bill is saying I still owe for the services for him being on my account. They are saying that it’s because I did it before the invoice wa...
How do you spell out fraud and theft! I was being charged almost $400 a month for one dodge ram 2011. I had a second driver who had some speeding tickets which raised my insurance damn near $300. I removed said person from my insurance before my billing date. My insurance reflects that he has been removed! My bill is saying I still owe for the services for him being on my account. They are saying that it’s because I did it before the invoice was set out. Flat out! I am not being charged for my services for the month. Which would be just me on my insurance! I have to pay upfront for insurance for that month. So when I removed him off my insurance I was expecting there to be $87 taken out of my account instead of them trying to charge me $371 +20 for insufficient funds because I was not expecting them to take out the $400. This is straight up theft! If anybody else has had this issue please let me know! I would be glad to start a class action lawsuit.
1
October 6, 2022

Bristol_Scam

Bristol West is a scam

Bristol West is a scam. I bought this insurance and paid the first fee for the premium, then set up autopayment. A month and a half later they send me a cancellation notice stating that I was overdue, and they charged me a late fee. I went to the website and confirmed that autopayment was set up, and now I'm paying for the mistakes of incompetent employees who want to rely on automation. Poor service and poor experience. I can't imagine what fili...
Bristol West is a scam. I bought this insurance and paid the first fee for the premium, then set up autopayment. A month and a half later they send me a cancellation notice stating that I was overdue, and they charged me a late fee. I went to the website and confirmed that autopayment was set up, and now I'm paying for the mistakes of incompetent employees who want to rely on automation. Poor service and poor experience. I can't imagine what filing a claim would have looked like. Glad they canceled my policy. 0/10 recommend.
1
August 22, 2022

grumpygringo

Bad insurance company shady practices.

This company is fully automated. Agent wrote me up for policy 3 days after I wanted it. Didn't even ask "When do you want to start your policy?". Took it upon herself to do that on her own. The Less human work the better I guess she must have been thinking . Sent me her picture instead of policy my policy., just her face. all by itself. Like what am I supposed to do with that.? I need that insurance by the end of the weekend. Why was it not her...
This company is fully automated. Agent wrote me up for policy 3 days after I wanted it. Didn't even ask "When do you want to start your policy?". Took it upon herself to do that on her own. The Less human work the better I guess she must have been thinking . Sent me her picture instead of policy my policy., just her face. all by itself. Like what am I supposed to do with that.? I need that insurance by the end of the weekend. Why was it not her mind as well. ?Then after canceling over the phone , 3 days later I got billed for 2.5 months of coverage anyway. I wasn't given a bill previous to that, just informed 2 1/2 months later that if I didn't pay the bill it was going to collections. No paper bills no phone calls no itemized bills anywhere. No warning. Nothing out of nowhere threatening collection notice came in postal mail. And " Still" not itemized. Didn't even know I had a bill . They promise everything over a phone . Don't deal with these guys unless you get EVERYTHING in writing. Not in a email either, because they will say they sent it. Bottom line very shady business practices. I am going to Attorney General to find out if that is up to standards. they take TOO MUCH advantage of VERBAL communications. There has got to be some rules against this.
1
June 27, 2022

Jtobiasson_

Bad business practices

After being told there was no charge for canceling, they hit me with a cancelation fee and decided that I owed them another $64 for "unpaid services" for the month I just gave them $250 for. Not to mention they were $80 more than their competitors
1
June 3, 2022

Muhammad_Abdullahi

Charging extra Money!

My contract ended in 6 months and I made all the payments on time, NOW they are charging me for the late payment of an imaginary new contract that was never signed or approved!!! Daylight stealing!!!
1
May 25, 2022

Ayoub_Khan

Horrible Experience with company.

Horrible Experience with the company, they Charged me without my consent or renewing the new policy. they wanted me a double price for my policy without me getting a ticket or a into an accident or claims. that's why wanted to cancel the policy. and i did switch to new insurance company but they still deducted my money because i cant cancel my autopay and now when i am calling them they cant help and they would say, they would refund $190 somethi...
Horrible Experience with the company, they Charged me without my consent or renewing the new policy. they wanted me a double price for my policy without me getting a ticket or a into an accident or claims. that's why wanted to cancel the policy. and i did switch to new insurance company but they still deducted my money because i cant cancel my autopay and now when i am calling them they cant help and they would say, they would refund $190 something out of $500+ for one extra day which is horrible.
1
April 20, 2022

Lexabshi03

Don’t even bother…

Bristol West charged my card for over $100.00 because according to their records, I missed last months payments… I don’t have Bristol West. Customer Service did absolutely nothing to help. Thanks Bristol West 👍🏽👍🏽
1
April 14, 2022

bkelly66

poor customer service

my daughter inadvertently bought car insurance thru Bristol. She cancelled 3 days later after she realized her insurance had not cancelled. Bristol would not cancel the insurance with them unless she produced qualified insurance on her vehicle. This is not the insurance companies job to verify current ins on any vehicle in order to cancel. Additionally they did not cancel this insurance until 10 days later charged her an admin fee and 10 days on...
my daughter inadvertently bought car insurance thru Bristol. She cancelled 3 days later after she realized her insurance had not cancelled. Bristol would not cancel the insurance with them unless she produced qualified insurance on her vehicle. This is not the insurance companies job to verify current ins on any vehicle in order to cancel. Additionally they did not cancel this insurance until 10 days later charged her an admin fee and 10 days on ins. All in all they stole $100.00 from a 19 year old. Do not do business with this company. One month later she is still waiting for her reimbursement.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption