Liberty Renters Insurance Review [2024]

Liberty Mutual Renters Insurance stands out with its diverse coverage options, competitive rates, and a plethora of discounts, offering policyholders effective cost management solutions.

UPDATED: Feb 7, 2024Fact Checked

Angie Watts

Licensed Real Estate Agent

Angie Watts is a licensed real estate agent with Florida Executive Realty. Specializing in residential properties since 2015, Angie is a real estate writer who published a book educating homeowners on how to make the most money when they sell their homes. Her goal is to educate and empower both home buyers and sellers so they can have a stress-free shopping and/or selling process. She has studi...

Licensed Real Estate Agent

Jeffrey Manola

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeffrey Manola is an experienced life insurance agent who founded TopQuoteLifeInsurance.com and NoMedicalExamQuotes.com. His mission when creating these sites was to provide online consumers searching for life insurance with the most affordable term life insurance, permanent life insurance, no medical exam life insurance, and burial insurance. Not only does he strive to provide consumers with t...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Feb 7, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Feb 7, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 7, 2024Fact Checked
4.0
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Liberty Mutual Renters Insurance

Average monthly rate for renters:

$173

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Wide range of coverage options
  • Variety of discounts available
  • Convenient mobile app and online claims process
  • Customizable features

Cons

  • Customer service ranking is lower compared to some competitors
  • Policy costs can vary depending on location

Final Verdict: Review of Liberty Mutual Renters Insurance

Liberty Mutual offers a variety of coverages in all 50 states, plus Washington D.C. In addition to its fast online process and coverage options, what stands out about Liberty renters insurance is the number of discounts available for policyholders.

You will be able to find multi-policies and claims-free discounts for your renters insurance, in addition to discounts when you enroll in other programs, such as autopay. With Liberty’s mobile app and online claims process, you can communicate with Liberty Mutual almost exclusively without needing to call a representative and have access 24/7 to your policy details.

To learn more about Liberty renters insurance, keep reading below for more details about policies and discounts available. Already ready to start saving? Enter your ZIP code above into our free and easy-to-use tool to start your quote comparisons today.

[su_box title="The Lowdown" style=default"]
  • Liberty Mutual ranks as the fifth largest property and casualty insurance carrier in the U.S. and has written more than $36.2 billion in claims.
  • Liberty Mutual customers can access great benefits that include robust coverage options with numerous discounts and digital tools.
  • Your state and region will determine your coverage level and your rates, which may fluctuate greatly depending on your situation .
[/su_box] Liberty Mutual offers a variety of coverages in all 50 states, plus Washington D.C. In addition to its fast online process and coverage options, what stands out about Liberty renters insurance is the number of discounts available for policyholders. You will be able to find multi-policies and claims-free discounts for your renters insurance, in addition to discounts when you enroll in other programs, such as autopay. With Liberty's mobile app and online claims process, you can communicate with Liberty Mutual almost exclusively without needing to call a representative and have access 24/7 to your policy details. To learn more about Liberty renters insurance, keep reading below for more details about policies and discounts available. Already ready to start saving? Enter your ZIP code above into our free and easy-to-use tool to start your quote comparisons today.

What You Should Know About Liberty Mutual Insurance

The Lowdown

  • Liberty Mutual ranks as the fifth largest property and casualty insurance carrier in the U.S. and has written more than $36.2 billion in claims.
  • Liberty Mutual customers can access great benefits that include robust coverage options with numerous discounts and digital tools.
  • Your state and region will determine your coverage level and your rates, which may fluctuate greatly depending on your situation .

Liberty Mutual offers a variety of coverages in all 50 states, plus Washington D.C. In addition to its fast online process and coverage options, what stands out about Liberty renters insurance is the number of discounts available for policyholders.

You will be able to find multi-policies and claims-free discounts for your renters insurance, in addition to discounts when you enroll in other programs, such as autopay. With Liberty’s mobile app and online claims process, you can communicate with Liberty Mutual almost exclusively without needing to call a representative and have access 24/7 to your policy details.

To learn more about Liberty renters insurance, keep reading below for more details about policies and discounts available. Already ready to start saving? Enter your ZIP code above into our free and easy-to-use tool to start your quote comparisons today.

Liberty Mutual Insurance Coverage Options

Typically, Liberty Mutual renters insurance policies meet the most basic needs of policyholders, while also providing room for personalization. The Liberty Mutual insurance company has an abundance of discounts that can help customers keep their costs low as well as within a certain budget range.

These policy costs can fluctuate drastically depending on your area and the state you live in. With a standard renters insurance policy, it covers:

  • Personal property. Furniture, clothing, electronics, and valuables up to a certain amount
  • A guest’s medical bills. If they are injured in your rental unit
  • Necessary repairs. If someone else’s property is damaged because of an accident on your property
  • Reimbursement for living costs. If your home becomes uninhabitable for a covered reason
  • Liability. Including legal expenses, if the policyholder, a family member, or a pet injures someone on the rental property

Renters coverage from Liberty Mutual comes with industry-standard protection and the chance to add two or three endorsements.

What's CoveredDetails
Personal propertyThis covers the cost of replacing your belongings when a covered event damages them. You can choose between replacement cash value and actual cash value coverage.

Actual cash value will allow you to receive compensation to replace damaged items based on their current value, which takes into account depreciation. Replacement cash value has a higher premium because you’ll be given a cash value to buy new items.
Loss of useIf a covered event, like fire or water damage, requires you to temporarily live elsewhere while your home is getting repaired, your policy will cover living expenses that exceed your typical amount.
LiabilityIf you’re responsible for bodily injury or damage to the personal property of someone else, your policy will cover the cost of medical bills or repairs. It may even cover legal fees if someone sues you.
Medical payments to othersIf someone gets injured in your home, you can file a claim to have your insurance provider cover their medical bills.

Renters insurance costs as low as $5 per month with the most basic plan. Your deductible could be $250, $500, $1,000, $2,500, or $5,000, based on your state and region.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Liberty Mutual Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileLiberty Renters InsuranceNational Average
Clean Record$128$119
1+ Ticket$162$147
1+ Accident$188$173
DUI$227$209
Poor Credit$220$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver

View as image

Liberty Mutual Insurance Discounts Available

DiscountLiberty Renters Insurance
Anti Theft15%
Good Student10%
Low Mileage8%
Paperless5%
Safe Driver10%
Senior Driver8%

Since the company’s main drawback is its rates, which can alternate between the cheapest and most expensive options depending on the state or region you live in, you may want to look into applying for discounts. Thankfully, Liberty Mutual has many discounts available to choose from. Discounts include:

  • Claims-Free. Saving if you haven’t filed a claim with your previous provider for five years or more
  • Military Discount. Any active, retired or reserve members of the military can receive this discount
  • Early Shopper Discount. If you get a quote with Liberty Mutual before your current policy expires, you are eligible to save up to 45%
  • Smart Home. Installing any smart protective devices in your home, like a security system
  • Protective Devices. Adding smoke alarms, deadbolts, fire extinguishers, fire alarms, burglar alarms or sprinklers to your home will qualify you for this discount
  • Multi-Policy. Bundling your renters insurance policy with another form of protection from Liberty Mutual
  • Preferred Payment Discount. Sign up for automatic payments linked to your bank account
  • Online Purchase Discount. Purchase a renters insurance policy online to receive a discount
  • Paperless Policy Discount. Get a discount for electing to receive your bill electronically

In most cases, renters insurance coverage is only available for policies that have up to $25,000 worth of assets to protect. Anything after that is not covered. However, you can purchase coverage for as little as $5,000.

How Liberty Mutual Insurance Ranks Among Providers

In the dynamic landscape of renters insurance, several key players compete to offer comprehensive coverage, attractive discounts, and superior customer service. Liberty Mutual is a notable contender, known for its wide range of coverage options and discounts for policyholders.

  • State Farm: State Farm is one of the largest insurance providers in the United States, offering a wide range of insurance products, including renters insurance. They have a significant market presence and are known for their agent-driven model.
  • Allstate: Allstate is another major player in the insurance industry, offering various insurance products, including renters insurance. They have a strong marketing presence and provide a range of coverage options.
  • Geico: While Geico is well-known for auto insurance, they also offer renters insurance. Geico is often recognized for its competitive pricing and online-focused approach to insurance.
  • Progressive: Progressive is known for its innovative approach to insurance and offers a variety of coverage options. They are prominent in the auto insurance market but also provide renters insurance.
  • USAA: USAA primarily serves military members and their families, offering a range of insurance products, including renters insurance. They are highly regarded for their customer service and coverage options.
  • Travelers: Travelers is a major property and casualty insurance company that provides various insurance products, including renters insurance. They are known for their broad range of coverage options.

Read more: USAA Renters Insurance Review

As you embark on the journey of securing renters insurance, the market provides a spectrum of choices beyond Liberty Mutual. Each competitor brings its own strengths, whether it be State Farm’s extensive agent network, Allstate’s diverse coverage options, or Geico’s online convenience.

Liberty Renters Insurance Claims Process

Ease of Filing a Claim (Online, Over the Phone, Mobile Apps)

Liberty Mutual stands out for its user-friendly claims process, providing policyholders with multiple avenues to file a claim. Customers can conveniently initiate the process online through the official website, over the phone by contacting the dedicated claims hotline, or by utilizing Liberty Mutual’s mobile app.

The online platform and mobile app offer intuitive interfaces, guiding users through the necessary steps with clarity and ease.

Average Claim Processing Time

Efficiency is a key factor in any insurance claim process, and Liberty Mutual strives to deliver prompt service. The average claim processing time with Liberty Mutual is competitive within the industry standards. Quick responses and streamlined procedures contribute to a smoother experience for policyholders during the claims process.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and Payouts

Customer satisfaction with the claim resolution process is pivotal for any insurance provider. Based on customer feedback, Liberty Mutual has received positive reviews for fair and prompt claim resolutions. Policyholders appreciate the transparency in the communication of the claims status and the efficiency with which Liberty Mutual processes and disburses payouts.

Liberty Renters Insurance Digital and Technological Features

Mobile App Features and Functionality

Liberty Mutual’s mobile app is a robust tool that empowers policyholders with convenient access to their insurance information. The app features a user-friendly interface, allowing customers to view and manage policies, initiate claims, and even upload supporting documents directly from their mobile devices.

Additionally, the app provides real-time updates on claim status, enhancing transparency throughout the process.

Online Account Management Capabilities

Liberty Mutual excels in providing comprehensive online account management capabilities through its official website. Policyholders can easily navigate the online portal to review and update policy details, track claims, and access important documents.

The platform ensures a seamless and secure experience, enabling customers to manage their insurance affairs efficiently from the comfort of their homes.

Digital Tools and Resources

Liberty Mutual integrates various digital tools and resources into its platform to enhance customer experience. From educational resources on insurance basics to interactive tools for estimating coverage needs, the company leverages technology to empower policyholders with knowledge.

Additionally, Liberty Mutual’s online presence includes informative articles and guides, further demonstrating its commitment to leveraging digital resources for customer engagement and education.

Frequently Asked Questions

What does Liberty Mutual renters insurance cover?

Liberty Mutual renters insurance typically covers personal property protection, liability protection, and additional living expenses in case of a covered loss.

What discounts are available with Liberty Mutual renters insurance?

Liberty Mutual offers various discounts, including multi-policies discounts, claims-free discounts, and discounts for enrolling in programs like autopay.

How do I file a claim with Liberty Mutual?

To file a claim, you can call their renters insurance phone number or file online through their website using your Liberty renters insurance login.

Are additional coverage options available with Liberty Mutual renters insurance?

Yes, Liberty renters insurance offers options to add endorsements for additional coverage, such as scheduled personal property coverage, identity theft coverage, and umbrella liability coverage.

Is Liberty Mutual renters insurance a good choice?

Liberty Mutual renters insurance meets basic needs and offers a wide range of coverage options. It also provides various discounts for policyholders. However, customer service rankings may be lower compared to some competitors, and policy costs can vary by location.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Angie Watts

Licensed Real Estate Agent

Angie Watts is a licensed real estate agent with Florida Executive Realty. Specializing in residential properties since 2015, Angie is a real estate writer who published a book educating homeowners on how to make the most money when they sell their homes. Her goal is to educate and empower both home buyers and sellers so they can have a stress-free shopping and/or selling process. She has studi...

Licensed Real Estate Agent

Jeffrey Manola

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeffrey Manola is an experienced life insurance agent who founded TopQuoteLifeInsurance.com and NoMedicalExamQuotes.com. His mission when creating these sites was to provide online consumers searching for life insurance with the most affordable term life insurance, permanent life insurance, no medical exam life insurance, and burial insurance. Not only does he strive to provide consumers with t...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Liberty Mutual Insurance

3.95 (3,605 reviews)
1
February 6, 2024

Ca_Issacs

Trash company

Absolutely no communication between the company, and I regardless of them having me give them 3 separate means to communicate with me. Trash company.
1
September 25, 2023

Mikem72262

Liberty is an over charging company

I went to cancel my home and auto policies I have with Liberty cause I found other insurance companies have better rates for the same coverage. On both my policies the coverage is the same or better than I have now and the total cost is now going to be HALF of what I was paying with Liberty. When I called to cancel I was then told that Liberty charges a $150 charge to cancel my policy (no other company charges this that I have had). This is no wh...
I went to cancel my home and auto policies I have with Liberty cause I found other insurance companies have better rates for the same coverage. On both my policies the coverage is the same or better than I have now and the total cost is now going to be HALF of what I was paying with Liberty. When I called to cancel I was then told that Liberty charges a $150 charge to cancel my policy (no other company charges this that I have had). This is no where shown in the policy about this charge to cancel. JUST ANOTHER WAY LIBERTY IS SCREWING IT'S CUSTOMERS!!!! I would tell anybody looking for insurance to try other companies if you want a better price!!!! Customer service even will tell you the company has NEVER reduced it's prices.
1
September 12, 2023

Brian_B

Don't ever expect help if you need it.

My car was damaged (rear end) by someone with Liberty Mutual Insurance 108 days ago. I have continually left messages with the Liberty claims representative and can't even get a phone call back. I wouldn't recommend this company to anyone looking for any sort of customer service.
1
July 31, 2023

Jayden09_

NO SECOND CHANCES FOR LOYAL CUSTOMERS!!!

I wasn't able to pay my bill all at once so I called Liberty Mutual for more time. The woman I talked to told me that I would have 40 days to pay my balance and 2 weeks later I was sent a check for half of what I had paid. When I called to see why, the person I talked to said the woman had informed me of the wrong dates and that now to rewrite a policy I would have to pay for the whole year in advance. So when Liberty Mutuals employees give you t...
I wasn't able to pay my bill all at once so I called Liberty Mutual for more time. The woman I talked to told me that I would have 40 days to pay my balance and 2 weeks later I was sent a check for half of what I had paid. When I called to see why, the person I talked to said the woman had informed me of the wrong dates and that now to rewrite a policy I would have to pay for the whole year in advance. So when Liberty Mutuals employees give you the wrong information they punish you after being a loyal customer for 2 years. Most people can't afford to pay for a whole year of coverage right now.
1
June 16, 2023

Tucky

Paying my Auto Insurance in the rears?

I've been trying to find out HOW I BEGAN MY AUTO INSURANCE WITH Randy Watkins in Florence KY. I began a auto policy in 2021 . I recently found out that I have been paying a rearrange policy . I've found a better rate with a different company other than Liberty Mutual. I have as told by Randy Watkins that I got a better rate on auto insurance due to knowing a Guaranteed Rate sales person Myron Fears.im not sure How that worked. However, I can't f...
I've been trying to find out HOW I BEGAN MY AUTO INSURANCE WITH Randy Watkins in Florence KY. I began a auto policy in 2021 . I recently found out that I have been paying a rearrange policy . I've found a better rate with a different company other than Liberty Mutual. I have as told by Randy Watkins that I got a better rate on auto insurance due to knowing a Guaranteed Rate sales person Myron Fears.im not sure How that worked. However, I can't figure out how I started a policy and now that I'm no longer going to be with Liberty Mutual and I told Randy that I wanted to stop my auto payment. That's when I was told that when I requested to stop that I find that I will owe Liberty Mutual a rearage of $90+! He said I elected the pay date. I'm certain that when. I signed up I paid money up front to start the policy. I've asked him to find the original payment and havent gotten an answer. Who do you know that pays insurance in the rears??
1
May 18, 2023

Zzzzzzz6969

Run away become they will cancel you

After 2 years of having car insurance with this is Company. Liberty Mutual had decided to cancel my insurance with them. Just because an animal had gotten in my way of driving on the highway and unfortunately hit the animal. I don't understand why they had cancel my policy when the accident happened about 2 years ago. I don't recommend liberty Mutual at all for they will cancel you for no good reason and not giving a good reason. I payed my bill ...
After 2 years of having car insurance with this is Company. Liberty Mutual had decided to cancel my insurance with them. Just because an animal had gotten in my way of driving on the highway and unfortunately hit the animal. I don't understand why they had cancel my policy when the accident happened about 2 years ago. I don't recommend liberty Mutual at all for they will cancel you for no good reason and not giving a good reason. I payed my bill on time and my deduction for the accident. I did my share of the game. They don't play nice at all. They play people. Run!
2
April 20, 2023

NG1989

Appraisers short change customers

Beware of malpractice with this company. I had damage from another vehicle and took it to a certified body shop. Liberty mutual appraiser was a total pain to negotiate with. He essentially only approve 25% of the repairs necessary to retain my manufacturer warranty on a brand new vehicle. If you are looking for solid coverage of a nice car, maybe think twice because this insurance will short change you and they don’t care about customers. Appra...
Beware of malpractice with this company. I had damage from another vehicle and took it to a certified body shop. Liberty mutual appraiser was a total pain to negotiate with. He essentially only approve 25% of the repairs necessary to retain my manufacturer warranty on a brand new vehicle. If you are looking for solid coverage of a nice car, maybe think twice because this insurance will short change you and they don’t care about customers. Appraiser I had was unreasonable. I’m filing a complaint with the state.
1
March 28, 2023

M__Atif

Terrible Company when it comes to honor their liability

Terrible company when it comes to honor their liability for other automobilists. Their driver crossed right light, destroyed my vehicle and liberty mutual denied my claim. First, for months they did not respond our emails. Than I called and their agent [REDACTED NAME] Bechard asked me to email her the details of the accident. another two months passed and again, no response from her. I called again and she was like, let me check your email and sa...
Terrible company when it comes to honor their liability for other automobilists. Their driver crossed right light, destroyed my vehicle and liberty mutual denied my claim. First, for months they did not respond our emails. Than I called and their agent [REDACTED NAME] Bechard asked me to email her the details of the accident. another two months passed and again, no response from her. I called again and she was like, let me check your email and said, your claim is denied. She decided in few seconds after checking my email. In fact she never read my emails, just wanted to give me false hope. They could do investigation, they could read my emails, they could go through pictures but hey had already decided to deny my claim. They knew that I do not have a camera in my car or any witness. I am an Uber driver, I lost my car, and my job because of this accident. I had to borrow money from friends to purchase another car and I still owe money. Just because I cannot prove it, does not mean it did not happened. I could not do anything so just writing this review.
1
March 20, 2023

pstringer818_gmail_com

WARNING!

WARNING!!!! FIND ANOTHER INSURANCE COMPANY! Will gladly take your money but after 30+ years when we needed them, it has been a nightmare!!!!
1
March 2, 2023

Mzvlt63

Ridiculous cancelation reason

They sent me a letter stating they could not renew my insurance because I used the roadside assistant to get a tire changed. I had this insurance for 2 years and I never missed a payment or filed an accident claim. I was blindsided by this so I has to scrabble for insurance to cover my new vehicle.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption