Clearcover Auto Insurance Review [2024]

Clearcover Auto Insurance streamlines coverage processes for drivers in 20 states, emphasizing convenience and potential savings, setting itself apart in the realm of auto insurance providers.

UPDATED: Jan 23, 2024Fact Checked

Jeff Root

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeff is a well-known speaker and expert in life insurance and financial planning. He has spoken at top insurance conferences around the U.S., including the InsuranceNewsNet Super Conference, the 8% Nation Insurance Wealth Conference, and the Digital Life Insurance Agent Mastermind. He has been featured and quoted in Nerdwallet, Bloomberg, Forbes, U.S. News & Money, USA Today, and other leading...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tim Bain

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tim Bain is a licensed life insurance agent with 23 years of experience helping people protect their families and businesses with term life insurance.  His insurance expertise has been featured in several publications, including Investopedia and eFinancial. He also does digital marking and analysis for KPS/3, a communications and marking firm located in Nevada. 

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Jan 23, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 23, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 23, 2024Fact Checked
3.4
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Clearcover Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

N/A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Hassle-free online auto insurance purchasing
  • Fast claims payments, with some claims paid out in as little as 7 minutes
  • Positive financial ratings, including an A- rating from A.M. Best
  • Positive customer reviews and an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau

Cons

  • Limited coverage options, focusing only on auto insurance
  • Currently only available in 20 states, with plans to expand in the future

Final Verdict: Review of Clearcover Insurance

Clearcover insurance company sells hassle-free auto insurance online in 20 states, with plans to expand elsewhere in the future. This company prides itself on being convenient and fast. For example, Clearcover states that covered claims may be paid out in as little as 7 minutes, with most claims taking less than one week.

In this Clearcover auto insurance review, compare financial and customer ratings, learn how to request a quote, and more to determine if this is the right company for you. After learning how to buy Clearcover auto insurance below, secure the best coverage for you by entering your ZIP code into our free rate comparison tool above.

Clearcover insurance company sells hassle-free auto insurance online in 20 states, with plans to expand elsewhere in the future. This company prides itself on being convenient and fast. For example, Clearcover states that covered claims may be paid out in as little as 7 minutes, with most claims taking less than one week. In this Clearcover auto insurance review, compare financial and customer ratings, learn how to request a quote, and more to determine if this is the right company for you. After learning how to buy Clearcover auto insurance below, secure the best coverage for you by entering your ZIP code into our free rate comparison tool above.

What You Should Know About Clearcover

Clearcover auto insurance company sells hassle-free online auto insurance in as little as one minute. Currently, this company operates in 20 states, with plans to expand elsewhere soon. Clearcover supposedly provides some of the fastest claims payments, with the current record at 7 minutes and the average claim taking less than a week to close out.

Payments are fast because the company uses a machine learning model to validate coverage and determine eligibility. Fortunately, you can purchase most of the basic auto insurance coverages from Clearcover.

However, optional policy add-ons are limited by state. You can use the Coverage Wizard tool on the company website to help you pick and choose the suitable insurance options for you. But for specific details about what additional coverages are available where you live, you must contact an agent directly.

Clearcover also gives customers access to an award-winning mobile app compatible with most Apple and Android devices. This is where you can create your Clearcover insurance login. Unfortunately, there appears to be no customer portal on the company website.

But within the mobile app, you can conveniently file and track claims, make policy changes, pay your bill, access roadside assistance, view your ID cards, and more.

What is the history of Clearcover insurance?

Clearcover was launched in 2016 and was founded by insurance industry veterans Kyle Nakatsuji and Derek Brigham. The startup hoped to use a data-driven platform and minimalist approach to provide potential customers with the cheapest possible auto insurance rates.

Today, Clearcover sells auto policies almost entirely online in 20 different states, with plans to reach the rest of the nation shortly. According to the website, the mobile app has been award-winning for the last two years in a row. Plus, utilizing advanced machine-learning technology means customers get speedy claim payouts.

How do you request Clearcover auto insurance quotes?

You can request Clearcover auto insurance quotes by using the quote tools available on the company website or by contacting a customer service agent by phone. The Clearcover insurance number is 855-444-1875 and is available Monday through Friday from 8 a.m. to 9 p.m. central time.

The online quote form typically takes as little as one minute to complete, and you can usually secure same-day coverage.

Clearcover Insurance Coverage Options

Clearcover Auto Insurance boasts a range of coverage options designed to meet the needs of drivers across various states. From essential coverage plans to optional add-ons, Clearcover emphasizes convenience and flexibility in securing adequate protection for vehicles.

  • Basic Auto Insurance Coverages: Clearcover offers standard coverage options, including liability coverage (bodily injury and property damage), collision coverage, and comprehensive coverage.
  • Optional Policy Add-ons: Availability of optional add-ons might vary by state. These could include additional coverages like uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, roadside assistance, rental car reimbursement, and more. Specific details regarding additional coverages based on location can be obtained by contacting a Clearcover agent directly.
  • Award-Winning Mobile App: Clearcover provides a user-friendly mobile app allowing policyholders to manage their insurance needs conveniently. The app enables tasks such as filing and tracking claims, policy modifications, bill payments, access to ID cards, and roadside assistance.

By prioritizing simplicity and customization, Clearcover’s array of coverage options, coupled with its innovative mobile app, aims to provide drivers with a seamless and tailored insurance experience. Whether opting for standard coverage or additional add-ons, Clearcover aims to deliver reliable protection while prioritizing customer convenience.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Clearcover Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileClearcover Auto InsuranceNational Average
Clean Record$200$220
1+ Ticket$240$260
1+ Accident$280$300
DUI$350$380
Poor Credit$344$378

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver

View as image

Currently, Clearcover auto insurance rates are not publicly available. However, the website shows success stories of drivers saving anywhere from $470 to $1,080 annually by switching companies. Plus, if you request a quote, consider comparing it to the average cost of auto insurance in the state where you live.

The table below compares auto insurance expenditures in the 20 states where Clearcover operates, as recorded by the Insurance Information Institute (III).

Average Annual Auto Insurance Expenditures by State
StateAverage Annual Auto Insurance Expenditures
Alabama$904.56
Arizona$1,046.40
California$1,034.05
Georgia$1,212.04
Illinois$916.49
Indiana$767.72
Kentucky$936.91
Louisiana$1,545.82
Maryland$1,211.83
Mississippi$971.19
Missouri$913.81
Nebraska$796.87
Ohio$794.91
Oklahoma$915.49
Pennsylvania$991.23
Texas$1,152.25
Utah$941.14
Virginia$853.78
West Virginia$938.71
Wisconsin$755.97

Keep in mind that many different factors impact your auto insurance costs, including your age, ZIP code, driving record, and even the type of car you drive. No matter what, it’s worth comparing auto insurance quotes from multiple top companies to ensure you get your lowest prices without compromising your coverage levels.

Clearcover Discounts Available

DiscountClearcover Auto Insurance
Anti Theft10%
Good Student15%
Low Mileage8%
Paperless5%
Safe Driver12%
Senior Driver15%

Clearcover does provide some auto insurance discounts for customers. However, the company claims that most of the typical discounts you earn from the other top companies are already built into your quote.

That said, you can earn discounts for safe driving, having certain vehicle safety features installed in your car, using electronic documents, and paying for your policy in total upfront. Plus, this company offers a discount for military personnel as well.

  • Safe Driving Discount: Rewards policyholders for maintaining a safe driving record.
  • Vehicle Safety Features: Offers discounts for having certain safety features installed in the insured vehicle, such as anti-lock brakes or anti-theft devices.
  • Electronic Documents: Provides discounts for opting to receive policy documents electronically.
  • Paid-In-Full Discount: Offers savings for policyholders who pay their premium in full upfront.
  • Military Personnel Discount: Grants discounts for active or retired military personnel.

Clearcover’s commitment to affordability and customer-centric discounts underscores its dedication to offering not just reliable coverage but also potential savings. By incentivizing safe driving behaviors and offering various discount opportunities, Clearcover strives to make comprehensive auto insurance more accessible and cost-effective for its policyholders.

Contact a company representative during operational business hours for more specific details about the Clearcover rate reductions available where you live.

How Clearcover Ranks Among Providers

In the competitive landscape of auto insurance, Clearcover contends with several key players renowned for their distinct offerings and approaches. Among its notable competitors are industry leaders known for innovative technology, tailored coverage options, and customer-centric services, each vying to provide drivers with comprehensive protection and cost-effective solutions.

  • Root Insurance: Known for its usage-based insurance model utilizing telematics to determine premiums based on driving behavior.
  • Metromile: Specializes in pay-per-mile insurance, offering coverage tailored for low-mileage drivers.
  • Geico: Renowned for its wide-ranging coverage options, competitive rates, and strong customer service.
  • Progressive: Recognized for its innovative tools like Snapshot, which tracks driving habits for potential discounts, and a robust lineup of coverage options.
  • Allstate: Offers comprehensive coverage options, including unique features like accident forgiveness and a range of policy discounts.

Each of these competitors brings distinct features and strategies to the market, whether through technological innovation, tailored pricing models, or diverse coverage options.

Clearcover stands out among these competitors through its emphasis on hassle-free online insurance, swift claims processing, and the promise of competitive rates for drivers seeking straightforward coverage solutions.

Read more: Root Auto Insurance Review

How do you file Clearcover auto insurance claims?

To file an auto insurance claim with Clearcover, you must use the mobile app. The app uses machine-learning technology, so you get paid fast.

How long does it take for auto insurance to pay out a claim on average? It may take a few weeks, depending on a variety of factors. But the current record for the fastest claim payout from Clearcover is 7 minutes, according to the website.

On average, most claims through this company take less than one week to close.If you need to speak with an agent directly, you can also call the company’s customer service phone number for in-person assistance with claims. Plus, representatives can also help through online chat tools in the customer help center.

What are the Clearcover ratings and reviews?

It’s a smart idea to compare an insurance company’s financial and customer ratings before purchasing a policy. This way, you can determine if the company is reliable and efficient. Fortunately, Clearcover received an A- score from A.M. Best, one of the leading credit rating agencies.

This implies that Clearcover is financially sound and can follow through on its promises to policyholders. Plus, customer experiences also remain relatively favorable for this company. Clearcover is accredited by the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and earned an A+ rating.

It also earned a complaint index score of 0.00, according to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). The median is always set to 1.00, so a 0.00 implies that no customer complaints were filed for this company. Based on the available​​ Clearcover insurance reviews, it appears customers are satisfied with their experiences using this auto insurance company.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Clearcover a good choice for auto insurance?

Clearcover offers hassle-free online auto insurance with fast claims payments. It has received positive financial and customer ratings, making it a reliable choice for many drivers.

How can I request Clearcover auto insurance quotes?

You can request quotes by using the quote tools on the company website or by contacting a customer service agent by phone. The online quote form takes about one minute to complete.

What are the Clearcover ratings and reviews?

Clearcover has an A- rating from A.M. Best and an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau (BBB). It has a complaint index score of 0.00, indicating no customer complaints. Based on available reviews, customers are satisfied with their experiences.

How do I file a Clearcover auto insurance claim?

To file a claim, you must use the Clearcover mobile app, which uses machine-learning technology for fast claim payouts. Most claims are processed in less than one week, with the current record being 7 minutes.

What discounts are available with Clearcover?

Clearcover provides discounts for safe driving, certain vehicle safety features, electronic documents, paying in full upfront, and military personnel. Contact a company representative for specific details about available discounts in your area.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeff Root

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeff is a well-known speaker and expert in life insurance and financial planning. He has spoken at top insurance conferences around the U.S., including the InsuranceNewsNet Super Conference, the 8% Nation Insurance Wealth Conference, and the Digital Life Insurance Agent Mastermind. He has been featured and quoted in Nerdwallet, Bloomberg, Forbes, U.S. News & Money, USA Today, and other leading...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tim Bain

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tim Bain is a licensed life insurance agent with 23 years of experience helping people protect their families and businesses with term life insurance.  His insurance expertise has been featured in several publications, including Investopedia and eFinancial. He also does digital marking and analysis for KPS/3, a communications and marking firm located in Nevada. 

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Clearcover

3.36 (69 reviews)
1
August 20, 2023

PES

Cancelled Even After Providing Requested Information

Don't even deserve 1 star. We went with Clearcover for my daughter mainly due to their pricing. Big mistake. After taking our initial payment, they e-mailed several requests for information to my daughter. She provided all requested information by return e-mail. My daughter even received e-mails with follow up questions and requests for alternate documentation which she answered and provided, again by e-mail. They then sent a notice of canc...
Don't even deserve 1 star. We went with Clearcover for my daughter mainly due to their pricing. Big mistake. After taking our initial payment, they e-mailed several requests for information to my daughter. She provided all requested information by return e-mail. My daughter even received e-mails with follow up questions and requests for alternate documentation which she answered and provided, again by e-mail. They then sent a notice of cancellation for failure to provide information via USPS only which was not received until after the cancellation was effective. Why were all correspondences via e-mail then the cancellation notice sent only via USPS?. When trying to contact them by phone, we received a message that no one was available and then hung up on with no other information (hours, option to leave a message, etc.). When Clearcover was contacted by e-mail, and responded 2 days later, they had the audacity to say there was nothing they could do and we could apply for another policy. There is no way we would have any further dealing with this company.
1
June 29, 2023

Latoshia_L_Reeves

Less Than A Week Claim Policy Lies

I had an accident on 6.25.23. I completed a claim through the app and submitted emails. The adjuster reached out on Monday to take my statement. I informed the lady that I am stuck in another state where the accident occurred. This company is going slow in providing updates. The app does not update with the stages your claim is on like it should. I called and spoke to someone who said the inspector hasn't been dispatched to see my car despite my ...
I had an accident on 6.25.23. I completed a claim through the app and submitted emails. The adjuster reached out on Monday to take my statement. I informed the lady that I am stuck in another state where the accident occurred. This company is going slow in providing updates. The app does not update with the stages your claim is on like it should. I called and spoke to someone who said the inspector hasn't been dispatched to see my car despite my being told there would be an answer by midweek. The phone rep was declaring my car a total loss despite it being damaged on one side and completely fixable. I am upset because I need to get back to Maryland for work. I can't be up here in PA for two or three weeks. If the car is fixable, carry out the next steps. If it is a total loss, carry out the next steps so I can move on. But don't drag your feet and be heartless. Why does this company boast about having a speedy claims process if anyone is experiencing anything less? This is great insurance when you are accident-free but not when you seriously need help. I need my claim completed. All information was given. All photos were given. I am ready and willing to pay the deductible to get back to my hometown before I end up fired.
5
March 22, 2023

ibcokegal

Give this company a try

I heard about Clearcover from Experian. I thought I would see what they had to offer. I was slightly concerned because I had never heard of them. I went ahead and entered my information just to see if it could compare to GEICO. Oh they did not compare they beat Geico by over $300. I had some things I needed to speak to the agent about and I emailed them and they responded immediately and took care of my concerns. I have just renewed my 6 month po...
I heard about Clearcover from Experian. I thought I would see what they had to offer. I was slightly concerned because I had never heard of them. I went ahead and entered my information just to see if it could compare to GEICO. Oh they did not compare they beat Geico by over $300. I had some things I needed to speak to the agent about and I emailed them and they responded immediately and took care of my concerns. I have just renewed my 6 month policy. I have been very happy.
1
December 17, 2022

RLN

Horrible.

They lie and double the insurance about 4 months after I had the auto insurance. I was quoted 236 for a year and now they intend to charge another 236 for a total of 472 per year. I work from home and my car is paid for and I drive less than 5 miles per week. Never had an accident. Go elsewhere. I know I am going back to my previous auto insurance. When I went to their app a [REDACTED NAME] did not even attempt to help. Go elsewhere.
1
November 28, 2022

CammieO

They Will Not Respond To You At All!!!

My son rear ended a car about 1 month ago (no injuries, minor car damage). At first my adjustor was very communicative with me, but I haven't talked/heard from her for over 2 weeks now. I have left several messages but they have not returned any of my calls or emails. My rental car cap is running out and I don't know the status of my vehicle at all. The website says that the process takes about 24 hours, clearly not the case at all. Anyone sh...
My son rear ended a car about 1 month ago (no injuries, minor car damage). At first my adjustor was very communicative with me, but I haven't talked/heard from her for over 2 weeks now. I have left several messages but they have not returned any of my calls or emails. My rental car cap is running out and I don't know the status of my vehicle at all. The website says that the process takes about 24 hours, clearly not the case at all. Anyone should stay clear of this company at all costs. I went with them on the advise of my insurance broker and also because they were considerably cheaper. Now I know why! It is so frustrating to say the least.
5
November 10, 2022

Truthisforever_01

An Insurance Company You Can Trust to put client first!

I Love this company! Not only did they lower my insurance after my son had a collision. They paid out $9000 to fix my car. I knew every step of the way what was going on and had contact information for all parties. Clearcover is very professional and quick, not much lag time. They were on it right from the moment accident happened. Great Job Clearcover!
5
October 11, 2022

TX_Memaw

Very happy!

Very easy to obtain a quote and sign up. Amazing rates! I have more coverage for less premium and certainly have lots of peace of mind!
2
September 20, 2022

Chileangaby

Horrible costumer service

When my agent told me the price and benefits I didn’t doubt it to get the insurance , I even sent 3 more people because I was so happy One day by accidente I found out my insurance was cancelled because the card. I had on file for payments was expired and didn’t go trough No one called , texted and even if tyey say they send a email , I never got one So I was without knowing “ without insurance for 2 weeks !!. I tried every way to get b...
When my agent told me the price and benefits I didn’t doubt it to get the insurance , I even sent 3 more people because I was so happy One day by accidente I found out my insurance was cancelled because the card. I had on file for payments was expired and didn’t go trough No one called , texted and even if tyey say they send a email , I never got one So I was without knowing “ without insurance for 2 weeks !!. I tried every way to get back but they didn’t let me … I asked to talk to a supervisor and they put me on a “ priority call list “ it’s been 5 days and no calls . They give me a new quote that required to pay 6 months at front and more than double of what I was paying , because “ no payment “ They really have good prices but costumer service is horrible … everything is good til you need something from them I think I called over 6 times and never got a solution At the end I had to get insurance somewhere else
3
September 12, 2022

Phoenix_Guy

No Functional Website to Review Policy

We do not own cell phones, and Clearcover does not have an operational website that I can log in to. Chat CSR states that I HAVE TO USE their app, which would be mean that I have to go but a cell phone. I will contact my insurance agent and have them find me a better company when my policy expires. Mu insurance agent was able to hard copy mail me my policy docs and proof of insurance cards for both cars.
3
April 19, 2022

mikedifurio

Inept customer service

called to get proof of insurance for a customer who brought their car in for PA inspection. Customer service denied my request saying they could only give the info to the policy holder. This is a violation of PA state law. proof of insurance is public information. we did not want any account info, just proof of coverage. also would not transfer me to a supervisor, Agent name [REDACTED NAME]
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption