Country Financial Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Country Financial Auto Insurance has established itself as a reputable provider, offering a range of coverage options and competitive rates for drivers across multiple states.

UPDATED: Jan 9, 2024Fact Checked

Dorothea Hudson

Insurance and Finance Writer

Dorothea Hudson has been professionally writing in many spheres since 2013. She has written on entertainment, insurance, finance, travel, technology, AI, renewable energy, crypto, fundraising, and real estate for many websites. Her work has been published for British retailer Marks and Spencer, Kroger Magazine, the Vision Group, and more. Her passions include writing, music, running, travel, te...

Insurance and Finance Writer

Brad Larson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Brad Larson has been in the insurance industry for over 16 years. He specializes in helping clients navigate the claims process, with a particular emphasis on coverage analysis. He received his bachelor’s degree from the University of Utah in Political Science. He also holds an Associate in Claims (AIC) and Associate in General Insurance (AINS) designations, as well as a Utah Property and Casual...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Jan 9, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 9, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 9, 2024Fact Checked
4.1
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Country Financial

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$149

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Affordability
  • Teen and Young Adult Discounts
  • Positive Third-Party Ratings
  • Simple Claim Filing
  • Discount Variety

Cons

  • Limited Coverage Options
  • Restricted Availability
  • Fewer Add-On Options
  • No Creative Add-Ons
  • Average Discounts

Final Verdict: Review of Country Financial

Country Financial got its start in 1925 with lightning and fire insurance. Since then, it has expanded into other types of insurance and is now considered a highly-rated, affordable company for car coverage. While it’s not available countrywide, you might find Country Financial has some of the cheapest rates if you live in one of the states where it offers coverage.

Country Financial’s rates are typically some of the lowest no matter which demographic you look at, but particularly for teen drivers. However, Country Financial doesn’t offer as many types of coverage as its larger competitors.

It offers enough minimum insurance and full coverage auto insurance, but drivers looking for ways to customize their coverage should probably go elsewhere. While it doesn’t provide the longest list of add-ons, Country Financial excels with its discounts to help customers save.

Explore Country Financial auto insurance reviews below to see if it might be the best company for your needs. Then, compare quotes with other companies to find the perfect policy at the right price.

Country Financial is an excellent choice for affordable car insurance if you live in one of the 19 states it operates in. It might lack the long list of coverage options that some of its competitors offer, but most customers report satisfaction with their policies. Although Country Financial offers low average rates, you might find a better policy for your needs elsewhere. The only way to find the lowest rates while still getting the right coverage is to compare quotes with as many companies as possible.

What You Should Know About Country Financial

Although Country Financial is a smaller insurance company, the reviews it receives are generally positive. Country Financial does especially well with third-party rating companies.

For example, A.M. Best rates companies on their financial stability. Higher ratings from A.M. Best mean a company will be able to pay any future claims you need to make. Country Financial has an A+ from A.M. Best, meaning you won’t have to worry about filing a claim.

J.D. Power is another crucial company to consult because it collects data on customer satisfaction, then scores companies out of 1,000. The average score is 839, but Country Financial does a little better with an 850.

Finally, the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) rates companies on the number of complaints they receive compared to other companies of their size. The national average is 1.0, with higher scores meaning a company gets more complaints. Country Financial does very well with the NAIC, earning a score of 0.32.

Country Financial Insurance Coverage Options

Most companies sell enough coverage to meet the two main needs of car insurance shoppers – minimum and full coverage. Minimum insurance refers to the least amount of coverage you can buy in your state and still be legal to drive. Full coverage costs more, but it gives your car better protection if something happens.

It’s never required by state law, but you might need it if you have a car loan or lease. Country Financial sells everything you need to meet both minimum and full coverage needs, including the following types of coverage:

  • Bodily Injury Liability. This part of liability insurance covers injuries you cause to other drivers, their passengers, and other bystanders.
  • Property Damage Liability. As the other half of liability insurance, this covers damage you cause to other people’s property, including their cars and homes. It does not cover your vehicle.
  • Collision. Collision auto insurance pays for your car repairs after an accident, even if you caused it. It also covers you if you hit an object, like a mailbox or parked car.
  • Comprehensive. When an unexpected event damages your vehicle, comprehensive insurance will pay for repairs. Comprehensive auto insurance covers claims related to fire, floods, extreme weather, vandalism, theft, and animal contact.
  • Uninsured/underinsured Motorist. Although most states require drivers to carry insurance, not everyone follows the law. Uninsured motorist insurance protects you from drivers without insurance.
  • Personal Injury Protection/Medical Payments. Depending on your state, you can buy either medical payments or personal injury protection insurance. These pay medical expenses for you and your passengers.

You can find these insurance options at most companies. If you’re interested in only basic coverage, Country Financial has you covered. You can also purchase add-ons to improve the coverage in your policy. Country Financial doesn’t have the most options, but there are a few valuable choices. Drivers looking for ample policy customization options should look elsewhere, however.

What add-ons does Country Financial sell?

Add-ons are always optional, but they can vastly improve the level of protection your car insurance offers. Country Financial customers can choose to add the following options to their policies:

  • The Keeper. If you total a car four model years or younger, Country Financial will replace it with a brand-new model rather than reimburse you for its depreciated value.
  • Trip Interruption. Country Financial will reimburse up to $800 for a rental car, meals, and lodging if you’re stranded 100 miles or more from home after an accident.
  • Roadside assistance. If you find yourself stranded closer to home, Country Financial will come to the rescue with $100 for fuel delivery, locksmith services, basic repairs, and towing.
  • Personal Effects. Your policy will cover up to $800 if your personal items are damaged or stolen.
  • Safety Glass. If you have comprehensive insurance, you can skip your deductible for glass damage if your windshield can be repaired.

If you’re interested in these add-ons, you’ll need to check with a representative to see what’s available in your state. You should only add what you might use, though — add-ons can significantly increase your rates.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Country Financial Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileCountry FinancialNational Average
Clean Record$221$119
1+ Ticket$271$147
1+ Accident$338$173
DUI$438$209
Poor Credit$380$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver

View as image

One of the things Country Financial is most known for is how affordable its rates are. The average driver looking for minimum insurance pays about $43 a month with Country Financial, while full coverage costs about $149.

As with all insurance companies, the quotes you’ll see depend on different factors unique to you. While Country Financial’s rates always tend to be lower, it offers especially low rates for teens and other inexperienced drivers, compared to the competition.

Is Country Financial car insurance expensive?

Country Financial boasts some of the cheapest car insurance rates on the market, with few companies offering lower prices. Teen and young adult drivers especially should consider Country Financial, as it tends to have the lowest rates for these demographics.

Companies use a variety of factors when crafting insurance rates, including your location, driving record, credit score, age, and the make and model of your vehicle. While they all look at the same factors for the most part, companies weigh each one differently.

For this reason, it’s important to compare quotes with as many companies as possible. To see how much some of the largest auto insurance companies charge, take a look below.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Age and by Company
Companies25-Year-Old Female25-Year-Old Male17-Year-Old Female17-Year-Old Male
Allstate$219.51$220.97$678.65$733.87
Farmers$172.13$179.75$810.38$773.12
Geico$108.35$111.96$259.76$385.52
Liberty Mutual$279.38$296.29$544.95$882.56
Nationwide$170.12$216.52$304.87$452.46
Progressive$192.71$187.71$527.40$587.72
State Farm$181.32$192.87$497.40$641.39
Travelers$247.44$255.98$558.84$664.92
USAA$162.66$179.06$520.49$617.89

Country Financial might be the cheapest option for you, depending on your circumstances. You should still look at quotes from other companies, however — skipping this crucial step could result in overpaying for your insurance.

Country Financial Discounts Available

DiscountsCountry Financial
Anti Theft12%
Good Student14%
Low Mileage10%
Paperless9%
Safe Driver13%
Senior Driver9%

Insurance companies provide their customers with discounts to help them save on their insurance. Despite a small selection of insurance options, Country Financial has a fairly substantial list of available discounts. When you sign up for a Country Financial policy, you might be eligible for the following discounts:

  • Safe Driver Discount: Policyholders with a clean driving record and a history of safe driving habits may qualify for reduced premiums.
  • Multi-Vehicle Discount: Insuring multiple vehicles under the same policy can lead to discounted rates for each vehicle.
  • Good Student Discount: Students with a strong academic record may be eligible for a discount, encouraging and rewarding responsible behavior on and off the road.
  • Anti-Theft Device Discount: Installing anti-theft devices in your vehicle can result in lower premiums, as it reduces the risk of theft and enhances overall security.
  • Accident-Free Discount: Maintaining a claims-free history and avoiding accidents may qualify policyholders for additional discounts.
  • Occupational Discount: Country Financial offers discounts based on certain occupations, providing unique savings opportunities for policyholders with specific professions.
  • Defensive Driving Course Discount: Completing a defensive driving course demonstrates a commitment to safe driving and may lead to a reduction in insurance costs.
  • Multi-Policy Discount: Bundling auto insurance with other policies, such as home or renters insurance, can result in discounted rates across the board.
  • Good Payer Discount: Consistently making on-time premium payments may make policyholders eligible for a discount, rewarding financial responsibility.
  • Paperless Billing Discount: Opting for paperless billing and managing policies electronically may lead to additional savings on insurance premiums.

By taking advantage of these discounts, policyholders can enjoy both financial benefits and the peace of mind that comes with reliable and affordable auto insurance coverage. It’s a testament to Country Financial’s dedication to making insurance not only accessible but also cost-effective for a diverse range of drivers.

How Country Financial Ranks Among Providers

Country Financial faces competition in the auto insurance industry from several well-established companies, each with its own strengths and weaknesses. Here are some of the main competitors:

  • State Farm: State Farm is one of the largest and most well-known insurance providers, offering a wide range of coverage options and a vast network of agents. It consistently ranks among the top insurers in terms of market share and customer satisfaction.
  • Geico: Geico is renowned for its catchy advertising and often offers competitive rates, leveraging its direct-to-consumer model. The company also provides a user-friendly online experience for obtaining quotes and managing policies.
  • Progressive: Progressive is known for its innovative approach, offering features like usage-based insurance (Snapshot) and a robust online presence. The company appeals to tech-savvy customers and those seeking customizable coverage options.
  • Allstate: Allstate is a well-established and reputable insurer that offers a range of coverage options and discounts. The company’s emphasis on personalized service through local agents can appeal to customers who prefer a more traditional approach.
  • Farmers Insurance: Farmers Insurance is known for its comprehensive coverage options and a network of local agents providing personalized service. The company also offers a variety of discounts for policyholders.

Read more: Country Mutual Insurance Company: Customer Ratings & Reviews

Each of these competitors brings its own set of advantages and disadvantages to the table. The choice between them depends on individual preferences, coverage needs, and the importance placed on factors like cost, customer service, and technological innovation.

When comparing Country Financial to its competitors, Country Financial is often cheaper. Country Financial’s full coverage rates are about 29% cheaper than the national average, while minimum insurance can be up to 33% lower. Check below to see how Country Financial compares to some of its largest competitors.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates of the Top 10 Auto Insurance Companies
CompaniesMonthly Rates with a Clean Driving RecordMonthly Rates w/ One Speeding ViolationMonthly Rates w/ One AccidentMonthly Rates w/ One DUI Conviction
Allstate$318$374$416$522
American Family$224$252$310$361
Farmers$288$340$377$393
Geico$179$220$266$406
Liberty Mutual$398$475$517$634
Nationwide$229$259$283$379
Progressive$283$334$398$331
State Farm$235$266$283$303
Travelers$287$355$357$478
USAA$161$183$210$292
Average$260$306$342$410

State Farm is the only company that consistently has lower rates than Country Financial. Keep in mind that these rates are only averages, and you might see much different prices.

How do you make Country Financial claims?

Starting a claim as a Country Financial customer is a simple task. The mobile app and website offer the quickest ways to file a claim, but you can also speak with a representative by calling the Country Financial customer service phone number.

Whichever way you file your claim, you’ll need a little information to get started. If you have your policy number, details of the incident you’re filing a claim for, and pictures of the damage, it will help Country Financial resolve your claim quicker.

How do you make Country Financial payments?

Country Financial gives customers a variety of options to pay their insurance bills. The most convenient options are using the mobile app or website. If you’d rather speak with someone, you can also call the customer service phone number or visit a local representative.

Country Financial Auto Insurance Digital and Technological Features

Mobile App Features and Functionality

Country Financial’s mobile app is a robust tool that enhances the overall customer experience. It provides convenient features such as claims submission, policy management, and digital ID cards. The app also offers real-time access to important policy information and allows users to track the status of their claims.

Online Account Management Capabilities

Country Financial excels in providing comprehensive online account management capabilities. Policyholders can access their accounts securely, review policy details, make payments, and update information at their convenience. The online platform ensures a seamless experience for users to manage their policies without the need for extensive paperwork.

Digital Tools and Resources

The company offers a suite of digital tools and resources designed to empower policyholders. This includes educational materials, coverage calculators, and risk assessment tools available on their website.

These resources aim to assist customers in making informed decisions about their insurance needs and understanding the various coverage options offered by Country Financial. The integration of such digital tools showcases the company’s commitment to leveraging technology for the benefit of its policyholders.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Country Financial a good insurance company?

Country Financial is usually considered a good insurance company in most ways you can evaluate a company. This smaller company offers decent coverage options, low rates, and a long list of discounts.

Is Country Mutual the same as Country Financial?

Country Financial and Country Mutual are the same company. Country Mutual operates under Country Financial, but both companies have excellent ratings and low rates no matter where you shop.

Who owns Country Financial?

A bank in Illinois called the Illinois Agricultural Association currently owns Country Financial.

Which states does Country Financial sell insurance in?

Country Financial operates in Alabama, Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Georgia, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Minnesota, Missouri, Nevada, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Oregon, Tennessee, Washington, and Wisconsin.

How does Country Financial compare to its competitors in terms of rates?

Country Financial is often cheaper than its competitors. Its full coverage rates are about 29% cheaper than the national average, and minimum insurance rates can be up to 33% lower. However, State Farm consistently has lower rates than Country Financial. It’s essential to compare quotes from different companies to find the best rates for your specific needs.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Dorothea Hudson

Insurance and Finance Writer

Dorothea Hudson has been professionally writing in many spheres since 2013. She has written on entertainment, insurance, finance, travel, technology, AI, renewable energy, crypto, fundraising, and real estate for many websites. Her work has been published for British retailer Marks and Spencer, Kroger Magazine, the Vision Group, and more. Her passions include writing, music, running, travel, te...

Insurance and Finance Writer

Brad Larson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Brad Larson has been in the insurance industry for over 16 years. He specializes in helping clients navigate the claims process, with a particular emphasis on coverage analysis. He received his bachelor’s degree from the University of Utah in Political Science. He also holds an Associate in Claims (AIC) and Associate in General Insurance (AINS) designations, as well as a Utah Property and Casual...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Country Financial

4.12 (442 reviews)
5
January 16, 2021

Mjaw87

Great company

I have always had a great experience with this company I have had the same agent since I got my own policy and have been with him ever since
5
November 25, 2020

Dogs2015

Great company

Great company and always available to help quickly with any questions or issues. Highly recommended.
5
October 18, 2020

mamdata

Country Financial Is There When You Need Them.

Great company. I have never had an issue with them on my auto or home insurance. I once had to have my van towed and they immediately reimbursed me within two weeks of the towing. I like that fact that they include towing on the car insurance coverage.
1
August 25, 2020

Shelbyray26

Do not go with Country!!

I paid for my policy upfront for 3 months and should have been covered May-August. August rolls around, and I reach out to see when I owed my next payment and I was informed that my policy was cancelled in May and they refunded me by mailing me a check that I had never even received. They tried to tell me I called in and cancelled this policy, which I did not. After trying to pull the call they determined it was a system error and I had been unco...
I paid for my policy upfront for 3 months and should have been covered May-August. August rolls around, and I reach out to see when I owed my next payment and I was informed that my policy was cancelled in May and they refunded me by mailing me a check that I had never even received. They tried to tell me I called in and cancelled this policy, which I did not. After trying to pull the call they determined it was a system error and I had been uncovered for almost 3 months. The worst part is nobody had informed me my policy was cancelled at any point in time. Because of this lapse in coverage due to their error I had CPI added onto my loan. Once the policy was reinstated, I noticed a second vehicle (not mine) and a renter’s insurance policy (not mine) and they let me know after removing these my payments would increase almost $100 from what I was originally paying because of their error. The communication is HORRIBLE, and they do not listen to customers frustrations whatsoever. Rates are incredibly high, and I will never insure with them EVER again. They admitted their fault but did not do much to make the situation better or make it right. Very disappointed.
4
February 23, 2020

Jenczap

Check out Country Financial

My agent and his office has been a huge help over the last many years. From changing cars to going from homeowners to renters...they have made everything so easy to understand.
5
February 4, 2020

Tammi1982

Country Financial is awesome

Country Financial is an awesome insurance company. Filed a claim with them 2016 for a car accident I was in and they were on top of everything. Whatever questions my fiance and I had they answered. They also helped replace my children's carseats. I would highly recommend them.
5
February 3, 2020

Burtondr

My Country Financial Review

I am happy with Country Financial. They have always helped when needed. No rate increases. Looking time customer.
5
January 30, 2020

Stotta

Great Insurance

Country has been an amazing insurance company and very personal which I love. I know my agent and could chat with him in the store if I ran into him!
1
January 28, 2020

NinaDon1010

DONT GO WITH COUNTRY

In the past three years. I have some true eye opening experiences with Country Financial. We have been involved in three separate claims where two of them we were not at fault, given statements and all paperwork and following their process and procedure. During the processes they show little concern of the wellbeing of customers. What really concerns me the lack of communication from adjusters, claim adjusters, and people in the arbitration off...
In the past three years. I have some true eye opening experiences with Country Financial. We have been involved in three separate claims where two of them we were not at fault, given statements and all paperwork and following their process and procedure. During the processes they show little concern of the wellbeing of customers. What really concerns me the lack of communication from adjusters, claim adjusters, and people in the arbitration offices. I mean NOTHING. Unless, you call and email and reach out. They feel that if sending a vague letter is sufficient. It truly made me realize that this company is out for themselves and doesn’t see that their lack of reaching out and communication any information hurts their customers. We pay insurance to get updated and be on the better side of any issues. Instead we are left in the dark unless we reach out. We just learned this past month, we are held liable for all any open claims… and they allowed a settlement to happen without getting any 2nd statements or updates from/for us, the customer. The claim agent stated to us that having two open claims is against us…. How is being hit while at a stop light our fault if the other insurance company is denying any fault due to reasons unknown. Isn’t that part of your job to fight for the cause and for your customer? How is having an open claim against us? It was a true shock to realize how they process information and hold it against you in the end. I asked for letter of explanation on a claim and a supervisor. A SUPERVISOR, send me the timeline of when we opened a claim….showing NOTHING to do with the timeline of the claims agent messing up communication and why they settled… It was baffling. I have come to realize through speaking with out customers having gone through similar situation if not exact. You pay a lot of money to have them and they pay out regardless of fault or not. So you get dinged in the end no matter what. I plan to switch insurance companies very soon- Country has taken steps to ruin our polices without even advising us what was going on. Our Agent was also baffled and then started to tell us that it’s best to wait till they drop off to move companies. She even stated they aren’t doing well due to the amount of claims in the past three years they paid out. They are known to pay out often. So having them as your insurance company, you can almost guarantee anyone and their mom can sue them with a lawyer and you’ll get money. And you as the customer are likely to be affected.
1
January 14, 2020

Kellyc92

Terrible do not use

Worst company to deal with for an automobile claim. Car accident occurred nearly a month ago and anytime I try to obtain updates I'm rerouted to voicemails by rude intake people. Communication is lacking substantially
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption