Kemper Corporation Insurance Review [2024]

Navigating the diverse landscape of insurance providers requires insightful information, and our comprehensive review of Kemper Corporation Insurance delves into the intricacies of coverage options, customer experiences, and the company's standing in the market.

UPDATED: Jan 17, 2024Fact Checked

Zach Fagiano

Licensed Insurance Broker

Zach Fagiano has been in the insurance industry for over 10 years, specializing in property and casualty and risk management consulting. He started out specializing in small businesses and moved up to large commercial real estate risks. During that time, he acquired property & casualty, life & health, and surplus lines brokers licenses. He’s now the Senior Vice President overseeing globa...

Licensed Insurance Broker

Heidi Mertlich

Licensed Insurance Agent

Heidi works with top-rated life insurance carriers to bring her clients the highest quality protection at the most competitive prices. She founded NoPhysicalTermLife.com, specializing in life insurance that doesn’t require a medical exam. Heidi is a regular contributor to several insurance websites, including FinanceBuzz.com, Insurist.com, and Forbes. As a parent herself, she understands the ...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Jan 17, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 17, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 17, 2024Fact Checked
2.8
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Kemper Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Offers a wide variety of insurance types
  • Discounts available for bundling policies
  • User-friendly website and online tools

Cons

  • Recent financial difficulties and negative customer reviews
  • Higher complaint index score than the national average
  • Some complaints about poor customer service and claims denials

Final Verdict: Review of Kemper Insurance

Kemper Corporation is an insurance company offering practically every insurance type available. The company has changed hands several times and became Kemper Corporation 11 years ago. You can obtain coverage by getting a policy from independent insurance agents in offices across the United States.

Kemper’s online website also features a quote tool. Kemper offers lots of information on its website, including the coverage types available to its customers.  Its handy online platform allows customers to pay their bills, view insurance documents, and file a claim. However, there are some troubling signs for Kemper.

This year, A.M. Best revised Kemper Corporation’s financial outlook to negative. In recent years, Kemper has experienced financial difficulties in its auto and health sector and saw a sharp rise in claims. Kemper’s customer reviews tend to lean to the negative side, including how Kemper denies claims and doesn’t cover reimbursements.

Kemper Corporation’s confirmed complaint index is five times higher than the national average, an alarming statistic. However, its policies are cheap, and you can get discounts for combining several policies into one premium. Overall, Kemper has some red flags customers should be aware of before committing to taking out policies with the company.

[su_box title="The Lowdown" style="default"]
  • Kemper Corporation is the 28th largest insurance company in America
  • It offers practically every insurance type across all 50 states
  • The company has faced several financial issues over recent years
[/su_box] Kemper Corporation is a large insurance company comprised of several smaller companies handling various insurance coverages. From health insurance to commercial auto policies, Kemper Insurance offers practically every insurance type to its customers. Kemper Insurance has faced some rocky years, especially in its auto and health sectors. A.M. Best — an American credit rating agency — revised Kemper’s financial outlook to negative in 2022. This article will provide the latest information about Kemper Insurance for 2022, its products and services, financial strength, and overall customer feedback.

What You Should Know About Kemper Corporation

The Lowdown

  • Kemper Corporation is the 28th largest insurance company in America
  • It offers practically every insurance type across all 50 states
  • The company has faced several financial issues over recent years

Kemper Corporation is a large insurance company comprised of several smaller companies handling various insurance coverages. From health insurance to commercial auto policies, Kemper Insurance offers practically every insurance type to its customers. 

Kemper Insurance has faced some rocky years, especially in its auto and health sectors. A.M. Best — an American credit rating agency — revised Kemper’s financial outlook to negative. This article will provide the latest information about Kemper Insurance, its products and services, financial strength, and overall customer feedback.

What is Kemper Insurance?

Kemper Corporation is an insurance provider that writes policies in all 50 states. The company has almost $15 billion in assets and services over 6.6 million policies. Kemper operates several businesses under its parent company, including:

  • Kemper Auto
  • Infinity Insurance (California only)
  • Kemper Personal Insurance
  • Kemper Health
  • Kemper Life

Read more: Kemper Auto Insurance Review

Founded in 1990, the company has changed hands several times. Initially, Kemper’s name was Unitrin, Inc., before being rebranded to Kemper Corporation in 2011. It is a public company under the trading symbol KMPR. Kemper has grown to the 28th largest insurance company in the U.S. by acquiring several smaller companies throughout the years.

How do I contact Kemper Insurance?

Kemper Corporation has offices located throughout the country. The best way to contact Kemper is by finding your local office through an online Google search. The main Kemper Insurance phone number is 888-252-2799. You can also contact Kemper through its website’s online form submission.

The main corporate mailing address is: Kemper Corporation 200 E. Randolph St., Suite 3300 Chicago, Illinois 60601

Kemper Corporation Insurance Coverage Options

Kemper Corporation offers insurance policies for practically every coverage type on the market. The company writes auto, property, business, life, and health insurance policies in personal and commercial formats.

Kemper Auto Insurance Coverage

Kemper provides personal auto insurance coverage you can customize to fit customers’ needs, including several policies ranging from basic liability coverage to comprehensive and collision policies. Several discounts are available to customers with an auto policy, including defensive driver, military, anti-theft, and good student discounts.

Kemper Property Insurance Coverage

Kemper offers several property insurance policy types, including:

  • Home insurance
  • Renters insurance
  • Condo insurance
  • Mobile home insurance
  • Flood insurance

There are discounts available with each property insurance policy type, such as home safety, protective devices, multi-policy, and military discounts.

Kemper Business Insurance

Kemper provides commercial auto, general liability, and business owner’s policies. Within these policies, you can cover business operations, property, vehicle fleets, and employee injuries.

Additional Coverages

Kemper Insurance covers several customizable policies to include all of your personal effects. Additional coverages include:

  • Motorcycle insurance
  • All-terrain vehicle and off-road vehicle insurance
  • Recreational vehicle insurance
  • Boat insurance
  • Personal valuables insurance

Kemper also offers a personal umbrella liability policy. This policy protects you from exhausted liability limits of your standard insurance coverage. It also includes protection of losses from libel, slander, defamation of character, and other people’s property in your care.

Kemper Life Insurance

If you die unexpectedly, a life insurance policy provides funding to your family. Kemper has several life insurance products, including whole life, term life, and accident plans.

Kemper Health Insurance

Kemper Health is an independent sector providing several health insurance benefits to customers. Some of the available health coverage options Kemper provides are:

  • Accident policies
  • Fixed indemnity policy
  • Hospital confinement
  • Dental and vision
  • Home health care
  • Critical illness
  • Outpatient policy

Kemper offers practically every type of insurance coverage to customers and discounts rates for bundling policies.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Kemper Corporation Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileKemper CorporationNational Average
Clean Record$120$119
1+ Ticket$148$147
1+ Accident$175$173
DUI$210$209
Poor Credit$206$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver

View as image

Kemper Corporation Discounts Available

DiscountKemper Corporation
Anti Theft7%
Good Student15%
Low Mileage9%
Paperless11%
Safe Driver14%
Senior Driver8%

Kemper Corporation Insurance understands the importance of providing cost-effective solutions for its customers. One way the company achieves this is through a range of discounts designed to reward responsible behaviors, enhance safety, and make insurance more accessible.

  • Defensive Driver Discount: This discount is available for policyholders who have completed a defensive driving course. It reflects the company’s commitment to promoting safe driving habits.
  • Military Discount: Kemper provides a discount to members of the military, recognizing their service. This discount is a way of showing appreciation to military personnel.
  • Anti-Theft Discount: Policyholders may be eligible for a discount if their vehicles are equipped with anti-theft devices. This discount acknowledges the efforts to reduce the risk of theft.
  • Good Student Discount: Students who maintain good grades may qualify for a discount. This encourages and rewards responsible behavior among young drivers.
  • Home Safety Discount: For property insurance policies, Kemper offers a discount for implementing safety measures in the home. This could include features that reduce the risk of accidents or damage.
  • Protective Devices Discount: Similar to the home safety discount, policyholders may receive a discount for having protective devices in place, such as security systems or fire alarms.
  • Multi-Policy Discount: Customers can save money by bundling multiple insurance policies with Kemper. For example, combining auto and home insurance may result in a discount.
  • Multi-Vehicle Discount: If a policyholder insures more than one vehicle with Kemper, they may be eligible for a multi-vehicle discount.
  • Business Owner’s Policy Discount: Businesses that opt for a business owner’s policy with Kemper may qualify for specific discounts tailored for commercial coverage.
  • Military Discount: Similar to the auto insurance discount, military personnel may also receive discounts on other types of insurance coverage offered by Kemper.

By offering discounts that cater to safe driving habits, security measures, and loyalty, Kemper strives to make insurance more affordable and accessible to a broad spectrum of policyholders.

As you explore insurance options, keep in mind the potential savings that Kemper’s discounts can bring, providing not only financial benefits but also reinforcing the company’s dedication to promoting responsible and secure practices.

How Kemper Corporation Ranks Among Providers

In the ever-evolving landscape of the insurance industry, Kemper Corporation finds itself amid a competitive field where several key players vie for the attention and trust of consumers. Understanding the context of these competitors is crucial for individuals seeking insurance coverage.

  • State Farm: State Farm is one of the largest insurance providers in the United States, offering a wide range of insurance products, including auto, home, life, and health insurance.
  • Progressive Corporation: Progressive is known for its focus on auto insurance and is one of the largest providers in the country. It’s recognized for its innovative approach, such as usage-based insurance programs.
  • Allstate Corporation: Allstate is a major player in the insurance industry, providing a variety of insurance products. It has a significant presence in auto, home, and life insurance.
  • Geico: Geico, owned by Berkshire Hathaway, is widely recognized for its auto insurance offerings. It is known for its competitive rates and extensive advertising campaigns.
  • Farmers Insurance Group: Farmers is another prominent insurance provider offering a range of products, including auto, home, life, and business insurance.
  • Liberty Mutual Insurance: Liberty Mutual is a diversified insurer offering various insurance products, including auto, home, and commercial insurance.
  • Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company: Nationwide provides insurance and financial services, including auto, home, and life insurance. It has a significant presence in the United States.
  • Travelers Companies: Travelers is a major property and casualty insurer offering a range of insurance products for individuals and businesses.

In the dynamic world of insurance, where protection and peace of mind are paramount, Kemper Corporation competes alongside formidable industry players. As consumers navigate the landscape of coverage options, the presence of competitors like State Farm, Progressive, Allstate, and others fosters an environment of innovation and customer-centric solutions.

Kemper Corporation Insurance Claims Process

Ease of Filing a Claim

Kemper offers multiple channels for filing claims, catering to the diverse preferences of its customers. Policyholders can file claims online through the company’s user-friendly website, over the phone by reaching out to the dedicated claims hotline, and via mobile apps for added convenience. This multi-channel approach ensures that customers can choose the method that best suits their needs.

Average Claim Processing Time

Timeliness is crucial in the claims process, and Kemper Corporation understands this. The average claim processing time with Kemper is designed to be efficient, providing customers with a swift resolution to their claims. Quick and effective processing helps alleviate the stress associated with uncertainties, delivering on the promise of prompt support.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and Payouts

Customer feedback is a valuable gauge of an insurance company’s performance in handling claims. Kemper Corporation takes customer satisfaction seriously and actively seeks feedback on claim resolutions and payouts. This section will delve into what customers are saying about their experiences, providing insights into the effectiveness of Kemper’s claims handling and payout processes.

Kemper Corporation Insurance Digital and Technological Features

Mobile App Features and Functionality

Kemper’s mobile app is a hub of features designed to empower users. From policy management to claims tracking, the app offers a range of functionalities. This section will explore the specific features of Kemper’s mobile app, highlighting its user interface, accessibility, and how it enhances the overall customer experience.

Online Account Management Capabilities

The ability to manage insurance policies online is a convenience that many customers value. Kemper Corporation provides a robust online account management platform. Policyholders can access their accounts, review policy details, make payments, and more. This section will delve into the capabilities of Kemper’s online account management system and how it caters to the digital preferences of its customers.

Digital Tools and Resources

Beyond basic account management, Kemper offers additional digital tools and resources to assist policyholders. Whether it’s educational resources, interactive tools for coverage evaluation, or other digital assets, this section will explore the supplementary digital features that Kemper provides to enhance the overall insurance experience for its customers.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Kemper Insurance?

Kemper Insurance is a large insurance company offering various insurance coverages in all 50 states. It is comprised of several smaller companies that handle various insurance types.

Is Kemper Corporation a good choice for insurance?

Kemper Corporation offers a wide variety of insurance types and has almost $15 billion in assets. However, recent financial difficulties and negative customer reviews should be taken into consideration before choosing this company for insurance.

What types of insurance does Kemper offer?

Kemper offers practically every type of insurance coverage, including auto, property, business, life, and health insurance policies in personal and commercial formats.

How do I contact Kemper Insurance?

You can find your local office through an online Google search or contact Kemper through their website’s online form submission. The main Kemper Insurance phone number is 888-252-2799.

What is Kemper’s financial strength?

Kemper Corporation has an “A” rating from A.M. Best, but the agency revised Kemper’s financial outlook to negative due to significant earnings loss and reduced capital levels. The current forecast says that its earnings weaknesses will continue into the future.

What is Kemper Corporation?

Kemper Corporation is an insurance provider that offers a wide range of insurance products and services for individuals, families, and businesses. They have been in operation for several decades and have built a reputation for providing reliable insurance coverage.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Zach Fagiano

Licensed Insurance Broker

Zach Fagiano has been in the insurance industry for over 10 years, specializing in property and casualty and risk management consulting. He started out specializing in small businesses and moved up to large commercial real estate risks. During that time, he acquired property & casualty, life & health, and surplus lines brokers licenses. He’s now the Senior Vice President overseeing globa...

Licensed Insurance Broker

Heidi Mertlich

Licensed Insurance Agent

Heidi works with top-rated life insurance carriers to bring her clients the highest quality protection at the most competitive prices. She founded NoPhysicalTermLife.com, specializing in life insurance that doesn’t require a medical exam. Heidi is a regular contributor to several insurance websites, including FinanceBuzz.com, Insurist.com, and Forbes. As a parent herself, she understands the ...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Kemper Corporation

2.84 (209 reviews)
1
July 14, 2023

lisal

Stay far away

Kemper changed my policy from a 12 month to a six month- but same payment. Doubled my premium. Reason: a glass claim. $500 windshield. I dared to use coverage I have paid for for many years but never needed before. My punishment for daring to use what I bought?? Doubling my premium. Stay far away from this shady company.
1
May 15, 2023

deniser89

Negligent Company

I have been completely ignored since i submitted my claim on 02/28/2023. My car was stolen. I did everything that was instructed of me and not once have a i received a call from any of the agents assigned to me, or any of the supervisors I have left voicemails to. I had questions I needed answers to and no one would call me. I find this to be completely unprofessional and negligent of customers. I have also sent an email and forwarded to my lawye...
I have been completely ignored since i submitted my claim on 02/28/2023. My car was stolen. I did everything that was instructed of me and not once have a i received a call from any of the agents assigned to me, or any of the supervisors I have left voicemails to. I had questions I needed answers to and no one would call me. I find this to be completely unprofessional and negligent of customers. I have also sent an email and forwarded to my lawyer who is ready to take action but I have been trying my best to give the benefit of doubt that maybe just maybe this week they will finally give me a call with an actual update. Its about to be three months and i am running out of patience. I don't know how anyone would continue to work with Kemper / Infinity after having these issues.
1
May 6, 2023

Moni_R

Horrible insurance

No communication, accident happened 5 days ago. They said someone would come look at the damage of the car….NO body ever called or showed up. They offer no rental service coverage. This issuance is by far the worst I highly do not recommend.
1
April 25, 2023

Josh_P

Kemper auto insurance is a scam

Horrible auto insurance company. Poor customer service, poor adjusters, and poor appraisers. These guys are crooks that only look out for their bottom line and saving their company money. DON'T USE!!!!
0.5
April 20, 2023

Josh Pico

Kemper Corporation review

Kemper/Infinity Auto Insurance is a scam! They will collect your premiums without helping you in the time of need. Absolute crooks. DON\'T USE THEM!!! Department of Insurance complaints confirm this review. Avoid this company, they will not take care of you.
1
April 24, 2022

Karla_

Too expensive!

Kemper is a rip off. My payment goes up a few dollars after a few months and they just disregard it as ‘it’s just a few dollars’. Maybe I don’t have a few dollars and thought the agreed amount would stay the same. Be aware. I would never refer to them to anyone. As careful of a driver as I am I don’t feel comfortable they would cover damages from an accident.
1
April 2, 2022

Moquendo_

This company is not trustworthy! Look for another insurance

Beware of these people, I renewed my insurance policy with them, paid in full and then get a bill the next month for $904.00 more! I called and spoke with [REDACTED NAME] she basically said that my insurance increased because the change of address, BUT I was not informed of this at the time of renewal. Now I have to either come up with an extra $375 within a week or I’ll have to pay the $904. There are many companies, don’t go with them they ...
Beware of these people, I renewed my insurance policy with them, paid in full and then get a bill the next month for $904.00 more! I called and spoke with [REDACTED NAME] she basically said that my insurance increased because the change of address, BUT I was not informed of this at the time of renewal. Now I have to either come up with an extra $375 within a week or I’ll have to pay the $904. There are many companies, don’t go with them they will blind side you with extra charges!
1
July 10, 2021

sergeche

the worst insurance ever

If you don't want to loose your money, time and nerves never have any business with this company. My car was declared total loss more than 2 months ago, their adjustors and supervisors just never call you back. When you try to reach them, you never spend less than 40 minutes on the phone line,waiting for somebody to answer, you leave your information again and again and nobody calls your back. Next week I will go to the consumer protection agency...
If you don't want to loose your money, time and nerves never have any business with this company. My car was declared total loss more than 2 months ago, their adjustors and supervisors just never call you back. When you try to reach them, you never spend less than 40 minutes on the phone line,waiting for somebody to answer, you leave your information again and again and nobody calls your back. Next week I will go to the consumer protection agency, because people should be protected from dishonest business practices
1
July 6, 2021

Garrett_W

THE WORST INSURANCE COMPANY EVER - THEY WILL NOT HELP YOU

If you want a claim to be handled, at all, when you are 100% not at fault, stay far away from Kemper! I was involved in a crash 2/22/2021 and was 100% not at fault and Kemper still has not taken care of my claim. I have had three different adjusters who either stop responding or tell me "a manager will get back to me" (5 times now) or "it is being reviewed by the _____ team now" (3 times now) and nother ever happens. IT HAS BEEN FIVE MONTHS FO...
If you want a claim to be handled, at all, when you are 100% not at fault, stay far away from Kemper! I was involved in a crash 2/22/2021 and was 100% not at fault and Kemper still has not taken care of my claim. I have had three different adjusters who either stop responding or tell me "a manager will get back to me" (5 times now) or "it is being reviewed by the _____ team now" (3 times now) and nother ever happens. IT HAS BEEN FIVE MONTHS FOR A $2,000 CLAIM AND THEY WILL NOT HELP ME. THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER DEALT WITH.
1
June 28, 2021

MsKendall

Worst Customer Service

I have been stranded for over 3 hours and continue to call Kemper claims for road side assistance. They initially had me on hold aware I was stranded on the side of the road then disconnected the call with no return call. It may be that their call service is in India; however it is horrible customer service. I have now called over 7 times and they continue to disconnect the call. While the rate is reasonable, you definitely get what you pay f...
I have been stranded for over 3 hours and continue to call Kemper claims for road side assistance. They initially had me on hold aware I was stranded on the side of the road then disconnected the call with no return call. It may be that their call service is in India; however it is horrible customer service. I have now called over 7 times and they continue to disconnect the call. While the rate is reasonable, you definitely get what you pay for. I will researching a new auto insurance and pay the slightly higher premiums.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption