Geico Motorcycle Insurance Review [2024]

How much is Geico motorcycle insurance? The average monthly rate is $42, which can go even lower thanks to half-dozen custom discounts ranging from 5% to 20%. Our Geico motorcycle insurance review details the discounts and also answers the question, 'What does Geico motorcycle insurance cover?"

UPDATED: Feb 19, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 19, 2024Fact Checked

Sara Routhier

Sr. Director of Content

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Sr. Director of Content

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Feb 19, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Feb 19, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 19, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 19, 2024Fact Checked
4.1
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Geico Motorcycle Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$42

A.M. Best rating:

A++

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Rates are typically below the national average
  • Extensive coverage options
  • Several unique motorcycle insurance discounts

Cons

  • Minor issues with billing
  • Minor issues with communication

Final Verdict: Review of Geico Motorcycle Insurance

Geico insurance stands out as a top choice for motorcycle riders seeking comprehensive coverage and reliable service. With a long-standing history of excellence dating back to 1936, Geico’s A++ rating from A.M. Best reflects its financial stability and commitment to customer satisfaction. 

Offering a range of coverage options tailored to meet riders’ needs, Geico provides competitive rates and extensive discounts, making motorcycle insurance affordable and accessible. 

While some customers have reported minor issues with billing and communication, Geico’s low complaint level and positive customer reviews highlight its overall reliability and value in the insurance market.

What You Should Know About geico

Company Contact Information:

Related Parent or Child Companies:

  • Geico is a subsidiary of Berkshire Hathaway Inc.

Financial Ratings:

  • A++ rating from A.M. Best

Customer Service Ratings:

  • Overall positive customer reviews highlighting excellent customer service

Claims Information:

  • Claims can be filed online, through the Geico mobile app, or by calling their claims hotline at 1-800-861-8380.

Company Apps:

  • Geico offers a mobile app for policy management, claims filing, and other insurance-related tasks. The app is available for download on both iOS and Android devices.

geico Insurance Coverage Options

Why do you need a separate motorcycle policy?

Motorcycles require a separate insurance policy because insurance companies consider them a higher risk than cars. In 2019 alone, there were 5,014 fatalities involving motorcycle accidents, which equals 58.33 deaths per 100,000 registered motorcycles.

Compare that to 12.06 deaths per 100,000 registered cars. So you can understand why insurance companies look at motorcycle drivers as more likely to file a claim.

Aside from the risks, having a policy on your motorcycle can help protect your bike from whatever comes your way.

Geico provides a range of coverage options tailored to meet the needs of motorcycle riders. These coverage options include:

  • Liability coverage: Protects against bodily injury and property damage liability in the event of an accident where the insured is at fault.
  • Collision coverage: Covers damage to the insured motorcycle resulting from a collision with another vehicle or object.
  • Comprehensive coverage: Offers protection against non-collision incidents such as theft, vandalism, fire, or natural disasters.
  • Medical payments coverage: Covers medical expenses for injuries sustained by the insured rider and passengers in an accident.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage: Provides coverage if the at-fault party in an accident does not have insurance or has insufficient coverage to pay for damages.

These coverage options offer comprehensive protection for motorcycle riders, ensuring they are financially protected in various scenarios on the road.

Read more: Does car insurance cover motorcycles?

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

geico Insurance Rates Breakdown

How much should you expect to pay for Geico motorcycle insurance?

Motorcycle insurance coverage works pretty much the same way auto insurance works. Just like car insurance, most states have a minimum requirement for motorcycle insurance.

The minimum amount of liability insurance you need covers damage you cause in an accident where you’re at fault. Of course, some drivers purchase higher liability limits to cover more serious accidents. On top of the minimum requirements for insurance, you can purchase other coverage as well.

Geico Motorcycle Insurance Monthly Rates
CoverageRates
Liability$78
Liability and Underinsured$183
Minimum + Collision$487
Minimum + Comprehensive$571

With all these options, Geico can provide the coverage you need to drive your motorcycle safely.

How much are Geico motorcycle rates?

The exact price of your insurance will depend on various factors, just like car insurance does. To get an idea of what Geico insurance quotes will look like for you, keep the following factors in mind.

  • Gender: Statistically, men are involved in more accidents than women, which is why insurance companies partially base your rate on your gender.
  • Age: Teens, young adults, and seniors are more likely to file a claim.
  • Credit score: While it doesn’t affect your chances of filing a claim, insurance companies see a low credit score as less likely to pay the monthly bill on time.
  • Car make, model, and year: Insurance companies live and die on numbers – they have detailed information on how likely you are to make a claim based on your vehicle, down to the color of your ride.
  • Driving record: Having even a single speeding ticket will negatively affect your rates. See our article How much does motorcycle insurance increase with a speeding ticket? If you have something serious like a DUI, you might not even be eligible for coverage at all.
  • Location: Just like your car, insurance companies have detailed stats on the area you live in. If there are a lot of claims in your area, your rates will go up.
  • Annual mileage. The more miles you drive, the more likely you are to file a claim.
  • Marital status. For some reason, married couples are less likely to file a claim than their single counterparts.

Keeping these factors in mind, how much will Geico motorcycle quotes be?

Obviously, the more coverage you need, the more it will cost. So if you’re interested in Geico quotes, you should either speak with an agent or start an online request. Also, just as you would find and compare auto insurance quotes, you can use the same methods to find and compare motorcycle insurance quotes.

Is Geico motorcycle insurance more expensive than other companies?

As far as prices go, Geico is typically a little below the national average when you compare them state by state.

Geico Full Coverage Auto Insurance Monthly Rates by State
StateRates
Alaska$76
Alabama$89
Arkansas$91
Arizona$65
California$101
Colorado$94
Connecticut$62
District of Columbia$69
Delaware$101
Florida$89
Georgia$61
Hawaii$60
Iowa$81
Idaho$57
Illinois$47
Indiana$63
Kansas$75
Kentucky$80
Louisiana$141
Massachusetts$72
Maryland$135
Maine$37
Michigan$99
Minnesota$90
Missouri$90
Mississippi$72
Montana$82
North Carolina$69
North Dakota$61
Nebraska$92
New Hampshire$50
New Jersey$74
New Mexico$90
Nevada$110
New York$78
Ohio$59
Oklahoma$109
Oregon$93
Pennsylvania$68
Rhode Island$125
South Carolina$79
South Dakota$57
Tennessee$78
Texas$105
Utah$73
Virginia$69
Vermont$38
Washington$75
Wisconsin$62
West Virginia$83
Wyoming$111

As an example of Geico’s lower rates, consider a driver from Arizona. The average price of full coverage for a motorcycle in that state is $156, but Geico averages about $70.

Read more: Cheapest Auto Insurance for Motorcycles

geico Discounts Available

You can shave money off your Geico motorcycle insurance quote with several unique discounts:

Up to 10% discount availability:

  • Transfering your motorcycle insurance to Geico
  • Insuring more than one motorcycle
  • Being a mature rider
  • Renewing your motorcycle insurance with Geico
  • Completing a Motorcycle Safety Foundation or Military Safety Course

Additional discounts:

  • Up to 20% discount if you are a current Motorcycle Safety Foundation instructor
  • Up to 5% discount on your motorcycle policy if you also insure your car with Geico. Learn more about bundling in our article on home and auto insurance bundles.

How geico Ranks Among Providers

Geico insurance operates in a highly competitive insurance market, particularly in the motorcycle insurance segment. Some of the main competitors of Geico in the motorcycle insurance industry include:

  • Allstate: Allstate is known for its comprehensive insurance offerings, including motorcycle insurance. They offer customizable coverage options and various discounts, aiming to attract motorcycle riders seeking reliable coverage and customer service.
  • Nationwide: Nationwide offers motorcycle insurance coverage with a focus on customizable options and competitive rates. They provide coverage for various types of motorcycles and offer discounts for safe riders and policy bundling, posing as a strong competitor to Geico. See our Nationwide motorcycle insurance review.
  • Progressive: Progressive is one of the largest motorcycle insurance providers in the United States, known for its wide range of coverage options and competitive rates. They offer similar coverage options to Geico, including liability, collision, comprehensive, and medical payments coverage.
  • State Farm: State Farm is another major player in the insurance industry, offering motorcycle insurance coverage across the country. They provide various coverage options and discounts tailored to motorcycle riders, competing with Geico in terms of coverage breadth and customer service.

These competitors challenge Geico by offering similar coverage options, competitive rates, and attractive discounts, driving the need for Geico to continuously innovate and provide value to its customers to maintain its competitive edge in the motorcycle insurance market.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the reputation of Geico motorcycle insurance?

Geico has a strong reputation in the insurance industry and is well-regarded by customers. They have an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau and an A++ financial strength rating from A.M. Best. Geico consistently ranks highly in customer satisfaction surveys, such as J.D. Power’s Auto Insurance Satisfaction survey.

However, it’s essential to review and compare customer reviews and ratings from multiple sources to make an informed decision about Geico motorcycle insurance.

How much should you expect to pay for Geico motorcycle insurance?

The cost of Geico motorcycle insurance varies depending on several factors, including your location, driving history, the type of motorcycle you own, and the coverage options you choose. To get an accurate estimate of the cost, it’s best to request a quote from Geico or use their online quote tool.

Why do you need a separate motorcycle policy?

Motorcycles require a separate insurance policy because they are considered a higher risk than cars. Insurance companies view motorcycle drivers as more likely to be involved in accidents and file claims. Having a dedicated motorcycle policy helps protect your bike and provides coverage specifically tailored to motorcycles.

Is Geico motorcycle insurance more expensive than other companies?

Geico generally offers competitive rates for motorcycle insurance, often below the national average. However, insurance rates can vary depending on your location and individual circumstances. It’s always a good idea to compare quotes from multiple insurance companies to find the best rate and coverage for your specific needs.

What are some ways to lower the Geico insurance motorcycle price?

There are several ways to lower your motorcycle insurance cost:

  • Avoid motorcycles with modified engines
  • Combine policies
  • Complete a motorcycle safety course
  • Customize your coverages to your bike and situation
  • Increase your deductible
  • Keep your policy current
  • Maximize all available discounts

Who has the best motorcycle insurance?

While Progressive is considered the best overall for motorcycle insurance, Geico is considered the best for daily commuters, Foremost for motorcycle collectors, and Safeco for custom bike owners.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Sara Routhier

Sr. Director of Content

Sara Routhier, Managing Editor and Outreach Director, has professional experience as an educator, SEO specialist, and content marketer. She has over five years of experience in the insurance industry. As a researcher, data nerd, writer, and editor she strives to curate educational, enlightening articles that provide you with the must-know facts and best-kept secrets within the overwhelming world o...

Sr. Director of Content

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for geico

4.11 (19,116 reviews)
0.5
October 31, 2023

Tomer Ravid

GEICO review

GEICO is unpredictable and arbitrary. You\'d need insurance for this insurance, since GEICO is unable or unwilling to provide the most important function of insurance: certainty. They cancelled my new auto insurance for no reason other than their own incompetence. Long story short: I paid the policy in full. While on a vacation with my family, I opened GEICO app and was surprised to find that my policy is scheduled to be cancelled. When I cam...
GEICO is unpredictable and arbitrary. You\'d need insurance for this insurance, since GEICO is unable or unwilling to provide the most important function of insurance: certainty. They cancelled my new auto insurance for no reason other than their own incompetence. Long story short: I paid the policy in full. While on a vacation with my family, I opened GEICO app and was surprised to find that my policy is scheduled to be cancelled. When I came back home I found a letter saying that I have eight days from the 5th of October to send them documents (only accepted by postal mail, even though every document was a copy) or my insurance would be cancelled. In fact the letter was delivered *about 8 days after the 5th of October* (again, delivered while I was not home). At no earlier point had I been informed that these documents were required, and GEICO made no attempt to contact me by phone call, text message or Email. In fact, had I not checked the app and stayed on vacation for longer, I might have ended up driving without insurance unwittingly. I called GEICO multiple times. They consistently assured me that if I sent the correct documents before the fast-approaching cancellation date, my policy would continue. So I sent all the documents they requested by priority mail. In spite of the supposed urgency they were attempting to convey, it took them six days after receiving the documents to start reviewing them (with no way to contact the underwriting department or confirm that they had recieved them). It took five more days for the final review because of their own confusion about what was clearly included in the documents I\'d sent them. Two days before the deadline, I find out by calling them (without any notification on their part) that, in fact, my policy will be cancelled. The reason is that I had no prior insurance, which they claimed was contrary to my statements. This is 100% false and can be refuted by recorded calls to customer service in which I stated that GEICO was my first insurance, and by the fact that they don\'t have the name of my previous insurance company and the coverage limits (required information when you register online if you state that you\'ve been insured). GEICO had zero interest in checking the evidence or compensating me, and there was no way to appeal. Price I have to pay for GEICO\'s incompetence: Having to find new insurance in two days (which was hard in the first place since I have no driving record in the US), possibly higher rates because of the cancellation on my record. If it happened to me, it must have happened to thousands of other customers in the country, as confirmed by a large fraction of GEICO\'S customer reviews online. So the chance that it will happen to you is non-negligible.
1
January 3, 2022

Volodymyr_Korolevych

Adjuster stopped responding

Cant get ahold of anyone. Always different people giving me different numbers. No resolution Mr [REDACTED NAME], claim adjuster stopped responding to my requests without any resolution. Also not picking up my phone
1
May 17, 2021

Sergei_K

Can't get rid of them

From my personal experience, GEICO is the best place if you want to be fooled. Once you open the door, you can't get rid of them. About a year ago I canceled my policy ceasing any dealings with Geico. I paid the premiums in full and closed my account. Throughout the year, I've been a happy StateFarm customer. Several weeks ago, Geico unilaterally opened my policy forcing me to pay premiums for the following 6 months. Understanding that it could b...
From my personal experience, GEICO is the best place if you want to be fooled. Once you open the door, you can't get rid of them. About a year ago I canceled my policy ceasing any dealings with Geico. I paid the premiums in full and closed my account. Throughout the year, I've been a happy StateFarm customer. Several weeks ago, Geico unilaterally opened my policy forcing me to pay premiums for the following 6 months. Understanding that it could be a mistake, I contacted them 3 times. I talked to 6 different people. All of them promised to help me. I wrote 2 emails attaching copies of my StateFarm Id's for the entire period (after Geico policy cancellation). It didn't cure the problem. Moreover, Geico retroactively and unilaterally (without my desire, knowledge, and consent) reopened the policy. Now, they force me to pay for the previous months (last year). Geico supervisor [REDACTED NAME] claims that he obtains sufficient evidence that I hadn't been insured after I officially broke with Geico in April-May 2020 = the company is right demanding me to pay for nothing. From my non-legal understanding, it's a fraud, He knowingly (I sent them StateFarm Id's for the entire period) mispresents the facts unlawfully demanding payment.
1
February 10, 2021

vscore16

BAIT AND SWITCH

They waited 60 days and then doubled my rate. they never notified me. When I looked it up they said it was due to the agent putting it in as a sports bus, and since I am using it for sales my rate is double. yes on their letter they sent me it shows right on it that the old use is class "C" and the new use is class "C". The reviews on geicos website are fake. real reviews are much more negative. They lie in their commercials about saving money s...
They waited 60 days and then doubled my rate. they never notified me. When I looked it up they said it was due to the agent putting it in as a sports bus, and since I am using it for sales my rate is double. yes on their letter they sent me it shows right on it that the old use is class "C" and the new use is class "C". The reviews on geicos website are fake. real reviews are much more negative. They lie in their commercials about saving money so why would I not expect them to lie about the rate they are giving me. I am no risk adjuster but any halfway intelligent person knows their is a lot more risk for a bus full of athletes that ways 20,000 pounds than a minivan with one person in it. Yet according to geico insuring a moving tank is cheaper than insuring a minivan. Would you believe that? I am not that gullible. Bait and switch all the way.
5
February 3, 2021

Trinidad2_

geico is the best

great company with fantastic customer service they lowered my cost due to covid with no issues and they are always a phoen call away fo r help wiht my policy, i wholeheartedly reccomend them
2
February 3, 2021

Jotwox

Not recommend

They were alright not the best. If they put in more effort into the customers they could’ve kept me.
5
February 2, 2021

Waycross43_

Helpful

Geico has been great during the pandemic. They have worked with me changing billing dates based on what I need. They have helped me save 212 dollars a month on insurance.
5
February 1, 2021

Babanana

Geico is amazing

My experience receiving auto insurance from Geico has been extremely positive. The insurance process was perfectly smooth and I have all my insurance information neatly organized at the tip of my fingers on my mobile phone. The coverage and premiums are much better than I received from my previous provider.
2
February 1, 2021

Justin_Kim

Filing a claim at geico

They were very nice and had good customer service. Once I even filed a claim and they got back to me within seventy-four hours.
5
January 28, 2021

Dingo

Insurance You Can Understand

The representative borke down all information in an easy-to-understand manner and then made very easy the process of initiating the policies. I am also very happy with the ease of managing online and on the app.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption