Progressive Auto Insurance Review (2024)

Progressive Auto Insurance, a leading player in the insurance market, offers competitive rates and a diverse range of coverage options tailored to the needs of drivers.

UPDATED: Jan 22, 2024Fact Checked

Maria Hanson

Insurance and Finance Writer

Maria Hanson grew up with a unique passion and understanding of both the automotive and insurance industries. With one grandfather in auto mechanics and another working in insurance, you could say automotive insurance is in her blood. Her love of research and finance serves her well in studying insurance trends and liability. Maria has expanded her scope of expertise to home, health, and life i...

Insurance and Finance Writer

Michelle Robbins

Licensed Insurance Agent

Michelle Robbins has been a licensed insurance agent for over 13 years. Her career began in the real estate industry, supporting local realtors with Title Insurance. After several years, Michelle shifted to real estate home warranty insurance, where she managed a territory of over 100 miles of real estate professionals. Later, Agent Robbins obtained more licensing and experience serving families a...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Jan 22, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 22, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 22, 2024Fact Checked
4.1
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Progressive

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$109

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Option to request an auto insurance quote online
  • Complete policy purchase online
  • Superior financial strength rating from AM Best
  • Available in all 50 states
  • Large network of local auto insurance agents
  • Offers Snapshot, a usage-based insurance option
  • Rideshare insurance available to Uber and Lyft drivers
  • Variety of discounts

Cons

  • Discounts are not available in all states
  • Snapshot results can trigger an increase in rates for certain drivers
  • Does not offer new car replacement
  • Does not offer pay-per-mile insurance for low-mileage drivers
  • Loan/lease coverage only pays the difference between 25% of the value of your vehicle and the remaining loan or lease amount.

Final Verdict: Review of Progressive

Headquartered in Mayfield Village, Ohio, Progressive is the nation’s third-largest auto insurance company. Since its founding in 1937, Progressive has expanded its offerings to include both personal and commercial insurance and financial services in addition to auto insurance.

Not only does Progressive make it quick and easy to buy auto insurance online, but it also offers a variety of discounts so that customers can get low-cost auto insurance coverage in minutes.

If you are in the market for auto insurance or interested in switching companies, here’s more on Progressive auto insurance.

Any driver could be satisfied if they choose to purchase a Progressive auto insurance policy. Compared to other auto insurance companies, Progressive’s rates are competitive and often lower than the national average. Progressive offers all drivers a variety of coverage options and multiple opportunities to save, and high-risk drivers, in particular, will likely find cheaper insurance with Progressive than other options available. However, for the standard driver, there are more affordable options. Use our comparison tool below to get free auto insurance quotes from local companies to see how Progressive car insurance compares with insurers near you.

What You Should Know About Progressive Insurance

Yes, Progressive auto insurance is good. Between its nationwide availability, variety of discounts, and affordability, Progressive is an appealing choice. And thanks to its online purchase process, drivers who need auto insurance as soon as possible can request quotes and buy coverage on the same day.

Drivers also rate Progressive fairly high for claims and customer service.

The J.D. Power 2022 U.S. Auto Claims Satisfaction Study measures customer satisfaction among drivers who filed claims in the last six months. Progressive scored a total of 861 on a 1,000-point scale, which is slightly lower than the industry average of 873 but still higher than Travelers and AAA car insurance.

A.M. Best also awarded Progressive an A+ rating, which is its highest rating and designated for companies with the ability to honor insurance obligations to customers.

Read more: Progressive West Insurance Company: Customer Ratings & Reviews

Progressive Insurance Coverage Options

Progressive offers the following types of auto insurance:

  • Liability auto insurance. Covers the cost of bodily injury and property damage for other drivers in an at-fault accident.
  • Comprehensive auto insurance. Covers the cost of repairs to your vehicle resulting from vandalism, theft, fire, collision with an animal, or an act of nature, such as hail.
  • Collision auto insurance. Covers the cost of repairs to your vehicle resulting from a collision with another vehicle or object.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage. Covers the cost of your and your passengers’ injuries and property damage caused by another driver with no insurance, insufficient insurance, or a hit-and-run-driver.
  • Medical payments coverage. Covers medical payments for you and your passengers regardless of fault.

Drivers interested in more protection can take advantage of add-on coverage options.

Progressive Benefits and Auto Insurance Add-Ons

If you purchase a Progressive auto insurance policy, you get access to the following add-on coverage options:

  • Roadside assistance. Covers the cost of roadside emergency services, including fuel delivery, lockout, and flat tire change.
  • Rental car reimbursement. Covers the cost of a rental car, up to a certain limit, while your vehicle is repaired.
  • Loan/lease payoff. Pays the difference between 25% of the value of your vehicle and the remaining loan or lease amount.
  • Custom parts and equipment value. Covers the cost of custom parts and equipment you added to your vehicle.
  • Pet injury insurance. Progressive can cover veterinarian bills for a pet injured in a car accident if you carry collision insurance coverage.
  • Rideshare coverage. Provides coverage for drivers employed through rideshare companies while they are working.
  • Deductible savings bank. Reduces your deductible by $50 every policy period you go without a violation or accident.
  • Accident forgiveness. Allows drivers to avoid a rate increase after filing a claim under $500.
  • Large accident forgiveness. Allows customers of at least five years who have gone violation and accident-free to avoid a rate increase after filing an expensive claim.
  • Progressive accident forgiveness. Allows drivers to avoid a rate increase after filing a claim, up to one claim per policy period.

When choosing certain optional coverages, drivers can expect their premiums to increase. Shop around for quotes from multiple companies before choosing Progressive to see which offers the best rates for add-ons.

Progressive Usage-Based Insurance

Progressive’s usage-based insurance program, Snapshot, offers drivers the chance to save an average of $156 per year for their safe driving habits, or around $13/month. You’ll also save around $47 just for signing up.

The mobile app or plug-in telematics device monitors the following to calculate your discount:

  • Acceleration
  • Braking
  • Time of driving
  • Distracted driving
  • Time and length of driving trips

To increase your chances of earning a discount, limit accelerations and hard braking, avoid weekend driving between 12 a.m. and 4 a.m., and don’t use your phone while driving.

While this program rewards good driving habits, Progressive can increase rates for risky drivers.

Drivers who use the Android or iOS Snapshot mobile app have access to their personal dashboard, which provides additional details about their driving. You can review your driving habits during recent trips and get tips to improve your driving and maximize your savings.

Before enrolling in the Snapshot program, consider the pros and cons:

ProsCons
Potential to save an average of $156 per year for their safe driving habits Insurance rates can increase if you engaged in risky, unsafe behavior when behind the wheel, such as speeding
Save an additional average of $47 just for enrollingOnly new Progressive customers are eligible for a participation discount
Improves your driving habits by providing tips based on insight from your driving tipsSnapshot is not available in California
Information collected could help the insurance investigation if you are involved in an accident
Pros and Cons of Progressive Snapshot

Drivers who are considering Progressive can enroll in Snapshot Road Test, which allows them to drive for 30 days and review their potential discount before switching to Progressive.

Progressive Rideshare Insurance

Progressive offers rideshare insurance as an add-on coverage option. This type of insurance covers rideshare drivers while working, including the time the rideshare app is open and ready to accept a rider.

Progressive Mobile App

Progressive’s mobile app makes it easy for drivers to manage their policies from their smartphones.

Use the insurance mobile app to:

  • View policy information, insurance cards, and other documents
  • Make payments
  • File a claim
  • Request roadside assistance
  • Search additional Progressive insurance products

The Progressive mobile app is available to Android and iPhone users.

How do I determine how much auto insurance coverage I need?

As you review Progressive’s coverage options, you may be wondering how much coverage you need. Since the type of coverage you select impacts your rates, it would be helpful to determine the ideal amount of coverage and its cost.

Here’s what to consider selecting auto insurance coverage.

  • Income. Take a look at your income and calculate what you can afford for a monthly premium, as well as the cost of your deductible.
  • Vehicle value. Typically, drivers with newer, higher-value vehicles tend to require more coverage than an older vehicle, so depending on your vehicle’s value, you’ll need more than standard coverage.
  • Coverage costs. The cost of standard coverage and add-on coverage vary, but the more coverage you have, the higher your premium will be. You also want to consider the deductible attached to certain coverage.
  • Coverage limits. Most states have a different minimum amount of coverage for liability, which determines how much will be covered in the event of an at-fault accident. If a driver increases their coverage limit, their premium will also increase.

While you want to ensure you don’t purchase any coverage you don’t need, not purchasing enough can leave you vulnerable.

For example, if you only purchase liability insurance and cause an accident, you’ll have to pay out-of-pocket to repair or replace your vehicle. However, if you buy collision coverage, it will cover your vehicle’s damage.

How do I file a claim with Progressive?

Drivers can start the claims process online, through the Progressive mobile app, or by calling 1-800-776-4737. You submit your claim by providing basic information before you’re connected to an expert who will be there to assist throughout the claims process.

Here are the steps to filing a claim with Progressive:

Perform a Vehicle Inspection

An estimator will inspect your vehicle and determine the cost of repairs or if the vehicle is a total loss.

A total loss is when the cost of repair exceeds the vehicle’s value. In this case, the driver would receive a payment equal to the vehicle’s value instead of having repairs completed.

Choose a Repair Shop

Before choosing a repair shop, first confirm with your claims representative that you’d either like to repair the vehicle or receive a payment equal to the cost of the repairs. Be aware that drivers with leased or financed vehicles may be required to get the repairs.

You’ll choose where you want your vehicle repaired if you move forward with repairs. Progressive has a network of repair shops, but you can also go with the shop of your choice.

Going with a repair shop not included in Progressive’s network could affect how much of your claim it covers, so confirm with your claims adjuster before choosing.

Schedule Your Repairs

Your claims representative will schedule your repairs with the repair shop of your choice.

Repairs Are Completed at the Shop of Your Choice

Once repairs are complete, you can pick up your vehicle from the repair shop.

Drivers should note that when choosing a Progressive-approved repair shop, repairs are guaranteed throughout your ownership or leasing of the vehicle.

Additional Progressive Insurance Products

In addition to auto insurance, Progressive also offers the following insurance products:

  • Vehicle (ATV, boat, classic car, golf cart, motorcycle, etc.)
  • Mechanical breakdown
  • Homeowners
  • Renters
  • Condo
  • Mobile home
  • Flood
  • Commercial auto
  • Business
  • General liability
  • Professional liability
  • Workers’ compensation
  • Dental
  • Electronic device
  • Health
  • ID theft
  • Life
  • Pet
  • Travel
  • Umbrella
  • Jewelry
  • Vision
  • Wedding and event

Certain additional insurance products are available through other insurers and companies.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Progressive Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileProgressiveNational Average
Clean Record$105$119
1+ Ticket$140$147
1+ Accident$186$173
DUI$140$209
Poor Credit$181$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver

View as image

Progressive auto insurance rates vary based on several factors, including driving history and type of coverage.

Let’s dive deeper into Progressive’s average auto insurance rates to give you a better idea of what to expect.

Progressive Auto Insurance Rates for Good Drivers

Below are Progressive’s rates for good drivers.

Monthly Progressive Insurance Rates by State
StateMonthly Average Progressive Premium
Alaska$255
Alabama$371
Arkansas$443
Arizona$298
California$237
Colorado$353
Connecticut$410
District of Columbia$414
Delaware$348
Florida$465
Georgia$375
Hawaii$182
Iowa$200
IdahoData Not Available
Illinois$295
Indiana$325
Kansas$345
Kentucky$462
Louisiana$622
Maine$304
Maryland$341
Massachusetts$320
Michigan$447
MinnesotaData Not Available
Missouri$285
Mississippi$359
Montana$361
North Carolina$199
North Dakota$302
Nebraska$313
New Hampshire$225
New Jersey$331
New Mexico$260
Nevada$339
New York$314
Ohio$286
Oklahoma$403
Oregon$302
Pennsylvania$371
Rhode Island$436
South Carolina$381
South Dakota$313
Tennessee$305
Texas$389
Utah$319
Virginia$208
Vermont$435
Washington$267
West VirginiaData Not Available
Wisconsin$261
Wyoming$367

Good drivers see some of the lowest rates because of their safe, responsible driving habits and clean driving records.

Progressive Auto Insurance Rates for Young Adult Drivers

Here’s how much auto insurance for young adult drivers costs with Progressive vs. other insurers.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Teenage Auto Insurance Rates by Gender
Insurance Company16-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record16-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record18-Year-Old Male with a Clean Record18-Year-Old Female with a Clean Record
Allstate$637.83$608.25$518.58$448.42
American Family$480.08$390.17$390.33$287.67
Farmers$741.75$777.50$603.17$573.25
Geico$311.92$297.75$253.58$219.58
Liberty Mutual$778.25$716$632.75$527.92
Nationwide$476.17$410.50$387.17$302.67
Progressive$813.83$801.42$661.75$590.83
State Farm$349.25$310.83$284$229.17
Travelers$896.83$708.83$729.17$522.58
National Average$609.58$557.92$495.58$411.33

Typically, young adult drivers pay higher premiums due to their inexperience. Find out how much auto insurance costs for a 16 year old.

Progressive Auto Insurance Rates for Adult Drivers

After gaining experience behind the wheel, rates generally decrease for adult drivers.

Progressive Auto Insurance Rates for Senior Drivers

You can review Progressive’s rates for senior drivers below as they compare to other providers.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Senior Auto Insurance Rates by Gender
Insurance Company60-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record60-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record65-Year-Old Male With a Clean Record65-Year-Old Female With a Clean Record
Allstate$153.92$149.75$156.50$158.33
American Family$99.17$97.92$107.58$106.33
Farmers$122.83$115.25$130.08$130.67
Geico$74.33$72.67$78.42$78.17
Liberty Mutual$157.50$146.50$168.50$165.92
Nationwide$104.42$99.08$112.25$110.58
Progressive$95.25$92.08$102.83$109.33
State Farm$76$76$84.17$84.17
Travelers$88.75$87.67$95.42$94.17
National Average$108$104.08$115.08$115.25

Similar to a young adult driver, a senior driver’s age can impact rates due to the likelihood of them filing a claim.

Progressive Auto Insurance Rates After a Speeding Ticket

Here’s what drivers can expect to pay after getting a speeding ticket.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates with One Speeding Ticket
CompanyAverage Rates with Clean RecordAverage Rates with 1 Speeding Violation
Allstate$318.33$373.63
American Family$224.47$252.15
Farmers$288.38$339.92
Geico$178.83$220.45
Liberty Mutual$397.86$475.11
Nationwide$228.85$259.47
Progressive$282.76$333.52
State Farm$235.10$265.50
Travelers$287.31$355.07
USAA$161.14$182.77

Auto insurance companies do background checks, and rates will be higher for those with traffic violations or a criminal record.

Speeding tickets indicate to insurance companies that a driver is reckless, so rates typically increase once a driver receives this type of violation.

Progressive Auto Insurance Rates After an Accident

Following an accident, it is likely that rates will increase. Learn how long an accident can stay on your record.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with One Accident
CompanyAverage Rates with Clean RecordAverage Rates with 1 Accident
Allstate$318.33$415.64
American Family$224.47$310.23
Farmers$288.38$376.56
Geico$178.83$266.06
Liberty Mutual$397.86$517.07
Nationwide$228.85$283.08
Progressive$282.76$398.09
State Farm$235.10$283
Travelers$287.31$357.48
USAA$161.14$209.69

Depending on fault, the claim amount, and whether or not the driver has accident forgiveness, your Progressive auto insurance rates might not increase. Always compare car insurance quotes after an accident to see how Progressive compares to other companies near you.

Progressive Auto Insurance Rates After a DUI

Driving under the influence is another type of violation, so rates often increase after a DUI. In addition, a DUI can stay on your record for a couple of years. During that time, insurance companies may consider you a high-risk driver and charge you higher rates.

Average Monthly Auto Insurance Rates with One DUI
CompanyAverage Monthly Rates with Clean RecordAverage Monthly Rates with 1 DUI
Allstate$318.33$521.73
American Family$224.47$360.85
Farmers$288.38$393.23
Geico$178.83$406.32
Liberty Mutual$397.86$634.46
Nationwide$228.85$378.60
Progressive$282.76$330.80
State Farm$235.10$303.07
Travelers$287.31$478.45
USAA$161.14$292.17

In addition to increased insurance rates, drivers could also face legal consequences if they drive under the influence. Learn more about what a DUI is.

Progressive Auto Insurance Rates for Drivers with Poor Credit

Here’s how Progressive auto insurance rates differ based on a driver’s credit score.

Average Monthly Full Coverage Auto Insurance Rates by Credit Rating
Insurance CompanyRates with Poor CreditRates with Fair CreditRates with Good Credit
Allstate$295.92$196.83$166.08
American Family$202.67$136.25$115.50
Farmers$269.42$160.50$139.50
Geico$148.42$99.75$82
Liberty Mutual$354.67$226$176.67
Nationwide$165.67$132.92$120.42
Progressive$205.92$137.92$109.17
State Farm$199.83$117.58$90.92
Travelers$193.58$127.83$107.25
USAA$128.75$75.83$62.75
Average$226.25$148.42$123.08

Drivers with low credit scores tend to pay higher rates than those with lower credit scores.

How much is minimum coverage with Progressive?

Minimum auto insurance coverage is often cheaper than full coverage. The national average monthly rate for minimum coverage can range from $44 to $251, depending on the driver.

Minimum coverage with Progressive can range from $35.20 to $327.44 per month.

How much is full coverage with Progressive?

The national average monthly rate for full coverage can range from $105.61 to $618.49, depending on the driver.

Full coverage auto insurance with Progressive can range from $92.12 to $813.86 per month.

What factors are used to calculate insurance premiums?

If you ever asked yourself, “why is my car insurance so high?” it could be due to multiple issues. As mentioned, auto insurance companies use a variety of factors to calculate auto insurance premiums, including the following:

  • Age. Depending on the driver’s age, they are seen as skilled and experienced due to the length of time they have been driving. For example, teen drivers are considered riskier than adult drivers.
  • Gender. When comparing female and male drivers, male drivers tend to be more likely to file a claim than female drivers.
  • Credit score. A driver’s credit score can predict the likelihood of them being involved in an accident or filing a claim, so those with poor credit are seen as risky compared to drivers with excellent credit.
  • Driving record. Your driving record provides details about your driving history, such as traffic violations and accidents, which can be used to predict the likelihood of you filing a claim.
  • Vehicle.  Your vehicle’s make, model, year, safety features, ownership status, and repair costs.
  • Mileage. Drivers with higher annual mileage are more likely to file a claim than drivers who get behind the wheel infrequently.
  • Location. The state minimum coverage requirements, garaging address, type of area, and theft, vandalism, and accident rates.
  • Type of coverage. Type of insurance coverage, coverage limits, and deductible.

Even though similar information is used to calculate your insurance costs, you will see a variety of rates since auto insurance companies use different rating systems. Your auto insurance may be high due to personal factors related to risk, such as living in a city as opposed to a rural area.

Progressive Insurance Discounts Available

DiscountProgressive
Anti Theft12%
Good Student8%
Low Mileage10%
Paperless5%
Safe Driver18%
Senior Driver15%

Progressive offers customers the following discounts to help them save on their premiums:

  • Multi-policy. Available to drivers who bundle two or more Progressive insurance policies, such as home and auto.
  • Multi-car. Available to drivers who insure two or more vehicles with Progressive.
  • Continuous insurance. Available to drivers continuously insured with Progressive or another insurance company.
  • Snapshot. Usage-based discounts for drivers who prove they are safe and responsible when behind the wheel. Availability varies by state. (For more information, read our “Progressive Snapshot Review“).
  • Teen driver. Available to teen drivers between ages 15 and 19.
  • Good student. Available to full-time students with a B+ grade average.
  • Distant student. Available for students who attend school more than 100 miles away from garaging address and do not operate their vehicle frequently.
  • Homeowner. Available to drivers who are homeowners.
  • Online quote. Available to drivers who request a Progressive auto insurance quote online.
  • Sign online. Available to drivers who sign their Progressive auto insurance documents online.
  • Paperless. Available to drivers who receive their Progressive auto insurance policy documents online.
  • Pay in full. Available to drivers who pay their auto insurance premium in full.
  • Automatic payment. Available to drivers who set up automatic payments for their premiums.

Since Progressive’s auto insurance discounts vary by state, not all drivers will have access to the abovementioned discounts.

How can I save on Progressive auto insurance?

Whether you are switching to Progressive or just purchased a new vehicle and need coverage, there are many ways to save on your auto insurance.

Here’s how you can save money on Progressive auto insurance:

  • Bundle two or more insurance policies. If you purchase two or more Progressive insurance policies, you save money.
  • Choose the appropriate amount of coverage: Determine how much coverage is necessary and drop any extra coverage to lower your rates.
  • Increase deductible. A higher deductible lowers your auto insurance rates but remember that if an accident occurs, you’ll have to pay more out of pocket before Progressive covers repairs.
  • Improve your credit score. Increasing your credit score will lower your rate because you will no longer be seen as a risky driver.
  • Review available discounts. Since Progressive offers a variety of discounts, review what’s available and confirm your eligibility to ensure you are getting every discount you can.

Of course, if Progressive’s rates still seem too high, shopping around can help you better understand what other auto insurance companies may charge. You can decide if Progressive is the right fit for you.

How Progressive Insurance Ranks Among Providers

Here’s how Progressive measures up to its competition.

Progressive vs. Geico

Geico and Progressive are two popular auto insurance choices because they both offer affordable rates and many discounts.

Overall, Geico offers lower rates than Progressive. It also has a higher satisfaction score on the 2022 J.D. Power Customer Satisfaction Study, earning a score of 874 on a 1,000-point scale.

Progressive’s auto insurance may appeal to high-risk drivers because of its lower rates, depending on what’s reflected in their driving records. Additionally, the Snapshot program is available in more states than Geico’s DriveEasy program, meaning drivers with good driving habits have a better chance of saving on auto insurance with Progressive.

Progressive vs. State Farm

Progressive and State Farm are often considered to be some of the more reasonably-priced auto insurance carriers. As the top auto insurance provider in the nation, State Farm insurance rates are competitive and often more affordable than Progressive for both minimum and full coverage.

State Farm also earned a score of 882 on the 2022 J.D. Power Customer Satisfaction Study, which was higher than Progressive’s score of 861.

Both Progressive and State Farm offer a quick and convenient online purchase process to nationwide customers, as well as a number of standard and add-on coverage options, including rideshare insurance and car rental reimbursement.

Visit our State Farm auto insurance review for more information.

 The Bottom Line: Who is a good fit for Progressive?

Any driver could be satisfied if they choose to purchase a Progressive auto insurance policy. Compared to other auto insurance companies, Progressive’s rates are competitive and often lower than the national average.

Progressive offers all drivers a variety of coverage options and multiple opportunities to save, and high-risk drivers, in particular, will likely find cheaper insurance with Progressive than other options available.

However, for the standard driver, there are more affordable options. Use our comparison tool below to get free auto insurance quotes from local companies to see how Progressive car insurance compares with insurers near you.

Frequently Asked Questions

Will my rental be covered while my car is being repaired?

Yes, if rental reimbursement is added to your policy, Progressive will cover the cost, up to a certain amount, while your vehicle is repaired.

How do insurance companies determine fault?

A claims adjuster reviews your state insurance laws and the details of the accident to determine who is at fault. In some cases, fault can be shared, and the financial responsibility will be divided between the drivers involved in the accident.

How do I file a claim with Progressive?

Drivers can start the claims process online, through the Progressive mobile app, or by calling 1-800-776-4737.

How do I request a Progressive auto insurance quote?

You can request a Progressive auto insurance quote online, through the mobile app, or speak to an independent agent.

How can I get a quote for Progressive Auto Insurance?

You can obtain a quote for Progressive Auto Insurance by visiting their official website or by calling their customer service number. They will ask for information about your vehicle, driving history, and other relevant details to provide you with a personalized quote.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Maria Hanson

Insurance and Finance Writer

Maria Hanson grew up with a unique passion and understanding of both the automotive and insurance industries. With one grandfather in auto mechanics and another working in insurance, you could say automotive insurance is in her blood. Her love of research and finance serves her well in studying insurance trends and liability. Maria has expanded her scope of expertise to home, health, and life i...

Insurance and Finance Writer

Michelle Robbins

Licensed Insurance Agent

Michelle Robbins has been a licensed insurance agent for over 13 years. Her career began in the real estate industry, supporting local realtors with Title Insurance. After several years, Michelle shifted to real estate home warranty insurance, where she managed a territory of over 100 miles of real estate professionals. Later, Agent Robbins obtained more licensing and experience serving families a...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Progressive Insurance

4.06 (13,126 reviews)
1
January 10, 2024

fedoria7

DO NOT HONOR CLAIMS WILL DENY YOU INSTANTLY

Rated 1 out of 5 stars An hour ago DO NOT EVER MENTION INSTA-CART DO NOT EVER MENTION INSTA-CART, UBER, LYFT, etc. THEY WILL IMMEDIATELY DENY YOUR CLAIM BEFORE IT IS REVIEWED, BEAT THEM AT THEIR OWN GAME MAKE SURE TO ADD RIDE SHARE IN YOUR POLICY IF YOU DECIDED TO DO ANYTHING ELSE IN YOUR VEHICLE. THEY WILL FIND A WAY THROUGH LOOP HOLES NOT TO HONOR FULL COVERAGE. THEY SHOULD BE SUED!!!!! BEEN FIGHTING WITH THEM SINCE 01/01/2024, WHAT A WAY TO B...
Rated 1 out of 5 stars An hour ago DO NOT EVER MENTION INSTA-CART DO NOT EVER MENTION INSTA-CART, UBER, LYFT, etc. THEY WILL IMMEDIATELY DENY YOUR CLAIM BEFORE IT IS REVIEWED, BEAT THEM AT THEIR OWN GAME MAKE SURE TO ADD RIDE SHARE IN YOUR POLICY IF YOU DECIDED TO DO ANYTHING ELSE IN YOUR VEHICLE. THEY WILL FIND A WAY THROUGH LOOP HOLES NOT TO HONOR FULL COVERAGE. THEY SHOULD BE SUED!!!!! BEEN FIGHTING WITH THEM SINCE 01/01/2024, WHAT A WAY TO BEGIN THE NEW YEAR, ALSO THE CLIAMS REPRESENTIVES ARE VERY RUDE AND TWIST FACTS TO COVER THEMSELVES... DO NOT RECOMMEND PROGRESSIVE TO ANYONE!!!
1
January 14, 2023

FlyntRock78

Horrible customer service

It's funy to me how they pump all these commercials about how Progressive has your back. Well let me tell you in fact they don't! As soon as you file a claim, you don't get Flow and [REDACTED NAME] from their commercials that talk about how they take care of their customers. You get someone like [REDACTED NAME] E. [REDACTED NAME]. After dragging their feet for a week he hits me with a lowball offer at about 40% of what it would take to replace m...
It's funy to me how they pump all these commercials about how Progressive has your back. Well let me tell you in fact they don't! As soon as you file a claim, you don't get Flow and [REDACTED NAME] from their commercials that talk about how they take care of their customers. You get someone like [REDACTED NAME] E. [REDACTED NAME]. After dragging their feet for a week he hits me with a lowball offer at about 40% of what it would take to replace my vehicle. I sent him local market evidence of similar vehicles that are selling for more than double his offer. This was 3pm on a Friday. He had all the info he needed to make a phone call if he even needed to and then call me back with a real offer on my totaled vehicle so we could just settle and move forward. He simply replied that he would get back to me in a week!!! I could hear the frustration in his voice. For not accepting his low ball offer, I'm now being punished by him personally by getting put off yet another week without a vehicle. He couldn't care less about what I'm going through and it showed with his extremely poor customer service and lack of remorse over my situation which he only made worse. I only wish there was an option for zero stars because that's what Progressive really deserves.
1
November 28, 2022

Leah_p

The worst

Progressive has to be the worst insurance I've ever dealt with having them for 10 years no claims Then my car was stolen Had to pay everything out of pocket then get reimbursed a month later Which came out to be almost $7000 Not even a week after having my car back My radiator ran out they denied it I still had [REDACTED ZIP CODE] miles on my warranty of my tires They denied replacement of them When they were damaged from being in the desert Wh...
Progressive has to be the worst insurance I've ever dealt with having them for 10 years no claims Then my car was stolen Had to pay everything out of pocket then get reimbursed a month later Which came out to be almost $7000 Not even a week after having my car back My radiator ran out they denied it I still had [REDACTED ZIP CODE] miles on my warranty of my tires They denied replacement of them When they were damaged from being in the desert While it was stolen And i am talking about a brand new vehicle so it wasn't like it was an old car That might have mechanical issues Please don't use this insurance company It's nothing but my A headache if you actually have to use your insurance
1
July 10, 2021

RFK

Get lost Flo

Never again will I use progressive. You can’t hardly talk to anyone with any knowledge and if you try to sign up with the company on the phone they charge you extra money because you used a person.
1
May 24, 2021

Ace_1

This insurance [REDACTED WORD]

I will never go through this insurance company again they the sorry company I will never give them my money again their communication skills are off they giving you a run for your money I give their [REDACTED WORD] 0 stars whoever is [REDACTED NAME] they need to let him go making their company look bad and don’t know how to talk to anybody never give this company won’t get none of my money
1
May 18, 2021

KobuSosho

Random charge after I already paid premium in full

They asked for a garaging address confirmation out of the blue not long after I paid for the 12-month premium. If I don't, they will charge me $600 extra premium as a new rate, which is ridiculous. Why they didnt ask for it in the first place when they gave me the initial estimate to make a clean, one time payment is beyond me, probably want give me some hard time so they can get lucky with the extra money by trapping you since you already paid ?...
They asked for a garaging address confirmation out of the blue not long after I paid for the 12-month premium. If I don't, they will charge me $600 extra premium as a new rate, which is ridiculous. Why they didnt ask for it in the first place when they gave me the initial estimate to make a clean, one time payment is beyond me, probably want give me some hard time so they can get lucky with the extra money by trapping you since you already paid ? After I upload the proofs, it takes them almost a week to review but they are giving you so little time between the confirmation request and the due date for the extra premium. They shove the new charge in your face so quickly and actively with emails and multiple mails but when they reject your proofs, you are only notified by mail, which I am under the impression that they intentionally to make things slow for you to hard to get out of the extra charge. They are very nit picking about the proofs you provided also. When you called them, they say only certain information is needed but after they are sent, they will say they can't accept it, making the whole process such a hassle. Do not use them, as they will throw extra charges at you for no reason, or a made up reason in my case, since they already trapped you with the insurance that you already paid for. Either pay for the random bills or no insurance coverage for you
1
April 8, 2021

Suegoo

Worst insurance company and customer service.

My 22 year old son left our family policy and started his own. Progressive mistakenly charged him $900 because they mistakenly put my husband and my insurance with his. They charged him $900.00 without notifying him. They told him it would take two weeks to make a refund because he signed an agreement that they could charge more without asking. I entered a three way call but could not get anywhere with customer service. Now have to deal with ...
My 22 year old son left our family policy and started his own. Progressive mistakenly charged him $900 because they mistakenly put my husband and my insurance with his. They charged him $900.00 without notifying him. They told him it would take two weeks to make a refund because he signed an agreement that they could charge more without asking. I entered a three way call but could not get anywhere with customer service. Now have to deal with the bank. Thieves. Who goes into someone's wallet without asking?
4
March 24, 2021

Joseph02

Roadside assistance- waste of money

The insurance is good but the roadside assistance is crap! Called in for a tow at 7pm on Sunday evening. Got a text saying 90 minutes. When that was up, progressive called and said they can't reach the tow company so they will find another company. Got another text message, 60 minutes. At midnight, I called them again to see what was up. They said the ETA was still 40 minutes. I gave instructions where to drop it at my house, got some rea...
The insurance is good but the roadside assistance is crap! Called in for a tow at 7pm on Sunday evening. Got a text saying 90 minutes. When that was up, progressive called and said they can't reach the tow company so they will find another company. Got another text message, 60 minutes. At midnight, I called them again to see what was up. They said the ETA was still 40 minutes. I gave instructions where to drop it at my house, got some reassurance it would be there in the morning and went to bed. I woke at 5AM, still no truck!!!!! I call again and they tell me ETA is 4 hours! In addition to my monthly fee, I paid for this tow!! I am livid and say I want a refund. They just keep telling me they are sorry for the inconvenience and the truck will be the in 4 hours until I'm so [REDACTED WORD] I hang up! Don't waste your money, find your own tow company and save yourself the monthly fee and over 12 hours of stress and waiting!!!
1
March 22, 2021

as92808

$50 cancellation fee!?!?

I have had several Progressive insurance policies in the past and I had auto coverage on two of my cars recently. I moved out of state and went to change the policy to my new state and saw that the new rate just wasn't competitive, so I switched to AllState. I got my final bill from Progressive and they added a $50 cancellation fee. I called them to tell them I wanted to pay the remaining balance, but I refused to pay a cancellation fee of $50...
I have had several Progressive insurance policies in the past and I had auto coverage on two of my cars recently. I moved out of state and went to change the policy to my new state and saw that the new rate just wasn't competitive, so I switched to AllState. I got my final bill from Progressive and they added a $50 cancellation fee. I called them to tell them I wanted to pay the remaining balance, but I refused to pay a cancellation fee of $50. They told me that was mandated by the state (which is a total lie). I had insurance with another company and cancelled it mid term and was never charged a $50 fee previously. They told me they would not remove the fee so that I could pay the remaining balance that I actually owed and if I did not pay the cancellation fee they were going to send it to collections. Be aware of this before ever considering this company for anything. They have lost a customer for life over $50 and will be bad mouthed on every platform available to me for as long as I live.
5
February 3, 2021

agm_

You should get progressive

Progressive is a great company! It helps me save money on auto insurance, and the better you drive the more you save.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption