Erie Homeowners Insurance Review [2024]

Erie Homeowners Insurance offers a comprehensive range of coverage options, coupled with potential add-ons, making it a versatile choice for homeowners seeking reliable protection.

UPDATED: Jan 10, 2024Fact Checked

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Laura Gunn

Insurance and Finance Writer

Laura Gunn is a former teacher who uses her passion for writing and learning to help others make the best decisions regarding finance and insurance. After stepping away from the classroom, Laura used her skills to write across many different industries including insurance, finance, real estate, home improvement, and healthcare.  Her experience in various industries has helped develop both her ...

Insurance and Finance Writer

UPDATED: Jan 10, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 10, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 10, 2024Fact Checked
4.3
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Erie Home Insurance

Average monthly rate for homeowners:

$58

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Erie Home Insurance has an A+ rating with A.M. Best and the Better Business Bureau.
  • Erie Home Insurance offers several coverage options for homeowners insurance policies.
  • Erie Home Insurance provides discounts for policyholders for multipolicy, safety systems, and advanced quotes.

Cons

  • Erie Home Insurance is only available in a limited number of states in the northeast U.S.
  • Customer reviews on the BBB website only give Erie one out of five stars.

Final Verdict: Review of Erie Home Insurance

If you live in the northeast U.S., and are looking for a home insurance policy, Erie home insurance may be a good fit for you. Erie offers homeowners insurance with several options to help cover your home. Keep reading to learn more about Erie insurance and the products it offers.

As you shop for homeowners insurance, you will want to find the best home insurance policy near you. You can compare quotes from multiple companies to see which one offers the most affordable coverage that meets your needs. Use our free tool above to get started in your search for homeowners insurance today.

[su_box title="The Lowdown" style="default"]
  • Erie Insurance offers a standard homeowners insurance policy with optional add-ons
  • Insurance rates with Erie vary depending on where you live, the size of your home, and more
  • Erie home insurance has an A+ rating with A.M. Best and the Better Business Bureau
[/su_box] If you live in the northeast U.S., and are looking for a home insurance policy, Erie home insurance may be a good fit for you. Erie offers homeowners insurance with several options to help cover your home. Keep reading to learn more about Erie insurance and the products it offers. As you shop for homeowners insurance, you will want to find the best home insurance policy near you. You can compare quotes from multiple companies to see which one offers the most affordable coverage that meets your needs. Use our free tool above to get started in your search for homeowners insurance today.

What You Should Know About erie insurance group

The Lowdown

  • Erie Insurance offers a standard homeowners insurance policy with optional add-ons
  • Insurance rates with Erie vary depending on where you live, the size of your home, and more
  • Erie home insurance has an A+ rating with A.M. Best and the Better Business Bureau

If you live in the northeast U.S., and are looking for a home insurance policy, Erie home insurance may be a good fit for you. Erie offers homeowners insurance with several options to help cover your home. Keep reading to learn more about Erie insurance and the products it offers.

As you shop for homeowners insurance, you will want to find the best home insurance policy near you. You can compare quotes from multiple companies to see which one offers the most affordable coverage that meets your needs. Use our free tool above to get started in your search for homeowners insurance today.

erie insurance group Insurance Coverage Options

Erie insurance offers a standard homeowners insurance policy that includes coverage for your primary dwelling. This coverage will help pay to repair damage caused by storms, fire, and more. Erie’s standard homeowners insurance also offers a loss-of-use coverage that will pay for housing, food, and other items if you’re forced to relocate after significant damage to your home.

With the liability coverage offered by Erie, you can protect yourself against medical costs and lawsuits from events such as if someone falls while on your property or if your dog bites them. Erie also covers the total loss of a home if it is beyond repair.

Erie’s homeowners insurance options vary from state to state. If you’re interested in coverage with Erie, speak to an agent to clarify what you can purchase and any add-ons you’re interested in including. Add-ons for homeowners insurance with Erie include coverage options for:

  • Flood
  • Earthquake
  • Water damage
  • Valuables
  • Home equipment
  • Theft
  • Service lines
  • Home businesses
  • Rental income

Add-ons such as flood insurance may be of interest to you depending on what you have in your home, whether you work from home, and whether the home is your primary residence or a rental property.

Read more:

Should I buy Erie home insurance?

If you live in a state where Erie sells home insurance, speak to an agent about purchasing a policy. Be sure to compare them with other companies before you buy a policy with anyone. It’s important to shop around for insurance coverage to make sure you aren’t overpaying for your coverage.

You can compare a quote you get from an Erie agent with quotes from top companies in your area to see which company offers the best homeowners insurance at an affordable cost. Be sure to use our free quote tool below to find and compare homeowners insurance rates from multiple companies today.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

erie insurance group Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileErie HomeownersNational Average
Clean Record$160$119
1+ Ticket$147$147
1+ Accident$173$173
DUI$209$209
Poor Credit$205$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver

Erie home insurance is available in Maryland, Pennsylvania, West Virginia, Illinois, New York, Tennessee, Wisconsin, Indiana, North Carolina, Virginia, Kentucky, Ohio, and the District of Columbia. Your premium for Erie home insurance is based upon many factors such as location, your home’s value, other structures on your property, and more.

Read more: Erie Insurance Company of New York Review

Once you give a detailed description of your property to an Erie agent, the agent will be able to give you an accurate quote. The table below shows monthly rates for homeowners insurance with different insurance companies.

CompanyAverage monthly cost
Allstate$122
State Farm$125
The Hartford$134
USAA$83
Travelers$106
Progressive$86
Farmers Insurance$165
Nationwide$87
American Family Insurance$108

As you can see, rates vary based on the company you choose. But rates will also be greatly impacted by your state of residence. If you’d like to know what your cost for homeowners insurance would be, call an Erie insurance agent for more specific information.

Read more: Erie Auto Insurance Review

erie insurance group Discounts Available

DiscountErie Homeowners
Anti Theft10%
Good Student15%
Low Mileage10%
Paperless8%
Safe Driver18%
Senior Driver10%

Discover the financial advantages of securing your home with Erie Family Life Insurance Company. In addition to comprehensive coverage, Erie offers a range of discounts tailored to make quality homeowners insurance more affordable. Explore the various ways you can save while safeguarding your home and valuables.

  • Multi-Policy Discounts: Save by bundling multiple insurance policies with Erie.
  • Safe Driver Discounts: Enjoy reduced premiums for maintaining a safe driving record.
  • Good Student Discounts: Students with good academic performance may qualify for additional savings.
  • Safe Home Discounts: Receive discounts for implementing safety features in your home.
  • Multi-Car Discounts: Insure multiple vehicles with Erie and benefit from cost savings.
  • Renewal Discounts: Earn discounts for staying loyal and renewing your policies with Erie.
  • Pay-in-Full Discounts: Save by paying your insurance premium in full upfront.

Erie Family Life Insurance Company goes beyond providing robust homeowners insurance coverage – it offers a multitude of discounts designed to enhance your savings. By taking advantage of these cost-saving opportunities, you not only protect your home but also ensure that you do so with financial prudence.

How can I save on homeowners insurance?

One of the best ways to save money on your homeowners insurance policy is to apply for discounts. Erie home insurance offers a multipolicy discount, a safety systems discount, and an advanced quote discount to its policyholders. If you are curious whether you would be eligible for these or other discounts with Erie, you can ask an agent for assistance.

How erie insurance group Ranks Among Providers

Erie Family Life Insurance Company faces robust competition in the insurance industry, with several reputable companies vying for the attention of consumers seeking comprehensive coverage. While Erie distinguishes itself through its commitment to customization, exceptional customer service, and comprehensive coverage options, it’s essential to acknowledge some of its main competitors:

  • State Farm: Known for its extensive network of agents and a wide range of insurance offerings. Offers competitive rates and a variety of discounts.
  • Allstate: Emphasizes personalized coverage and provides a range of insurance products. Offers features like Claim Satisfaction Guarantee and Safe Driving Bonus.
  • Geico: Renowned for its online presence and user-friendly interface. Offers competitive rates and various discounts, particularly for auto insurance.
  • Progressive: Stands out for its innovative approach and Snapshot program for personalized auto insurance rates. Provides a diverse range of insurance products.
  • Liberty Mutual: Offers a broad array of insurance solutions, including home, auto, and life insurance. Known for its customizable coverage options.

While Erie Family Life Insurance Company competes in a crowded market, its focus on flexibility, customer service, and comprehensive coverage positions it as a strong contender among these notable competitors. When selecting an insurance provider, individuals should carefully assess their unique needs and preferences to find the best fit for their family’s protection.

Erie Homeowners Insurance Claims Process

Ease of Filing a Claim (Online, Over the Phone, Mobile Apps)

Erie Family Life Insurance Company offers policyholders a user-friendly and convenient claims process. Customers have multiple options for filing a claim, including seamless online submission, over-the-phone assistance, and the accessibility of mobile apps.

This flexibility ensures that policyholders can choose the method that best suits their preferences, making it easier to initiate a claim when needed.

Average Claim Processing Time

While specific claim processing times may vary based on the nature and complexity of the claim, Erie Family Life Insurance Company is known for its efficient and timely claims processing. The company prioritizes quick and efficient processing to provide policyholders with the necessary support and financial assistance during challenging times.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and Payouts

Customer feedback regarding Erie’s claim resolutions and payouts is generally positive. Many policyholders express satisfaction with the promptness in settling claims and the fairness of the payouts received. This positive feedback reflects Erie’s commitment to ensuring that customers’ needs are met when filing a claim, contributing to a positive overall claims experience.

Erie Homeowners Insurance Digital and Technological Features

Mobile App Features and Functionality

Erie Family Life Insurance Company provides a mobile app that enhances the overall customer experience by offering convenient access to essential insurance information. The app includes features such as detailed policy information, billing details, and the ability to report and track claims.

This user-friendly app is designed to facilitate on-the-go access, ensuring that policyholders can manage their insurance affairs effortlessly.

Online Account Management Capabilities

Erie’s online account management platform empowers policyholders to take control of their insurance policies. Through the company’s website, customers can access and manage their accounts, view policy documents, make payments, and update their information.

This digital convenience simplifies the process of keeping insurance policies up-to-date, providing easy access to critical coverage details.

Digital Tools and Resources

Erie Family Life Insurance Company offers a range of digital tools and resources to help customers make informed decisions about their insurance coverage. These resources include educational articles, insurance calculators, and online quote tools.

By providing these digital resources, Erie aims to empower individuals and families to understand their insurance options and make confident choices for their financial security.

Does Erie home insurance have good reviews?

If you’re looking for Erie home insurance reviews online, you’ll find that A.M. Best has given the company an A+ (Superior) rating and a stable outlook for the future. Similarly, the Better Business Bureau (BBB) has given Erie an A+ rating on its website.

The BBB website also includes customer reviews, which only give Erie one out of five stars. But the company has closed over 100 cases in the past three years as documented on the BBB website.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Erie homeowners insurance?

Erie homeowners insurance is a type of insurance policy that provides coverage for your home and its contents against various risks, such as fire, theft, vandalism, and natural disasters. It offers financial protection in case of property damage, loss, or liability claims.

What does Erie homeowners insurance cover?

Erie homeowners insurance typically covers the physical structure of your home, personal belongings, additional structures on your property, liability for injuries or property damage to others, and additional living expenses if your home becomes uninhabitable due to a covered loss.

How can I get a quote for Erie homeowners insurance?

To get a quote for Erie homeowners insurance, you can visit their official website, call their customer service hotline, or contact a local Erie insurance agent. They will ask you questions about your home and its features to provide an accurate quote.

Are there any discounts available with Erie homeowners insurance?

Yes, Erie offers various discounts that can help you save on your homeowners insurance premium. These discounts may include multi-policy discounts, security system discounts, claims-free discounts, new home discounts, and more. Check with Erie or your agent to see which discounts you may be eligible for.

How can I file a claim with Erie homeowners insurance?

In the event of a covered loss, you can file a claim with Erie by contacting their claims department directly. They will guide you through the process, ask for necessary information and documentation, and assist you in getting your claim settled promptly.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Laura Gunn

Insurance and Finance Writer

Laura Gunn is a former teacher who uses her passion for writing and learning to help others make the best decisions regarding finance and insurance. After stepping away from the classroom, Laura used her skills to write across many different industries including insurance, finance, real estate, home improvement, and healthcare.  Her experience in various industries has helped develop both her ...

Insurance and Finance Writer

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for erie insurance group

4.28 (1,814 reviews)
1
June 4, 2021

Varus

Worst insurance company to date. AVOID AT ALL COSTS.

Erie has been an absolute nightmare to work with. It all started with one over confident adjuster that came over and talked about how she's been in the industry for years, and flat our denied our roof claim, even after she deemed there was damage. She only deemed a few shingles damaged and she and her manager have absolutely refused to help. They have no compassion and has treated my wife and I as just another case. They lied to the state departm...
Erie has been an absolute nightmare to work with. It all started with one over confident adjuster that came over and talked about how she's been in the industry for years, and flat our denied our roof claim, even after she deemed there was damage. She only deemed a few shingles damaged and she and her manager have absolutely refused to help. They have no compassion and has treated my wife and I as just another case. They lied to the state department of insurance when I made a complaint and they responded, and they know they can get away with it too. Companies like these prey on customers as they know most will not lawyer up and will just walk away even if Erie does not pay out. I recommend EVERYONE avoid Erie and find a different insurer asap.
5
January 3, 2021

akd0526

erie saved me money

I love erie insurance, they saved me a lot of money when compared to my old insurance company which was nationwide
5
December 5, 2020

akd0526

Remove Asbestos

I love Erie. They did a great job taking care of an asbestos problem in my house and made the house safe to live in.
4
November 29, 2020

mey

Lack of dealing directly with customer about the problem.

Usually had great service with quick response time. In late Dec 2019 while near Phoenix, AZ, several pebbles from the roads (common occurrence there) struck and pitted our windshield. We contacted Erie requesting to replace the regular windshield with a Gorilla Glass one so this would not happen again. Erie okayed the replacement and we payed the difference between the OEM and the upgrade. We also added full glass coverage. Less than 6 months a...
Usually had great service with quick response time. In late Dec 2019 while near Phoenix, AZ, several pebbles from the roads (common occurrence there) struck and pitted our windshield. We contacted Erie requesting to replace the regular windshield with a Gorilla Glass one so this would not happen again. Erie okayed the replacement and we payed the difference between the OEM and the upgrade. We also added full glass coverage. Less than 6 months after it was installed, it began to crack from the bottom left side. We notified Erie that it was a large crack and got authorization again to get it replaced. We picked up the vehicle only to discover it was back to the cheaper windshield. After 3 months of dealing with the shop, our local agent and Erie, we were still waiting for someone to deal with the situation. Each thought the other was contacting us, and in the end, no one helped us. We are now proud customers of USAA.
5
October 19, 2020

distraughteq

Get and Stick with Erie Insurance - Will be the best choice

The process with the agent was very simple and very easy to finish. All information was done online and with in 1 day the policy was approved. I printed out all info and dropped all paperwork signed to the agents office and all was done. Was extremely aggravating with other companies trying to do this. A lot were just unreasonable with all requests and fees and extras you NEEDED to have. Erie was not like that and is he reason why I went wit...
The process with the agent was very simple and very easy to finish. All information was done online and with in 1 day the policy was approved. I printed out all info and dropped all paperwork signed to the agents office and all was done. Was extremely aggravating with other companies trying to do this. A lot were just unreasonable with all requests and fees and extras you NEEDED to have. Erie was not like that and is he reason why I went with them
5
June 30, 2020

OHSubaruDude

Wallet friendly company with great support

Erie Insurance is a great, cost effective insurance company. Used them for Home, Auto and Umbrella and the claims process was the best I've experienced. Car got hit by a rock on the interstate and Erie took care of everything. The repair, rental, and everything in between. Great company that I highly recommend.
5
June 26, 2020

RubyFlake

Great Insurance: Erie Insurance Group, Good Customer Service

I love it, that have good pricing and help me with most needs. The customer service is amazing also!
5
February 23, 2020

Enew32

Always seems to be there when I need them!

I only have positive things to say about this company. They continue year after year to have the lowest rates, which is why we always stick with them. Coverage is always right where we want it to be.
5
January 22, 2020

Aprilar

Amazing pieces

They're awesome. They are progressional, they've always helped at the drop of a dime when I needed and their prices are awesome.
5
January 11, 2020

CRSMOM

making the change

Erie and their agents have been invaluable with helping me make for coverage with my home and my rental property.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Erie Home owners Monthly Auto Insurance Rates