Esurance Auto Insurance Review [2024]

Esurance auto insurance, owned by Allstate, revolutionizes the industry with its predominantly online approach, offering simplicity and transparency at an average monthly rate of $326 for full coverage.

UPDATED: Jan 10, 2024Fact Checked

Scott W. Johnson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Scott W Johnson is an independent insurance agent in California. Principal Broker and founder of Marindependent Insurance Services, Scott brings over 25 years of experience to his clients. His Five President’s Council awards prove he uses all he learned at Avocet, Sprint Nextel, and Farmers Insurance to the benefit of his clients. Scott quickly grasped the unique insurance requirements of his...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeff Root

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeff is a well-known speaker and expert in life insurance and financial planning. He has spoken at top insurance conferences around the U.S., including the InsuranceNewsNet Super Conference, the 8% Nation Insurance Wealth Conference, and the Digital Life Insurance Agent Mastermind. He has been featured and quoted in Nerdwallet, Bloomberg, Forbes, U.S. News & Money, USA Today, and other leading...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Jan 10, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 10, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 10, 2024Fact Checked
4.0
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Esurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Mostly online-based, offering convenience and easy access to policy management
  • Owned by Allstate, a reputable insurance company
  • Offers a range of coverage options and optional policy add-ons
  • Provides roadside assistance and a mobile app for added convenience

Cons

  • Allstate plans to phase out the Esurance brand eventually, which may introduce uncertainty for policyholders
  • Not accredited by the Better Business Bureau (BBB) and has received mixed customer reviews
  • Availability of coverage may vary by state

Final Verdict: Review of Esurance

Esurance auto insurance policies are sold almost entirely online. Owned by Allstate, Esurance aims to provide drivers with simple, transparent, and affordable insurance.

However, a 2019 press release from Allstate announced plans to eventually shut down the Esurance brand and reallocate funding back to the parent company.

In this Esurance auto insurance review, learn how to request quotes, look at financial and customer ratings, and more to determine if this is the right company for you.

Read on to learn more about affordable Esurance auto insurance rates and coverage. Secure your best possible price by entering your ZIP code into our free tool above to receive quotes from the top companies near you.

Esurance auto insurance policies are sold almost entirely online. Owned by Allstate, Esurance aims to provide drivers with simple, transparent, and affordable insurance. However, a 2019 press release from Allstate announced plans to eventually shut down the Esurance brand and reallocate funding back to the parent company. In this Esurance auto insurance review, learn how to request quotes, look at financial and customer ratings, and more to determine if this is the right company for you. Read on to learn more about affordable Esurance auto insurance rates and coverage. Secure your best possible price by entering your ZIP code into our free tool above to receive quotes from the top companies near you.

What You Should Know About Esurance, Inc.

Esurance is owned by the Allstate auto insurance company and provides online auto insurance coverage for drivers who prefer technology over talking on the phone.

But you can still call the Esurance auto insurance phone number to speak with a team of licensed professionals whenever needed.

While Esurance operates in most parts of the country, it’s currently only available in 43 states.

Plus, in a 2019 press release, Allstate announced plans to close the Esurance brand eventually.

Specifically, the press release claimed the Esurance brand would be phased out by 2020. But as of 2022, new Esurance policies are still being underwritten.

However, the company representatives confirmed in the first quarter 2021 earnings conference call that the phase-out would occur later.

So know that if you decide to switch to this company as a new customer, there’s a very good chance that a significant change may impact your policy.

In the meantime, Esurance typically underwrites traditional auto insurance coverages, including liability, collision, and comprehensive insurance.

In select states, you can also purchase uninsured or underinsured motorist coverage, personal injury protection (PIP) insurance, and medical payments (MedPay) coverage.

As optional policy add-ons, Esurance offers rental car coverage, loan or lease guaranteed asset protection (GAP) insurance, and emergency roadside assistance.

As a mostly-digital insurance company, customers create an Esurance auto insurance login either on the website or through the mobile app.

In the app or online customer portal, you can make changes to your policy, pay your bills, file and track claims, and access your ID cards.

The app also connects you to roadside assistance services if you add it to your policy.

How do you request Esurance auto insurance quotes?

The easiest way to request Esurance auto insurance quotes is through the company website. The online quote tool takes only a few minutes to fill out.

However, you may also call the customer service number at 1-800-378-7262 to speak directly with a friendly expert.

But remember, Allstate still supposedly plans to eventually phase out the Esurance brand.

What are the Esurance ratings and reviews?

It’s important to analyze an insurance company’s financial ratings and customer reviews before purchasing a policy. That way, you can ensure the company is reliable.

Fortunately, Esurance earned an A+ score from A.M. Best, meaning the company can follow through on its financial obligations to policyholders. Plus, this company is backed by Allstate.

However, it is also currently in flux, as the Esurance brand will eventually be phased out in the near future.

Regardless, the Esurance auto insurance reviews from customers don’t always fare as well as the financial evaluations.

The company is not accredited by the Better Business Bureau (BBB) but earned an A- rating. However, real customers scored it as only 1.02 stars out of a possible 5.

Similarly, Esurance earned a complaint index of 2.94, according to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC).

The median is set to 1.00, so 2.94 means Esurance received almost three times as many complaints as the median.

Keep these customer experiences in mind while shopping around for your best coverage.

Esurance, Inc. Insurance Coverage Options

Besides auto insurance policies, Esurance also sells homeowners, renters, and motorcycle insurance.

However, availability for each insurance type varies by state.

The company also offers bundling deals if you purchase multiple lines of coverage from Esurance. You can manage these policies through the same mobile app where you manage your auto policy.

What is the history of Esurance insurance?

Esurance was founded in 1999 and was one of the first companies to sell online auto insurance directly to drivers over the internet.

Esurance paved the way for the large number of newer online auto insurance companies that exist today.

In 2011, Allstate announced it would purchase Esurance, which was only underwriting policies in 30 states at the time.

In 2019, Allstate published a press release stating it would phase out the Esurance brand by 2020 and reallocate the funding back into the Allstate brand.

However, as of 2022, Esurance is still underwriting new policies. But spokespeople for Allstate reportedly claim the phase-out will still occur.

So, for now, the future of Esurance remains in flux.

Esurance Auto Insurance: The Bottom Line

Esurance paved the way as one of the first online auto insurance companies. It conveniently provides reasonable rates for the consumer who prefers a digital experience.

But, ultimately, the future of Esurance remains unknown as Allstate plans to phase it out in the future.

If you’re shopping around for new coverage, it may be easier to purchase a policy from one of the best insurance companies that currently have more predictable futures.

Hopefully, we’ve help you decide whether or not to buy Esurance auto insurance. While you consider what you’ve read, enter your ZIP code into our free rate tool below for quotes from the top companies in your region.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Esurance, Inc. Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileEsurance Auto InsuranceNational Average
Clean Record$130$119
1+ Ticket$170$147
1+ Accident$200$173
DUI$280$209
Poor Credit$230$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver

Your auto insurance rates depend on a variety of variables, including your driving record, ZIP code, age, and even the type of vehicle you drive.

Esurance auto insurance rates cost about $326 per month on average for full coverage policies or $3,912 annually.

But your quote may look very different, depending on your unique circumstances. So consider comparing your Esurance quote to the average cost of coverage in your state.

The table below compares the average annual auto insurance expenditures in the states where Esurance operates, as reported by the Insurance Information Institute (III).

Average Annual Auto Insurance Expenditures by State
StateAverage Annual Auto Insurance Expenditures
Alabama$904.56
Arizona$1,046.40
Arkansas$898.89
California$1,034.05
Colorado$1,132.81
Connecticut$1,216.55
Florida$1,426.46
Georgia$1,212.04
Idaho$722.06
Illinois$916.49
Indiana$767.72
Iowa$700.71
Kansas$805.15
Kentucky$936.91
Louisiana$1,545.82
Maine$686.25
Maryland$1,211.83
Massachusetts$1,167.16
Michigan$1,469.73
Minnesota$872.65
Mississippi$971.19
Missouri$913.81
Nebraska$796.87
Nevada$1,260.43
New Jersey$1,385.61
New Mexico$915.62
New York$1,425.00
North Carolina$734.06
North Dakota$686.08
Ohio$794.91
Oklahoma$915.49
Oregon$990.21
Pennsylvania$991.23
Rhode Island$1,333.12
South Carolina$1,093.97
South Dakota$721.67
Tennessee$855.78
Texas$1,152.25
Utah$941.14
Virginia$853.78
Washington$1,035.34
West Virginia$938.71
Wisconsin$755.97

Read more:

According to the company website, Esurance customers who switched saved an average of $462 on their insurance policies.

However, if you’re in the market for new coverage, you should compare auto insurance quotes from multiple companies to truly secure your best rates.

How do you file Esurance auto insurance claims?

You can file claims with Esurance auto insurance company through your mobile app, on the website, or by calling Esurance directly.

According to the company website, filing through the mobile app is often the quickest and most convenient option.

The mobile app allows you to submit photo claims, which helps speed up the process.

But if you prefer speaking with a representative, the Esurance claims number is 1-800-378-7262. It typically takes a few days up to a week for Esurance to close a claim. Complex claims may take longer.

Esurance, Inc. Discounts Available

DiscountEsurance Auto Insurance
Anti Theft15%
Good Student20%
Low Mileage12%
Paperless8%
Safe Driver30%
Senior Driver7%

Esurance offers many different auto insurance discounts to customers.

However, availability and the total saving amounts vary by state.

The table below shows all auto insurance discounts offered by Esurance, with potential rate reductions included where available.

Esurance Auto Insurance Discounts
Discount NameRate Reduction Available
Anti-lock brakesYes - 5%
Anti-theftYes - 25%
Claim freeYes - 25%
Continuous coverageYes
Daytime running lightsYes
Defensive driverYes - 10%
Driver's edYes
Driving device/appYes - 25%
Early signingYes - 10%
Fast 5Yes - 5%
Full paymentYes - 10%
Further educationYes - 15%
Good studentYes - 10%
Good/safe driverYes
Green vehicleYes
HomeownerYes
Low mileageYes - 15%
MarriedYes
Membership/groupYes
MilitaryYes - 25%
Multiple policiesYes
Multiple vehiclesYes
Newer vehicleYes
OccupationYes
Online shopperYes - 11%
Paperless/auto billingYes
Passive restraintYes - 33%
RenterYes - 30%
Roadside assistanceYes - 5%
Senior/mature driverYes
Students & alumniYes
Switching providerYes
Vehicle recoveryYes - 25%
VIN etchingYes

Esurance also unrolled its usage-based insurance discount program, DriveSense. DriveSense relies on technology already installed on your mobile device to track and evaluate your driving habits.

Customers download the DriveSense app separate from the Esurance mobile app to earn rate reductions based on how safely they drive.

The discount changes at each policy renewal based on your driving performance. You also get a rate reduction simply for enrolling.

How Esurance, Inc. Ranks Among Providers

Exploring the competitive landscape of auto insurance providers, Esurance contends with several key rivals. Understanding the unique characteristics of these companies helps consumers make informed decisions about their insurance choices.

  • Geico: Geico, or the Government Employees Insurance Company, is a major player known for its affordability and humorous advertising.
  • Progressive: Progressive is an industry innovator, celebrated for introducing usage-based insurance through its Snapshot program.
  • State Farm: State Farm, a household name, boasts an extensive network of agents and offers a comprehensive suite of insurance products, emphasizing personalized service.

Esurance’s competitors—Geico, Progressive, and State Farm—each have their distinctive characteristics. Geico is recognized for affordability, Progressive for innovation, and State Farm for its extensive agent network and personalized service.

Weighing these differences enables consumers to choose the auto insurance provider that aligns best with their preferences.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Esurance Auto Insurance?

Esurance Auto Insurance is an online-based car insurance provider owned by Allstate that offers traditional coverage options and optional add-ons.

What are the average monthly rates for good drivers with Esurance Auto Insurance?

Esurance Auto Insurance rates average around $326 per month for full coverage policies.

Is Esurance a good choice for car insurance?

Esurance has earned an A+ rating from A.M. Best but is in the process of being phased out by Allstate. Its customer reviews and complaints have been mixed.

How do I request a quote from Esurance Auto Insurance?

You can request a quote through the company’s website or by calling their customer service number.

Does Esurance Auto Insurance offer roadside assistance?

Yes, Esurance Auto Insurance offers roadside assistance as an optional add-on.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Scott W. Johnson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Scott W Johnson is an independent insurance agent in California. Principal Broker and founder of Marindependent Insurance Services, Scott brings over 25 years of experience to his clients. His Five President’s Council awards prove he uses all he learned at Avocet, Sprint Nextel, and Farmers Insurance to the benefit of his clients. Scott quickly grasped the unique insurance requirements of his...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeff Root

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeff is a well-known speaker and expert in life insurance and financial planning. He has spoken at top insurance conferences around the U.S., including the InsuranceNewsNet Super Conference, the 8% Nation Insurance Wealth Conference, and the Digital Life Insurance Agent Mastermind. He has been featured and quoted in Nerdwallet, Bloomberg, Forbes, U.S. News & Money, USA Today, and other leading...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Esurance, Inc.

3.98 (1,525 reviews)
1
February 8, 2024

Brian777

0 star

I pay 300 a month for full coverage , it’s been a month since I had my car totaled customer service is awful I’m still without a car they have not paid for my car offer to pay anything worst insurance ever
1
September 25, 2023

Neal_in_California

CAUTION - WATCH YOU BACK

esurance was good - until they decided to bail from California. They failed to notify me when my payment was due, then cancelled my policy and refused to renew. I signed up for text message notification, but they didn't notify me. They said yes, you signed up, but turns out there was one final step we didn't tell you about, sorry, bye. So now I find I have been driving without insurance and didn't even know it - until the DMV told me!!
1
April 29, 2023

Hicham

Don't go with them

Bad customer service they charge Lot of money when cancel your policy .they charge me $140 butter look for good insurance company
1
April 13, 2023

Brb40par007_

Claims are not handled properly

My car was involved in attempted car theft on February 22nd at my apartment complex located at [REDACTED ADDRESS] [REDACTED NAME],VA [REDACTED ZIP CODE]. The individual that attempted to steal my car destroyed my back window and ignition housing. I was able to submit a claim the same day. The problem is that my car was delivered to West Broad Hyundai on February 27th. The dealership since February 27th to March 20th. They could not get in con...
My car was involved in attempted car theft on February 22nd at my apartment complex located at [REDACTED ADDRESS] [REDACTED NAME],VA [REDACTED ZIP CODE]. The individual that attempted to steal my car destroyed my back window and ignition housing. I was able to submit a claim the same day. The problem is that my car was delivered to West Broad Hyundai on February 27th. The dealership since February 27th to March 20th. They could not get in contact with my insurance company to make the necessary repairs. Once they got in contact with Esurance, they they had a disagreement with payment. Esurance did not want to honor the dealership's quote to repair my vehicle. The dealership and the insurance company has a back and fourth battle on cost. ESURANCE told me they was going to find another service location to find me another service station. They found me a service station on March 27th. Esurance promise me that I will get my car in timely fashion so they allowed me to get a rental car for a short period of time. Now that it is April 13th and I most return the rental car back in to Enterprise. The problem is that Loyalty Collision had no information about my car nor had no contact with my insurance company. My insurance failed to provide them with the necessary information and payment to the service station to repair my car. I think this is unprofessional that I have been without a vehicle for 2months and my Esurance company is not going to let keep the rental car until I get my car back. If I have to turn in my rental car then I will not have no transportation to get to work which can cause me to lose my job
1
September 29, 2022

Therep

Very Poor Claims Service

As a person only dealing with the claims process I can honestly say they are very poor in claim response time. This is a California policy. I have seen a month pass before they respond to an accident claim. No call backs after many, many calls.
1
September 20, 2022

Mick3y

RUN! DONT INSURE YOUR CAR HERE.

This has been the worst experience I have ever had, I was in a no-fault accident on May 27th. It is now 9/20/2022. I have called multiple times since my accident, and I have emailed the claims department. After calling to complain multiple times, 9/20 was the first day I was told that there was never a complaint entered for me? I have been transferred to multiple VM and have received no response from the supervisor or the adjuster. The records sh...
This has been the worst experience I have ever had, I was in a no-fault accident on May 27th. It is now 9/20/2022. I have called multiple times since my accident, and I have emailed the claims department. After calling to complain multiple times, 9/20 was the first day I was told that there was never a complaint entered for me? I have been transferred to multiple VM and have received no response from the supervisor or the adjuster. The records show that I have called continuously month after month with no response. I have no idea what my next steps should be or if something is needed from me. This is my life, It is very unsettling and disheartening that this company has gotten away with doing this to multiple people. Not having a vehicle has affected me very negatively and it's very sad that the company could care less about its customers. I am so hurt by this and it has caused me a lot of stress
1
September 6, 2022

Dana_Whicker

VERY poor customer service and communication.

I am not a policy holder, but am the victim of a car accident and the driver was insured with Esurance. As of 7 full days of the accident I have not heard one word from the adjuster even though I called and left at least 2 voicemails per day and 2 emails. I have contact the company again to speak to a supervisor just to be transferred to the same adjuster who now has a full voicemail box. These people don't know if I am okay, need a rental car, n...
I am not a policy holder, but am the victim of a car accident and the driver was insured with Esurance. As of 7 full days of the accident I have not heard one word from the adjuster even though I called and left at least 2 voicemails per day and 2 emails. I have contact the company again to speak to a supervisor just to be transferred to the same adjuster who now has a full voicemail box. These people don't know if I am okay, need a rental car, nothing. Although I hate to be this way I had to Lawyer up.
1
July 21, 2022

gt080845

Claims adjusters never call or respond to messages

Esurance is the worst insurance company I have ever dealt with. The adjuster on my claim [REDACTED NAME], has ignored repeated request to call me to handle my claim. Esurance doesn’t seem to know what supervisors are on the job, or on extended leave and not monitoring their messages. Esurance keeps connecting me to [REDACTED NAME], who is on extended leave. They have no one monitoring the calls and messages for the employees who make themse...
Esurance is the worst insurance company I have ever dealt with. The adjuster on my claim [REDACTED NAME], has ignored repeated request to call me to handle my claim. Esurance doesn’t seem to know what supervisors are on the job, or on extended leave and not monitoring their messages. Esurance keeps connecting me to [REDACTED NAME], who is on extended leave. They have no one monitoring the calls and messages for the employees who make themselves unavailable or are not at work, on vacation or somehow not there to supervise. Their voice system is like being in the 7th ring of [REDACTED]. If all you want is an insurance card to prove you have coverage Esurance is the place to go. If you want an insurer that actually provides the coverage stay away from Esurance. I have provided names of the people who aren’t doing their jobs so Esurance will know who they are. Don’t harass them. Just know to avoid them if Esurance wants to assign them to your claim. I can’t provide all the names but at least 10 different people have done a crappy job of getting this going. I only want a phone call so I get things moving. The problem is really Esurance as a company. They take your money and that’s all. I called Esurance 20 times (exact count). I called [REDACTED NAME] at least 8 times & left messages which were not returned. Got transferred to non-working telephone 5 times.
1
July 5, 2022

ghfdsdfhh

horrible customer service. will cancel with no notice.

didn't tell me when my policy was getting cancelled and illegally canceled on the day i was starting a new job. don't go to Esurance if you value your time and dignity.
1
January 21, 2022

Josepi

Buyer Beware!!

Buyer Beware!! I got Esurance to quote a policy for 3 cars and 4 drivers. Their rate was significantly lower than my current policy. A 6 month payment was made and I was all set to cancel the old policy when I looked closer at the quote - they dropped comp and collision on 2 cars! No wonder their rates were lower!! I called back to cancel. Too late! They grabbed $1250+ from my checking account! Previous comparison quotes with other companies w...
Buyer Beware!! I got Esurance to quote a policy for 3 cars and 4 drivers. Their rate was significantly lower than my current policy. A 6 month payment was made and I was all set to cancel the old policy when I looked closer at the quote - they dropped comp and collision on 2 cars! No wonder their rates were lower!! I called back to cancel. Too late! They grabbed $1250+ from my checking account! Previous comparison quotes with other companies were always apples to apples - same levels and types of coverage. Not this BS of dropping coverage to quote a lower rate. With Comp and Collision added back in the premiums jumped nearly $1000!! Deceptive insurance practices!! Buyer Beware!!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption