MSI Renters Insurance Review [2024]

Discover the evolution of MSI renters insurance into the offerings of Country Financial following the merger, and explore the comprehensive coverage options, rates, and customer reviews that define this insurance transition.

UPDATED: Dec 13, 2023Fact Checked

Tonya Sisler

Insurance Content Team Lead

Tonya Sisler has been a technical insurance writer for over five years. She uses her extensive insurance and finance knowledge to write informative articles that answer readers' top questions. Her mission is to provide readers with timely, accurate information that allows them to determine their insurance needs and choose the best coverage.  Tonya currently leads a team of 10 insurance copywri...

Insurance Content Team Lead

Chris Abrams

Licensed Insurance Agent

Chris is the founder of Abrams Insurance Solutions and Marcan Insurance, which provide personal financial analysis and planning services for families and small businesses across the U.S. His companies represent nearly 100 of the top-rated insurance companies. Chris has been a licensed life and health insurance agent since 2009 and has active insurance licenses in all 50 U.S. states and D.C. Chr...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Dec 13, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Dec 13, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 13, 2023Fact Checked
4.1
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

MSI Preferred Insurance Company

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Affordable rates
  • Multiple coverage options to choose from
  • Additional coverages available for high-value items, identity theft, earthquake, flood, and sewer

Cons

  • Low customer review rating on BBB
  • Not a widely-known company, so more research is recommended before making a decision

Final Verdict: Review of MSI Preferred Insurance Company

MSI Preferred Insurance Company was founded in 1984, but it was sold to Country Mutual Insurance Company in 2012. After the two companies merged, it became known as Country Preferred Insurance Company. Its products are now sold under the Country Financial group of companies.

Below, we’ve discussed MSI renters insurance and the type of coverage that is now sold by Country Financial. Continue reading to learn more about its coverage, rates, and more.

If you’re looking to replace your MSI renters insurance, enter your ZIP code into our free quote comparison tool above to compare rates from companies near you.

MSI Preferred Insurance Company was founded in 1984, but it was sold to Country Mutual Insurance Company in 2012. After the two companies merged, it became known as Country Preferred Insurance Company. Its products are now sold under the Country Financial group of companies. Below, we've discussed MSI renters insurance and the type of coverage that is now sold by Country Financial. Continue reading to learn more about its coverage, rates, and more. If you're looking to replace your MSI renters insurance, enter your ZIP code into our free quote comparison tool above to compare rates from companies near you.

What You Should Know About Country Financial

Because MSI is no longer in business, we will provide you with the ratings for Country Financial and Country Preferred Insurance Company, which is the surviving company of the merger between MSI Preferred Insurance Company and Country Mutual Insurance Company.

Country Financial has an A+ rating from the BBB. However, its customer review rating is only 1.56 out of 5 stars.

Country Preferred Insurance Company has a financial strength rating of A+ from A.M. Best, which means that it has a superior ability to meet its financial obligations, such as paying claims. Its long-term issuer credit rating is A-, which means it also has a superior ability to pay its long-term debt.

Country Preferred Insurance Company has an NAIC complaint index of 0.37. Compared to the national average of 1.00, this means that it receives only 37% of the complaints. This can be expected for a company of its size.

How do I get a quote or file a claim?

To receive Country Financial renters insurance quotes (previously MSI renters insurance quotes), you can fill out the form on the Country Financial website to be contacted by an agent in your area. You can also call (866) 268-6879 to contact the company yourself.

There are multiple ways to file a renters insurance claim with Country Financial. You can use your Country Financial renters insurance login to manage your claims online, or you can call the number above to file over the phone. When you file a claim, you will need to provide your phone number and other contact information, policy number, date and location of the damage, and a description of the damage.

Depending on the type of event that caused damage to your property, a claims representative may schedule a time with you to come view your property. You should take steps to prevent further damage, save receipts from any emergency repairs, take photos of the damage, and make a written inventory that includes your property’s age, model number, date of purchase, and current purchase price.

How do I contact MSI?

There is no longer a MSI renters insurance phone number available. However, you can contact Country Financial at (866) 268-6879. You could also fill out the contact form provided on the Country Financial website.

Mail can be sent to Country Financial, P.O. Box 2020, Bloomington, IL 61702. However, if you’re making a Country Financial renters insurance payment (previously MSI renters insurance payment), you can send it to P.O. Box 2100, Bloomington, IL 61702. You can also make payments online. However, you shouldn’t be seeing a MSI renters charge on your credit card statements anymore, as the policies are now managed by Country Preferred Insurance Company.

Country Financial Insurance Coverage Options

MSI Preferred Insurance Company was sold to Country Financial in 2012 and merged to become Country Preferred Insurance Company. Therefore, MSI renters insurance is now sold by Country Financial. It offers two different renters insurance policies:

  • Basic coverage. This coverage names specific events in which it will cover your belongings. Some of the events include lightning or fire, theft and vandalism, wind or hail, frozen pipes, or spoiled refrigerated products.
  • Premier coverage. This will cover your belongings for any of the events listed in the Basic policy, plus some extra events, such as damage to appliances from a power surge, damage from spilled paint, or broken antiques.

When you buy a policy from Country Financial, you can choose between actual cash value claims settlement or replacement cost claims settlement. Actual cash value claims settlement means that you would receive coverage up to the value of your belongings minus depreciation, while replacement cost claims settlement means that you would receive coverage up to the cost to repair or replace the damage with today’s cost.

Every Country Financial renters insurance policy includes liability coverage to cover you if someone is injured on your property or if you damage someone else’s property. Country Financial’s liability limits are up to $1 million, and you can add special endorsements for things like small businesses or watercraft. You can also purchase up to $25,000 in medical coverage for people who are injured on your property.

Country Financial also offers additional coverages for high-value items, such as:

  • Jewelry, watches, and furs
  • Silverware, gold ware, and pewter-ware
  • Money and other currency
  • Firearms
  • Watercraft
  • Recreational motor vehicles

You can also add identity theft coverage, earthquake coverage, flood insurance, and sewer coverage.

Should I buy MSI renters insurance?

Because MSI Preferred Insurance Company merged with Country Mutual Insurance Company, you would now have to buy your renters insurance policy from Country Preferred Insurance Company, the company resulting from the merger.

Country Financial renters insurance policies seem to be fairly comprehensive. The company provides more than one base policy and multiple ways to customize your coverage, so you can get exactly what you need. It also offers its products at affordable rates.

Customers seem to be happy with their Country Financial coverage, but it is not a widely-known company, so it’s always recommended to do a little more research before making a decision.

If you’re unable to find affordable MSI renters insurance or Country Financial renters insurance, enter your ZIP code into our free quote comparison tool below to find a company near you.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Country Financial Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileMSI Renters InsuranceNational Average
Clean Record$124$119
1+ Ticket$152$147
1+ Accident$169$173
DUI$199$209
Poor Credit$213$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver

The average cost of Country Financial renters insurance rates (or MSI renters insurance rates) are $154 per year or $13 per month. We can also take a look at the average renters insurance rates by state to give you an idea of what you might pay.

Average Renters Insurance Rates by State
StateAverage Annual Renters Insurance RatesAverage Monthly Renters Insurance Rates
National Average$168$14
Alabama$222$18
Alaska$123$10
Arizona$179$15
Arkansas$214$18
California$217$18
Colorado$156$13
Connecticut$172$14
Delaware$150$13
Florida$191$16
Georgia$243$20
Hawaii$164$14
Idaho$133$11
Illinois$167$14
Indiana$155$13
Iowa$110$9
Kansas$225$19
Kentucky$170$14
Louisiana$262$22
Maine$150$13
Maryland$175$15
Massachusetts$192$16
Michigan$201$17
Minnesota$153$13
Mississippi$228$19
Missouri$134$11
Montana$162$14
Nebraska$122$10
Nevada$162$13
New Hampshire$135$11
New Jersey$163$14
New Mexico$148$12
New York$142$12
North Carolina$148$12
North Dakota$116$10
Ohio$135$11
Oklahoma$210$17
Oregon$149$12
Pennsylvania$116$10
Rhode Island$166$14
South Carolina$188$16
South Dakota$123$10
Tennessee$155$13
Texas$197$16
Utah$138$11
Vermont$110$9
Virginia$149$12
Washington$140$12
Washington, D.C.$166$14
West Virginia$142$12
Wisconsin$122$10
Wyoming$101$8

In many cases, Country Financial’s rates are slightly lower than the national and state averages. In addition, Country Financial offers some discounts to save you even more money. These discounts include multi-policy discounts, claim-free discounts, welcome discounts, loyalty discounts, and good payer discounts.

Country Financial Discounts Available

DiscountMSI Renters Insurance
Anti Theft10%
Good Student9%
Low Mileage10%
Paperless5%
Safe Driver10%
Senior Driver5%

The provided content did not explicitly mention specific discounts offered by MSI renters insurance. However, it did mention discounts offered by Country Financial, the company that took over MSI Preferred Insurance Company. Here are some of the discounts mentioned in the content:

  • Multi-policy discounts: Discounts may be available when you bundle multiple insurance policies with Country Financial.
  • Claim-free discounts: Policyholders who have a history of not filing claims may qualify for discounts.
  • Welcome discounts: New customers may be eligible for introductory discounts when they sign up for insurance with Country Financial.
  • Loyalty discounts: Discounts for policyholders who have been with Country Financial for an extended period.
  • Good payer discounts: Discounts for customers who consistently make on-time payments.

Please note that the availability and specifics of discounts may vary, and it’s always recommended to check with the insurance provider directly for the most accurate and up-to-date information on discounts.

How Country Financial Ranks Among Providers

MSI Preferred Insurance, now operating under Country Financial following a merger, faces competition from several key players in the insurance industry. Here’s an overview of its main competitors:

  • State Farm Insurance: State Farm is a well-established insurance giant known for its extensive range of insurance products and services. With a large customer base, State Farm offers competitive rates and a strong reputation for customer service.
  • Allstate Insurance: Allstate is a prominent insurance provider offering a variety of coverage options. It is recognized for its innovative features and various discounts aimed at attracting a wide range of customers.
  • Geico Insurance: Known for its direct-to-consumer model and witty advertising, GEICO is a major player in the insurance industry. It emphasizes competitive rates and simplicity in its offerings.
  • Progressive Insurance: Progressive has gained attention for its innovative approach, particularly in the auto insurance sector. It is known for offering a range of coverage options and utilizing technology for personalized pricing.
  • Farmers Insurance: Farmers Insurance is a diverse insurance provider offering a range of products, including homeowners and renters insurance. It emphasizes personalized service through a network of local agents.

While MSI Preferred Insurance, now part of Country Financial, brings its unique offerings to the table, it competes in a dynamic market alongside these major industry players. Each competitor has its strengths and weaknesses, making it crucial for consumers to carefully compare policies and select the one that aligns with their specific needs and preferences.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is MSI Renters Insurance?

MSI Renters Insurance is now sold by Country Financial since MSI Preferred Insurance Company merged with Country Mutual Insurance Company in 2012.

How do I get a quote for Country Financial Renters Insurance?

To receive Country Financial renters insurance quotes, you can fill out the form on the Country Financial website to be contacted by an agent in your area or call (866) 268-6879.

How do I file a renters insurance claim with Country Financial?

You can use your Country Financial renters insurance login to manage your claims online, or you can call the number (866) 268-6879 to file over the phone. When filing a claim, you will need to provide your policy number, phone number and other contact information, date and location of the damage, and a description of the damage.

What is the cost of Country Financial renters insurance rates?

The average cost of Country Financial renters insurance rates is $154 per year or $13 per month.

What type of coverage does Country Financial renters insurance offer?

Country Financial offers two different renters insurance policies: actual cash value claims settlement and replacement cost claims settlement. Every policy includes liability coverage to cover you if someone is injured on your property or if you damage someone else’s property.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Tonya Sisler

Insurance Content Team Lead

Tonya Sisler has been a technical insurance writer for over five years. She uses her extensive insurance and finance knowledge to write informative articles that answer readers' top questions. Her mission is to provide readers with timely, accurate information that allows them to determine their insurance needs and choose the best coverage.  Tonya currently leads a team of 10 insurance copywri...

Insurance Content Team Lead

Chris Abrams

Licensed Insurance Agent

Chris is the founder of Abrams Insurance Solutions and Marcan Insurance, which provide personal financial analysis and planning services for families and small businesses across the U.S. His companies represent nearly 100 of the top-rated insurance companies. Chris has been a licensed life and health insurance agent since 2009 and has active insurance licenses in all 50 U.S. states and D.C. Chr...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Country Financial

4.12 (442 reviews)
5
January 16, 2021

Mjaw87

Great company

I have always had a great experience with this company I have had the same agent since I got my own policy and have been with him ever since
5
November 25, 2020

Dogs2015

Great company

Great company and always available to help quickly with any questions or issues. Highly recommended.
5
October 18, 2020

mamdata

Country Financial Is There When You Need Them.

Great company. I have never had an issue with them on my auto or home insurance. I once had to have my van towed and they immediately reimbursed me within two weeks of the towing. I like that fact that they include towing on the car insurance coverage.
1
August 25, 2020

Shelbyray26

Do not go with Country!!

I paid for my policy upfront for 3 months and should have been covered May-August. August rolls around, and I reach out to see when I owed my next payment and I was informed that my policy was cancelled in May and they refunded me by mailing me a check that I had never even received. They tried to tell me I called in and cancelled this policy, which I did not. After trying to pull the call they determined it was a system error and I had been unco...
I paid for my policy upfront for 3 months and should have been covered May-August. August rolls around, and I reach out to see when I owed my next payment and I was informed that my policy was cancelled in May and they refunded me by mailing me a check that I had never even received. They tried to tell me I called in and cancelled this policy, which I did not. After trying to pull the call they determined it was a system error and I had been uncovered for almost 3 months. The worst part is nobody had informed me my policy was cancelled at any point in time. Because of this lapse in coverage due to their error I had CPI added onto my loan. Once the policy was reinstated, I noticed a second vehicle (not mine) and a renter’s insurance policy (not mine) and they let me know after removing these my payments would increase almost $100 from what I was originally paying because of their error. The communication is HORRIBLE, and they do not listen to customers frustrations whatsoever. Rates are incredibly high, and I will never insure with them EVER again. They admitted their fault but did not do much to make the situation better or make it right. Very disappointed.
4
February 23, 2020

Jenczap

Check out Country Financial

My agent and his office has been a huge help over the last many years. From changing cars to going from homeowners to renters...they have made everything so easy to understand.
5
February 4, 2020

Tammi1982

Country Financial is awesome

Country Financial is an awesome insurance company. Filed a claim with them 2016 for a car accident I was in and they were on top of everything. Whatever questions my fiance and I had they answered. They also helped replace my children's carseats. I would highly recommend them.
5
February 3, 2020

Burtondr

My Country Financial Review

I am happy with Country Financial. They have always helped when needed. No rate increases. Looking time customer.
5
January 30, 2020

Stotta

Great Insurance

Country has been an amazing insurance company and very personal which I love. I know my agent and could chat with him in the store if I ran into him!
1
January 28, 2020

NinaDon1010

DONT GO WITH COUNTRY

In the past three years. I have some true eye opening experiences with Country Financial. We have been involved in three separate claims where two of them we were not at fault, given statements and all paperwork and following their process and procedure. During the processes they show little concern of the wellbeing of customers. What really concerns me the lack of communication from adjusters, claim adjusters, and people in the arbitration off...
In the past three years. I have some true eye opening experiences with Country Financial. We have been involved in three separate claims where two of them we were not at fault, given statements and all paperwork and following their process and procedure. During the processes they show little concern of the wellbeing of customers. What really concerns me the lack of communication from adjusters, claim adjusters, and people in the arbitration offices. I mean NOTHING. Unless, you call and email and reach out. They feel that if sending a vague letter is sufficient. It truly made me realize that this company is out for themselves and doesn’t see that their lack of reaching out and communication any information hurts their customers. We pay insurance to get updated and be on the better side of any issues. Instead we are left in the dark unless we reach out. We just learned this past month, we are held liable for all any open claims… and they allowed a settlement to happen without getting any 2nd statements or updates from/for us, the customer. The claim agent stated to us that having two open claims is against us…. How is being hit while at a stop light our fault if the other insurance company is denying any fault due to reasons unknown. Isn’t that part of your job to fight for the cause and for your customer? How is having an open claim against us? It was a true shock to realize how they process information and hold it against you in the end. I asked for letter of explanation on a claim and a supervisor. A SUPERVISOR, send me the timeline of when we opened a claim….showing NOTHING to do with the timeline of the claims agent messing up communication and why they settled… It was baffling. I have come to realize through speaking with out customers having gone through similar situation if not exact. You pay a lot of money to have them and they pay out regardless of fault or not. So you get dinged in the end no matter what. I plan to switch insurance companies very soon- Country has taken steps to ruin our polices without even advising us what was going on. Our Agent was also baffled and then started to tell us that it’s best to wait till they drop off to move companies. She even stated they aren’t doing well due to the amount of claims in the past three years they paid out. They are known to pay out often. So having them as your insurance company, you can almost guarantee anyone and their mom can sue them with a lawyer and you’ll get money. And you as the customer are likely to be affected.
1
January 14, 2020

Kellyc92

Terrible do not use

Worst company to deal with for an automobile claim. Car accident occurred nearly a month ago and anytime I try to obtain updates I'm rerouted to voicemails by rude intake people. Communication is lacking substantially
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption