Nationwide Motorcycle Insurance Review [2024]

Motorcycle insurance is far from one-size-fits-all, and our Nationwide motorcycle insurance review notes coverages on motorcycles both new and old, including up to $30,000 coverage of antique motorcycle insurance. We also discounts and how to get a Nationwide motorcycle insurance quote.

UPDATED: Feb 19, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 19, 2024Fact Checked

Laura Kuhl

Insurance Content Team Lead

Laura Kuhl holds a Master’s Degree in Professional Writing from the University of North Carolina at Wilmington. Her career began in healthcare and wellness, creating lifestyle content for doctors, dentists, and other healthcare and holistic professionals. In 2018, she started writing for the cannabis industry. She curated news articles and insider interviews with investors and small business ...

Insurance Content Team Lead

Michelle Robbins

Licensed Insurance Agent

Michelle Robbins has been a licensed insurance agent for over 13 years. Her career began in the real estate industry, supporting local realtors with Title Insurance. After several years, Michelle shifted to real estate home warranty insurance, where she managed a territory of over 100 miles of real estate professionals. Later, Agent Robbins obtained more licensing and experience serving families a...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Feb 19, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Feb 19, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 19, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Feb 19, 2024Fact Checked
4.0
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Nationwide Motorcycle Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$42

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Comprehensive coverage options
  • Strong financial stability
  • Responsive customer service

Cons

  • Limited discounts compared to some competitors
  • Rates can be higher than competitors

Final Verdict: Review of Nationwide Motorcycle Insurance

Nationwide motorcycle insurance emerges as a top choice for riders seeking reliable coverage and exceptional service. With a history dating back to 1926 and an A+ rating from A.M. Best, Nationwide showcases its commitment to protecting riders and their motorcycles with comprehensive coverage options tailored to individual needs.

The company’s competitive rates, coupled with its nationwide availability and strong financial stability, make it a trusted choice for riders across the country.

While Nationwide offers limited discounts compared to some competitors, its responsive customer service and hassle-free claims process contribute to its positive reputation among customers.

Overall, Nationwide motorcycle insurance stands out as a dependable option for riders seeking peace of mind on the road.

What You Should Know About Nationwide

Company Contact Information:

Related Parent or Child Companies:

Financial Ratings:

  • A.M. Best Rating: A+

Customer Service Ratings:

  • Responsive customer service

Claims Information:

  • Claims can be filed online, through the Nationwide mobile app, or by contacting Nationwide’s claims department directly.

Company Apps:

  • Nationwide Mobile App: Available for iOS and Android devices, allowing customers to manage their policies, file claims, and access roadside assistance.

What types of motorcycles does Nationwide insure?

Nationwide tailors products according to your needs and the type of bike you own.

For example, Nationwide can add an OEM endorsement to your policy when you buy a new or like-new motorcycle, ensuring that you get new parts from the original equipment manufacturer. If new parts are unavailable, the company will pay you an amount based on the fair market value of that OEM part instead.

If you have an antique vintage motorcycle, talk with Nationwide about classic motorcycle insurance. This can cover your bike up to $30,000.

If you only plan to use your bike off-road, you should still get insurance to protect against damage. In this case, Nationwide motorcycle insurance can extend to include extreme sports and provide collision, comprehensive, bodily injury, personal property, and medical payment protection.

When back on the blacktop, ask Nationwide about coverage for sport bikes or touring motorcycles. Some states may require you to carry moped car insurance, and you can get Nationwide moped insurance. 

If you need coverage for additional items such as two-way radio and GPS, you may be able to blend insurance for a motorcycle like this with Nationwide homeowners content coverage. See our article on home and auto insurance bundles

Read more: Does car insurance cover motorcycles?

Nationwide Insurance Coverage Options

Nationwide provides a range of coverage options for motorcycle insurance, tailored to meet the diverse needs of riders. These coverage options include:

  • Comprehensive Coverage: Protection against damages not caused by collisions, including theft, vandalism, and natural disasters.
  • Collision Coverage: Coverage for damages resulting from collisions with other vehicles or objects.
  • Liability Coverage: Coverage for bodily injury and property damage to others in the event of an accident.
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage: Protection against damages caused by drivers with insufficient or no insurance coverage.
  • Medical Payments Coverage: Coverage for medical expenses resulting from injuries sustained in a motorcycle accident.
  • Personal Injury Protection (PIP): Coverage for medical expenses and lost wages for you and your passengers, regardless of fault.
  • Roadside Assistance: Optional coverage for assistance in the event of breakdowns, flat tires, or other roadside emergencies. Learn more in our article Top Roadside Assistance Provider.

If you want to dig into more details about motorcycle insurance, see our articles Can you get liability insurance on a motorcycle with a salvage title? and Can I buy custom built motorcycle insurance?.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Nationwide Insurance Rates Breakdown

What issues influence Nationwide motorcycle insurance quotes?

Insurance underwriters take many factors into account when determining motorcycle insurance rates. When it comes to the machine itself, they need to know the vehicle type, age, make/model, and engine size. Companies also want to know how you intend to use the vehicle and whether it has any modifications or conversions.

The company will also gather crucial details about you, including your age, ZIP code, driving history, and credit score.

Read more:

Your rates will also vary depending on the deductible and policy coverages you choose.  In most states, you will need a minimum liability policy but should always consider comprehensive and collision to protect the value of your investment.

Read more: Cheapest Auto Insurance for Motorcycles

Nationwide Discounts Available

Nationwide seeks to attract motorcycle riders by offering various discounts. You may be eligible for:

  • Multi-vehicle. If you have another car,  boat, or ATV, bundle these together for a saving. 
  • Multi-policy. Why not combine this coverage with home or life policies?
  • Theft recovery device. Get a GPS recovery system or professionally installed radio to save money on your comprehensive coverage.
  • Anti-lock brakes. You need a factory-installed ABS to get this discount.
  • Full payment. Pay your entire premium in full at the outset to get this discount.
  • Association membership. You may qualify for another discount if you’re a member of an owners’ group or other riding association.

Nationwide insures many types of motorcycles and offers a range of discounts for riders. So it’s worth your time to consider using Nationwide while shopping around for various quotes.

For details on vehicle discounts, see our article Auto Insurance Discounts: The Best Ways to Save Money.

How Nationwide Ranks Among Providers

Nationwide bike insurance competes with several other major insurers in the motorcycle insurance market. Some of its main competitors include:

  • Progressive: Progressive is known for its innovative insurance solutions and extensive range of coverage options for motorcycle riders. They offer competitive rates and discounts, including multi-policy and safe driver discounts.
  • Geico: Geico is one of the largest motorcycle insurance providers in the United States, offering affordable rates and customizable coverage options. They provide various discounts, including multi-vehicle, safety course, and military discounts. See our Geico motorcycle insurance review.
  • State Farm: State Farm is a well-established insurance provider known for its personalized service and extensive network of agents. They offer comprehensive motorcycle insurance coverage, along with discounts for multiple policies and safe driving habits.
  • Allstate: Allstate offers motorcycle insurance with customizable coverage options and various discounts, including multi-policy, multi-vehicle, and safe rider discounts. They also provide roadside assistance and other optional coverages.
  • USAA: USAA primarily serves military members and their families, offering motorcycle insurance with competitive rates and discounts tailored to military personnel. They provide comprehensive coverage options and excellent customer service.
Statistically, motorcycles are more dangerous than cars. So it makes sense for Nationwide to offer a discount when you complete a motorcycle safety course. You can find a course near you through the Motorcycle Safety Foundation.

Tracey L. Wells Licensed Insurance Agent & Agency Owner

These competitors pose a challenge to Nationwide by offering similar coverage options, discounts, and competitive rates, making it essential for Nationwide to continuously innovate and provide exceptional service to stand out in the market.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Nationwide motorcycle insurance right for you?

Nationwide’s strong reputation and varying discounts make it a good choice for motorcycle insurance. Policy options are available based on your bike type and usage.

What types of motorcycles does Nationwide insure?

Nationwide tailors its products to your needs and the type of bike you own. They offer coverage for new, vintage, off-road, sport bikes, touring motorcycles, and even mopeds.

Can you get motorcycle insurance discounts with Nationwide?

Yes, Nationwide offers various discounts for motorcycle riders, potentially helping you save on your insurance premiums.

What issues influence Nationwide motorcycle insurance quotes?

Insurance underwriters consider factors such as vehicle type, age, make/model, engine size, usage, modifications, age, ZIP code, driving history, credit score, deductible, and policy coverages when determining motorcycle insurance rates.

Is Nationwide good at paying claims?

Nationwide is decent at paying claims compared to the average insurance company, according to J.D. Power’s latest claims satisfaction survey. Claims can be filed online, through the Nationwide mobile app, or by contacting Nationwide’s claims department directly.

Is Nationwide a strong insurance company?

Yes, Nationwide is a good insurance company. In addition to its solid auto insurance coverage, the provider offers a wide variety of insurance products for individuals and businesses, as well as banking/investment services and retirement plans.

Should I buy Nationwide insurance for my motorcycle?

Nationwide is one of the biggest motorcycle insurance companies in America, known for its excellent reputation and financial strength. However, it’s recommended to shop around and compare quotes from at least three different companies to find the best insurer for you.

Who has the best motorcycle insurance?

When comparing factors including coverage types, price, and policy customization options, Progressive is best overall, Geico is best for daily commuters, Foremost is best for motorcycle collectors, and Safeco is best for custom bike owners.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Laura Kuhl

Insurance Content Team Lead

Laura Kuhl holds a Master’s Degree in Professional Writing from the University of North Carolina at Wilmington. Her career began in healthcare and wellness, creating lifestyle content for doctors, dentists, and other healthcare and holistic professionals. In 2018, she started writing for the cannabis industry. She curated news articles and insider interviews with investors and small business ...

Insurance Content Team Lead

Michelle Robbins

Licensed Insurance Agent

Michelle Robbins has been a licensed insurance agent for over 13 years. Her career began in the real estate industry, supporting local realtors with Title Insurance. After several years, Michelle shifted to real estate home warranty insurance, where she managed a territory of over 100 miles of real estate professionals. Later, Agent Robbins obtained more licensing and experience serving families a...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Nationwide

4.02 (3,019 reviews)
1
December 7, 2021

brycelefevre

Long phone wait times

Had to call in a few times now for the same auto claim. The first time was nearly 1.5 hours before anyone picked up. Today I have been waiting over 2 hours for an answer and still nothing. Nationwide should learn to take care of their customers and answer the phones so they can provide the service they are being paid to provide!
5
January 16, 2021

Wareagle256205

Is Nationwide REALLY on your side?

Happy with Nationwide so far. Premiums are not too shabby. The agent and customer service has been more than helpful. This is good after having horrible experience with another provider.
5
January 16, 2021

Danielle202

Best Insurance Company

its best insurance company for me. i like this company. this companies policy suit every person. so anyone like it.
5
January 5, 2021

Purple1992_

Great service and worth the money

I enjoyed their service and think that they really do put their customer first by accommodating them as much possible
4
December 24, 2020

Lawanda

Delighted to have auto insurance and roadside assistance.

It was wintertime and I wasn't thinking clearly. I started my car to let it warm up and locked my keys inside. I had to go to a neighbor's house and call for a lock out. I had to wait at my neighbors until they came, but had to keep an eye on my car at the same time. I was so happy to have insurance to cover this experience. It could have been a lot worse. They were there within 30 minutes or so.
5
December 22, 2020

Anna5N

Nationwide is the best

They have fantastic rates and good quality coverage for the price. The staff are very knowledgeable and always help me with my auto insurance needs.
5
December 15, 2020

Jencorbin

Nationwide really is on your side

I have had nationwide auto insurance since I started driving. I watched nationwide cover my parent's auto and homeowners needs. Nationwide has helped me through a decent amount of claims. I have the perfect coverage for my auto needs at competitive prices. Nationwide representatives are helpful and truly have your best interests at heart. I'm able to bundle my auto insurance with my renter's insurance to get more of a discoun...
I have had nationwide auto insurance since I started driving. I watched nationwide cover my parent's auto and homeowners needs. Nationwide has helped me through a decent amount of claims. I have the perfect coverage for my auto needs at competitive prices. Nationwide representatives are helpful and truly have your best interests at heart. I'm able to bundle my auto insurance with my renter's insurance to get more of a discount. I have no plan switching insurance providers anytime soon because I am so satisfied.
4
November 26, 2020

Adelbert

In Nationwide I Trust

My experience with nationwide is really fascinating. They vaule their customers very much. They care about their customers. Their service is up to the mark. I am really happy to be with them.
2
October 21, 2020

RD2371

Misleading adice

I was quoted 1 price but every time interest rate went up so did my payment and I got to where I come afford payment
5
October 21, 2020

JealousGull

Staying with another 10+ years

I’ve had Nationwide for years because of their loyalty to their customers. My agent goes above and beyond while making sure to help anyway possible should the need arise. I’ve had to have my vehicle towed quite a few times and always dread trying to find a towing company due to a past experience of a towing company trying to be sent from an entirely different city over a hour away, I immediately called my agent who straightened everything out...
I’ve had Nationwide for years because of their loyalty to their customers. My agent goes above and beyond while making sure to help anyway possible should the need arise. I’ve had to have my vehicle towed quite a few times and always dread trying to find a towing company due to a past experience of a towing company trying to be sent from an entirely different city over a hour away, I immediately called my agent who straightened everything out and had a tow truck on the way arriving in 15 minutes. I also like my yearly calendar!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption