Dairyland Auto Insurance Review [2024]

Dairyland auto insurance caters to high-risk drivers, offering competitive rates and a unique array of discounts, backed by an A+ rating from A.M. Best for financial strength.

UPDATED: Jan 28, 2024Fact Checked

Michael Leotta

Insurance Operations Specialist

Michael earned a degree in Business Management with an insurance focus, which led to a successful 25-year career in insurance claims operations and support. He possesses a high-level of business acumen across multiple areas of the insurance industry. Over the course of his career, he served in multiple roles supporting claims operations including: Claims Specialist, Claims Trainer, Claim Automatio...

Insurance Operations Specialist

Michael Vereecke

Commercial Lines Coverage Specialist

Michael Vereecke is the president of Customers First Insurance Group. He has been a licensed insurance agent for over 13 years. He also carries a Commercial Lines Coverage Specialist (CLCS) Designation, providing him the expertise to spot holes in businesses’ coverage. Since 2009, he has worked with many insurance providers, giving him unique insight into the insurance market, differences in ...

Commercial Lines Coverage Specialist

UPDATED: Jan 28, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 28, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 28, 2024Fact Checked
3.8
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Dairyland Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Specializes in providing insurance for high-risk drivers.
  • Offers affordable options for drivers with accidents, lapses in coverage, DUIs, or traffic incidents.
  • Provides a variety of coverage options for both auto and motorcycle insurance.
  • Offers multiple discounts to help customers save money.
  • Holds an A+ rating for financial strength from A.M. Best.

Cons

  • Customer service ratings are lower than the national average, with complaints related to late payments, delays with settlements, and claim processing.
  • Rates for drivers with clean records may be higher compared to other insurance companies.
  • Dissatisfaction reported by some customers regarding the claims process and pricing of their insurance.

Final Verdict: Review of Dairyland Insurance

Even though it’s headquartered in Wisconsin, you can buy Dairyland insurance in 42 states. Dairyland has a wide variety of insurance options, but it specializes in high-risk drivers.

If your driving record is clean, Dairyland might not be the right insurance company for you. But if you have accidents, lapses in coverage, DUIs, or traffic incidents, Dairyland might offer you the most affordable auto insurance options.

If you’re interested in Dairyland insurance quotes, you should compare rates to save as much money as possible. If you’re ready to see what rates might look like for you, enter your ZIP code into our free tool.

[su_box title="The Lowdown" style="default"]
  • Dairyland offers auto and motorcycle insurance for high-risk drivers
  • Unlike some high-risk insurance companies, Dairyland has a variety of add-on options and discounts
  • Dairyland receives more complaints than usual for a company its size, but it provides affordable insurance options for high-risk drivers
[/su_box] Even though it’s headquartered in Wisconsin, you can buy Dairyland insurance in 42 states. Dairyland has a wide variety of insurance options, but it specializes in high-risk drivers. If your driving record is clean, Dairyland might not be the right insurance company for you. But if you have accidents, lapses in coverage, DUIs, or traffic incidents, Dairyland might offer you the most affordable auto insurance options. If you’re interested in Dairyland insurance quotes, you should compare rates to save as much money as possible. If you’re ready to see what rates might look like for you, enter your ZIP code into our free tool.

What You Should Know About Dairyland

The National Association of Insurance Commissioners notes that Dairyland has lower customer service ratings than the national average for insurance companies. Complaints about Dairyland usually involve late payments after a claim, delays with settlements, and claim processing.

The best way to resolve any problems you have with your claims is to call the Dairyland insurance claims phone number and get a hold of an agent. You can also cancel or change your insurance coverage this way too.

On the other hand, Dairyland earns solid ranks from professional insurance rating companies. A.M. Best gives Dairyland an A+ for its financial strength.

Dairyland customers report a lot of dissatisfaction with the claims process and the price of their insurance. However, most customers find the ease of the website to manage their accounts with a simple Dairyland insurance login to be very convenient.

Read more:

Dairyland Insurance Coverage Options

Dairyland offers traditional car insurance options for your car, as well as a few additional coverages you can add to your policy. These include:

  • Liability: If you cause an accident, liability will pay for damage you cause to property and people. Most states require liability coverage on your car before you can drive.
  • Comprehensive: This coverage protects your car from damage outside of accidents, such as animal contact, theft, weather, and vandalism.
  • Collision: No matter who causes the accident, collision will help cover repair costs to your car.
  • Underinsured/uninsured motorist: While most states require insurance, not everyone has it. This protects you from drivers with inadequate coverage. States sometimes require this coverage as well as liability.
  • Personal injury protection and medical payments: This coverage helps pay for medical bills, lost wages, and other medical costs if you or your passengers are injured in an accident

If you need or want full coverage to give your car the most protection possible, you’ll need liability, collision, comprehensive, and underinsured/uninsured motorist. While it’s more expensive, full coverage protects your vehicle from just about anything.

In addition to standard insurance options, Dairyland offers several add-ons you can purchase to enhance your coverage. These include:

  • Towing and labor: This add-on will pay to have it towed to a repair shop if you’re stranded on the side of the road, up to a specified distance.
  • Special equipment: Standard insurance doesn’t pay for custom parts you add to your car, but this coverage will replace or repair them.
  • Lienholder policy: For people who lease or finance a car, this will cover the rest of your loan if you total your car before paying it off.
  • Non-owner insurance: If you get in an accident while driving someone else’s car, their insurance should cover it. However, if you frequently drive other people’s cars, this can help pay for the damage.

An additional service that Dairyland provides is SR-22 forms. SR-22 forms are a requirement in some states after a serious traffic violation has been committed, such as a DUI. This form proves to your state’s DMV that you meet the minimum requirement for car insurance.

Does Dairyland offer motorcycle insurance?

Aside from auto insurance, motorcycle insurance is one of Dairyland’s most popular products. There are several motorcycle insurance options to suit your every need.

For motorcycle insurance, Dairyland offers the same options as auto coverage: liability, collision, comprehensive, uninsured/underinsured motorist, personal injury protection, and medical payments.

Dairyland’s insurance won’t surprise you with their innovations, but they have several add-ons you can buy.

  • Towing and labor: This will pay to get your motorcycle towed if you become stranded, just like the car insurance option.
  • Rental reimbursement: If your motorcycle needs repairs after an accident, this coverage will reimburse a rental vehicle.
  • Special equipment: If you customize your motorcycle with special paint jobs, tires, modifications, or electronic additions, you can cover them with this add-on.

It’s not the most extensive list of insurance options, you can get the basic coverage you need to keep you and your motorcycle safe on the streets.

Find the Best Auto Insurance for Your Needs

If you’re a high-risk driver in need of auto or motorcycle insurance, Dairyland insurance might be the best choice for you. There’s a lot of variance in high-risk insurance, so you should always compare quotes to find the best insurance for you.

If you’re interested in Dairyland insurance, your first step should be to shop around. Enter your ZIP code into our free tool to see what quotes might look like for you.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Dairyland Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileDairyland AutoNational Average
Clean Record$221$119
1+ Ticket$267$147
1+ Accident$342$173
DUI$442$209
Poor Credit$380$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver


View as image

Since Dairyland insurance rates are specialized for high-risk drivers, it’s not the cheapest company out there. If you have a clean record and nothing else against you, you’ll find more affordable options with other insurance companies.

DriverDairylandGeicoProgressiveState Farm
21-year-old female$242$200$185$176
21-year-old male$319$231$203$215
30-year-old female$166$118$126$115
30-year-old male with DUI$205$204$162$205
40-year-old male with DUI$181$238$174$201

Dairyland is much more expensive for drivers with clean records compared to its competitors. However, you might save money with this company if you are a high-risk driver.

Dairyland Discounts Available

DiscountsDairyland Auto
Anti Theft13%
Good Student14%
Low Mileage11%
Paperless10%
Safe Driver13%
Senior Driver12%

Discounts are a common feature most insurance companies offer to their customers to make themselves more appealing and help people save money. However, insurance specializing in high-risk drivers often skimps on discounts. That’s not the case with Dairyland.

While the list of Dairyland motorcycle discounts isn’t as long as other companies, they have special discounts for Harley Davidson owners and motorcycle club members.

One thing to keep in mind about these discounts is that you might face a total discount cap. Once you reach a certain percentage, you won’t be eligible for more savings even if you qualify for additional discounts.

  • Multicycle: Like the Dairyland auto insurance discount, insuring multiple motorcycles can save you up to 25%. (For more information, read our “What are the cheapest motorcycles to insure?“).
  • Rider groups: Dairyland has a list of affiliated clubs to whom they’ll offer a 10% discount.
  • Existing customer: If you are an existing customer and add or replace a motorcycle, you can save 4%-8%.
  • Harley Owners Group (HOG): If you have a Harley Davidson and membership with HOG, you can save up to 15%.
  • Homeowners: If you own a condo, house, or mobile home and have insurance on it, you’ll be eligible for a discount of up to 20%. Your homeowners insurance doesn’t have to be through Dairyland.
  • Rider safety courses: If you take an approved motorcycle safety course, you can save 2% on your bill. This discount lasts for five years before you’ll need to retake the course.

With this long list of valuable discounts, you’re sure to find affordable Dairyland motorcycle insurance quotes.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Dairyland auto insurance?

Dairyland auto insurance is a subsidiary of Sentry Insurance that specializes in high-risk drivers. It offers affordable auto and motorcycle insurance policies in 42 states in the United States.

What types of discounts does Dairyland offer?

Dairyland offers several discounts for drivers, including multi-policy, multi-vehicle, transfer, motorcycle safety courses, and mature rider. While the list is not as extensive as other companies, it can still help you save money.

What is Dairyland’s financial rating?

Dairyland has an A+ rating from A.M. Best for its financial strength.

Does Dairyland offer SR-22 forms?

Yes, Dairyland offers SR-22 forms as an additional service. This form is required in some states after a serious traffic violation has been committed, such as a DUI.

What coverage options does Dairyland offer?

Dairyland offers traditional car insurance options for your car, including liability, collision, comprehensive, and underinsured/uninsured motorist. It also offers several add-ons you can purchase to enhance your coverage, such as roadside assistance and rental reimbursement. Additionally, Dairyland offers motorcycle insurance policies.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Michael Leotta

Insurance Operations Specialist

Michael earned a degree in Business Management with an insurance focus, which led to a successful 25-year career in insurance claims operations and support. He possesses a high-level of business acumen across multiple areas of the insurance industry. Over the course of his career, he served in multiple roles supporting claims operations including: Claims Specialist, Claims Trainer, Claim Automatio...

Insurance Operations Specialist

Michael Vereecke

Commercial Lines Coverage Specialist

Michael Vereecke is the president of Customers First Insurance Group. He has been a licensed insurance agent for over 13 years. He also carries a Commercial Lines Coverage Specialist (CLCS) Designation, providing him the expertise to spot holes in businesses’ coverage. Since 2009, he has worked with many insurance providers, giving him unique insight into the insurance market, differences in ...

Commercial Lines Coverage Specialist

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Dairyland

3.81 (173 reviews)
0.5
February 16, 2023

Tabatha Denney-Navarro

Dairyland review

****This companies policy is \"Not our Problem\" disgusting experience******** ***Avoid at all costs!!! No concern for Customer Interests!!!!!! My family had carried this insurance for 2 going on 3 years and every time we needed them the company would throw up barriers and \"pass the buck\" as a standard response to any concern we had. we had 2 incidents where we were victims and were just trying to be proactive by informing the company of w...
****This companies policy is \"Not our Problem\" disgusting experience******** ***Avoid at all costs!!! No concern for Customer Interests!!!!!! My family had carried this insurance for 2 going on 3 years and every time we needed them the company would throw up barriers and \"pass the buck\" as a standard response to any concern we had. we had 2 incidents where we were victims and were just trying to be proactive by informing the company of what occured. Both times Dairyland extortion company aggressively sought loopholes in the policy to ensure their lil nest egg was not damaged, meanwhile we are in and out the hospital and without vehicle due to a drunk driver totalling our vehicle. Thank god the perpetrator had State Farm because their agent secured a rental, paid our claim within 2 weeks and followed up with us a week after payout to make sure we had found new vehicle. Dairyland ignored our calls and messages for that whole time, and later emailed us that it was not their responsibility and made sure we did not try to request help. Our policy ((Liabaility vs. Comprehensive)) gave them the excuse to spend our monthly 2 hundred dollar payment to line their pockets with gold rather than silver. Our next vehicle was stolen from our driveway and once again dairyland abandoned us and shucked us aside. We canceled our policy because this company is predatory and customer service is well below community standard and actually rude disrespectful and selfish.
1
September 27, 2022

Bentboy

A complete mess of an insurance company!

After googling insurance companies to get an SR22, I came across Dairyland. [REDACTED NAME] was kind enough(and eager enough) to start my policy on September 12, in which I told agent I did not have funds in my account at the time to start the policy. She stated "No problem. We can start policy, and the company shouldn't try to withdraw my money till 2 days later on my deposit date. well, the withdrawal happened the day before my deposit date, an...
After googling insurance companies to get an SR22, I came across Dairyland. [REDACTED NAME] was kind enough(and eager enough) to start my policy on September 12, in which I told agent I did not have funds in my account at the time to start the policy. She stated "No problem. We can start policy, and the company shouldn't try to withdraw my money till 2 days later on my deposit date. well, the withdrawal happened the day before my deposit date, and not only did I have to pay my bank a decline fee, but my policy cancelled immediately. I contacted my agent on my actual deposit date, and she didn't hesitate to withdraw the starting fee plus the monthly amount(120.55 total). I received an email stating my policy had already cancelled and if I wanted to pay another amount, I could reactivate it. Called Dairyland, and they have no record of the money being applied to my account! So no it's a mess with my bank to start an investigation to get my funds back. Needless to say, I am in touch with the IABBB(International Better Business Bureau) since they are out of [REDACTED NAME]. DO NOT WASTE YOUR TIME WITH THIS COMPANY!
2
May 12, 2022

Jaykazeee

Dairyland < any other auto insurers

Probably the worst auto insurance company that I’ve had. Had them for years covering my 2006 Subaru sti. Charged me 280 each month, no discounts for good driver or anything. Should’ve went to a different car insurance but mistakes happen. Had a car accident years ago and had a damage on my front panel, they said they sent out a check for me but never received it. They sent me a letter about it and I replied Back to them about it but never got...
Probably the worst auto insurance company that I’ve had. Had them for years covering my 2006 Subaru sti. Charged me 280 each month, no discounts for good driver or anything. Should’ve went to a different car insurance but mistakes happen. Had a car accident years ago and had a damage on my front panel, they said they sent out a check for me but never received it. They sent me a letter about it and I replied Back to them about it but never gotten a response back. So I guess They are stealing my money that is owed when I had Them. My car still hasn’t been fixed of it .
4
January 9, 2021

tylercornelison1

Dairyland are you in good hands?

the ;prices are incredible!!! the;y really beat progressive! i was paying 280 dollars a month and dairyland got me almost the same coverage for 182 dollars a month!
5
January 8, 2021

Llm122313

Love them

Great company cheap insurance compared to most companies. Ap needs to be updated besides that it’s great
2
November 21, 2020

MWuerth22

Doesn't Need To Have Cheap Features To Be Cheap

While the policy is pretty bare bones, which I expected and wanted, the app and complete lack of features is unnecessary. After purchasing a policy, I then tried to add another vehicle we purchased a few weeks later. I opened the app and spent 30 minutes trying to figure out where and how to add a vehicle to my existing policy. It turns out, you have to email customer service with the new vehicle information and request it be added. This takes da...
While the policy is pretty bare bones, which I expected and wanted, the app and complete lack of features is unnecessary. After purchasing a policy, I then tried to add another vehicle we purchased a few weeks later. I opened the app and spent 30 minutes trying to figure out where and how to add a vehicle to my existing policy. It turns out, you have to email customer service with the new vehicle information and request it be added. This takes days, which is invaluable time when you need to insure a vehicle. Not only that, but I never got confirmation of them receiving the vehicle info, never was told how much it would be to add it, or any correspondence from the company. It just showed up on my next billing cycle with an increased premium.
5
October 8, 2020

lilialespinoza

Excellent Customer Service

I love this company. Their customer service is awesome. They are available 24 hours and quick claims service.
1
October 6, 2020

tannaa

Horrible

Agents were very rude and unprofessional. There was a new bill every week with a different amount and it was very confusing and frustrating.
5
June 30, 2020

FosterCare2020

Inexpensive

They were inexpensive and simple. I paid over the phone every time my bill was due. They sent me email receipts.
5
June 19, 2020

anarchanoid

Awesome cheap insurance ocmpany

Really good and cheap insurance. Never had any issues whatsoever and will be with them for as long as I can.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption