Commonwealth Casualty Insurance Company Review [2024]

Explore the comprehensive insurance offerings of Commonwealth Casualty Insurance Company, recognized for its competitive rates and top-notch ratings, spanning home, car, and renters insurance products.

UPDATED: Feb 21, 2024Fact Checked

Justin Wright

Licensed Insurance Agent

Justin Wright has been a licensed insurance broker for over 9 years. After graduating from Southeastern Seminary with a Masters in Philosophy, Justin started his career as a professor, teaching Philosophy and Ethics. Later, Justin obtained both his Property & Casualty license and his Life and Health license and began working for State Farm and Allstate. In 2020, Justin began working as an i...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tracey L. Wells

Licensed Insurance Agent & Agency Owner

Tracey L. Wells is a licensed insurance agent and Farmers insurance agency owner with 23 years of experience. He is proud to be a local Farmers agent serving Grayson, Georgia and surrounding areas. With experience as both an underwriter and agent, he provides his customers with insight that others agents may not have. His agency offers all lines of insurance including home, life, auto, RV, busi...

Licensed Insurance Agent & Agency Owner

UPDATED: Feb 21, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Feb 21, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 21, 2024Fact Checked
2.9
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Commonwealth Casualty

Average monthly rate for homeowners:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A-

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Offers a range of insurance products including home, car, and renters insurance.
  • Competitive rates for insurance coverage.
  • A- (Excellent) rating with A.M. Best and A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau, indicating financial stability and good customer service.
  • Positive customer reviews overall.
  • Options for discounts are available.
  • Coverage options for car insurance include liability, collision, comprehensive, and uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.

Cons

  • Limited information provided about specific coverage details and policy options.
  • Lack of information on the claims process and customer support.
  • Limited availability in certain regions, potentially limiting coverage options for some customers.
  • Limited online tools and resources for policy management and interaction.
  • Need to compare quotes from multiple insurance providers to ensure competitive pricing.
  • Limited information on additional coverage options and customization.

Final Verdict: Review of Commonwealth Casualty

When you search for insurance, you are probably most familiar with the large companies that you’ve seen in a commercial or on billboards. But there are a lot of companies that don’t have as much recognition that could be a great fit for you and your loved ones.

Commonwealth Casualty is an insurance company that offers several different insurance products. Commonwealth insurance provides car, home, and renters insurance.

To find the best home insurance policy, you’ll need to find and compare quotes from multiple companies in your area. The same goes for car and renters insurance since this will help ensure that you don’t end up overpaying for coverage.

In fact, you can use our free quote tool above to compare car and home insurance rates today to see what companies might work best for you.

[su_box title="The Lowdown" style="default"]
  • Commonwealth Casualty offers home, renters, and car insurance to its policyholders
  • Commonwealth offers a variety of discounts to help offset the cost of virtually all of its insurance products
  • To get a quote from Commonwealth, you will need to speak to an agent
[/su_box] When you search for insurance, you are probably most familiar with the large companies that you've seen in a commercial or on billboards. But there are a lot of companies that don't have as much recognition that could be a great fit for you and your loved ones. Commonwealth Casualty is an insurance company that offers several different insurance products. Commonwealth insurance provides car, home, and renters insurance. To find the best home insurance policy, you'll need to find and compare quotes from multiple companies in your area. The same goes for car and renters insurance since this will help ensure that you don't end up overpaying for coverage. In fact, you can use our free quote tool above to compare car and home insurance rates today to see what companies might work best for you.

What You Should Know About Commonwealth Auto Insurance

Commonwealth Insurance Company has an A- (Excellent) financial strength rating with A.M. Best, along with a stable outlook. Commonwealth Casualty Company also boasts an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB).

Customer reviews on the BBB website give Commonwealth a three-star rating out of five stars. Overall, the company’s ratings and reviews are quite positive.

Commonwealth Auto Insurance Coverage Options

Commonwealth Casualty offers car, home, and renters insurance to its policyholders. For home insurance, Commonwealth Casualty will:

  • Offer coverage to completely rebuild your home
  • Use liability coverage to cover any property damage or potential lawsuits
  • Cover personal property, such as furniture and appliances
  • Offer additional coverage options, like water backup protection, service line coverage, computer coverage, and golf carts

Renters insurance will cover damage to property, property replacement costs, and much more. And most policyholders pay around $15 a month for renters insurance. While Commonwealth offers multiple types of coverage, Commonwealth’s car insurance is the most popular.

Does Commonwealth have good car insurance?

When it comes to Commonwealth Casualty car insurance, the company offers:

  • Liability coverage: This will meet your state’s minimum car insurance requirements.
  • Bodily injury liability: This will cover injuries or death that are a result of a car accident.
  • Property damage liability: This will cover all property damage associated with a car accident.
  • Uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage: This will cover an incident if the other person involved does not carry adequate insurance.
  • Comprehensive coverage: Covers damage to a vehicle by anything outside of an accident, including storm damage or theft.
  • Collision coverage: Pays for damage associated with an accident regardless of fault.
  • Rental reimbursement: Will cover the cost of any rental you need after damage to your vehicle, as long as it’s a covered claim.

With Commonwealth, you can get your state’s minimum coverage, full coverage, or anything in between. But there are plenty of other auto insurance companies you can check out before making any commitment.

Should I buy insurance with Commonwealth?

If you are interested in the insurance products provided by Commonwealth, you should get a quote before doing anything else. You may find that the company would work really well for you, but you also may find that you can find more affordable coverage elsewhere.

Commonwealth policyholders can use their Commonwealth Casualty Insurance login information to access their policy, check the status of a claim, and connect with an agent. But there are plenty of other companies that offer this type of interaction online.

Before you make any decisions, you’ll need to shop around for insurance coverage to find what companies near you offer the coverage you want at a price you can afford. In fact, you can use our free tool below to find and compare insurance rates in your area today.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Commonwealth Auto Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileCommonwealth Casualty InsuranceNational Average
Clean Record$233$119
1+ Ticket$304$147
1+ Accident$383$173
DUI$492$209
Poor Credit$401$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver

View as image

How much you will pay for a home or car insurance policy will vary depending on a number of different factors. When it comes to home insurance, most companies will assess the following to develop an appropriate insurance rate:

  • Where you live
  • The size of your home
  • The cost of your home
  • Your credit score
  • The use of any specialty coverage

To get a better idea of how much you can expect to pay for homeowners insurance, the table below lists the average monthly cost for home insurance with several different well-known companies.

CompanyAverage monthly cost
Allstate$122
State Farm$125
The Hartford$134
USAA$83
Travelers$106
Progressive$86
Farmers Insurance$165
Nationwide$87
American Family Insurance$108

Commonwealth Casualty prides itself on offering competitive rates for insurance coverage, so the prices above may mirror Commonwealth rates, or they may even be a little bit lower.

Similar to homeowners insurance, car insurance companies like Commonwealth Casualty will often assess the following factors when deciding on insurance rates:

  • Your age
  • The car you drive
  • Where you live
  • Your credit score
  • Your occupation
  • How often/how much you drive
  • The use of any specialty coverage

The table below shows average monthly car insurance rates in all the U.S. states.

Average Monthly Car Insurance Rates by State
StateAverage Monthly Car Insurance Rates
Alabama$69.76
Alaska$87.51
Arizona$75.02
Arkansas$79.31
California$78.29
Colorado$94.40
Connecticut$81.81
Countrywide$101.31
Delaware$110.37
District of Columbia$100.73
Florida$82.60
Georgia$71.51
Hawaii$56.09
Idaho$71.18
Illinois$60.74
Indiana$56.97
Iowa$71
Kansas$76.46
Kentucky$113.68
Louisiana$57.43
Maine$91.36
Maryland$92.31
Massachusetts$57.43
Michigan$105.35
Minnesota$71.39
Mississippi$79.80
Missouri$70.45
Montana$72.38
Nebraska$67.17
Nevada$90.29
New Hampshire$66.29
New Jersey$114.93
New Mexico$76.70
New York$110.65
North Carolina$64.02
North Dakota$64.01
Ohio$63.89
Oklahoma$82.13
Oregon$74.51
Pennsylvania$79.20
Rhode Island$104.78
South Carolina$78.06
South Dakota$62.02
Tennessee$71.30
Texas$88.85
Utah$71.06
Vermont$62.23
Virginia$69.68
Washington$79.34
West Virginia$86.04
Wisconsin$59.74
Wyoming$70.36

Again, these rates may be comparable to those offered by Commonwealth Casualty. But the only way to really know how much you will end up paying for insurance with Commonwealth is to get a quote from one of their agents.

Commonwealth Auto Insurance Discounts Available

DiscountsCommonwealth Casualty Insurance
Anti Theft10%
Good Student13%
Low Mileage15%
Paperless8%
Safe Driver20%
Senior Driver10%

Commonwealth does offer options when it comes to its insurance products. Some of Commonwealth’s options for discounts include:

  • Multi-policy
  • Multi-car
  • New home
  • New purchase
  • Secured community or secured building
  • Protective device
  • Claims free
  • Paid-in-full
  • Water leak detection

If you’re curious whether you would be eligible for any of the discounts listed above, you can speak to a Commonwealth agent to find out more and see how much you could save.

How Commonwealth Auto Insurance Ranks Among Providers

As a prominent player in the insurance industry, Commonwealth Casualty Insurance Company faces competition from various reputable companies offering similar coverage options. Below are some of its main competitors.

  • Progressive Corporation
  • State Farm Insurance
  • Allstate Corporation
  • Geico
  • Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company

In a landscape filled with notable insurance providers, Commonwealth Casualty Insurance Company stands resilient, navigating the competitive market alongside industry giants like Progressive, State Farm, Allstate, Geico, and Nationwide.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Commonwealth Casualty Insurance Company?

Commonwealth Casualty Insurance Company is an insurance provider that offers various types of insurance coverage. They have been in operation for several years and aim to provide reliable coverage and customer service to their policyholders.

What types of insurance does Commonwealth Casualty Insurance Company offer?

Commonwealth Casualty Insurance Company offers a range of insurance policies, including auto insurance, home insurance, renters insurance, and business insurance. They provide coverage for individuals as well as businesses of different sizes.

How can I contact Commonwealth Casualty Insurance Company?

You can contact Commonwealth Casualty Insurance Company by visiting their website and using their contact information provided. They typically offer phone support, email communication, and in-person assistance through their local agents.

How can I file a claim with Commonwealth Casualty Insurance Company?

To file a claim with Commonwealth Casualty Insurance Company, you should contact their claims department directly using the contact details specified in your insurance policy documents. They will guide you through the claims process and assist you in completing the necessary steps.

Does Commonwealth Casualty Insurance Company offer online account management?

Yes, Commonwealth Casualty Insurance Company often provides online account management services. This allows policyholders to access their policy information, make payments, view documents, and sometimes even file claims online.

How long does it take for Commonwealth Casualty Insurance Company to process a claim?

The time it takes for Commonwealth Casualty Insurance Company to process a claim can vary depending on the nature and complexity of the claim. Generally, the company aims to process claims as efficiently as possible, but specific timelines may vary.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Justin Wright

Licensed Insurance Agent

Justin Wright has been a licensed insurance broker for over 9 years. After graduating from Southeastern Seminary with a Masters in Philosophy, Justin started his career as a professor, teaching Philosophy and Ethics. Later, Justin obtained both his Property & Casualty license and his Life and Health license and began working for State Farm and Allstate. In 2020, Justin began working as an i...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tracey L. Wells

Licensed Insurance Agent & Agency Owner

Tracey L. Wells is a licensed insurance agent and Farmers insurance agency owner with 23 years of experience. He is proud to be a local Farmers agent serving Grayson, Georgia and surrounding areas. With experience as both an underwriter and agent, he provides his customers with insight that others agents may not have. His agency offers all lines of insurance including home, life, auto, RV, busi...

Licensed Insurance Agent & Agency Owner

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Commonwealth Auto Insurance

2.88 (4 reviews)
1
May 2, 2023

Victor1988

HORRIBLE SERVICE

I WOULD BE GIVING THEM NO STARS BUT THIS COMPANY DOES NOT PAY THIER CLAIMS CUSTOMER SERVICE IS ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE THEY PROVIDE YOU ABSOLUTELY NO INFORMATION. I WAS ON HOLD FOR ABOUT 40 MIN AND WHEN [REDACTED NAME] FINALLY ANSWERED HE WAS NO HELP! THEY TOLD ME THE ADJUSTER WAS FIRED.. THEN WHEN I CALLED BACK THE ADJUSTER SUDDENLY WORKED THERE AGAIN😒 I WAS SO CONFUSED .. THEY ALSO TOLD US THEY COULD NOT LOCATE HER WHAT I WANTED THEM TO DO .????...
I WOULD BE GIVING THEM NO STARS BUT THIS COMPANY DOES NOT PAY THIER CLAIMS CUSTOMER SERVICE IS ABSOLUTELY HORRIBLE THEY PROVIDE YOU ABSOLUTELY NO INFORMATION. I WAS ON HOLD FOR ABOUT 40 MIN AND WHEN [REDACTED NAME] FINALLY ANSWERED HE WAS NO HELP! THEY TOLD ME THE ADJUSTER WAS FIRED.. THEN WHEN I CALLED BACK THE ADJUSTER SUDDENLY WORKED THERE AGAIN😒 I WAS SO CONFUSED .. THEY ALSO TOLD US THEY COULD NOT LOCATE HER WHAT I WANTED THEM TO DO .????? this has been a horrible experience i need them to pay for the damage on my vehicle.!
1
April 6, 2023

Antman40

Bad insurance company

Bad company gotta say the worst company I ever had I filled a claim they respond and then they leave you hanging here we are almost 2 months later still no money for repairs for my truck and no call back from there supervisor either they say they will call you but never do I don't suggest this company stay away
5
December 13, 2018

KingdomKali

Couldn't Be Happier!

I really enjoyed my time being insured by Commonwealth. It was the absolute BEST price I could find for full coverage, I was able to have a policy instated and proof of insurance card printed out RIGHT AWAY, which was super convenient when I was getting a loan for a car THAT minute and needed proof of insurance before they would sign the check. I just needed to text photos of each side of the car, my driver's license, and my vehicle registration ...
I really enjoyed my time being insured by Commonwealth. It was the absolute BEST price I could find for full coverage, I was able to have a policy instated and proof of insurance card printed out RIGHT AWAY, which was super convenient when I was getting a loan for a car THAT minute and needed proof of insurance before they would sign the check. I just needed to text photos of each side of the car, my driver's license, and my vehicle registration and got my quote! (This was through a Rapid Insurance broker.) They even did me the courtesy of emailing my leinholder a copy of the policy for me, so that so didn't have to go through the trouble of downloading and sending electronically and/or through the mail the whole policy. They give you the opportunity to extend your due date by 7 days up to twice a year, so if you are going through a rough time they work with you instead of silently cancelling your policy. They also call every time your payment is due every day until you pay it so you don't have to keep track of it if your life really is that messy. They were kind, helpful, professional, kept things convenient, and as I said were the best price I could have found (it's better the longer you've had your license). I would absolutely recommend Commonwealth Casualty Insurance Co. to anyone seeking a quick, cheap form of coverage.
5
April 26, 2018

LoveTheLordYourGod

Endorsed by Someone with Fragile Health!

My husband and I are newly married, and I suffer from an excruciating neurological disorder I've had since I was 12 that causes me to be wheelchair-bound. Therefore, it was really important to us that when we purchased our auto insurance, it included lots of extra coverage to cover the specialist bills I would need for many months after an accident of any magnitude. Commonwealth has exceeded our expectations without raising our prices. We coul...
My husband and I are newly married, and I suffer from an excruciating neurological disorder I've had since I was 12 that causes me to be wheelchair-bound. Therefore, it was really important to us that when we purchased our auto insurance, it included lots of extra coverage to cover the specialist bills I would need for many months after an accident of any magnitude. Commonwealth has exceeded our expectations without raising our prices. We couldn't be happier.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption