Farm Bureau Auto Insurance Review (2023)

With Farm Bureau Insurance, you can purchase auto insurance coverage in many different states, but you must have a Farm Bureau membership to qualify.

UPDATED: Jan 10, 2023Fact Checked

Free Auto Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Laura D. Adams

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Laura Adams is one of the nation’s leading finance, insurance, and small business authorities. As an award-winning author, spokesperson, and host of the top-rated Money Girl podcast since 2008, millions of readers and listeners benefit from her practical advice. Her mission is to empower consumers to live healthy and rich lives by planning for the future and making smart money decisions. She rec...

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Jan 10, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 10, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 10, 2023Fact Checked
4.1
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Farm Bureau

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • More than 90 years of experience in the insurance industry
  • A wide variety of coverage options to customize your auto insurance policy
  • Professional customer service
  • An A (excellent) financial strength rating with A.M. Best

Cons

  • No option for filing claims online
  • Policyholders must pay an annual fee for coverage
  • Service and coverage options vary from state to state
  • Customer service experience and satisfaction vary by state

The Bottom Line

Farm Bureau is available throughout the U.S., and car insurance rates with the company are often affordable. In addition, Farm Bureau is known for its excellent customer support and professionalism.

Unfortunately, rates with Farm Bureau may vary based on where you live, as will coverage options and discount opportunities. You can speak with a company representative to learn more about Farm Bureau Insurance in your area.

Farm Bureau may be a great fit for you in terms of an auto insurance policy, but you should still shop online and compare auto insurance rates before you make a final decision about your coverage. When you compare quotes, you can decide which company works best based on your needs and budget.

If you’re on the search for auto insurance in your state, you may have too many companies to consider. It can be difficult to find the perfect insurance company with so many options to choose from.

Still, some companies stand out by offering great products, excellent customer service, and affordable insurance rates. The Farm Bureau is one insurance company that stands out from the rest.

With more than 90 years of experience in the insurance industry, Farm Bureau is a well-known and trusted company that offers several types of insurance products to policyholders throughout the U.S.

Farm Bureau offers auto insurance policies with competitive rates, and the company allows policyholders to customize their policies to meet their needs.

Additionally, Farm Bureau is known for its attention to detail regarding customer service and satisfaction. Many Farm Bureau customer reviews claim they will renew their policies and recommend the company to friends and family.

Is Farm Bureau Insurance a Good Choice?

Farm Bureau Financial Services was founded in 1931 to provide liability insurance coverage to farmers. As Farm Bureau grew, so did its insurance products and coverage options.

Farm Bureau now offers insurance products throughout the U.S. to farmers and non-farmers. However, anyone wishing to purchase insurance products through the company must first pay an annual membership fee.

What are the pros of a Farm Bureau auto insurance policy?

If you purchase an insurance policy with Farm Bureau, you can look forward to several perks:

  • More than 90 years of experience in the insurance industry
  • A wide variety of coverage options to customize your auto insurance policy
  • Professional customer service
  • An A (excellent) financial strength rating with A.M. Best

Farm Bureau has been in the insurance business for more than 90 years. In doing so, the company offers experience and assistance in a way many new insurance companies simply cannot.

Additionally, Farm Bureau offers several coverage options for auto insurance. It’s a great fit if your goal is to customize an auto insurance policy to meet your unique needs.

Farm Bureau is known for being helpful and professional when dealing with customers. While this may be something you hope to avoid, filing a claim with Farm Bureau insurance will be much less of a headache than with other insurers. Farm Bureau offers assistance and professionalism from start to finish.

Lastly, Farm Bureau has an A (excellent) financial strength rating and a positive outlook on future endeavors from A.M. Best. So you should not worry about Farm Bureau being unable to pay out your insurance claim.

What are the cons of a Farm Bureau auto insurance policy?

While Farm Bureau offers many helpful benefits, the company does have its drawbacks. The most significant downsides to an auto insurance policy with Farm Bureau include:

  • No option for filing claims online
  • Policyholders must pay an annual fee for coverage
  • Service and coverage options vary from state to state
  • Customer service experience and satisfaction vary by state

Farm Bureau does not allow customers to file auto insurance claims online. Instead, you will have to call and speak with a company representative. If online services are important to you, Farm Bureau may not be the best auto insurance company.

Additionally, policyholders must pay an annual membership fee to purchase coverage with Farm Bureau. The Farm Bureau membership can cost anywhere from $20 to $125 per year based on the type of membership and your location.

While Farm Bureau underwrites its policies in a few states, the company has subsidiaries that do the work of underwriting policies elsewhere. Because of this, your rates may vary because of where you live.

Farm Bureau services, coverage options, and car insurance rates may also vary from one state to the next. So if you’re looking for consistency in your coverage, Farm Bureau may not offer the type of coverage and peace of mind you need.

Does Farm Bureau have good ratings and reviews?

Farm Bureau has an A (excellent) financial strength rating with A.M. Best. In addition, the company has a stable outlook for future endeavors, allowing policyholders to feel safe and secure when purchasing a policy with Farm Bureau.

Farm Bureau also has an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau (BBB). Customers have given the company a 1.67 out of five-star rating on the BBB website. According to Farm Bureau Insurance reviews from customers, the most common reason policyholders give the company a low rating is because of issues when filing a claim.

Still, Farm Bureau Insurance is known for its attention to customer needs, and the company scores high in customer ratings for customer service and satisfaction.

Does Farm Bureau Insurance get many customer complaints?

Several Farm Bureau Insurance companies and subsidiaries earn high rankings for customer service. For example, J.D. Power ranked the Farm Bureau Insurance Company first in both Tennessee and Texas in overall customer satisfaction.

However, certain subsidiaries of Farm Bureau Insurance have received customer complaints. For example, the Colorado Farm Bureau Insurance Company received more than the expected number of complaints for its home insurance policies, according to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC).

Georgia Farm Bureau and Mountain West Farm Bureau each received significantly more than the expected number of complaints for an insurance company in the area. Still, all of these complaints are specific to home insurance policies. The company is known for offering competitive auto insurance policies in these states.

If you are considering purchasing an auto insurance policy with Farm Bureau in your state, read customer reviews and complaints online to get a better idea of what to expect from Farm Bureau.

Farm Bureau Insurance Rates

Farm Bureau offers competitive auto insurance rates in many states. Compared with other well-known car insurance companies, Farm Bureau occasionally offers the cheapest rates. In many instances, Geico’s rates are the only auto insurance rates that compare to Farm Bureau’s affordable options.

See how Farm Bureau auto insurance quotes compare to other national companies for full and liability-only coverage:

Average Monthly Liability-Only vs. Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by Company
CompaniesMonthly Liability-Only Coverage Auto Insurance RatesMonthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates
Allstate$162$318
American Family$114$224
Farmers$147$288
Geico$91$179
Liberty Mutual$203$398
Nationwide$117$229
Progressive$144$283
State Farm$120$235
Travelers$147$287
USAA$82$161
National Average$133$260

Farm Bureau’s rates remain the same for a 30-year-old married male and a 30-year-old single female. Rates with Geico, Progressive, and Allstate vary, but Geico is the only company with rates slightly lower than Farm Bureau.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Farm Bureau Insurance Discounts Available

You can get discounts on your car insurance coverage with Farm Bureau. Some of the company’s most popular discount options include:

  • Affinity group discount. Membership in alumni groups, fraternities/sororities, and other organizations will lower your car insurance rates.
  • Anti-theft discount. Installing anti-theft devices in your car will earn you a Farm Bureau discount.
  • Claim-free discount. Farm Bureau awards a discount to policyholders who remain claim-free for at least three years.
  • Driveology discount. Driveology usage-based car insurance tracks driving behavior and rewards safe drivers with lower rates.
  • Member’s Choice discount. More commonly known as home and auto insurance bundles, Farm Bureau will discount your rates if you have homeowners and other policies with the company.
  • Continued in-force credit discount. Earn a discount every time you renew your Farm Bureau membership and Member’s Choice coverage.
  • Good student discount. Teen drivers and college students will earn a discount for maintaining a 3.0 GPA or higher.
  • Multicar discount. Insurance more than one vehicle with Farm Bureau to earn a discount.
  • Low-mileage discount. Must drive less than 7,500 miles annually to qualify for a discount.
  • Smart pay discount. Pay your auto insurance in full and online to earn a discount. Not available in every state.
  • Safe young driver training discount. Drivers under 25 earn a discount after completing the Farm Bureau Young Driver Safety program online.

Auto insurance discounts can help you save up to 25% on your auto insurance coverage. If you’re eligible for a discount with Farm Bureau, speak with a company representative to learn how much you could save on your monthly auto insurance rates.

Farm Bureau Insurance Coverage Options

Farm Bureau offers the traditional types of auto insurance you would expect from any car insurance company. Some of these coverages include:

In addition, the company offers several add-on coverage options, though these options vary based on location.

For example, Farm Bureau offers roadside assistance, gap insurance, new car replacement, original parts coverage, and more. If you’re interested in additional auto insurance coverage, speak with a representative in your area to learn what’s available.

Farm Bureau Insurance vs. Competitors

Farm Bureau policies are affordable, and average monthly liability rates with Farm Bureau are often cheaper than those with other companies like Allstate, State Farm, and Progressive.

However, Farm Bureau is sometimes more expensive than the national average when comparing costs for a full coverage auto insurance policy.

Does Farm Bureau have a mobile app?

Fam Bureau does have a mobile app for its customers. With the app, policyholders can:

  • Call for roadside assistance
  • Request assistance to file a claim
  • Locate an agent
  • Review policy information
  • View member benefits

The Farm Bureau mobile app also allows policyholders to pull up their policy information and ID cards if needed.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Farm Bureau a good insurance company?

Farm Bureau is a good insurance company. The company has an A rating with A.M. Best and an A+ rating with the Better Business Bureau.

What kind of insurance does Farm Bureau sell?

Most Farm Bureau subsidiaries and agencies sell home, auto, farm/ranch, and life insurance, among other types of coverage.

Is Farm Bureau insurance cheap?

In many cases, car insurance rates with Farm Bureau are extremely competitive.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Laura D. Adams

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Laura Adams is one of the nation’s leading finance, insurance, and small business authorities. As an award-winning author, spokesperson, and host of the top-rated Money Girl podcast since 2008, millions of readers and listeners benefit from her practical advice. Her mission is to empower consumers to live healthy and rich lives by planning for the future and making smart money decisions. She rec...

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Farm Bureau Insurance

4.07 (111 reviews)
4
March 26, 2023

MEC58

Under writers are VERY VERY LAZY!!!!!! And they LIE

Love my agent and his receptionist. I can't stand the lazy under writers. This new no fault insurance is BS They require to see my husbands and my Medicare card every 6 months. I don't know why because we aren't going to lose it like EVER!!!!! So every 6 months we fill out the paperwork and send in the copies of our cards. They send us our new policy and have the PIP at 16% instead of the 91% Every 6 months we have to argue with them because they...
Love my agent and his receptionist. I can't stand the lazy under writers. This new no fault insurance is BS They require to see my husbands and my Medicare card every 6 months. I don't know why because we aren't going to lose it like EVER!!!!! So every 6 months we fill out the paperwork and send in the copies of our cards. They send us our new policy and have the PIP at 16% instead of the 91% Every 6 months we have to argue with them because they claim we never sent anything. Continuously over and over and I'm sick of it!!! Then we get charged full rate until they fix it. Then they prorate our premium for the other 3-4 months. It's getting to be not worth the hassle. And I'm sure they know this and are taking advantage of the elderly and disabled.
2
January 31, 2023

Spade

Scammers

They will start you low and then jack up the prices for your insurance fast will not deal with them again. Scammers
2
April 8, 2022

SaRahl3465

Was told to get into an accident to cover my damages

Personally for the last 12 years I have been satisfied. [REDACTED NAME] has been a great agent. Only problem I have ever had those 12 years was no one at the company could ever spell my name right (and that's with them having a copy of my ID). They are my current insurance holder but that will be changing quite quickly. I nearly collided with a herd of deer in March 2022. I was able to brake fast and hard enough to avoid major damage, but damage...
Personally for the last 12 years I have been satisfied. [REDACTED NAME] has been a great agent. Only problem I have ever had those 12 years was no one at the company could ever spell my name right (and that's with them having a copy of my ID). They are my current insurance holder but that will be changing quite quickly. I nearly collided with a herd of deer in March 2022. I was able to brake fast and hard enough to avoid major damage, but damaged my seat as response to the whiplash. We were told by [REDACTED NAME] (a supervisor) that since I didn't hit anything my vehicle didn't suffer any damage and my seat was caused by wear and tear (Not caused by avoiding the accident) and not covered by my full coverage. [REDACTED NAME], an insurance adjuster, said the same thing. Even if its had been another car accident and I hit the brakes to avoid colliding with another car, it's consider wear and tear. Basically it was told I should have just it the animal. The repair ended up only being $750. Meaning they would have only paid $250. So...instead of using common sense, them lawyering up so they knew what to say, and not reasoning with a customer, who thought they were valued members, we will be taking our business elsewhere. They have good rates, but its covers the fact your dealing with bookies gambling your money that you won't get into an accident. (I have most of our calls on recording if anyone wants to deny anything as well)
1
March 1, 2022

Kat22kat

Stay away from this company!

I was in a car accident approximately 7 yrs ago.. and they have not paid any of my medical bills in the last 4 years. I have over 200.000 in medical bills and their offer to settle was 50.000 with future. That means they would be done with it (I am still treating). At first I thought what a joke, but the more I thought about it the angrier I got.. they are happy to take your money for the premium but fight till the end so they don't have to pa...
I was in a car accident approximately 7 yrs ago.. and they have not paid any of my medical bills in the last 4 years. I have over 200.000 in medical bills and their offer to settle was 50.000 with future. That means they would be done with it (I am still treating). At first I thought what a joke, but the more I thought about it the angrier I got.. they are happy to take your money for the premium but fight till the end so they don't have to pay out or pay little out.. I do still have them for my insurance company for two reasons. 1) my income is very limited and they are the cheapest, 2) if I was to ever get into another accident they can't blame my old injuries on a new accident and try to make another insurance company pay. We have been in litigation for over 3 yrs now. They are the worst.
4
October 9, 2020

ckr01

Car Insurance Review

They have reasonable rates and have an excellent reputation in my local area for paying out claims. My only complaint is the annual membership fee.
5
August 18, 2019

Mogirlcher

Number one company

Agent always available when needed. Have had to make claims and we’re always satisfied with service. Cost of polices very competitive.
5
July 30, 2019

tuffy8

Farm Bureau

I have had no problems with this company. Their policies are affordable and they offer lots of discounts.
5
July 26, 2019

Kdanielle

Friendly

They were friendly and patient. I felt as though they genuinely cared about me. They worked with me.
4
June 12, 2019

Jong430

Farm Bureau Review

Great customer service and best price I've found. Any time I have an issue they are quick to help me through it.
5
January 9, 2019

Aloomi02

I swear by this company

I have always had a great experience with them. When I was at my uncle's house and his neighbor backed into my car I had my insurance claim within 7 days. When the bank messed up and my account was overdrawn, Farm Bureau put a hold on my account so that it would not overdraw anymore.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption