Mercury Auto Insurance Review [2024]

Mercury Insurance, operating in 11 states, has positioned itself as a cost-effective alternative for auto insurance, garnering attention for its affordability despite occasional concerns about claim processing times and coverage options.

UPDATED: Dec 15, 2023Fact Checked

Laura D. Adams

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Laura Adams is one of the nation’s leading finance, insurance, and small business authorities. As an award-winning author, spokesperson, and host of the top-rated Money Girl podcast since 2008, millions of readers and listeners benefit from her practical advice. Her mission is to empower consumers to live healthy and rich lives by planning for the future and making smart money decisions. She rec...

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Dec 15, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Dec 15, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 15, 2023Fact Checked
3.7
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Mercury Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$160

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Affordability
  • Coverage Options
  • Mechanical Protection
  • Mobile App and Online Account Management
  • Transparent Editorial Guidelines

Cons

  • Claims Processing Methods
  • Claim Processing Time
  • Customer Service Ratings
  • Limited Availability
  • Discount Variety

Final Verdict: Review of Mercury Insurance

The founders of Mercury Insurance wanted to create affordable insurance products for Californians. Since the 1960s, Mercury has grown and now offers coverage in 11 states. While the company doesn’t have as many options, Mercury offers affordable rates.

If you want to buy Mercury car insurance, you should shop around to make sure you get the best rates. Enter your ZIP code into our free tool to see what comparative quotes might look like for you.

[su_box title="The Lowdown" style="default"]
  • Mercury Insurance offers liability, comprehensive, and collision insurance in 11 states
  • Rates tend to be cheaper with Mercury than other companies, especially for younger drivers
  • If you want a lot of customization options, you might want to look elsewhere
  • Mercury receives complaints about payout time length and limited options for coverage
[/su_box] Founded in sunny Los Angeles in 1962, Mercury Insurance went into business to provide affordable auto insurance for the average California driver. Since 1962, Mercury has grown into a reputable company that offers insurance in 11 states. Mercury Insurance isn’t the most prominent company out there, but because it offers rates that can compete with even the biggest insurers. With mechanical breakdown protection and rideshare coverage, Mercury has an insurance option for just about everyone. Wondering if an affordable Mercury car insurance policy is right for you? Your best option to find rates that work for you is to compare as many companies as possible. If you’re ready to see what rates might look like for you, enter your ZIP code into our free tool today.

What You Should Know About Mercury Insurance Group

The Lowdown

  • Mercury Insurance offers liability, comprehensive, and collision insurance in 11 states
  • Rates tend to be cheaper with Mercury than other companies, especially for younger drivers
  • If you want a lot of customization options, you might want to look elsewhere
  • Mercury receives complaints about payout time length and limited options for coverage

Founded in sunny Los Angeles in 1962, Mercury Insurance went into business to provide affordable auto insurance for the average California driver. Since 1962, Mercury has grown into a reputable company that offers insurance in 11 states.

Mercury Insurance isn’t the most prominent company out there, but because it offers rates that can compete with even the biggest insurers. With mechanical breakdown protection and rideshare coverage, Mercury has an insurance option for just about everyone.

Wondering if an affordable Mercury car insurance policy is right for you? Your best option to find rates that work for you is to compare as many companies as possible. If you’re ready to see what rates might look like for you, enter your ZIP code into our free tool today.

Mercury Insurance Group Insurance Coverage Options

Navigating the complex landscape of auto insurance requires a keen understanding of coverage options that align with your unique needs. Mercury Auto Insurance, originally founded to provide Californians with affordable coverage, has expanded its reach to 11 states, offering a variety of insurance solutions.

  • Liability: Liability covers damage to property and injuries from an accident you caused. Most states (including all 11 Mercury works in) require a minimum amount of liability coverage to drive legally.
  • Collision: Regardless of who is at fault, collision helps repair your car after an accident.
  • Comprehensive: This covers damage to your vehicle from sources other than collisions, including weather, vandalism, theft, and animal contact. If you don’t own your car outright, you likely need comprehensive coverage.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist: If another driver strikes you and has inadequate insurance, uninsured/underinsured motorist can make up the difference.
  • Personal Injury Protection and Medical Payments: If you (or your passengers) are injured in an accident, this coverage can help pay your medical bills and make up for lost wages.

Aside from basic coverage, Mercury also offers several special types of insurance. These include commercial car insurance, rideshare, and a pay-per-mile policy. There are also several add-on options available.

What add-ons does Mercury Insurance offer?

You can purchase add-ons like rental car reimbursement, roadside assistance, and mechanical breakdown coverage. Rental car reimbursement will cover the cost of a temporary replacement car while your vehicle is getting repairs in a mechanic’s shop, up to a maximum of 30 days. If you want to purchase this add-on, you’ll need a comprehensive or collision policy.

If you buy roadside assistance, it covers the cost of jump-starts, winching, locksmiths, fuel delivery, towing, and tire changes. You can make use of your add-on five times per period. One of Mercury’s most attractive features is its mechanical protection.

This helps cover the cost of repairs after your car’s warranty expires. It comes with roadside assistance and trip interruption coverage as added benefits. Mercury Insurance offers the same standard list of car insurance coverages that most companies offer.

However, you’ll need to check if you can purchase insurance from Mercury first. Mercury operates in the following states:

  • California
  • Arizona
  • Texas
  • Virginia
  • New Jersey
  • Florida
  • Illinois
  • Georgia
  • Nevada
  • New York
  • Oklahoma

If you live in one of those states, you have several options to consider if you want to buy from Mercury.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Mercury Insurance Group Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileMercuryNational Average
Clean Record$160$119
1+ Ticket$147$147
1+ Accident$175$173
DUI$213$209
Poor Credit$275$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver

View as image

The Mercury car insurance company started with the goal of providing more affordable insurance than the bigger companies can. So, has it managed to live up to that lofty goal? For the most part, Mercury does well with its prices, offering fair and competitive rates.

MercuryNational average
18 years old$140$201
21 years old$96$104
45 years old$56$59
55 years old$55$57
65 years old$57$61

As you can see, Mercury does well with younger, inexperienced drivers. As the age of the driver increases, however, there’s less difference in prices. As with most companies, Mercury offers a list of discounts to help save you as much money as possible.

Mercury Insurance Group Discounts Available

DiscountMercury
Anti Theft14%
Good Student12%
Low Mileage9%
Paperless14%
Safe Driver20%
Senior Driver6%

Before you sign the paperwork for any policy, you should check with an agent to see if you’re eligible for discounts. Mercury doesn’t have as many discounts as some of the larger insurance companies, but the options that are available will probably save you money.

  • Multi-Car Discounts: If you have more than one vehicle on your policy, you’ll be eligible for this discount.
  • Anti-Theft Device Discounts: You can save money if you have anti-theft devices in your car, such as GPS trackers, car recovery systems, or an audible alarm.
  • Bundling Discounts: Mercury offers more than car insurance. You can also purchase umbrella, renters, business, and home insurance. Earn this discount by purchasing more than one policy.
  • Paid in Full Discounts: If you pay for your entire policy instead of making monthly payments, you’ll end up paying a little less.
  • Auto-Pay Discounts: Set up automatic payments with your bank information to save a little on your monthly rates.
  • E-Sign Discounts: Using your virtual signature saves Mercury from extra paperwork, which saves the company money. Mercury passes those savings on to you.
  • Good Student Discounts: While Mercury doesn’t list the details on its site, most good student discounts are for full-time students who maintain a B or better average in school.
  • Educator Discounts: Mercury offers a discount for teachers and other educators.
  • Good Driver Discounts: Again, Mercury doesn’t list how long you need to be accident-free to qualify for this discount, but for many companies it’s three years.
  • Realdrive Discounts: This is Mercury’s discount program based on how many miles you drive. The less you drive, the more you save.
  • Mercurygo Discounts:  Mercury has a driving app that monitors how you drive. After learning your habits, it will make suggestions and score you. Mercury customers can earn a discount of up to 40% for using the app.

One thing to keep in mind is that discount availability varies by state. A Mercury Insurance agent will help you get every discount possible. By tailoring your policy to benefit from available discounts, you not only safeguard your vehicle but also ensure that you’re getting the most value out of your insurance investment.

How Mercury Insurance Group Ranks Among Providers

Mercury Insurance faces competition from several prominent players in the auto insurance industry, each vying for a share of the market. Here are some of Mercury’s main competitors:

  • Geico: Known for its humorous advertising and competitive rates, GEICO is a major player in the auto insurance sector. With a strong online presence and a variety of coverage options, Geico is often considered by consumers seeking affordable and reliable car insurance.
  • State Farm: As one of the largest auto insurance providers in the United States, State Farm boasts a vast network of agents and a wide range of insurance products. Their emphasis on personalized service and various discount programs makes them a formidable competitor for Mercury.
  • Progressive: Recognized for its innovative approach and the use of technology in insurance, Progressive appeals to customers seeking user-friendly online experiences and usage-based insurance options. Their Snapshot program, which monitors driving habits to determine premiums, sets them apart in the industry.
  • Allstate: With a strong brand presence and a comprehensive suite of insurance products, including auto insurance, Allstate competes with Mercury by offering various discounts, customizable policies, and a network of local agents for personalized service.
  • Farmers Insurance: Farmers Insurance Group provides a range of insurance products, including auto coverage. Their focus on customer service and extensive agent network positions them as a competitor for Mercury, particularly in regions where both companies operate.
  • Nationwide: Nationwide Mutual Insurance Company is a large and well-established insurer offering auto insurance along with other lines of coverage. Known for its wide range of policy options and attentive customer service, Nationwide is another player challenging Mercury in the market.

In this competitive landscape, each company strives to differentiate itself through unique features, coverage options, and discount programs. Consumers often compare these competitors to find the best fit for their individual needs and preferences.

Mercury Auto Insurance Claims Process

Ease of Filing a Claim

Mercury Insurance offers a straightforward claims process, allowing policyholders to file claims through multiple channels. While the company does not currently provide an online platform or mobile app for filing claims, customers can initiate the process over the phone.

This traditional approach may be seen as a drawback for those who prefer digital convenience. However, Mercury emphasizes a personalized touch through direct communication with claims representatives.

Average Claim Processing Time

Customer feedback on claim processing times with Mercury Insurance varies. Some policyholders report prompt and efficient handling of claims, while others express dissatisfaction with what they perceive as slower processing times compared to industry averages.

The company’s commitment to thorough investigations and assessments may contribute to the variability in processing durations.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and Payouts

The resolution of claims and the subsequent payout experience with Mercury Insurance have received mixed reviews. While some customers appreciate the fair and prompt settlements, others express discontent with perceived delays and occasional challenges in reaching mutually agreeable resolutions.

Clear communication and transparency in the claims resolution process could enhance overall customer satisfaction in this regard.

Mercury Auto Insurance Digital and Technological Features

Mobile App Features and Functionality

As of the latest information available, Mercury Insurance does not provide a dedicated mobile app for claims processing. However, the company does offer a mobile app for policy management, providing users with convenient access to essential features such as policy information, payments, and roadside assistance.

The app’s user interface is intuitive, allowing policyholders to navigate through their accounts with ease.

Online Account Management Capabilities

Mercury Insurance shines in the realm of online account management. The company’s website offers a user-friendly portal where policyholders can log in to access policy details, make payments, and review coverage options.

The online account management system provides a centralized hub for customers to efficiently handle various aspects of their policies, contributing to a seamless digital experience.

Digital Tools and Resources

While Mercury Insurance may not boast an exhaustive array of digital tools, the online platform serves as a valuable resource for policyholders. The website features educational materials, FAQs, and resources that empower customers to make informed decisions about their insurance coverage.

The integration of digital tools enhances the overall customer experience, offering convenient access to essential information.

Frequently Asked Questions

What types of coverage does Mercury Auto Insurance offer?

Mercury Auto Insurance offers a range of coverage options, including liability, collision, comprehensive, personal injury protection, uninsured motorist, and rental car coverage. They also offer additional options such as roadside assistance and pet injury coverage.

How do I get a quote from Mercury Auto Insurance?

You can get a quote from Mercury Auto Insurance by visiting their website or contacting a local agent. You’ll need to provide information such as your vehicle details, driving history, and personal information to get an accurate quote.

How do I file a claim with Mercury Auto Insurance?

You can file a claim with Mercury Auto Insurance by calling their claims hotline or submitting a claim online through their website. You’ll need to provide details about the accident, including the location, date, and other parties involved. A claims adjuster will then review your claim and determine the amount of compensation you’re eligible for.

Does Mercury Auto Insurance offer any discounts?

Yes, Mercury Auto Insurance offers several discounts, including safe driver discounts, multi-policy discounts, good student discounts, and anti-theft device discounts. They also offer discounts for members of certain professional organizations.

Can I manage my Mercury Auto Insurance policy online?

Yes, Mercury Auto Insurance has an online platform where you can manage your policy, make payments, view your coverage details, and file claims. You can also contact customer service through their website.

Is Mercury Auto Insurance available in all states?

No, Mercury Auto Insurance is only available in a few states, primarily in the western region of the US. If you’re not sure whether Mercury Auto Insurance is available in your area, you can check their website or contact a local agent.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Laura D. Adams

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Laura Adams is one of the nation’s leading finance, insurance, and small business authorities. As an award-winning author, spokesperson, and host of the top-rated Money Girl podcast since 2008, millions of readers and listeners benefit from her practical advice. Her mission is to empower consumers to live healthy and rich lives by planning for the future and making smart money decisions. She rec...

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Mercury Insurance Group

3.73 (667 reviews)
1
December 6, 2022

KamiBahrami

Worse Auto Insurance Of All

Worse and Cheapest people in nation, They do everything to NOT to pay. if you re dealing with Mercury you re dealing with "crooks". They are fraudulent company and unfortunately stay in business with fraud and scam. After over 38yars of driving with excellent driving record, I got hit hard by teenager driver insured by Mercury and stuck with over $20,000.00 bills. After nine months of nonsense excuses from Mercury ended up to hiring attorney fo...
Worse and Cheapest people in nation, They do everything to NOT to pay. if you re dealing with Mercury you re dealing with "crooks". They are fraudulent company and unfortunately stay in business with fraud and scam. After over 38yars of driving with excellent driving record, I got hit hard by teenager driver insured by Mercury and stuck with over $20,000.00 bills. After nine months of nonsense excuses from Mercury ended up to hiring attorney for trial and pay for everything from my pocket. IF ITS MERCURY HIRE ATTORNEY FROM DAY ONE. Claim#CAPA-01822908
1
November 27, 2021

steeeeve

Worst Insurance Co.

This company does not pay claims. Worst insurance company ever! Horrible customer service and claims department is a joke. I do not even understand how they are allowed to operate in the USA. I made a claim and they dismissed it before even seeing the details of the accident. Dismissing claims and not paying claims is Mercury's protocol. Paying them premiums is a waste of money because they automatically dismiss most claims and do not pay. ...
This company does not pay claims. Worst insurance company ever! Horrible customer service and claims department is a joke. I do not even understand how they are allowed to operate in the USA. I made a claim and they dismissed it before even seeing the details of the accident. Dismissing claims and not paying claims is Mercury's protocol. Paying them premiums is a waste of money because they automatically dismiss most claims and do not pay.
3
January 11, 2021

Shaya

My Review

Overall it is a good insurance company however, i do wish they would offer benefits due to the pandemic.
3
December 31, 2020

JuneT

Mercury Insurance High Premiums

I pay the premium and have made no claims. I think the rates are too high but feel comparing insurance won't yeild a different result.
4
November 20, 2020

shorty22

great service

This company is always thorough and on top of everything when it comes to actually needing them. They are very detailed in their bills. They don't hide fees. They explain everything and are by your side thru any claims.
5
October 17, 2020

Evan507

Great customer service.

Mercury has great customer service and comparable rates. They handled my claim quickly and didn't raise my rates for a small accident. Their service was quicker than expected and the representatives are all friendly and courteous. The website and app are very useful and easy to use. I highly recommend them.
3
October 8, 2020

lordaz

Mercury Review

Mercury has been great at walking me through the process of reporting an accident but they should be more diligent about continuously contacting the other insurance company to get their information.
5
October 8, 2020

danimurillo

Great service

Our vehicle was hit/damaged in the middle of the night. Called Mercury and opened a claim quickly. It was quick and easy!
4
October 5, 2020

asanchez7876

No Problems so Far.

I haven't had any good or bad experiences with them as I have not had to file any claims. So far their prices have been pretty comparable or a little cheaper than other companies.
3
October 2, 2020

chiver

Good service but high price

This is a good company that process claims without any issue. However, they increase my insurance every year and I find much cheaper insurances from other company.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption