Kemper Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Explore the dynamic landscape of Kemper Auto Insurance, delving into its coverage options, customer reviews, and unique features that set it apart in the competitive insurance market.

UPDATED: Jan 17, 2024Fact Checked

Travis Thompson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Travis Thompson has been a licensed insurance agent for nearly five years. After obtaining his life and health insurance licenses, he began working for Symmetry Financial Group as a State Licensed Field Underwriter. In this position, he learned the coverage options and limits surrounding mortgage protection. He advised clients on the coverage needed to protect them in the event of a death, critica...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jimmy McMillan

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jimmy McMillan is an entrepreneur and the founder of HeartLifeInsurance.com, an independent life insurance brokerage. His company specializes in life insurance for people with heart problems. He knows personally how difficult it is to secure health and life insurance after a heart attack. Jimmy is a licensed insurance agent from coast to coast who has been featured on ValientCEO and the podcast...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Jan 17, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 17, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 17, 2024Fact Checked
2.8
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Kemper

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$125

A.M. Best rating:

A-

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Sign-up process is relatively easy, and agents explain coverages well
  • Offers nonstandard auto insurance, including SR-22 and “salvage title” vehicle insurance
  • Competitive pricing among many high-risk driver demographics
  • One of the top-rated auto insurance companies for drivers with speeding tickets
  • Can be good for families
  • Can consolidate your home, life, business, and auto insurance for a bundling discount

Cons

  • Customers report that Kemper auto insurance rates go up without being notified, and many see surprise charges
  • Inability to view average rates online, which makes comparison shopping (a consumer’s most useful tool) difficult
  • Lack of available discounts
  • Little to no reward for customer loyalty
  • Difficulty getting paid for a no-fault claim and slow processing times
  • Kemper Auto insurance reviews suggest poor customer service
  • Seniors and single adults may not be able to save as much money with Kemper when compared to other car insurance companies

Final Verdict: Review of Kemper

Kemper auto insurance is a wild card in the auto insurance game. Its rates are higher than average, but high-risk drivers with accidents or DUIs can find very affordable rates. Kemper car insurance prices are often competitive across high-risk demographics, but there’s only one way to know for sure if you’d save money — shop around and compare.

Start today with free car insurance quotes from local companies. Enter your ZIP code below to discover the best prices for your new auto insurance policy.

Kemper auto insurance is a wild card in the auto insurance game. Its rates are higher than average, but high-risk drivers with accidents or DUIs can find very affordable rates. Kemper car insurance prices are often competitive across high-risk demographics, but there’s only one way to know for sure if you’d save money — shop around and compare.

What You Should Know About Kemper Corporation

Kemper insurance has more or less been around in some form for over 100 years. It has strong financial ratings, which means it can pay claims even in economic downturns, and offers high-risk drivers specialized insurance, which may be good for you, depending on your situation.

However, Kemper auto insurance rates are higher than average because it specializes in high-risk policies.

Further, part of Kemper’s nonstandard policy issuance appeal is based on serving foreign drivers in the U.S. with international driver’s licenses and Matricula Consular. This may adversely increase overall community risk, which leads to higher rates for all Kemper insurance customers.

The company’s customer service is also lacking, with a high number of complaints reported by the NAIC. Kemper also recently settled a  $17.6 million lawsuit for a customer data breach after being sued for failing to secure and protect their customers’ Social Security numbers, driver’s license information, and medical history.

Kemper Auto Insurance Company Information

Kemper is one of the 15 biggest auto insurance companies by market share in the United States, with assets totaling over $13 billion, and appeared on Fortune Magazine’s list of the 100 Fastest-Growing Companies for 2020.

Kemper Corporation is a publicly traded company on the New York Stock Exchange (symbol: KMPR) based in Chicago at 200 East Randolph Street, Ste. 3300, Chicago, IL, 60601. (For more information, read our “Kemper Corporation Insurance Review“).

The Kemper Insurance customer service number is (800) 782-1020. To file a Kemper insurance claim, call (866) 536-7376.

With approximately 33,500 agents and roughly 10,000 employees committed to addressing the shifting needs of its clients, Kemper offers low-cost, user-friendly, customized solutions to individuals, families, and businesses.

Kemper Corporation Insurance Coverage Options

As one of the top 50 largest insurers in the U.S., Kemper provides all of the standard auto insurance coverages that the competition does, including the legally required minimums:

  • Bodily and property injury liability. Costs for injuries, fatalities, or property damage brought on by your negligence are known as bodily and property injury liability.  It is typically a minimum requirement to be able to drive legally.
  • Comprehensive auto insurance coverage. Pays for damage to your vehicle from natural causes like a tree limb falling on it, running into wildlife on the highway, or damage from serious weather events and fire.
  • Collision auto insurance coverage. Pays for damages to your vehicle when you cause an accident.
  • Uninsured motorist/underinsured motorist (UM/UIM). Depending on your state’s requirements, UM/UIM pays for medical bills and property damage after a collision with a driver who has little or no insurance.
  • Personal injury protection (PIP)/Medical Payments (MedPay). Also known as “no-fault” insurance, PIP and MedPay cover the cost of prescription drugs, X-rays, surgery, hospital stays, and other medical costs. PIP will cover lost wages due to missing work during recovery from an accident and other household costs, while MedPay does not.

If your vehicle is too expensive to replace or would be difficult to do so with just your savings, full coverage (liability plus comprehensive and collision) is typically a good idea. The legal minimum required in most states is liability auto insurance.

To put things in perspective, liability-only coverage costs about one-third as much as full coverage auto insurance. However, if you cause the collision, your damages are not covered. Otherwise, you will be responsible for paying for your own repairs and medical bills.

Additionally, signing up for only the minimum coverages may leave you financially responsible if the other driver’s damages and medical bills are outstanding, so you should consider your coverage limits when opening any auto insurance policy. The minimum may not be enough during times of inflation.

Kemper offers the standard coverage options, including full coverage, as part of its Kemper Preferred plan. Kemper Preferred also provides numerous noteworthy coverage options.

Kemper Auto Insurance Add-Ons

To supplement your policy, Kemper also offers additional auto insurance packages:

  • Kemper Total. Designed for new car owners, with new car replacement coverage that replaces your vehicle if it’s stolen or totaled in an accident. Must insure a new vehicle to qualify for Kemper Total.
  • Kemper Prime Auto Enhanced. If you want to upgrade your protection, Kemper Prime combines standard insurance with more robust coverage, like accident forgiveness and disappearing deductibles for remaining claim-free. Not available in North Carolina.
  • Free membership with DriverClub. You’re automatically eligible for free 24-hour roadside assistance from DriverClub with a Kemper car insurance policy.

Along with exclusive insurance packages, Kemper also offers these policy add-ons:

  • Protection for parked cars. If your car is hit by another vehicle while parked and unoccupied, this optional coverage will waive your collision deductible.
  • Gap insurance. If your vehicle is stolen or totaled in an accident, gap insurance, also known as loan/lease coverage, will pay the difference between the value of your vehicle and the balance owed on your loan or lease.
  • Umbrella insurance. Kemper personal umbrella liability insurance will pay the difference between your auto policy and the settlement amount awarded by the court if you are found to be the cause of an accident. Coverage starts at $1 million.
  • Enhanced protection. Get a variety of optional but useful coverages rolled into one package, including trip interruption insurance, key replacement, personal property protection, diminishing deductibles, and a deductible waiver.

Adding coverages like those above will raise your monthly rates, but you’ll have peace of mind knowing your vehicle is well-protected.

How much is Kemper minimum auto insurance?

Liability-only provides the minimum amount of insurance you need to drive legally. Each state has a different minimum coverage requirement, but you can choose to carry higher limits. Kemper offers liability-only insurance at fairly competitive rates. See the table below for an idea of how much minimum auto insurance coverage might run you.

Average Monthly Minimum Coverage Rates for the Top Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Minimum
Coverage Rates
Allstate$50
American Family$48
Farmers$56
Geico$24
Liberty Mutual$64
Nationwide$49
Progressive$40
State Farm$34
Travelers$39
Average$45

Kemper’s average minimum coverage rates are about par with the national average, coming in at $47 monthly for 45-year-old drivers.

How much is Kemper full coverage auto insurance?

A full coverage policy that includes liability, collision, and comprehensive coverages offers the best protection for you and your vehicle overall. It’s more expensive than minimum coverage, but it provides more security. Here’s how much full-coverage auto insurance can cost:

Average Monthly Full Coverage Rates for the Top 10 Auto Insurance Companies
Insurance CompanyAverage Full Coverage Rates
Allstate$166
American Family$116
Farmers$140
Geico$82
Liberty Mutual$177
Nationwide$120
Progressive$109
State Farm$91
Travelers$107
USAA$63
Average$123

A 45-year-monthly old’s premium for a Kemper auto insurance policy with full coverage should be about $127. State Farm, Geico, and Nationwide offer much more affordable policies, but Kemper is still competitive for teens and other high-risk drivers.

Other Insurance Provided by Kemper

Besides auto insurance, you can also buy the following insurance products from Kemper:

  • Homeowners insurance
  • Life insurance
  • Health insurance
  • Renters\Condo insurance
  • Mobile home insurance
  • Motorcycle insurance
  • Flood insurance
  • ATV, RV, and boat insurance
  • Personal valuable coverage
  • Individual umbrella protection
  • Commercial vehicle insurance
  • General business liability insurance for company owners

Similar to the previously discussed products, the majority are also underwritten by third parties so that available coverage options may change depending on the state and underwriting firm.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Kemper Corporation Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileKemperNational Average
Clean Record$121$119
1+ Ticket$146$147
1+ Accident$174$173
DUI$210$209
Poor Credit$208$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver

View as image

You can buy Kemper Auto insurance in all 50 U.S. states and Washington, D.C. Most of the time, the cost of Kemper auto insurance varies depending on your state of residence, the minimum coverage required, and your driving record.

For example, a 45-year-old male with a clean driving record can expect to pay about $125/month for full coverage auto insurance with Kemper, just slightly more than the national average of $119/month. Keep reading to compare Kemper auto insurance quotes by state, age, driving record, and credit score.

Kemper Auto Insurance Rates by State

Depending on your state insurance laws, factors like driver age, gender, driving record, claims history, and credit history will affect quotes from most major insurance providers, including Kemper. Insurance costs are frequently impacted by a variety of factors, some of which are listed below:

  • Age of motorist
  • Claims history
  • Driving record, including any tickets
  • Consumer credit score
  • Gender (where allowed)
  • Zip code and location
  • Average daily/yearly mileage
  • Relationship status
  • Type of insured vehicle

It’s important to remember that online quotes are only estimates, and your actual costs might differ. Comparing car insurance quotes from at least three companies is the best way to determine how coverage costs in your state. Get free auto insurance quotes now with our comparison tool below, or keep reading to compare Kemper insurance quotes.

Kemper Auto Insurance Rates by Age

Kemper auto policies tend to favor people of prime working age, between 25 and 60 years old. However, Kemper insurance costs are above the national average, and its prices are very high for teen and senior drivers shopping for a stand-alone policy.

Kemper Auto Insurance for Teen Drivers

Insurance companies consider teen drivers high-risk because of their inexperience and propensity for distracted driving. Male teenagers pay the highest rates, but as soon as they reach their early 20s, car insurance rates will start to decline To see how much insurance companies typically charge teen drivers, see the table below:

Average Monthly Full Coverage Teenage Auto Insurance Rates by Gender
Insurance Company16-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record16-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record18-Year-Old Male with a Clean Record18-Year-Old Female with a Clean Record
Allstate$637.83$608.25$518.58$448.42
American Family$480.08$390.17$390.33$287.67
Farmers$741.75$777.50$603.17$573.25
Geico$311.92$297.75$253.58$219.58
Liberty Mutual$778.25$716$632.75$527.92
Nationwide$476.17$410.50$387.17$302.67
Progressive$813.83$801.42$661.75$590.83
State Farm$349.25$310.83$284$229.17
Travelers$896.83$708.83$729.17$522.58
National Average$609.58$557.92$495.58$411.33

Teen drivers between 16 and 18 years old pay around $560 per month, which is still cheaper than policies with Progressive or Farmers. Check to see if a teen driver can be added to an existing policy to get even lower rates.

Kemper Auto Insurance for Young Adult Drivers

Drivers in their early 20s continue to pay higher rates than drivers in other age groups. Still, as they get closer to the age of 25, rates begin to decline if you keep a spotless driving record and don’t file any claims. Compare car insurance rates for young adults below:

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates by Age and by Company
Companies25-Year-Old Female25-Year-Old Male17-Year-Old Female17-Year-Old Male
Allstate$219.51$220.97$678.65$733.87
Farmers$172.13$179.75$810.38$773.12
Geico$108.35$111.96$259.76$385.52
Liberty Mutual$279.38$296.29$544.95$882.56
Nationwide$170.12$216.52$304.87$452.46
Progressive$192.71$187.71$527.40$587.72
State Farm$181.32$192.87$497.40$641.39
Travelers$247.44$255.98$558.84$664.92
USAA$162.66$179.06$520.49$617.89

Young adult drivers pay about $153 per month for Kemper full coverage, which is just a few bucks more than the national average.

Kemper Auto Insurance for Adult Drivers

Older drivers are considered safer with insurance companies due to their experience behind the wheel. For full coverage auto insurance through Kemper, 30 year olds will pay about $142 per month, and for liability-only coverage, $55.

Between people in their 30s and mid-50s, car insurance quotes are generally comparable and do not differ significantly. As a result, customer service and claims satisfaction will heavily influence which auto insurance company best fits your needs over the course of your lifetime.

Kemper Auto Insurance for Senior Drivers

Due to age-related changes like slower reflexes, vision loss, or other health issues, insurance providers view drivers in their 60s as having a higher risk of an accident. As a result, they are more likely to file a claim, which raises the price of their auto insurance. Compare Kemper car insurance quotes for seniors to other top companies below:

Average Monthly Full Coverage Senior Auto Insurance Rates by Gender
Insurance Company60-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record60-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record65-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record65-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record
Allstate$153.92$149.75$156.50$158.33
American Family$99.17$97.92$107.58$106.33
Farmers$122.83$115.25$130.08$130.67
Geico$74.33$72.67$78.42$78.17
Liberty Mutual$157.50$146.50$168.50$165.92
Nationwide$104.42$99.08$112.25$110.58
Progressive$95.25$92.08$102.83$109.33
State Farm$76$76$84.17$84.17
Travelers$88.75$87.67$95.42$94.17
National Average$108$104.08$115.08$115.25

Senior drivers in their 60s can expect to pay about $124 per month for full coverage with Kemper and $47 for liability-only. To save money, senior drivers can take advantage of a Mature Driver Safety Discount.

Roadwise, the online senior defensive driving course from Kemper, will help you develop better driving habits and teach you to recognize and adjust to age-related physical changes. Kemper driver improvement programs can be completed in person, online, or both ways.

Kemper Auto Insurance Rates After a Speeding Ticket

Receiving a moving violation indicates to insurance companies that you drive recklessly, which will increase your auto insurance rates.

You’ll also notice higher rates after renewing with a traffic violation, particularly speeding or reckless driving. This is because your insurance company verifies your driving history at each policy renewal. Discover other reasons why your auto insurance is high.

However, since Kemper primarily issues nonstandard auto insurance policies, drivers with multiple speeding tickets could benefit from Kemper.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates with One Speeding Ticket
CompanyAverage Rates with Clean RecordAverage Rates with 1 Speeding Violation
Allstate$318.33$373.63
American Family$224.47$252.15
Farmers$288.38$339.92
Geico$178.83$220.45
Liberty Mutual$397.86$475.11
Nationwide$228.85$259.47
Progressive$282.76$333.52
State Farm$235.10$265.50
Travelers$287.31$355.07
USAA$161.14$182.77

Drivers with a ticket on their record can expect to pay $158/month.

Kemper Auto Insurance Rates After an Auto Accident

After an accident, Kemper drivers usually anticipate paying about 20% more than the national average than other drivers with an accident on their record.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with One Accident
CompanyAverage Rates with Clean RecordAverage Rates with 1 Accident
Allstate$318.33$415.64
American Family$224.47$310.23
Farmers$288.38$376.56
Geico$178.83$266.06
Liberty Mutual$397.86$517.07
Nationwide$228.85$283.08
Progressive$282.76$398.09
State Farm$235.10$283
Travelers$287.31$357.48
USAA$161.14$209.69

Kemper auto insurance with an accident is more expensive than most national companies. However, it’s still cheaper than other high-risk companies, including The General.

Kemper Auto Insurance Rates After a DUI

Because insurance companies take DUI offenses seriously, you can expect higher auto insurance rates after a DUI. A 45-year-old with a DUI can anticipate paying about $228/month for comprehensive, collision, and liability auto coverage, or nearly 10% more than the national average.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates with One DUI
CompanyAverage Monthly Rates with Clean RecordAverage Monthly Rates with 1 DUI
Allstate$318.33$521.73
American Family$224.47$360.85
Farmers$288.38$393.23
Geico$178.83$406.32
Liberty Mutual$397.86$634.46
Nationwide$228.85$378.60
Progressive$282.76$330.80
State Farm$235.10$303.07
Travelers$287.31$478.45
USAA$161.14$292.17

As an alternative, Travelers and Farmers Insurance both offer rates slightly below the national average for drivers with a DUI.

Read more: Travelers Auto Insurance Review

Kemper Auto Insurance Rates for Poor Credit

Unsurprisingly, the price of your auto insurance can be impacted by your credit score. Because insurance companies believe that drivers with poor credit are more likely to file claims or forget to pay their bills, they are subject to higher rates.

Most states allow the use of this data, but some don’t. The table below illustrates how a credit rating may affect a Kemper full-coverage auto insurance policy.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by Credit Rating
Insurance CompanyRates with Poor CreditRates with Fair CreditRates with Good Credit
Allstate$295.92$196.83$166.08
American Family$202.67$136.25$115.50
Farmers$269.42$160.50$139.50
Geico$148.42$99.75$82
Liberty Mutual$354.67$226$176.67
Nationwide$165.67$132.92$120.42
Progressive$205.92$137.92$109.17
State Farm$199.83$117.58$90.92
Travelers$193.58$127.83$107.25
USAA$128.75$75.83$62.75
Average$226.25$148.42$123.08

No data was available to reveal how Kemper treats people with various credit scores.

Kemper Corporation Discounts Available

DiscountKemper
Anti Theft5%
Good Student13%
Low Mileage8%
Paperless10%
Safe Driver12%
Senior Driver6%

Navigating the realm of auto insurance can be a daunting task, but Kemper Auto Insurance aims to make it not only accessible but also budget-friendly. Unveiling a spectrum of discounts, Kemper ensures that policyholders can secure robust coverage without breaking the bank.

  • Proof of prior insurance discount. Kemper Auto will give you a discount on your new policy if you have previously purchased auto insurance.
  • Advance quote discount. Renew your auto policy proactively and receive a discount
  • Paid-in-full discount. If you pay your annual auto insurance rates upfront, you may qualify for a discount on your coverage.
  • Multi-car discount. If you own more than one car, you might be able to reduce your rates by insuring them all under a single policy. In some states, you may insure an unlimited number of vehicles under one policy.
  • Defensive driving. Enrolling in a course to develop safe driving techniques may qualify you for another discount. Inquire about the prerequisite courses and requirements with your independent insurance agent.
  • Full-time student. Students might be able to lower the cost of their auto insurance if they’re full-time students with a 3.0 GPA or higher.
  • Military discount. With a Kemper Auto policy, active-duty military personnel and members of the National Guard may be able to save money on their auto insurance.
  • Homeowner discount. You can get cheaper rates if you or someone else on your policy owns a home.
  • Safety features discount. Anti-lock brakes, airbags, and anti-theft systems all help protect your vehicle from damage and humans from harm, which Kemper appreciates and rewards.
  • Paperless discount. In addition to helping reduce paper waste, you’ll be reducing Kemper’s bottom-line administrative costs, the savings of which it will share with you.
  • State-specific discounts. In some states, you can get a discount for being a safe driver and avoiding accidents (and claims), taking a mature driver safety course, or being an AAA member.

Your eligibility for a discount depends on several factors, including your driver’s history and demographic. Speak with a sales representative from Kemper Insurance to find out the discounts you are eligible for. Ask upfront because Kemper might not offer some discounts in all states.

How to Save on Kemper Auto Insurance

Even though Kemper currently offers rates that are a bit higher than the industry average, there are other ways to reduce your insurance premiums:

  • Raise the deductible. Your car insurance will be more affordable if you increase your deductible, which is the amount you pay out of pocket before insurance takes effect.
  • Get a vehicle with lower operating costs. If you want to save money on your Kemper auto insurance, consider buying a low-value or easily repairable vehicle because insurers typically charge less for these models.
  • Commit to being a safe driver. Your auto insurance provider will generally take note if you exercise defensive driving, avoid collisions, and receive no infractions.
  • Drop full coverage if you can. If your older vehicle has depreciated to the point where you are no longer required to have collision and comprehensive insurance, you may choose to carry liability-only insurance.
  • Compare auto insurance quotes online. Price comparison will always increase your chance of finding a deal.

Alert any Kemper insurance representative you speak with of the rates you find from other insurance companies. Additionally, if you call your existing auto insurance company before your current policy expires, you can often leverage this for a better price.

How Kemper Corporation Ranks Among Providers

Kemper Auto Insurance faces a competitive landscape with several key players in the insurance industry. While the competitive landscape can vary by region, here are some of Kemper’s main competitors:

  • Geico: Known for its extensive advertising campaigns and emphasis on online services, Geico is a major competitor for Kemper. Geico’s wide range of coverage options and competitive rates attract a large customer base.
  • Progressive: Progressive is recognized for its innovative approach to auto insurance, particularly its Snapshot program that tracks driving habits for potential discounts. The company’s strong online presence and emphasis on technology appeal to tech-savvy consumers.
  • State Farm: As one of the largest insurance providers in the U.S., State Farm competes with Kemper by offering a variety of insurance products, including auto insurance. State Farm is known for its extensive agent network and personalized customer service.
  • Allstate: Allstate is another major competitor, offering a range of insurance products and services. With its nationwide presence, Allstate competes with Kemper by providing various discounts and coverage options.
  • Nationwide: Nationwide operates as a diversified insurance and financial services company. It competes with Kemper by offering auto insurance coverage along with other insurance and financial products.
  • Farmers Insurance: Farmers Insurance is known for its customizable policies and strong agent network. It competes with Kemper by providing various coverage options and discounts tailored to individual needs.
  • Liberty Mutual: Liberty Mutual is a global insurance company that competes with Kemper by offering a wide array of insurance products, including auto insurance. Liberty Mutual emphasizes customer service and innovative insurance solutions.
  • Travelers: Travelers is a well-established insurance company providing coverage for auto, home, and business. It competes with Kemper by offering diverse insurance solutions and a strong reputation for financial stability.

Understanding the strengths and weaknesses of these competitors is crucial for Kemper Auto Insurance to position itself effectively in the market and continually enhance its offerings to meet customer needs.

Kemper Auto Insurance Claims Process

Ease of Filing a Claim

Kemper offers multiple channels for filing claims, providing flexibility for its policyholders. Customers can file claims through an online portal, over the phone, or by utilizing the mobile app. This multi-channel approach caters to diverse preferences, ensuring convenience for users.

Average Claim Processing Time

One of the key considerations for policyholders is the speed at which claims are processed. Kemper Auto Insurance aims for efficiency in this regard. While individual claim processing times can vary based on the complexity of the case, Kemper strives to provide a timely resolution to its customers.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and Payouts

Understanding how the insurer handles claim resolutions and payouts is vital. Customer feedback serves as a valuable indicator of satisfaction. Kemper Auto Insurance encourages transparency and fairness in its claims process, with customer reviews offering insights into the overall experience of policyholders during claim settlements.

Kemper Auto Insurance Digital and Technological Features

Mobile App Features and Functionality

Kemper’s mobile app is designed to provide users with a range of features, enhancing accessibility and convenience. From policy management to claims filing, the app offers a user-friendly interface. Customers can expect functionalities such as policy updates, digital ID cards, and real-time claims tracking, providing a comprehensive mobile experience.

Online Account Management Capabilities

The online account management capabilities offered by Kemper aim to empower policyholders. Through the online portal, customers can access and manage their policies, view billing information, and make updates to personal details. This online platform ensures that policy management is seamless and accessible from any device.

Digital Tools and Resources

Kemper Auto Insurance invests in digital tools and resources to keep its customers well-informed. This may include educational resources, safety tips, and tools for estimating premiums. By leveraging digital resources, Kemper aims to not only provide insurance coverage but also to be a valuable source of information for its policyholders.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Kemper Auto Insurance?

Kemper Auto Insurance is a provider of auto insurance policies. They offer coverage for personal vehicles, including cars, trucks, and motorcycles.

How long has Kemper Auto Insurance been in business?

Kemper Auto Insurance has been in business for several decades. It was founded in 1926 and has since grown to become a well-established insurance company.

What types of coverage does Kemper Auto Insurance offer?

Kemper Auto Insurance offers a range of coverage options to meet different customer needs. Their coverage typically includes liability coverage, collision coverage, comprehensive coverage, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and personal injury protection (PIP).

Can I customize my auto insurance policy with Kemper?

Yes, Kemper Auto Insurance allows customers to customize their policies by adding additional coverage options or adjusting the coverage limits to suit their individual requirements. You can work with their agents or representatives to tailor a policy that fits your specific needs.

How can I get a quote for Kemper Auto Insurance?

To get a quote from Kemper Auto Insurance, you have a few options. You can visit their website and fill out an online quote request form, contact their customer service directly via phone, or get in touch with a local Kemper agent near you.

Does Kemper Auto Insurance offer any discounts?

Yes, Kemper Auto Insurance provides various discounts to help customers save on their premiums. These discounts may include safe driver discounts, multi-policy discounts, multi-vehicle discounts, good student discounts, and more. It’s recommended to inquire about available discounts during the quote process.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Travis Thompson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Travis Thompson has been a licensed insurance agent for nearly five years. After obtaining his life and health insurance licenses, he began working for Symmetry Financial Group as a State Licensed Field Underwriter. In this position, he learned the coverage options and limits surrounding mortgage protection. He advised clients on the coverage needed to protect them in the event of a death, critica...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jimmy McMillan

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jimmy McMillan is an entrepreneur and the founder of HeartLifeInsurance.com, an independent life insurance brokerage. His company specializes in life insurance for people with heart problems. He knows personally how difficult it is to secure health and life insurance after a heart attack. Jimmy is a licensed insurance agent from coast to coast who has been featured on ValientCEO and the podcast...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Kemper Corporation

2.84 (209 reviews)
1
July 14, 2023

lisal

Stay far away

Kemper changed my policy from a 12 month to a six month- but same payment. Doubled my premium. Reason: a glass claim. $500 windshield. I dared to use coverage I have paid for for many years but never needed before. My punishment for daring to use what I bought?? Doubling my premium. Stay far away from this shady company.
1
May 15, 2023

deniser89

Negligent Company

I have been completely ignored since i submitted my claim on 02/28/2023. My car was stolen. I did everything that was instructed of me and not once have a i received a call from any of the agents assigned to me, or any of the supervisors I have left voicemails to. I had questions I needed answers to and no one would call me. I find this to be completely unprofessional and negligent of customers. I have also sent an email and forwarded to my lawye...
I have been completely ignored since i submitted my claim on 02/28/2023. My car was stolen. I did everything that was instructed of me and not once have a i received a call from any of the agents assigned to me, or any of the supervisors I have left voicemails to. I had questions I needed answers to and no one would call me. I find this to be completely unprofessional and negligent of customers. I have also sent an email and forwarded to my lawyer who is ready to take action but I have been trying my best to give the benefit of doubt that maybe just maybe this week they will finally give me a call with an actual update. Its about to be three months and i am running out of patience. I don't know how anyone would continue to work with Kemper / Infinity after having these issues.
1
May 6, 2023

Moni_R

Horrible insurance

No communication, accident happened 5 days ago. They said someone would come look at the damage of the car….NO body ever called or showed up. They offer no rental service coverage. This issuance is by far the worst I highly do not recommend.
1
April 25, 2023

Josh_P

Kemper auto insurance is a scam

Horrible auto insurance company. Poor customer service, poor adjusters, and poor appraisers. These guys are crooks that only look out for their bottom line and saving their company money. DON'T USE!!!!
0.5
April 20, 2023

Josh Pico

Kemper Corporation review

Kemper/Infinity Auto Insurance is a scam! They will collect your premiums without helping you in the time of need. Absolute crooks. DON\'T USE THEM!!! Department of Insurance complaints confirm this review. Avoid this company, they will not take care of you.
1
April 24, 2022

Karla_

Too expensive!

Kemper is a rip off. My payment goes up a few dollars after a few months and they just disregard it as ‘it’s just a few dollars’. Maybe I don’t have a few dollars and thought the agreed amount would stay the same. Be aware. I would never refer to them to anyone. As careful of a driver as I am I don’t feel comfortable they would cover damages from an accident.
1
April 2, 2022

Moquendo_

This company is not trustworthy! Look for another insurance

Beware of these people, I renewed my insurance policy with them, paid in full and then get a bill the next month for $904.00 more! I called and spoke with [REDACTED NAME] she basically said that my insurance increased because the change of address, BUT I was not informed of this at the time of renewal. Now I have to either come up with an extra $375 within a week or I’ll have to pay the $904. There are many companies, don’t go with them they ...
Beware of these people, I renewed my insurance policy with them, paid in full and then get a bill the next month for $904.00 more! I called and spoke with [REDACTED NAME] she basically said that my insurance increased because the change of address, BUT I was not informed of this at the time of renewal. Now I have to either come up with an extra $375 within a week or I’ll have to pay the $904. There are many companies, don’t go with them they will blind side you with extra charges!
1
July 10, 2021

sergeche

the worst insurance ever

If you don't want to loose your money, time and nerves never have any business with this company. My car was declared total loss more than 2 months ago, their adjustors and supervisors just never call you back. When you try to reach them, you never spend less than 40 minutes on the phone line,waiting for somebody to answer, you leave your information again and again and nobody calls your back. Next week I will go to the consumer protection agency...
If you don't want to loose your money, time and nerves never have any business with this company. My car was declared total loss more than 2 months ago, their adjustors and supervisors just never call you back. When you try to reach them, you never spend less than 40 minutes on the phone line,waiting for somebody to answer, you leave your information again and again and nobody calls your back. Next week I will go to the consumer protection agency, because people should be protected from dishonest business practices
1
July 6, 2021

Garrett_W

THE WORST INSURANCE COMPANY EVER - THEY WILL NOT HELP YOU

If you want a claim to be handled, at all, when you are 100% not at fault, stay far away from Kemper! I was involved in a crash 2/22/2021 and was 100% not at fault and Kemper still has not taken care of my claim. I have had three different adjusters who either stop responding or tell me "a manager will get back to me" (5 times now) or "it is being reviewed by the _____ team now" (3 times now) and nother ever happens. IT HAS BEEN FIVE MONTHS FO...
If you want a claim to be handled, at all, when you are 100% not at fault, stay far away from Kemper! I was involved in a crash 2/22/2021 and was 100% not at fault and Kemper still has not taken care of my claim. I have had three different adjusters who either stop responding or tell me "a manager will get back to me" (5 times now) or "it is being reviewed by the _____ team now" (3 times now) and nother ever happens. IT HAS BEEN FIVE MONTHS FOR A $2,000 CLAIM AND THEY WILL NOT HELP ME. THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH.
1
June 28, 2021

MsKendall

Worst Customer Service

I have been stranded for over 3 hours and continue to call Kemper claims for road side assistance. They initially had me on hold aware I was stranded on the side of the road then disconnected the call with no return call. It may be that their call service is in India; however it is horrible customer service. I have now called over 7 times and they continue to disconnect the call. While the rate is reasonable, you definitely get what you pay f...
I have been stranded for over 3 hours and continue to call Kemper claims for road side assistance. They initially had me on hold aware I was stranded on the side of the road then disconnected the call with no return call. It may be that their call service is in India; however it is horrible customer service. I have now called over 7 times and they continue to disconnect the call. While the rate is reasonable, you definitely get what you pay for. I will researching a new auto insurance and pay the slightly higher premiums.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption