Farmers Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Explore Farmers Auto Insurance in-depth, unveiling its affordability, coverage options, and customer service, to help you make informed decisions about your car insurance needs.

UPDATED: Jun 14, 2024Fact Checked

Sara Routhier

Sr. Director of Content

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Sr. Director of Content

Eric Stauffer

Licensed Insurance Agent

Eric Stauffer is an insurance agent and banker-turned-consumer advocate. His priority is educating individuals and families about the different types of insurance coverage. He is passionate about helping consumers find the best coverage for their budgets and personal needs. Eric is the CEO of C Street Media, a full-service marketing firm and the co-founder of ProperCents.com, a financial educat...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Jun 14, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jun 14, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jun 14, 2024Fact Checked
4.0
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Farmers

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$139

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Med

Pros

  • High customer satisfaction
  • Fast claims processing
  • Third-highest customer satisfaction rating in the 2022 J.D. Power Insurance Shopping Study
  • Very high scores for the Farmers Insurance app — 4.8 on Apple and 4.6 for Android devices

Cons

  • Customers are less likely to renew their policy than other insurance providers
  • Not available in all states
  • Pricier for younger and older demographics
  • More expensive than the national average
  • Farmers does not offer guaranteed asset protection or gap coverage
Farmers auto insurance is slightly more expensive than other national companies, including Geico and State Farm. Rates are above average for drivers in almost every demographic, especially teens and young adults. However, Farmers has stellar financial ratings and high customer satisfaction. You can rest assured that the company will look after your policy and pay out any claims.

After a devastating earthquake struck Los Angeles in the 1930s, the Farmers Insurance L. A. Home Office immediately sent out the following call — “Pay them. Pay them all.” With that, Farmers was the first insurance company to offer comprehensive auto insurance coverage.

Today, Farmers is a nationally recognized brand with Hollywood-powered marketing and an overall positive reputation.

Unfortunately, when shopping for Farmers quotes online, you’ll find that rates are in the upper 25% of the most expensive insurance companies. Farmers auto insurance for young adult drivers and teens also tends to be more expensive.

Use this guide to compare Farmers to some of the best auto insurance company quotes, especially if you’re considering buying a new vehicle or adding a young adult driver to an existing policy under your name. (For more information, read our “How to Add Another Driver to Your Auto Insurance Policy“).

Keep reading to discover all the discounts and savings you stand to receive from Farmers or if the competition suits your needs.

Table of Contents

What You Should Know About Farmers Insurance Group

Yes, Farmers is a reputable insurance company you can trust to pay out claims and offer excellent customer service. Since 1928 when Farmers Insurance realized that actual farmers were safer drivers and entitled to better quotes, it’s been fulfilling its obligation as a top auto insurance provider to policyholders across the U.S.

The majority of the U.S. has access to Farmers insurance products. However, Alaska, Delaware, Hawaii, Maine, New Hampshire, Rhode Island, and Washington, D.C. drivers cannot get Farmers auto or home insurance.

Additionally, it doesn’t offer life insurance in New York or homeowners insurance in South Carolina.

Farmers Customer Service

Farmers Insurance reviews from customers are very strong — over half of all Farmers customers surveyed said they were happy with the provider’s level of service. Farmers is a respectable insurance provider with many policy customization choices and favorable client feedback.

However, its exceptional customer service comes at an additional cost, literally. Homeowners and auto insurance costs were around 14% higher than usual. It’s ironic, considering most of their previous customers who decided to go price-comparison shopping and left did so because their premiums went up over 10%.

Farmers Claims Handling

According to the J.D. Power 2022 U.S. Auto Claims Insurance Study, Farmers ranked above the national average and tied for 6th place with State Farm. In addition, most customers said that processing an insurance claim with Farmers was easy.

If you need to file a claim, you can call the Farmers claims phone number at (888) 435-7764.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Pros and Cons of Farmers Auto Insurance

Farmers insurance tends to satisfy many customers while getting its fair share of complaints. In reality, each insurance company has benefits and drawbacks that you should consider when choosing a plan.

A few advantages of purchasing a Farmers auto insurance policy are listed below:

  • High customer satisfaction
  • Fast claims processing
  • Third-highest customer satisfaction rating in the 2022 J.D. Power Insurance Shopping Study
  • Very high scores for the Farmers Insurance app — 4.8 on Apple and 4.6 for Android devices

Customers who have Farmers auto insurance say they are happy with the coverage, which is reflected in the company’s financial performance and client satisfaction levels. However, Farmers auto insurance also has several disadvantages that prospective customers should consider before buying a policy.

Some of the cons of getting an auto insurance policy with Farmers include:

  • Customers are less likely to renew their policy than other insurance providers
  • Not available in all states
  • Pricier for younger and older demographics
  • More expensive than the national average
  • Farmers does not offer guaranteed asset protection or gap coverage

Farmers is just one insurance company. Make sure you’re also considering and comparing the top 10 auto insurance companies in the U.S.

Farmers Insurance Group Insurance Coverage Options

As one of the top 10 largest national insurers in the U.S., Farmers offers all the standard auto insurance coverages as the competition, including the legally required minimums and more.

Here is a list of car insurance offered by Farmers:

  • Bodily injury liability. When you cause an accident, your bodily injury liability coverage compensates for the other parties’ medical costs.
  • Property damage liability. Covers any vehicle or property damage you cause to someone else during an accident. This plan does not cover your car or other belongings.
  • Collision insurance. Regardless of who is at blame, collision insurance covers your car’s damages if it collides with a stationary item or another moving object.
  • Comprehensive insurance. Your vehicle’s damages from non-collision events like weather, falling items, vandalism, animal damage, or theft are covered by comprehensive auto insurance.
  • Protection against uninsured or underinsured drivers (UI/UIM). If a hit-and-run accident or collision with an uninsured driver occurs, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage will cover the costs of your vehicle’s damages and medical expenses.
  • Medical benefits (MedPay). Pays for your and your passengers’ medical expenses after an accident, regardless of who is at fault.
  • Personal injury protection insurance (PIP). Covers medical expenses for you and your passengers, as well as lost wages and other household costs while you recover from any injuries.

Full coverage auto insurance includes both bodily injury and property damage liability coverage and collision and comprehensive insurance. Depending on your state, PIP may also be required, and UM/UIM is also highly recommended, with hit-and-run accidents rising every year.

Full coverage is generally a good idea if your car is valuable or would be difficult to replace with just your savings. Although it isn’t legally necessary, if you have a car loan or lease, some lenders might.

For older vehicles that might not be worth investing in repairs, you can carry liability-only coverage, which is the legal minimum required in most states. It can result in savings of up to 66% per year over full coverage insurance.

How much is Farmers minimum insurance coverage?

Although the minimum coverages required by each state differ, a liability auto insurance or minimum auto insurance policy provides the protection you need to drive legally. Despite being less expensive than a full coverage policy, minimum insurance provides little protection because it excludes coverage for your car or medical expenses.

Farmers does offer liability-only insurance at affordable rates:

Average Monthly Minimum Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum
Coverage Rates
Allstate$50
American Family$48
Farmers$56
Geico$24
Liberty Mutual$64
Nationwide$49
Progressive$40
State Farm$34
Travelers$39
Average$45

Compare RatesStart Now →

Farmers minimum coverage rates are slightly more expensive, coming in at $102.90 monthly for drivers with a clean record. The national average for minimum liability is around $80.

How much is a Farmers full coverage auto insurance?

Although a full coverage policy is more expensive than minimum coverage, it offers more protection.

Compare Farmers insurance quotes against full coverage costs at other national companies:

Average Monthly Full Coverage Rates for the Top 10 Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$166
American Family$116
Farmers$140
Geico$82
Liberty Mutual$177
Nationwide$120
Progressive$109
State Farm$91
Travelers$107
USAA$63
Average$123

Compare RatesStart Now →

A 45-year-old can expect to pay around $139 monthly for a full coverage Farmers auto insurance policy, with the next cheapest options being Geico, State Farm, and Travelers.

Does Farmers sell any additional or specialized car coverages?

Drivers may be able to add choices like new car replacement, accident forgiveness, and even full windshield and glass coverage to the normal policy options for auto insurance.

If you want to protect your vehicle beyond the standard auto insurance coverages, review the additional Farmers coverage options below to see if they would benefit your circumstances.

  • Towing and roadside assistance. Farmers offers helpful roadside assistance, towing, winching, and connections to emergency services.
  • Accident forgiveness. Farmers won’t raise rates after your first accident. Drivers automatically enroll in accident forgiveness after five years without an at-fault accident. (Not available in CA, HI, NY & SC.)
  • Rideshare insurance. This insurance is crucial to people engaged in driving rideshare services such as Uber or Lyft in the event of an accident resulting in injury claims.
  • Rental reimbursement. Up to 30 days of rental car reimbursement to help you manage your life while your car is in the shop.
  • OEM parts replacement. If your vehicle is less than 10 years old, you can receive original equipment manufactured parts, meaning not after-market parts, in the event of needed repairs after an accident.
  • New car replacement. Farmers will replace your new car with the same make/model before 24,000 miles on the odometer if you total the vehicle in a covered claim.
  • Guaranteed value car insurance. Great for classic cars and antique vehicles, this type of coverage pays out at a predetermined price for an insured vehicle
  • Personal umbrella. Provides additional liability coverage above the limits on your auto policy to increase the protection of your assets.
  • Customized equipment. This covers any vehicle upgrades, such as infotainment systems and custom wheels, if your auto insurance policy includes collision and comprehensive coverage.
  • Glass deductible buyback. If you need windshield repairs, your deductible will be paid by Farmers up to $100. (For more information, read our “Will auto insurance pay for windshield repairs?“).

These are just some of the featured additional coverages Farmers Insurance is known for.

What other types of insurance does Farmers sell?

Farmers provides numerous other insurance products in addition to auto insurance, enabling policyholders to take advantage of multi-policy discounts. For example, drivers can combine their auto and home insurance policies to receive a bundling discount.

Farmers offers the following kinds of insurance:

  • Commercial and business insurance
  • Auto insurance for collectibles and antiques
  • Flood protection
  • Homeowners and renters insurance
  • Specialty vehicle insurance for off-road vehicles
  • Motorcycle insurance
  • Motor home and RV insurance
  • Maritime and boat insurance for personal watercraft
  • Insurance for travel trailers
  • Umbrella coverage

As you can see, Farmers offers a range of additional insurance plans to satisfy the requirements of almost every driver.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Does Farmers have a mobile app?

Farmers has a highly-rated mobile app available for download on the App Store and Google Play Store. The app allows you to pay your auto insurance bill, request roadside assistance, get an ID card, and file a claim.

Farmers mobile app ratings are good. On the App Store, the app has a 4.8/5 star rating, whereas the Google Play Store has an average rating of 4.6/5 stars.

Farmers Auto Insurance: The Bottom Line

Farmers auto insurance is slightly more expensive than other national companies, including Geico and State Farm. Rates are above average for drivers in almost every demographic, especially teens and young adults.

However, Farmers has stellar financial ratings and high customer satisfaction. You can rest assured that the company will look after your policy and pay out any claims.

If customer service is important to you, there is a wide variety of Farmers insurance discount opportunities to help reduce the cost of your auto insurance policy. Enter your ZIP code below to compare Farmers insurance quotes to the most competitive auto insurance companies in your city.

Farmers Insurance Group Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileFarmersNational Average
Clean Record$139$119
1+ Ticket$173$147
1+ Accident$198$173
DUI$193$209
Poor Credit$238$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver

Compare RatesStart Now →

Farmers insurance rates are more expensive than most companies for liability and full coverage car insurance.

Its average rate for liability-only auto insurance is $102.92, compared to the national average of $83.29. The average auto insurance rate for a full-coverage policy with Farmers is $258.08.

However, numerous elements will impact your insurance costs, some of them are as follows:

  • Age
  • Driving history, including citations
  • Credit score (where allowed)
  • Claims history
  • Gender (where allowed)
  • ZIP code
  • Annual mileage
  • Marital status
  • Vehicle make and model

It’s crucial to remember that online quotes are only estimates, and your actual rates may differ. You’ll get the cheapest Farmers insurance quotes when you compare it to at least three other insurance companies near you.

Scroll through the following sections to compare Farmers car insurance rates by age, state, and driving record to see if the company fits your budget.

Farmers Auto Insurance Rates for Teen Drivers

Insurance companies view teen drivers as high risk due to their inexperience and propensity for distracted driving. As a result, car insurance for a 16-year-old is the most expensive, with male teenagers paying the highest rates.

See how much teen drivers typically pay in the table below:

Average Monthly Full Coverage Teenage Auto Insurance Rates by Gender
Insurance Company16-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record16-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record18-Year-Old Male with a Clean Record18-Year-Old Female with a Clean Record
Allstate$637.83$608.25$518.58$448.42
American Family$480.08$390.17$390.33$287.67
Farmers$741.75$777.50$603.17$573.25
Geico$311.92$297.75$253.58$219.58
Liberty Mutual$778.25$716$632.75$527.92
Nationwide$476.17$410.50$387.17$302.67
Progressive$813.83$801.42$661.75$590.83
State Farm$349.25$310.83$284$229.17
Travelers$896.83$708.83$729.17$522.58
National Average$609.58$557.92$495.58$411.33

Compare RatesStart Now →

Teens and new drivers don’t get much of a price break from Farmers, paying over $700/month for full coverage auto insurance. It’s among the most expensive companies for teens, with only Liberty Mutual and Travelers charging higher rates.

Farmers Auto Insurance Rates for Young Adult Drivers

Drivers in their 20s still see pricier rates than other age groups, but they begin to decrease as they near the age of 25 if they keep a clean driving record and don’t file any accident claims.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Age and by Company
Companies25-Year-Old Female25-Year-Old Male17-Year-Old Female17-Year-Old Male
Allstate$219.51$220.97$678.65$733.87
Farmers$172.13$179.75$810.38$773.12
Geico$108.35$111.96$259.76$385.52
Liberty Mutual$279.38$296.29$544.95$882.56
Nationwide$170.12$216.52$304.87$452.46
Progressive$192.71$187.71$527.40$587.72
State Farm$181.32$192.87$497.40$641.39
Travelers$247.44$255.98$558.84$664.92
USAA$162.66$179.06$520.49$617.89

Compare RatesStart Now →

Young adult drivers on their parents’ policies pay about $180 a month for Farmers full coverage, approximately 20% more than the national average and nearly 200% of Geico’s auto insurance for motorists of the same age.

Farmers Auto Insurance Rates for Adult Drivers

Rates for adult drivers are typically lower than those for teens and young adults because they have more driving experience and get in fewer accidents. Drivers in their 30s pay around $165/month for full coverage auto insurance with Farmers and $62/month for liability-only.

From the ages of 30 until your mid-50s, car insurance quotes tend to blend and not differ by any substantial amount. That makes customer service and claims satisfaction pivotal in choosing the right insurance company if you ever need to file a claim.

Farmers Auto Insurance Rates for Senior Drivers

Due to age-related problems like slower reflexes, vision loss, or other health issues, insurance companies view drivers in their 60s as higher risk, which raises the cost of their auto insurance.

Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates for Seniors by Gender & Provider
Insurance Company65-Year-Old Male65-Year-Old Female
Allstate$157$158
American Family$114$113
Farmers$136$136
Geico$78$78
Liberty Mutual$170$167
Nationwide$112$111
Progressive$103$109
State Farm$84$84
Travelers$97$96
U.S. Average$117$117

Compare RatesStart Now →

Senior drivers insured with Farmers auto can anticipate paying about $135 monthly for full coverage car insurance. Monthly insurance rates from Geico and State Farm are practically half the price at $74 and $76 per month, respectively.

You can save on senior auto insurance with a senior defensive driving discount. To qualify, the primary driver must be at least 65 years old, or 55 in some states, and complete a driver education course approved by the DMV. You must present the course completion certificate to be eligible.

Farmers Auto Insurance Rates After a Speeding Ticket

Your auto insurance rates will increase if you receive a moving violation because it demonstrates to insurance companies that you drive recklessly. Likewise, you’ll notice higher rates after renewing with a speeding ticket because your insurer verifies your driving history at each policy renewal.

Drivers with Farmers may pay around $35 more per month if they’ve gotten a citation, which is 25% more than a similar driver with a clean record and around 25% more than the national average.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates with One Speeding Ticket
CompanyAverage Rates with Clean RecordAverage Rates with 1 Speeding Violation
Allstate$318.33$373.63
American Family$224.47$252.15
Farmers$288.38$339.92
Geico$178.83$220.45
Liberty Mutual$397.86$475.11
Nationwide$228.85$259.47
Progressive$282.76$333.52
State Farm$235.10$265.50
Travelers$287.31$355.07
USAA$161.14$182.77

Compare RatesStart Now →

Geico and State Farm offer auto quotes well below the national average for drivers with a ticket.

Farmers Auto Insurance Rates After an Accident

Farmers drivers can expect to pay about 20% more than the national average after an accident.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with One Accident
CompanyAverage Rates with Clean RecordAverage Rates with 1 Accident
Allstate$318.33$415.64
American Family$224.47$310.23
Farmers$288.38$376.56
Geico$178.83$266.06
Liberty Mutual$397.86$517.07
Nationwide$228.85$283.08
Progressive$282.76$398.09
State Farm$235.10$283
Travelers$287.31$357.48
USAA$161.14$209.69

Compare RatesStart Now →

Geico, State Farm, and Travelers insurance tend to come in lower than the national average and remain appropriate alternatives to motorists to whom this concerns.

It’s important to remember Farmers also offers accident forgiveness if you have elected to receive this perk, but ultimately price comparison shopping could still yield more consumer savings.

Farmers Auto Insurance Rates After a DUI

Because insurance providers take DUI offenses seriously, you can anticipate higher auto insurance rates.

A 45-year-old with a DUI can expect to pay around $193/month, nearly $55 more than they would with a clean driving record.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates with One DUI
CompanyAverage Monthly Rates with Clean RecordAverage Monthly Rates with 1 DUI
Allstate$318.33$521.73
American Family$224.47$360.85
Farmers$288.38$393.23
Geico$178.83$406.32
Liberty Mutual$397.86$634.46
Nationwide$228.85$378.60
Progressive$282.76$330.80
State Farm$235.10$303.07
Travelers$287.31$478.45
USAA$161.14$292.17

Compare RatesStart Now →

Farmers Insurance with a DUI is cheaper than Nationwide, Liberty Mutual, or Allstate. However, as an alternative, State Farm and Progressive offer more affordable auto insurance for high-risk drivers.

Farmers Auto Insurance Rates for Poor Credit

The cost of auto insurance can be affected by your credit score. Drivers with bad credit are subject to higher rates because insurance companies consider them more likely to make a claim or forget to pay their premiums.

Check out the table below to see how much drivers with poor credit pay for a full coverage car insurance policy:

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by Credit Rating
Insurance CompanyRates with Poor CreditRates with Fair CreditRates with Good Credit
Allstate$295.92$196.83$166.08
American Family$202.67$136.25$115.50
Farmers$269.42$160.50$139.50
Geico$148.42$99.75$82
Liberty Mutual$354.67$226$176.67
Nationwide$165.67$132.92$120.42
Progressive$205.92$137.92$109.17
State Farm$199.83$117.58$90.92
Travelers$193.58$127.83$107.25
USAA$128.75$75.83$62.75
Average$226.25$148.42$123.08

Compare RatesStart Now →

Conversely, Farmers offers discounts to drivers who make 12 monthly payments on time as an incentive.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Farmers Insurance Group Discounts Available

DiscountFarmers
Anti Theft8%
Good Student12%
Low Mileage10%
Paperless5%
Safe Driver15%
Senior Driver7%

Compare RatesStart Now →

Though you’re paying some of the highest monthly rates with Farmers, the company offers various discounts to give policyholders more opportunities to save on auto insurance coverage.

Depending on your location, Farmers drivers could enjoy the following car insurance discounts:

  • Safe driver. Farmers will reward drivers for avoiding citations and tickets.
  • Multipolicy. Bundle your home or renters with your auto insurance policy to earn a discount.
  • Multivehicle. Add multiple vehicles to your auto policy and save.
  • Alternative fuel and EV. Electric vehicles receive additional discounts
  • Paid in full. Pay ahead of time and receive a small discount.
  • Automatic electronic payments and paperless statements. Paying bills online and managing annual statements through email or a mobile app will save you money.
  • Safe senior. Drivers over 55 can complete an AARP online course and receive a discount.
  • Good student. Young drivers under 25 with good grades enrolled full-time in high school or college may be eligible for a discount.
  • Usage-based insurance. “Signal,” Farmers own telematics tracking program, monitors your driving through an app to track mileage and safe driving habits, rewarding good drivers with a 5%-15% discount when the policy is up for renewal.
  • Married driver. Married individuals may receive up to 3% in additional discounts
  • Occupation-based. Front line and first responders, military, medical, police, firefighters, teachers, and educators can receive this discount

Discount eligibility is based on some variables, including your policy, car, and personal traits.

To find out what discounts you qualify for, speak with a Farmers Insurance salesperson. Some discounts might not be offered in all states, so make sure to ask in advance before you e-sign on the dotted line.

Does Farmers offer any perks to its policyholders?

Farmers offers perks for their policyholders, but you should read the fine print on their website and your auto insurance policy. Explicit exclusions apply to drivers in certain states with certain types of policies, and some perks are only available at an additional cost.

So, in other words, “perks” are just additional coverages you opt into and pay for.

What more can I do to save on my Farmers auto insurance rates?

Even though Farmers currently offers rates that are higher than the industry average, there are several ways policyholders can obtain further discounts to positively affect their bottom line:

  • Increase the deductible. Your deductible is the sum you must pay out of pocket before insurance coverage begins. If you can afford it, increasing deductibles to $500 or $1,000 will lower your monthly rates.
  • Drive a cheaper car. If you want to save money on your Farmers auto insurance, consider buying a low-value or easily repairable vehicle. Insurers typically charge less for these types of cars.
  • Practice safe driving habits. Farmers will reward you with lower rates if you don’t get into accidents, speed, or file any insurance claims.
  • Eliminate unnecessary coverages. You may decide to carry liability insurance only if your older vehicle has lost value and you no longer need collision and comprehensive coverage. Generally, if your annual rates are higher than the potential payout, it’s best to forgo full coverage.
  • Shop around. You don’t owe anything to Farmers Insurance just because your dad and grandfather had Farmers. Shopping around always increases your possibility of savings.

It’s a good idea to list all the discounts major auto insurance providers offer, then use that information to bargain when you speak to an agent over the phone.

Don’t decide then and there, but let the agent know you’re shopping around. This will also motivate them to move in as fast as possible and offer you a great deal, as you could be a customer for life.

How Farmers Insurance Group Ranks Among Providers

Farmers Auto Insurance operates in a competitive landscape alongside several prominent companies in the insurance industry. These competitors offer various coverage options, discounts, and services, vying for customers’ attention in the market.

Main Competitors of Farmers Auto Insurance:

  • Geico: Geico stands as one of the largest and most well-known auto insurance companies in the United States. Renowned for its catchy advertising campaigns and competitive rates, Geico provides a wide range of coverage options and discounts for policyholders.
  • State Farm: Another major player in the insurance industry, State Farm, offers extensive auto insurance coverage along with a vast network of agents. It’s known for its personalized service, diverse coverage choices, and strong customer relationships.
  • Progressive: Progressive has made a mark with its innovative approach to insurance, offering unique services like usage-based insurance and a robust online platform for policy management. They emphasize technology-driven solutions and competitive pricing.
  • Allstate: With a comprehensive range of insurance products, Allstate competes by providing various coverage options and personalized policies. It’s known for its focus on customer service and diverse discount offerings.
  • USAA: Catering primarily to military members and their families, USAA is recognized for its exceptional customer service, financial stability, and various discounts tailored for military personnel.

Farmers Auto Insurance operates in a competitive environment where several key players offer diverse coverage options, discounts, and services. Geico, State Farm, Progressive, Allstate, and USAA stand among the main competitors, each having its own strengths and strategies in the market. Customers have the opportunity to compare these companies to find the best fit for their insurance needs.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Farmers Auto Insurance Claims Process

Ease of Filing a Claim

Farmers Auto Insurance offers multiple avenues for filing claims, including online, over the phone, and through mobile apps. Policyholders have the flexibility to choose the most convenient method based on their preferences.

Average Claim Processing Time

The average claim processing time with Farmers Auto Insurance varies depending on the nature and complexity of the claim. However, Farmers strives to expedite the process to ensure timely resolution for its customers.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and Payouts

Customer feedback on claim resolutions and payouts with Farmers Auto Insurance has generally been positive. The company ranks above the national average in customer satisfaction related to claim handling, as indicated by the J.D. Power 2022 U.S. Auto Claims Insurance Study.

Farmers Auto Insurance Digital Features

Mobile App Features and Functionality

Farmers provides a highly-rated mobile app available on both the App Store and Google Play Store. The app offers various functionalities, including bill payments, roadside assistance requests, ID card access, and claim filing.

Online Account Management Capabilities

Policyholders can efficiently manage their accounts online through the Farmers website. This platform allows customers to access policy details, make changes, and view important documents conveniently.

Digital Tools and Resources

Farmers Auto Insurance offers an array of digital tools and resources to enhance the customer experience. These resources include educational materials, tools for estimating coverage needs, and assistance in exploring available discounts.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the average monthly cost of a Farmers Insurance full coverage policy for a 45-year-old?

The average monthly quote for a Farmers Insurance full coverage policy for a 45-year-old is $139.

How does Farmers Auto Insurance compare to other insurance companies in terms of rates and discounts?

Farmers Auto Insurance tends to be more expensive, particularly for young adult drivers and teens. While it offers multiple discounts, rates are generally in the upper 25% of the most expensive insurance companies.

What types of insurance coverage does Farmers offer, besides auto insurance?

In addition to auto insurance, Farmers provides various other insurance products, including home, life, renters, and umbrella insurance, among others.

Does Farmers have a mobile app, and what features does it offer?

Yes, Farmers has a highly-rated mobile app available on both the App Store and Google Play Store. The app allows users to pay their insurance bill, request roadside assistance, obtain an ID card, and file a claim, among other functionalities.

How does Farmers Auto Insurance rate among other providers regarding claims processing, digital features, and customer satisfaction?

Farmers Auto Insurance generally ranks above the national average in customer satisfaction related to claim handling. It offers a user-friendly mobile app and online account management capabilities, along with various digital tools and resources to enhance the customer experience.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Sara Routhier

Sr. Director of Content

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Sr. Director of Content

Eric Stauffer

Licensed Insurance Agent

Eric Stauffer is an insurance agent and banker-turned-consumer advocate. His priority is educating individuals and families about the different types of insurance coverage. He is passionate about helping consumers find the best coverage for their budgets and personal needs. Eric is the CEO of C Street Media, a full-service marketing firm and the co-founder of ProperCents.com, a financial educat...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Farmers Insurance Group

3.99 (2,903 reviews)
1
February 15, 2024

Traci26

Unhappy after buy out

They took over/bought out Met Life which had my policy prior, I'd signed up for the Met Life policy because of the discount offered because of my work. I was happy with Met Life and since it switched to Farmers it's been a pain to deal with them, especially on the billing side of things. The thing that made me switch is that when I tried to make a payment the website (which was always horrible and difficult to navigate) was working so I couldn't ...
They took over/bought out Met Life which had my policy prior, I'd signed up for the Met Life policy because of the discount offered because of my work. I was happy with Met Life and since it switched to Farmers it's been a pain to deal with them, especially on the billing side of things. The thing that made me switch is that when I tried to make a payment the website (which was always horrible and difficult to navigate) was working so I couldn't make a payment. I planned to check it the next day and make a payment but I got busy and it slipped my mind, they sent a policy cancellation notice, but I didn't get it in the mail until after the cancellation date. When I called customer service the person was rude and unhelpful so I decided to use it as an excuse to change.
5
June 28, 2023

Buckeye_in_FL

2 Claims/2 Repairs & no hassles

We've had auto insurance with FIG for nearly 2 years and have had 2 claims during that period, one on each of our vehicles. Our daughter was using the SUV to attend graduate school in another state when another student clipped the left rear cover and quarter. Her insurance company failed to deal directly with our daughter and consequently, we were inundated with calls and mailings. We reported the claim to FIG and they contacted our daughter, set...
We've had auto insurance with FIG for nearly 2 years and have had 2 claims during that period, one on each of our vehicles. Our daughter was using the SUV to attend graduate school in another state when another student clipped the left rear cover and quarter. Her insurance company failed to deal directly with our daughter and consequently, we were inundated with calls and mailings. We reported the claim to FIG and they contacted our daughter, set up a DRP & rental for her. They took care of everything including subrogation. They did the same for our second vehicle when a truck shredded a tire in front of us, damaging the front cover. Dropped at the DRP and 3 days later we had it back, good as new. Thank you Farmers & The Harrod Agency for taking care of us.
1
May 19, 2021

Mickey_L

Farmers agent poor customer service

Despite my belief that I had a “local guy” I found that Farmers insurance agents have little interest in responding to current customers. I presume they are busy on sales calls. Despite the fact that I was a Farmers customer for 30+ years, I was unable to get my agent to return my calls on MULTIPLE occasions. When I ultimately gave up and cancelled my policy, it took three different forms of communication to get that done and only AFTER Farme...
Despite my belief that I had a “local guy” I found that Farmers insurance agents have little interest in responding to current customers. I presume they are busy on sales calls. Despite the fact that I was a Farmers customer for 30+ years, I was unable to get my agent to return my calls on MULTIPLE occasions. When I ultimately gave up and cancelled my policy, it took three different forms of communication to get that done and only AFTER Farmers advised they would be auto-charging my credit card for a policy cancelled 6 weeks prior. Stay away. You’re not getting anything ‘extra’ from having a local agent. You’re only being charged more.
4
January 16, 2021

slou117

Decent insurance coverage

They covered damage repairs to my car fairly easily although my rates increased significantly. Also, there were some issue with the rep handling my case not being responsive, but the issue was escalated and the person who stepped in was very helpful.
4
January 12, 2021

Mamasanders

Farmers Insurance - Consistently Reliable

I have had a very positive experience with Farmers for both my home and auto insurance. I can always reach my agent, and when I had a concern about an auto claim, I dialed an 800 number and they were incredibly nice and helpful.
4
January 8, 2021

emmahenry

Best Insurance company ever

I like this insurance company. I gathered a good experience from this company. Thanks for being with us.
1
January 5, 2021

treppers

Worst insurance company i've ever dealt with in my life!

I was involved in a wreck that caused significant damage to the side and front of my vehicle. I was not at fault, I was hit on the side traveling on the freeway. I was going straight and not making any changes in my direction. The other driver lost control and smacked into me, causing me to completely spin 4 times. There was damage caused to the front of the vehicle by road debri. When trying to get the front of the vehicle fixed, the adjuster ca...
I was involved in a wreck that caused significant damage to the side and front of my vehicle. I was not at fault, I was hit on the side traveling on the freeway. I was going straight and not making any changes in my direction. The other driver lost control and smacked into me, causing me to completely spin 4 times. There was damage caused to the front of the vehicle by road debri. When trying to get the front of the vehicle fixed, the adjuster called me a liar and said the damage was pre-existing. This is the worst company I have ever dealt with and I will never go back.
5
December 9, 2020

Tywko

Best insurance company

Great company and great people are working there. I think no one can beat their service and price now.
5
December 1, 2020

samw2

the best

A great company and the speed of the response of its customers is wonderful when the accident occurs. I thank them for their great work and the reliability of their wonderful service.
4
November 26, 2020

E92ghost

Farmers, all in one

The company is a well renowned company which has built its way up to where it is now the prices are a bit high but it’s worth it
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption