Plymouth Rock Auto Insurance Review [2024]

Plymouth Rock Auto Insurance, extending its services across five northeastern states, delivers competitive rates and comprehensive coverage through its Assurance plans, garnering an A rating from A.M. Best and minimal customer complaints.

UPDATED: Jan 29, 2024Fact Checked

Michelle Robbins

Licensed Insurance Agent

Michelle Robbins has been a licensed insurance agent for over 13 years. Her career began in the real estate industry, supporting local realtors with Title Insurance. After several years, Michelle shifted to real estate home warranty insurance, where she managed a territory of over 100 miles of real estate professionals. Later, Agent Robbins obtained more licensing and experience serving families a...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Ty Stewart

Licensed Insurance Agent

Ty Stewart is the founder and CEO of SimpleLifeInsure.com. He started researching and studying about life insurance when he got his first policy for his own family. He has been featured as a life insurance expert speaker at agent conventions and in top publications.  As an independent licensed life insurance agent, he has helped clients nationwide to secure affordable coverage while making the...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Jan 29, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 29, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 29, 2024Fact Checked
4.0
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Plymouth Rock

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Plymouth Rock offers a range of auto insurance coverage options.
  • The company operates in multiple states, providing coverage to customers in a wide geographic area.
  • Plymouth Rock offers discounts that can help customers save on their premiums.
  • The ability to file claims 24/7 and use a mobile app for claims adds convenience for customers.
  • Optional add-ons like roadside assistance provide additional coverage and peace of mind.

Cons

  • Plymouth Rock’s coverage options and discounts may vary by state, limiting availability in some areas.
  • The company has received some complaints, as reported by the Better Business Bureau and the National Association of Insurance Commissioners.
  • The cost of Plymouth Rock’s insurance may be higher compared to some other companies.
  • Not all available discounts are listed on the website, and the available deals may differ by state.
  • Additional fees may apply for optional add-ons like roadside assistance.

Final Verdict: Review of Plymouth Rock

Plymouth Rock provides auto insurance to customers in five northeastern states. The company offers competitive rates for their standard coverages and three plans with additional coverages. They also have been well-rated by A.M. Best and the Better Business Bureau.

Learning more about Plymouth Rock car insurance will help you decide if the company is a good fit for you.

Before starting this Plymouth Rock auto insurance review, enter your ZIP code to find affordable car insurance rates in your area.

[su_box title="The Lowdown" style="default"]
  • Plymouth Rock has competitive rates
  • Plymouth Rock offers three coverage plans
  • Plymouth Rock has an A rating by A.M. Best
[/su_box] Plymouth Rock provides auto insurance to customers in five northeastern states. The company offers competitive rates for their standard coverages and three plans with additional coverages. They also have been well-rated by A.M. Best and the Better Business Bureau. Learning more about Plymouth Rock car insurance will help you decide if the company is a good fit for you. Before starting this Plymouth Rock auto insurance review, enter your ZIP code to find affordable car insurance rates in your area.

What You Should Know About Plymouth Rock Assurance

Credit rating agencies review and evaluate auto insurance companies on their financial strength. Companies with higher ratings are more likely to provide a payout when customers file a claim. A.M. Best is the only agency that has completed Plymouth Rock auto insurance reviews.

Plymouth Rock has been rated an A by A.M. Best, the most trusted agency. This rating is excellent and indicates that the company will provide a payout whenever customers file a claim.

The Better Business Bureau (BBB) has also reviewed Plymouth Rock, which rates companies’ business practices. The Better Business Bureau has given Plymouth Rock an A+ rating. This rating assures customers who are considering Plymouth Rock car insurance that the company is transparent and trustworthy.

Does Plymouth Rock car insurance have any complaints?

The Better Business Bureau (BBB) and the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) review complaints made about insurance companies. The BBB and the NAIC have completed Plymouth Rock car insurance reviews.

At the time of this review, the Better Business Bureau has received 16 complaints about Plymouth Rock during the past three years. The company’s billing and collections have received the most complaints, followed by its products or services.

The NAIC lists Plymouth Rock as receiving nine complaints. Additionally, the organization has given Plymouth Rock a complaint index ratio of 1.13, indicating slightly more complaints than companies of a similar size.

How can you file Plymouth Rock auto insurance claims?

Plymouth Rock customers can file claims either online or by phone. The best option depends on your preferred method of communication, as the company considers both ways reliable.

Customers can use their Plymouth Rock auto insurance login to fill out a claims form on the company website. The form will inquire about the incident and require documentation, such as photos or a police report.

Customers can also file a claim by calling the Plymouth Rock auto insurance phone number at 844-346-1225. Filing by phone allows you to speak with a representative, ensuring that they quickly gather all of the necessary information.

How can you make Plymouth Rock car insurance payments?

Customers who purchase Plymouth Rock auto insurance can either make monthly payments or pay in full. These payments can be made online, by phone, or via mail. Paying online or by phone are quicker alternatives and offer the most variety of payment options.

The company provides multiple ways to make payments either online or by phone, utilizing either a checking or savings account or a debit or credit card.

Customers who prefer to pay by mail can send a check to the company. Plymouth Rock uses multiple PO boxes for payment receipt, depending on your location.

Customers can use QuickPay by entering their Plymouth Rock car insurance login to access the customer portal. This option is typically easiest, as customers can enter their payment information directly into the website.

For those who prefer to pay over the phone, you can reach a representative by calling 833-511-7625. Paying via telephone isn’t as quick as paying online but provides personal interaction.

Plymouth Rock Assurance Insurance Coverage Options

While cost is a common concern among car insurance customers, it’s also necessary to consider the available coverages.

Like most insurance companies, Plymouth Rock prices their auto insurance plans individually. The following table displays the common coverages offered by Plymouth Rock and what each one covers.

Plymouth Rock Auto Insurance Coverages
Auto Insurance TypesPurpose of Coverage
Bodily injury liabilityPays for medical bills if someone else suffers an injury in an accident caused by you.
CollisionCovers damage to your car after an accident.
ComprehensiveCovers damage to your car when you’re not driving.
Medical expensesCovers medical costs caused by an accident regardless of who is at fault.
Personal injury protectionCovers medical expenses for you and your passengers after an accident.
Property damage liabilityLiability coverage that covers the cost of any property damage you’ve caused in an accident.
Uninsured/underinsured motoristCovers the costs if you’re in an accident caused by a driver with little or no car insurance.

What makes Plymouth Rock unique from other companies is its Assurance plans. Every auto policy comes with the Essential Assurance plan, which provides customers with several benefits:

  • Crashbusters – Schedules the time and place of an inspection from the Crashbusters van
  • Door-to-door valet claims service – Plymouth Rock picks up your car, takes it to the shop, and returns it after repairs
  • Guaranteed repairs – Guarantees repairs at participating shops
  • Get home safe taxi ride – Covers your taxi ride home, once per year, if you feel unsafe to drive
  • Online services – Pay your bill and manage your account online
  • Pledge of assurance: Plymouth Rock will donate to a charity of your choice if you experience poor customer service

When customers have been with Plymouth Rock for three years, they receive an upgrade to the Assurance Plus plan. In addition to the Essential Assurance benefits, the Assurance Plus plan provides several other benefits:

  • Additional rental coverage
  • Mobile device or laptop replacement
  • Pet injury coverage
  • Personal property damage coverage
  • Loss of earnings coverage

Customers can also upgrade to the Assurance Preferred or Assurance Premium plans. These policies feature additional benefits and increased coverage. The higher you upgrade, the more benefits you’ll receive.

Plymouth Rock offers a variety of add-ons that customers can purchase for an additional fee. The add-ons offered by Plymouth Rock car insurance company include the following:

  • Accident forgiveness – Eliminates the cost associated with one at-fault accident
  • Glass coverage – Reduces or eliminates the deductible on a glass-only comprehensive claim
  • Deductible waiver – Eliminates the deductible for collision coverage, under certain circumstances
  • GAP coverage – Covers the gap between your car’s value and what you owe if your car is totaled
  • New car replacement – Pays to replace your totaled or stolen car within the first two years of purchasing it
  • Rideshare coverage – Covers accidents that occur while you’re working as a rideshare driver
  • Roadside assistance – Pays for towing and other roadside services

Customers who require roadside assistance can request the service by calling a Plymouth Rock car insurance phone number. The number that you contact depends on the specific policy you purchased. These are the three numbers for roadside assistance:

  • Personal auto customers – 855-513-5174
  • Teachers’ Insurance Plan of New Jersey customers – 888-676-5449
  • Motorcycle customers – 866-751-3078

Similar to other optional coverages, adding roadside assistance to a policy increases Plymouth Rock auto insurance quotes. However, the service is only available in locations where the company sells policies, including Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania.

In addition to auto insurance, Plymouth Rock offers other types of insurance, including motorcycle, renters, and home insurance.

Plymouth Rock Auto Insurance: The Bottom Line

Plymouth Rock provides car insurance to customers in five northeastern states. In addition to traditional coverage, the company offers four plans that provide customers more protection. The company’s ratings reveal their dependability.

Knowing more about Plymouth Rock car insurance will help you determine if it’s the right option for you.

Now that you know about Plymouth Rock auto insurance, enter your ZIP code to obtain free car insurance quotes in your area.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Plymouth Rock Assurance Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfilePlymouth Rock Auto InsuranceNational Average
Clean Record$170$129
1+ Ticket$200$157
1+ Accident$253$178
DUI$275$208
Poor Credit$292$222

View as image

The cost of auto insurance is a common concern for drivers. Insurance companies use various factors to determine the cost of coverage, so the price depends on each driver’s specifications. However, examining the average rates will give you a good idea as to which company is the least expensive.

Comparing affordable Plymouth Rock auto insurance rates with other companies is an excellent way to decide if it’s a cost-effective option. The following chart contrasts the average monthly rates of Plymouth Rock with other companies.

Plymouth Rock Auto Insurance Average Monthly Rates vs. Other Companies
CompanyAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates
Allstate$170
Farmers$131
Geico$94
Nationwide$90
Plymouth Rock$138
Progressive$104
State Farm$108

As you can see, Plymouth Rock’s rates are higher than that of several other companies but lower than Allstate’s.

While the previous rates are for drivers with a clean record, traffic violations can significantly impact a person’s rates. Comparing insurance company rates, following one of these violations, will help you determine how each one will affect your payments.

Plymouth Rock Auto Insurance Average Monthly Rates vs. Other Companies Based on Violation
CompanyAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates with a Clean RecordAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates with One Speeding TicketAverage Monthly Auto Insurance Rates with One At-Fault Accident
Geico$94$137$164
Plymouth Rock$138$191$194
Progressive$104$148$181
State Farm$108$130$135

While you can find affordable Plymouth Rock car insurance rates with a clean record, this chart reveals that the price increases significantly following a violation. Plymouth Rock is more expensive following a speeding ticket but increases less than Geico and Progressive succeeding an at-fault accident.

Plymouth Rock Assurance Discounts Available

DiscountPlymouth Rock Auto Insurance
Anti Theft6%
Good Student10%
Low Mileage5%
Paperless3%
Safe Driver10%
Senior Driver12%

Car insurance can be expensive, especially if you commit a traffic violation or are considered a high-risk driver. Fortunately, most companies provide various discounts that allow customers to lower their monthly rates.

Unfortunately, Plymouth Rock doesn’t list all discounts on the website. Additionally, the available deals differ by state. However, the following table reveals the most common saving opportunities with Plymouth Rock auto insurance company .

Plymouth Rock Auto Insurance Discounts
Auto DiscountDiscount Eligibility
Safe driverInsured maintains a clean driving record.
Motor club memberInsured is a member of a recognized motor club.
Multi-policyCarrying more than one type of insurance with Plymouth Rock.
Multi-carInsure more than one vehicle with Plymouth Rock.
Student away at schoolStudent is away at school and doesn’t have regular access to a vehicle.

When inquiring about affordable Plymouth Rock car insurance quotes, asking a representative about all of the available discounts in your area will ensure that you receive the best possible rates.

How Plymouth Rock Assurance Ranks Among Providers

The specific main competitors of Plymouth Rock Auto Insurance can vary depending on the geographic region and market dynamics. However, some commonly recognized competitors in the auto insurance industry include:

  • Geico: Known for its extensive advertising and competitive rates, Geico is a major player in the auto insurance market.
  • Progressive: Recognized for its innovative approach and user-friendly policies, Progressive has become a strong contender in the industry.
  • Allstate: With a diverse range of insurance products and a significant market presence, Allstate competes with Plymouth Rock in offering comprehensive auto insurance coverage.
  • State Farm: As one of the largest auto insurance providers in the United States, State Farm is a prominent competitor known for its agent-based model.
  • Liberty Mutual: With a global presence and a wide range of insurance products, Liberty Mutual is a competitor that offers various coverage options for auto insurance consumers.

Keep in mind that the competitive landscape can evolve, and regional players may also influence the market in specific areas. It’s advisable to consider factors such as coverage options, customer service, and pricing when comparing Plymouth Rock to its main competitors in your particular location.

Frequently Asked Questions

What states does Plymouth Rock Auto Insurance operate in?

Plymouth Rock Auto Insurance is available in Connecticut, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, and Rhode Island.

What types of auto insurance does Plymouth Rock offer?

Plymouth Rock offers a variety of auto insurance coverage options, including liability insurance, collision insurance, comprehensive insurance, uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, and optional add-ons such as roadside assistance.

How can I get a quote for Plymouth Rock Auto Insurance?

You can get a quote for Plymouth Rock Auto Insurance by visiting the company’s website, calling their customer service line, or contacting a local agent.

Does Plymouth Rock offer any discounts?

Yes, Plymouth Rock offers a variety of discounts, including safe driving rewards, multi-car discounts, and affinity discounts for members of certain organizations.

How do I file a claim with Plymouth Rock?

You can file a claim with Plymouth Rock by calling their 24/7 claims hotline or by using the company’s mobile app.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Michelle Robbins

Licensed Insurance Agent

Michelle Robbins has been a licensed insurance agent for over 13 years. Her career began in the real estate industry, supporting local realtors with Title Insurance. After several years, Michelle shifted to real estate home warranty insurance, where she managed a territory of over 100 miles of real estate professionals. Later, Agent Robbins obtained more licensing and experience serving families a...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Ty Stewart

Licensed Insurance Agent

Ty Stewart is the founder and CEO of SimpleLifeInsure.com. He started researching and studying about life insurance when he got his first policy for his own family. He has been featured as a life insurance expert speaker at agent conventions and in top publications.  As an independent licensed life insurance agent, he has helped clients nationwide to secure affordable coverage while making the...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Plymouth Rock Assurance

4.00 (241 reviews)
1
August 23, 2023

marissa_p

HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE

The absolute worst customer service I have experienced. They were not knowledgeable and I was on hold for 30 minutes and they didn't even answer my question that I called for. I had [REDACTED NAME] as my underwriter and she was really rude and inconsiderate. Cancelling right away.
1
July 10, 2023

Flovinny

Horrible experience so far

First time I've put in a claim in many years. Hit and run in front of my house while I'm sleeping. Back end damaged in drivers side. Waited 2 weeks to get estimate from their body shop. No one called me, then state car is totaled..10,181 damage on 16k plus book value. Repair shop said its totally fixable. Adjuster fur total loss was unsympathetic, not empathetic and rather cut and dry. I am extremely unhappy at this point. Only owned the ca...
First time I've put in a claim in many years. Hit and run in front of my house while I'm sleeping. Back end damaged in drivers side. Waited 2 weeks to get estimate from their body shop. No one called me, then state car is totaled..10,181 damage on 16k plus book value. Repair shop said its totally fixable. Adjuster fur total loss was unsympathetic, not empathetic and rather cut and dry. I am extremely unhappy at this point. Only owned the car 2 years.
1
May 30, 2023

Joey_ZAZA_123

Plymouth Rock Rip Off Insured,

This is one of the worst insurance companies I have ever delt with, we have a 2023 Marcedes in our shop the adjuster Kurt Grania was so incompetent he used a 2020 Marcedes to write the estimate, because he was to lazy to go to the dealer to get the right parts prices, to make matters worse he put in his own labor times, and when we told him, him and his supervisor would not even fix their mistakes, basically ripping off the insured who has a 140...
This is one of the worst insurance companies I have ever delt with, we have a 2023 Marcedes in our shop the adjuster Kurt Grania was so incompetent he used a 2020 Marcedes to write the estimate, because he was to lazy to go to the dealer to get the right parts prices, to make matters worse he put in his own labor times, and when we told him, him and his supervisor would not even fix their mistakes, basically ripping off the insured who has a 140,000 dollar car, please don't use them you will be sorry. horrible insurance company, him and his supervisor should be fired,
2
July 5, 2022

Dissatisfied_customer

Where's the consideration of hardship for your loyal custome

So I've been with Plymouth Rock for a little under 2 years last month was the first time I was late on a payment so they tell me I have to pay last month and this month which wasn't until July 4th had to be paid but I'm assuming since I'm only a month behind I really only had to pay that month to cancel out the cancellation no they cancel my policy anyway I said well how many times was I late with my payments they said only one and that's the las...
So I've been with Plymouth Rock for a little under 2 years last month was the first time I was late on a payment so they tell me I have to pay last month and this month which wasn't until July 4th had to be paid but I'm assuming since I'm only a month behind I really only had to pay that month to cancel out the cancellation no they cancel my policy anyway I said well how many times was I late with my payments they said only one and that's the last Miss payment which was in June that I technically paid on the second of this month assuming that I would have had the 416 in full I didn't I called them today because they're finally open after the holiday and my plan didn't go through as expected she couldn't instate my policy because I don't reach the quality meet the qualifications I asked what are the qualifications I have to have the policy for 3 years and I'm just shy of 2 years so you guys have so much lack of consideration for your customers this is my last payment July is my last month payment and I have to cancel the policy pay the 178 for July that I haven't even used cuz I'm not covered for July you close me out for July and I have to put a deposit on a whole new policy they definitely don't have any compassion for their customers I definitely would not recommend because I didn't call to prepare for something that I didn't expect I basically have to spend more money like gas prices aren't High enough and this is my last month you can't honor me for one last month I don't recommend
1
November 4, 2021

rjjuarez

Worst Company Around!

This company is HORRIBLE and I do not recommend anyone using them. They LIE to you, they take Money out of your Account even after you replace them. You cause your Bank to Charge you Fee's do to them trying to take money out even after being replaced. I spoke to an Customer Service Rep ( [REDACTED NAME]) in depth about my Account and even emailed him the New Policy with the New Insurance company. I was told I would get a Check Refund from the...
This company is HORRIBLE and I do not recommend anyone using them. They LIE to you, they take Money out of your Account even after you replace them. You cause your Bank to Charge you Fee's do to them trying to take money out even after being replaced. I spoke to an Customer Service Rep ( [REDACTED NAME]) in depth about my Account and even emailed him the New Policy with the New Insurance company. I was told I would get a Check Refund from them as well as my Bank fee's It was a LIE! Do not use this Plymouth Rock
1
October 20, 2021

D24

Worst insurance company ever

Worst insurance company ever. They don’t care about they customers. Extremely money hungry! Uneducated workers
1
September 9, 2021

HumanKind

Racial profiling is alive and well at Plymouthrock.

May 7th, ,2021 a Uhaul truck hit my vehicle. The truck hit my vehicle , I called Uhaul, Mohawk Insueance, Plymouthrock. Plymouthrock’s Racially profile me , putting in a letter saying the damage sustained to my vehicle was review by a licensed automobile damage appraiser and from his PROFESSIONAL OPINION the damage sustained to my vehicle was not caused by another vehicle .As a result it was assigned for further investigation. On may13 accordi...
May 7th, ,2021 a Uhaul truck hit my vehicle. The truck hit my vehicle , I called Uhaul, Mohawk Insueance, Plymouthrock. Plymouthrock’s Racially profile me , putting in a letter saying the damage sustained to my vehicle was review by a licensed automobile damage appraiser and from his PROFESSIONAL OPINION the damage sustained to my vehicle was not caused by another vehicle .As a result it was assigned for further investigation. On may13 according to [REDACTED NAME] .The Investigator [REDACTED NAME] Stated” I conducted a statement with you over the phone. During the statement ,you stated the damages to the left rear corner and taillight was from your vehicle being struck by a Uhaul truck. You denied you struck any object with your vehicle”. This is racial profiling… Plymouth Rock can make an decision based on an EXPERT OPINION ??? What !!!so I pay for insurance , I have option one… I state a fact… a Uhaul hits me …WHY AM I CONSIDERED A LIAR? WOW .If you purchase insurance from this company…. They want you to be afraid to use it.. They can lie and get away with it! They Canceled my insurance after I made my last payment. Plymouthrock took my money but did not service my car …and I am a liar. They need to be challenged!!! I don’t have to lie about an accident. Their opinion holds more weight than the facts .is Plymouthrock I get it!! Its your word against mine !!! All my life I have had to advocate for my rights !!! That’s okay … you can’t do people wrong and get away with it!!! I oftener wondered what did [REDACTED NAME] Till do to warrant such a death!!! The memory of how he died and the weapon used ( a lie) that caused his death is still alive. A lie told by someone who is entitled.
3
May 24, 2021

Jeffmon

Save at first then watch out

We signed on with plymouth rock a few years ago after using Gabi and saving some money. However, they continue to jack up rates every renewal period and I doubt if we have saved anything at this point with the higher cost. Will be shopping again immediately
5
January 16, 2021

Chloe01913

Plymouth Rock

We love our auto insurance with Plymouth Rock. They are affordable and have great customer service.
3
January 11, 2021

lexbussiere

car insuranxe

good customer service but my bill never goes down always up even with out speeding tickets or any car accidents
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption