NJM (NJ Manufacturers) Auto Insurance Review [2024]

NJM Auto Insurance stands out as a reliable choice for drivers in select states, offering competitive rates and earning high customer satisfaction scores, as evidenced by its top position in J.D. Power’s Auto Insurance Study.

UPDATED: Jan 21, 2024Fact Checked

Dani Best

Licensed Insurance Producer

Dani Best has been a licensed insurance producer for nearly 10 years. Dani began her insurance career in a sales role with State Farm in 2014. During her time in sales, she graduated with her Bachelors in Psychology from Capella University and is currently earning her Masters in Marriage and Family Therapy. Since 2014, Dani has held and maintains licenses in Life, Disability, Property, and Casualt...

Licensed Insurance Producer

Diego Anderson

Licensed Real Estate Agent

Diego Anderson is a Real Estate Agent based in the Bay Area of California. Having received his Real Estate License at the age of 18, he wasted no time learning the ins and outs of the industry. With a focus on residential dual agency, he has a passion for supporting and educating families on their home buying and selling decisions. He is no stranger to new builds and new developments. He also r...

Licensed Real Estate Agent

UPDATED: Jan 21, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 21, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 21, 2024Fact Checked
4.7
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

NJM Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • High customer and financial ratings
  • Affordable compared to other larger insurance companies
  • Offers several auto insurance discounts
  • Transparent claims process
  • Offers other types of insurance products, including business insurance

Cons

  • Only available in five states (New Jersey, Ohio, Maryland, Pennsylvania, and Connecticut)
  • Limited coverage options, particularly personal injury protection
  • Relatively small market share compared to larger insurance companies

Final Verdict: Review of NJM Insurance

NJM Insurance Group provides NJ Manufacturers auto insurance. NJM Insurance Group is a company with a more than 100-year history. Founded as New Jersey Manufacturers Casualty Insurance Company during the Woodrow Wilson administration, the company initially offered workers’ compensation for New Jersey laborers.

New Jersey Manufacturers auto insurance is now available in four states besides New Jersey: Connecticut, Maryland, Ohio, and Pennsylvania. Ohio and Maryland were recently added.  NJM auto insurance has a relatively small market share but high customer and financial rankings. It is also highly affordable in comparison to larger auto insurance companies.

Additionally, NJM is transparent about its claims process. Read on to know more about affordable NJ Manufacturers auto insurance. And to see rates from top auto insurance companies in your area, enter your ZIP code into our free quote tool above.

What You Should Know About NJM Insurance Group

NJM Insurance Group has high customer service and financial ratings.

  • New Jersey Manufacturers enjoys an A+ (Superior) A.M. Best rating.
  • For the J.D. Power 2021 United States Auto Insurance Study, NJM Insurance Group scored 867 out of 1,000 points to lead the Mid-Atlantic region.
  • NJM had only seven complaints, six of which were for its personal auto insurance, for the National Association of Insurance Commissioners customer complaint index. NJM’s index was only 0.19, well below the average.

We should note that while NJM did not place in J.D. Power’s auto insurance claims survey this year, the company earned 909 points in the 2020 survey, easily topping other companies. Part of NJ Manufacturer’s success is its claims process, which we will discuss next.

NJM Insurance Group Insurance Coverage Options

NJ Manufacturers auto insurance offers five basic coverages to customers:

  • Liability auto insurance
  • Collision auto insurance
  • Comprehensive auto insurance
  • Medical expenses insurance
  • Underinsured and uninsured motorist auto insurance

NJM’s underinsured and uninsured motorist insurance is subject to state laws (namely, regarding your right to sue). The company also offers personal injury protection, but only in New Jersey. Additionally, NJM includes endorsements that you can add to your policy:

  • Roadside assistance
  • GAP insurance
  • Transportation expenses
  • Trailer/camper body coverage
  • A rideshare driver endorsement

Read more: Top New Jersey Auto Insurance Providers

If you need extra liability protection, NJM suggests purchasing an umbrella policy. This option is available at a nominal cost to customers with a $500,000-limit auto insurance policy.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

NJM Insurance Group Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileNJ ManufacturersNational Average
Clean Record$92$119
1+ Ticket$117$147
1+ Accident$156$173
DUI$196$209
Poor Credit$158$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver

View as image

Let’s compare NJ Manufacturers’ auto insurance rates to top companies.

NJ Manufacturers Auto Insurance Company Rates Comparison
CompanyAverage Annual Rates for Minimum CoverageAverage Annual Rates for Full Coverage
New Jersey Manufacturers$569.44$1,189.75
Allstate$945.89$1,976.24
American Family$699.51$1,461.50
Amica Mutual$613.40$1,281.60
Erie$588.70$1,230
Farmers$654.09$1,366.60
Geico$620.01$1,295.40
The Hartford$597.24$1,247.83
Liberty Mutual$687.48$1,436.37
Mercury Insurance$572.912$1,197
Nationwide$907.79$1,896.67
Progressive$845.07$1,765.62
Safeco$568,60$1,188
State Farm$615.46$1,285.90
USAA$613.99$1,282.83

NJM offers competitive rates, and you can save even more with NJ Manufacturers’ auto insurance discounts.

NJM Insurance Group Discounts Available

DiscountsNJ Manufacturers
Anti Theft15%
Good Student17%
Low Mileage15%
Paperless9%
Safe Driver23%
Senior Driver16%

NJ Manufacturers offer up to 12 auto insurance discounts to customers.

NJ Manufacturers Auto Insurance Discounts
DiscountHow to Earn the Discount
Defensive DrivingAttend a classroom or online New Jersey Vehicle Commission-approved defensive driving course Only available in New Jersey.
Driver Training DiscountPresent documentation for attending the course. Not available in Ohio.
Electronic PaymentEnroll in the automatic payment plan on NJM’s website.
Full CoverageInclude collision and comprehensive coverage in your policy.
Good Student DiscountInclude a high school or college student who made the honor roll or the Dean’s list. Alternatively, the student can earn a B or 3.0 grade point average.
Home and Auto BundleAdd NJ Manufacturers auto insurance to your policy if you already have homeowners, condo, or renters insurance with the company.
Mature DriverYou must be at least 55 or 60 years old and take an approved defensive driving course.
Multi-Vehicle DiscountIf you have two or more vehicles insured with NJM, the company will apply a discount to each vehicle.
New CarYou can receive this discount if your car is two years old or younger.
Paid in FullPay in full each renewal period instead of monthly in installments.
Paperless DiscountChoose electronic billing. This is not available in New Jersey.
Vehicle Safety Equipment DiscountYour vehicle must have an anti-theft or vehicle recovery device, anti-lock brakes, or passive restraints. You might get a discount for each if your vehicle has multiple features.

Connecticut has separate qualifications for the Driver Training Discount. Connecticut, Maryland, Ohio, and Pennsylvania each have specific stipulations for the Mature Driver discount.

 

How NJM Insurance Group Ranks Among Providers

NJM Auto Insurance faces competition from several prominent players in the auto insurance industry. While NJM stands out for its regional focus and customer satisfaction, it’s essential to acknowledge its main competitors:

  • Geico: Known for its extensive advertising campaigns and online presence, Geico is a national giant in the auto insurance industry. Geico often attracts customers with its competitive rates and a wide range of coverage options.
  • State Farm: As one of the largest auto insurance providers in the United States, State Farm boasts a vast network of agents and a comprehensive suite of insurance products. It is particularly recognized for its personalized customer service.
  • Progressive: Renowned for its innovative approach and user-friendly online platform, Progressive appeals to tech-savvy customers. The company emphasizes competitive rates and offers various discounts.
  • Allstate: With a strong national presence, Allstate is recognized for its diverse insurance products, including auto, home, and life insurance. Allstate often stands out for its customizable coverage options.
  • USAA: While primarily serving military members and their families, USAA competes with NJM in offering exceptional customer service and tailored insurance solutions. USAA is known for its commitment to serving the military community.
  • Nationwide: With a broad range of insurance products, including auto and home insurance, Nationwide is a major competitor. The company emphasizes a network of local agents for a personalized touch.
  • Liberty Mutual: Liberty Mutual is known for its extensive coverage options and customizable policies. It appeals to customers seeking flexibility and a range of discounts.

Each of these competitors brings its own strengths to the table, whether through national reach, technological innovation, or a focus on specific customer segments. NJM’s regional emphasis, coupled with its high customer satisfaction and competitive rates, positions it as a formidable player in the competitive auto insurance landscape.

NJM (NJ Manufacturers) Auto Insurance Claims Process

Ease of Filing a Claim

NJM Auto Insurance prioritizes a seamless claims process, offering multiple channels for filing a claim. Policyholders can conveniently report a claim either online through the company’s official website or over the phone by calling the 24/7 claims center at 1-800-367-6564.

Additionally, the availability of a user-friendly mobile app enhances accessibility, allowing customers to initiate the claims process with just a few taps on their devices.

Average Claim Processing Time

NJM is committed to swift and efficient claim processing. While actual processing times may vary based on the nature and complexity of the claim, the company aims to expedite the resolution process. Policyholders can expect timely assessments and disbursements, contributing to a responsive claims experience.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and Payouts

Customer satisfaction with NJM’s claim resolutions and payouts remains notably high. Positive feedback highlights the company’s commitment to fair and prompt settlements. The transparency in the claims process and the dedication to addressing customer concerns contribute to a positive overall experience for policyholders.

NJM (NJ Manufacturers) Auto Insurance Digital and Technological Features

Mobile App Features and Functionality

NJM Auto Insurance provides a robust mobile app designed to streamline the insurance experience. The app offers features such as policy management, claims tracking, and digital ID cards. Policyholders can easily access their coverage details, make payments, and report claims directly from their mobile devices.

The user-friendly interface ensures a convenient and efficient interaction with the insurer’s services on the go.

Online Account Management Capabilities

The online account management capabilities of NJM empower policyholders with comprehensive control over their insurance policies. Through the official website, customers can manage their accounts, review policy details, update information, and make necessary changes.

The online portal ensures a secure and user-friendly environment for policy management, enhancing the overall digital experience for users.

Digital Tools and Resources

NJM Auto Insurance invests in digital tools and resources to enhance customer engagement. From educational resources on insurance topics to online calculators helping customers assess their coverage needs, NJM provides a range of digital tools.

These resources contribute to an informed and empowered customer base, fostering a sense of confidence and understanding in navigating the complexities of auto insurance.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is NJM (NJ Manufacturers) Auto Insurance?

NJM (NJ Manufacturers) Auto Insurance is a car insurance company that has been around for over 100 years. Initially, the company provided workers’ compensation insurance in New Jersey, but now it offers car insurance in New Jersey, Connecticut, Maryland, Ohio, and Pennsylvania.

 

The company has high customer and financial ratings, a relatively small market share, and is affordable compared to other larger insurance companies. Additionally, NJM is transparent about its claims process.

Is NJM Insurance Group a good choice?

NJM Insurance Group has high customer service and financial ratings. The company earned 909 points in the 2020 survey, topping other companies.

What can you expect from the New Jersey Manufacturers insurance company claims process?

If you need to report an auto insurance claim with NJ Manufacturers. Call NJM’s claims center at 1-800-367-6564 or report a claim online with your NJ Manufacturers login. Then, provide the following information to an NJM representative: your policy number, the date, time, and location of the accident, a description of what happened, and the names, addresses, and phone numbers of everyone involved.

 

Finally, an adjuster will review the damage to your vehicle and determine whether it is repairable or a total loss. They will then estimate the cost of repairs and authorize the repair work if the cost is below your car’s actual cash value.

Should you buy NJ Manufacturers auto insurance?

If you live in New Jersey, Ohio, Maryland, Pennsylvania, or Connecticut, you would be working with a highly-regarded company that offers affordable auto insurance. It may be beneficial to compare NJM’s auto insurance quotes to other insurance providers in your area.

What discounts are available with NJ Manufacturers auto insurance?

NJ Manufacturers offer up to 12 auto insurance discounts to customers. The discounts include safe driver, multi-car, home, and auto, mature driver, student away, driver training, accident-free, good student, anti-theft, and paid-in-full.

Which types of coverage does NJ Manufacturers auto insurance offer?

NJM’s underinsured and uninsured motorist insurance is subject to state laws regarding your right to sue. Additionally, NJM includes endorsements that you can add to your policy, such as towing and labor, glass repairs, and rental car reimbursement. If you need extra liability protection, NJM suggests purchasing an umbrella policy.

What other insurance products do NJ Manufacturers offer?

In addition to personal auto insurance, NJ Manufacturers offers business insurance products, including commercial auto, general liability, and umbrella insurance.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Dani Best

Licensed Insurance Producer

Dani Best has been a licensed insurance producer for nearly 10 years. Dani began her insurance career in a sales role with State Farm in 2014. During her time in sales, she graduated with her Bachelors in Psychology from Capella University and is currently earning her Masters in Marriage and Family Therapy. Since 2014, Dani has held and maintains licenses in Life, Disability, Property, and Casualt...

Licensed Insurance Producer

Diego Anderson

Licensed Real Estate Agent

Diego Anderson is a Real Estate Agent based in the Bay Area of California. Having received his Real Estate License at the age of 18, he wasted no time learning the ins and outs of the industry. With a focus on residential dual agency, he has a passion for supporting and educating families on their home buying and selling decisions. He is no stranger to new builds and new developments. He also r...

Licensed Real Estate Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for NJM Insurance Group

4.67 (372 reviews)
5
November 19, 2020

mereditha

NJM is a great company

We love NJM. Their customer service is great. We've never had a problem reporting a claim or getting help when we need it. And we also love getting a rebate every year.
5
June 10, 2020

wagspam

NJM Review

NJM is fantastic. I have had to use their services once or twice. The most important factor to me was hasslefree claims, and also the fact that they provide dividends annually is great!
1
May 6, 2020

KarlaSan

The worst insurance company ever. Seriously! Be very careful

As I was told, you never pay DV claims. Your methods of resolution are questionable & ur lack of interest to resolve claims are very evident. Wonder how many victims weren’t compensated for accidents at your client's faults. I hope someday @USSupremeCourt investigates your methods. You guys are worst than a virus, you're a disgrace for people victims where their life cross with this insurance. If I need to shop for an insurance company I will ...
As I was told, you never pay DV claims. Your methods of resolution are questionable & ur lack of interest to resolve claims are very evident. Wonder how many victims weren’t compensated for accidents at your client's faults. I hope someday @USSupremeCourt investigates your methods. You guys are worst than a virus, you're a disgrace for people victims where their life cross with this insurance. If I need to shop for an insurance company I will never ever pick NJM Insurance Group, not because they didn't accept my DV claim but because the [REDACTED WORD] way and the questionable methods they use to process DV claim not to be approved later. I hope this insurance gets audited and punished sooner than later.
5
May 4, 2020

Dano_93

Trusted Insurance Company

NJM Group has always been a great insurance company in my opinion. For example, they pay send you a check at the end of the year depending on your driving record. They also sent me 15% of what I pay for 3 months as a refund because of the pandemic. They area are that money are not driving. They also give discounts if you are a student with a great academic GPA and offer discounts if you complete a driving course.
5
April 29, 2020

Anniem

NJM Excellent customer service

Excellent customer service their employees were always very helpful and ready to explain different coverage options.
5
March 7, 2020

jagslax220

Great

Great insurance company all together. The rates are excellent, and very forgiving for accidents will use for as long as i have a car
5
February 23, 2020

Mcb1099

Great Rates!

Great rates on auto and homeowners insurance. When i was in an accident they worked fast to settle it.
5
February 3, 2020

Doodle1996

NJM is a superior insurance company

NJM is a great insurer. Customer service is top notch. Claims reps and service is second to none. Rates are the best around!
5
January 20, 2020

Jim66

Great Company

Reasonable price, great customer service, fast claim processing. Customer service agents are friendly and helpful.
5
January 14, 2020

PaulRoss

Customer for over 10 years

I think NJM is great. They're fair with pricing compared to other insurance companies. I would recommend them to anyone in NJ.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption