Liberty Auto Insurance Review [2024]

Liberty Mutual provides competitive auto insurance rates, a range of coverage options, and multiple discounts for customers seeking reliable protection.

UPDATED: Jan 31, 2024Fact Checked

Tim Bain

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tim Bain is a licensed life insurance agent with 23 years of experience helping people protect their families and businesses with term life insurance.  His insurance expertise has been featured in several publications, including Investopedia and eFinancial. He also does digital marking and analysis for KPS/3, a communications and marking firm located in Nevada. 

Licensed Insurance Agent

Ty Stewart

Licensed Insurance Agent

Ty Stewart is the founder and CEO of SimpleLifeInsure.com. He started researching and studying about life insurance when he got his first policy for his own family. He has been featured as a life insurance expert speaker at agent conventions and in top publications.  As an independent licensed life insurance agent, he has helped clients nationwide to secure affordable coverage while making the...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Jan 31, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 31, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 31, 2024Fact Checked
4.0
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Liberty Mutual

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$173

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Competitive rates can be lowered by combining various discounts.
  • Has been rated “A” by A.M. Best, indicating excellent financial strength.
  • Offers multiple mobile apps that allow customers to complete various tasks.
  • Allows customers to file claims online, by phone, or in person.
  • Has a long history in the insurance industry with a strong presence in over 20 countries.
  • Multiple discount opportunities
  • Wide range of coverage options

Cons

  • Has received a higher number of complaints than similarly-sized competitors, according to the NAIC.
  • The BBB has received 1,220 complaints about Liberty during the past three years.
  • Some complaints about products, services, and billing practices
  • Ratings from credit agencies not at the top of the scale

Final Verdict: Review of Liberty Mutual

Liberty Mutual provides auto insurance with competitive rates that customers can lower by combining various discounts. Additionally, Liberty has been rated “A” by A.M. Best, indicating excellent financial strength.

Discovering more about Liberty auto insurance will help you decide if the company is right for you. Before jumping into this Liberty auto insurance review, enter your ZIP code to find car insurance rates in your area.

[su_box title="The Lowdown" style="default"]
  • Liberty auto insurance has competitive rates
  • Liberty auto insurance provides a wide range of coverages
  • Liberty auto insurance has been rated "A" by A.M. Best
[/su_box] Liberty Mutual provides auto insurance with competitive rates that customers can lower by combining various discounts. Additionally, Liberty has been rated "A" by A.M. Best, indicating excellent financial strength. Discovering more about Liberty auto insurance will help you decide if the company is right for you. Before jumping into this Liberty auto insurance review, enter your ZIP code to find car insurance rates in your area.

What You Should Know About Liberty Mutual Insurance

Credit rating agencies review the financial strength of insurance companies. Then, the agencies rate them, indicating whether a company will provide a payout when you file a claim. The most trusted agencies have completed Liberty auto insurance reviews.

Liberty Mutual has been rated “A” (“Excellent”) by A.M. Best and S&P and “A2” (“Prime”) by Moody’s. None of these ratings are at the top of the agency’s scale. However, they all indicate that the company is financially sound.

Additionally, Liberty Mutual is rated A+ from the Better Business Bureau (BBB), indicating that the company is transparent and trustworthy when dealing with customers.

What is the Liberty auto insurance company’s history?

Liberty Mutual began in 1912 as the Massachusetts Employees’ Insurance Association in Boston. In 1917 the company name was changed to Liberty Mutual. Today, the company has more than 900 offices in 20 countries.

Does Liberty auto insurance have any complaints?

The Better Business Bureau (BBB) and the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) list complaints made about insurance companies. Examining these complaints allow customers to determine the company’s quality of service.

At the time of this review, the BBB has received 1,220 complaints about Liberty during the past three years. The majority of these complaints are about the company’s products and services, though a considerable number are about the company’s billing practices.

According to the NAIC, Liberty insurance has a complaint index ratio of 2.20. This number indicates that Liberty has more than double the number of complaints about a competitor of a similar size.

While Liberty has many complaints, reading through customers’ grievances will help you determine if they should be a concern when choosing an auto insurance company.

Does Liberty auto insurance have a mobile app?

Liberty Mutual has multiple mobile apps that allow customers to complete various tasks. These apps are available on any mobile device. The primary app will enable customers to:

  • Make payments
  • View policy details
  • Change coverage
  • Make claims
  • Request roadside assistance

Additionally, the Liberty Mutual CarZen app assists customers with car shopping. Customers can use this app to research cars, see photos of the vehicle, and read reviews about the vehicle they’re considering.

How can you file Liberty auto insurance claims?

After you purchase an auto insurance policy from Liberty Mutual, you create an account on the company website. In addition to changing coverage options, customers can log in to file a claim. Liberty allows customers to file claims online, by phone, or in person.

The claims process typically takes less than 10 minutes to complete. To file a claim, customers need some basic information, including:

  • Username and password
  • Approximate date of the incident
  • General details about what happened

After filing the claim, a Liberty claims adjuster will review the damage. This assessment might only require photos of the incident but could also require interviews with witnesses. They will then estimate the cost of the repairs or replacement, allowing them to determine the final payout.

Liberty Mutual Insurance Coverage Options

Each state requires that drivers carry a minimum amount of insurance, but this isn’t enough to cover all situations. Increasing your coverage will prepare you for any incident, ensuring that you don’t have to pay the expenses out of pocket.

If  your vehicle is financed, the bank or dealership that holds the loan may require you to have full coverage until you pay off the car. Insurance companies sell auto coverages individually, so there isn’t a full coverage option. However, purchasing all of the typical insurance coverages is called full coverage.

The following table shows the primary insurance coverages that make up a full coverage plan and the purpose of each type of coverage.

Liberty Auto Insurance Coverages
Auto Insurance TypesPurpose of Coverage
Bodily injury liabilityPays for medical bills if someone else suffers an injury in an accident caused by you.
CollisionCovers damage to your car after an accident.
ComprehensiveCovers damage to your car when you’re not driving.
Property damage liabilityLiability coverage that covers the cost of any property damage you’ve caused in an accident.
Uninsured/underinsured motoristCovers the costs if you’re in an accident caused by a driver with little or no car insurance.

In addition to these common coverages, Liberty provides options for its customers to purchase. These options are not mandatory but will give more protection if you get into an accident or suffer damage to your vehicle. The following are options offered by Liberty.

  • Accident forgiveness: Rates won’t increase after your first accident.
  • New car replacement: Reimburses policyholder for the cost of a new car if the insured car is totaled during the first model year and first 15,000 miles.
  • Better car replacement: Reimburses for a car one model year newer and 15,000 fewer miles than on the totaled vehicle.
  • Deductible fund: Lowers your collision deductible.
  • GAP insurance: Pays the difference between the amount owed and the value of your car.
  • Original parts replacement: Ensures the damaged car is repaired with original manufacturer parts when available.

Additionally, Liberty customers can add roadside assistance to their policy for $12 to $20 annually. This coverage allows the driver to receive help 24 hours a day if they have car trouble. Purchasing this coverage allows the insured to receive support such as:

  • Towing
  • Battery service
  • Gas delivery
  • Flat tire repair
  • Locksmith service

Customers can request roadside assistance by calling the Liberty auto insurance phone number at 1-800-426-9898. You can also find help online or on their mobile app. Adding this coverage to your policy increases Liberty auto insurance quotes.

In addition to car insurance, Liberty Mutual sells other types of coverage, including motorcycle insurance, renters insurance, and homeowners insurance. (For more information, read our “Liberty Mutual Homeowners Insurance Review“).

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Liberty Mutual Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileLiberty Auto InsuranceNational Average
Clean Record$240$245
1+ Ticket$315$330
1+ Accident$325$340
DUI$350$350
Poor Credit$413$421

View as image

The cost of coverage is a common concern among customers looking for auto insurance. There are many aspects of car insurance to consider, but the price is often a determining factor. Various factors go into determining an individual’s car insurance costs. Some of the factors that insurance providers consider include:

  • Age
  • Gender
  • Driving history
  • Credit score
  • Lifestyle

The cost of your coverage will depend on these factors, so you’ll have to look for an individual quote to find an accurate estimate. However, examining the average rates of car insurance will give you an idea of what you’ll pay.

In most states, drivers must maintain a minimum amount of insurance. This minimum coverage usually consists of liability. The following chart shows the average annual Liberty auto insurance minimum coverage rates based on age.

Liberty Auto Insurance Average Annual Minimum Coverage Rates By Age
Driver's AgeLiberty Auto Insurance Annual Minimum Coverage Rates
16$2,412
21$1,261
25$1,052
45$879
60$913

As you can see, rates decrease as drivers age but slightly increase when they become senior citizens. Liberty auto insurance rates are most affordable for drivers in their 30s and 40s.

Read more: Best Auto Insurance for Seniors

Liberty Mutual Insurance Discounts Available

DiscountLiberty Auto Insurance
Anti Theft7%
Good Student10%
Low Mileage8%
Paperless5%
Safe Driver12%
Senior Driver6%

Depending on your age, driving history and other factors, auto insurance can be expensive. Liberty provides various discounts that can help you lower your rates. These deals depend on multiple factors, including your:

  • Car
  • Multi-car or multi-policy
  • Insurance purchases
  • Safe driver

The following table shows the Liberty auto insurance company discounts and the eligibility of each saving opportunity.

Liberty Auto Insurance Discounts
Auto DiscountDiscount Eligibility
HomeownerInsured owns a single-family home.
MilitaryInsured is a current or former member of the military.
Early shoppingRequest a quote before your current insurance policy expires.
Good studentHigh school or college students with at least a 3.0 grade point average.
Green vehicleDrive a hybrid or electric vehicle.
Anti-lock brakesCars with factory-installed anti-lock brakes.
Anti-theftCars include anti-theft devices, like alarms, tracking systems, and kill switches.
Safe driverDisplay safe driving habits, like having passengers wear seat belts, low driving speeds, and less aggressive driving.
Multi-car policyInsure more than one car on a single auto insurance policy.
Multi-policyBundling different types of insurance.
Paid in fullPolicy is paid in one payment.
Online purchasePurchase a policy online.
Electronic paperworkReceive paperwork electronically.

Combining as many discounts as possible will help you find the best rates. When inquiring about quotes, asking a representative about these saving opportunities will help you find all deals for which you qualify.

How Liberty Mutual Insurance Ranks Among Providers

When considering auto insurance options, it’s crucial to explore a range of providers to make an informed decision. Liberty Mutual, a well-known insurance company, faces competition from several prominent players in the industry. Each competitor offers distinct services and features, catering to diverse customer needs and preferences.

  • State Farm: Renowned for its extensive agent network, State Farm offers a wide range of insurance products, including auto, home, and life insurance, with a strong emphasis on personalized customer service.
  • Geico: Known for its catchy advertisements and competitive rates, Geico provides direct-to-consumer insurance, offering quotes online and over the phone, making it a popular choice for tech-savvy customers seeking convenience.
  • Allstate: With a focus on innovative tools like Drivewise and comprehensive coverage options, Allstate aims to provide customers with personalized policies and has a vast network of agents across the country.
  • Progressive: Renowned for its Snapshot program and user-friendly online platform, Progressive offers a range of discounts and customizable policies, appealing to customers seeking digital convenience and affordability.
  • USAA: Catering primarily to military members and their families, USAA stands out for its exceptional customer service, loyalty programs, and comprehensive coverage tailored to the unique needs of military personnel.

Each of these competitors brings its strengths to the table, whether it’s personalized service, digital innovation, or specialized offerings. Exploring these alternatives can help individuals find the right fit for their insurance needs.

Effortless Claims Process at Liberty Mutual

Ease of filing a claim (online, over the phone, mobile apps)

Liberty Mutual allows customers to file claims online, by phone, or in person. The process typically takes less than 10 minutes and involves basic information.

Average claim processing time

The claim processing time can vary based on the nature of the claim and the necessary assessments. However, Liberty Mutual aims to streamline the process, ensuring a prompt resolution.

Customer feedback on claim resolutions and payouts

Customer feedback about claim resolutions and payouts at Liberty Mutual varies. While the company has received complaints, individual experiences may differ. Evaluating customer reviews provides insights into the claim-handling satisfaction level.

Unlocking Cutting-Edge Digital Features at Liberty Mutual

Mobile app features and functionality

Liberty Mutual offers multiple mobile apps that enable customers to manage policies, file claims, access roadside assistance, and even assist with car shopping through the CarZen app.

Online account management capabilities

Customers can create accounts on Liberty Mutual’s website to manage policies, file claims, adjust coverage options, and access various resources conveniently.

Digital tools and resources

The digital tools provided by Liberty Mutual facilitate policy management, claims filing, and accessing support services, ensuring a seamless user experience across multiple devices.

Frequently Asked Questions

How does Liberty Mutual differentiate itself in the auto insurance market?

Liberty Mutual stands out by offering competitive rates, various coverage options, and multiple discounts, aiming to provide affordable insurance solutions to customers nationwide.

What are the financial ratings and customer service feedback for Liberty Auto Insurance?

Liberty Mutual has received an “A” rating from A.M. Best, indicating excellent financial strength, but has garnered complaints, with 1,220 recorded by the Better Business Bureau over three years, mostly regarding products, services, and billing practices.

Does Liberty Mutual provide mobile app support for policy management and claims?

Yes, Liberty Mutual offers multiple mobile apps allowing customers to manage policies, file claims, access roadside assistance, and even assist with car shopping through the CarZen app.

What additional coverage options and services does Liberty Auto Insurance offer?

Liberty provides various optional coverages beyond the standard, including roadside assistance, and offers other insurance types such as motorcycle, renters, and homeowners insurance.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Tim Bain

Licensed Insurance Agent

Tim Bain is a licensed life insurance agent with 23 years of experience helping people protect their families and businesses with term life insurance.  His insurance expertise has been featured in several publications, including Investopedia and eFinancial. He also does digital marking and analysis for KPS/3, a communications and marking firm located in Nevada. 

Licensed Insurance Agent

Ty Stewart

Licensed Insurance Agent

Ty Stewart is the founder and CEO of SimpleLifeInsure.com. He started researching and studying about life insurance when he got his first policy for his own family. He has been featured as a life insurance expert speaker at agent conventions and in top publications.  As an independent licensed life insurance agent, he has helped clients nationwide to secure affordable coverage while making the...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Liberty Mutual Insurance

3.95 (3,605 reviews)
1
February 6, 2024

Ca_Issacs

Trash company

Absolutely no communication between the company, and I regardless of them having me give them 3 separate means to communicate with me. Trash company.
1
September 25, 2023

Mikem72262

Liberty is an over charging company

I went to cancel my home and auto policies I have with Liberty cause I found other insurance companies have better rates for the same coverage. On both my policies the coverage is the same or better than I have now and the total cost is now going to be HALF of what I was paying with Liberty. When I called to cancel I was then told that Liberty charges a $150 charge to cancel my policy (no other company charges this that I have had). This is no wh...
I went to cancel my home and auto policies I have with Liberty cause I found other insurance companies have better rates for the same coverage. On both my policies the coverage is the same or better than I have now and the total cost is now going to be HALF of what I was paying with Liberty. When I called to cancel I was then told that Liberty charges a $150 charge to cancel my policy (no other company charges this that I have had). This is no where shown in the policy about this charge to cancel. JUST ANOTHER WAY LIBERTY IS SCREWING IT'S CUSTOMERS!!!! I would tell anybody looking for insurance to try other companies if you want a better price!!!! Customer service even will tell you the company has NEVER reduced it's prices.
1
September 12, 2023

Brian_B

Don't ever expect help if you need it.

My car was damaged (rear end) by someone with Liberty Mutual Insurance 108 days ago. I have continually left messages with the Liberty claims representative and can't even get a phone call back. I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone looking for any sort of customer service.
1
July 31, 2023

Jayden09_

NO SECOND CHANCES FOR LOYAL CUSTOMERS!!!

I wasn't able to pay my bill all at once so I called Liberty Mutual for more time. The woman I talked to told me that I would have 40 days to pay my balance and 2 weeks later I was sent a check for half of what I had paid. When I called to see why, the person I talked to said the woman had informed me of the wrong dates and that now to rewrite a policy I would have to pay for the whole year in advance. So when Liberty Mutuals employees give you t...
I wasn't able to pay my bill all at once so I called Liberty Mutual for more time. The woman I talked to told me that I would have 40 days to pay my balance and 2 weeks later I was sent a check for half of what I had paid. When I called to see why, the person I talked to said the woman had informed me of the wrong dates and that now to rewrite a policy I would have to pay for the whole year in advance. So when Liberty Mutuals employees give you the wrong information they punish you after being a loyal customer for 2 years. Most people can't afford to pay for a whole year of coverage right now.
1
June 16, 2023

Tucky

Paying my Auto Insurance in the rears?

I've been trying to find out HOW I BEGAN MY AUTO INSURANCE WITH Randy Watkins in Florence KY. I began a auto policy in 2021 . I recently found out that I have been paying a rearrange policy . I've found a better rate with a different company other than Liberty Mutual. I have as told by Randy Watkins that I got a better rate on auto insurance due to knowing a Guaranteed Rate sales person Myron Fears.im not sure How that worked. However, I can't f...
I've been trying to find out HOW I BEGAN MY AUTO INSURANCE WITH Randy Watkins in Florence KY. I began a auto policy in 2021 . I recently found out that I have been paying a rearrange policy . I've found a better rate with a different company other than Liberty Mutual. I have as told by Randy Watkins that I got a better rate on auto insurance due to knowing a Guaranteed Rate sales person Myron Fears.im not sure How that worked. However, I can't figure out how I started a policy and now that I'm no longer going to be with Liberty Mutual and I told Randy that I wanted to stop my auto payment. That's when I was told that when I requested to stop that I find that I will owe Liberty Mutual a rearage of $90+! He said I elected the pay date. I'm certain that when. I signed up I paid money up front to start the policy. I've asked him to find the original payment and havent gotten an answer. Who do you know that pays insurance in the rears??
1
May 18, 2023

Zzzzzzz6969

Run away become they will cancel you

After 2 years of having car insurance with this is Company. Liberty Mutual had decided to cancel my insurance with them. Just because an animal had gotten in my way of driving on the highway and unfortunately hit the animal. I don't understand why they had cancel my policy when the accident happened about 2 years ago. I don't recommend liberty Mutual at all for they will cancel you for no good reason and not giving a good reason. I payed my bill ...
After 2 years of having car insurance with this is Company. Liberty Mutual had decided to cancel my insurance with them. Just because an animal had gotten in my way of driving on the highway and unfortunately hit the animal. I don't understand why they had cancel my policy when the accident happened about 2 years ago. I don't recommend liberty Mutual at all for they will cancel you for no good reason and not giving a good reason. I payed my bill on time and my deduction for the accident. I did my share of the game. They don't play nice at all. They play people. Run!
2
April 20, 2023

NG1989

Appraisers short change customers

Beware of malpractice with this company. I had damage from another vehicle and took it to a certified body shop. Liberty mutual appraiser was a total pain to negotiate with. He essentially only approve 25% of the repairs necessary to retain my manufacturer warranty on a brand new vehicle. If you are looking for solid coverage of a nice car, maybe think twice because this insurance will short change you and they don’t care about customers. Appra...
Beware of malpractice with this company. I had damage from another vehicle and took it to a certified body shop. Liberty mutual appraiser was a total pain to negotiate with. He essentially only approve 25% of the repairs necessary to retain my manufacturer warranty on a brand new vehicle. If you are looking for solid coverage of a nice car, maybe think twice because this insurance will short change you and they don’t care about customers. Appraiser I had was unreasonable. I’m filing a complaint with the state.
1
March 28, 2023

M__Atif

Terrible Company when it comes to honor their liability

Terrible company when it comes to honor their liability for other automobilists. Their driver crossed right light, destroyed my vehicle and liberty mutual denied my claim. First, for months they did not respond our emails. Than I called and their agent [REDACTED NAME] Bechard asked me to email her the details of the accident. another two months passed and again, no response from her. I called again and she was like, let me check your email and sa...
Terrible company when it comes to honor their liability for other automobilists. Their driver crossed right light, destroyed my vehicle and liberty mutual denied my claim. First, for months they did not respond our emails. Than I called and their agent [REDACTED NAME] Bechard asked me to email her the details of the accident. another two months passed and again, no response from her. I called again and she was like, let me check your email and said, your claim is denied. She decided in few seconds after checking my email. In fact she never read my emails, just wanted to give me false hope. They could do investigation, they could read my emails, they could go through pictures but hey had already decided to deny my claim. They knew that I do not have a camera in my car or any witness. I am an Uber driver, I lost my car, and my job because of this accident. I had to borrow money from friends to purchase another car and I still owe money. Just because I cannot prove it, does not mean it did not happened. I could not do anything so just writing this review.
1
March 20, 2023

pstringer818_gmail_com

WARNING!

WARNING!!!! FIND ANOTHER INSURANCE COMPANY! Will gladly take your money but after 30+ years when we needed them, it has been a nightmare!!!!
1
March 2, 2023

Mzvlt63

Ridiculous cancelation reason

They sent me a letter stating they could not renew my insurance because I used the roadside assistant to get a tire changed. I had this insurance for 2 years and I never missed a payment or filed an accident claim. I was blindsided by this so I has to scrabble for insurance to cover my new vehicle.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption