Progressive Choice Insurance Company Review (2024)

Progressive Choice Insurance, a leading player in the insurance industry, distinguishes itself with competitive rates, customizable policies, and a user-friendly experience, making it a preferred option for customers seeking reliable and affordable insurance solutions.

UPDATED: Jun 14, 2024Fact Checked

Laura D. Adams

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Laura Adams is one of the nation’s leading finance, insurance, and small business authorities. As an award-winning author, spokesperson, and host of the top-rated Money Girl podcast since 2008, millions of readers and listeners benefit from her practical advice. Her mission is to empower consumers to live healthy and rich lives by planning for the future and making smart money decisions. She rec...

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Jun 14, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jun 14, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jun 14, 2024Fact Checked
4.1
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Progressive Choice Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

$100

A.M. Best rating:

A+

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Competitive rates
  • Bundle discounts
  • Excellent customer service
  • User-friendly online tools
  • Customizable coverage options

Cons

  • Notable for high-risk drivers
  • Limited coverage options for some policies
  • Rates may vary by location

In conclusion, Progressive Choice Insurance emerges as a top-tier provider in the insurance industry, offering customers a compelling combination of competitive rates, customizable policies, and a user-friendly experience. The company’s commitment to customer satisfaction is evident in its low complaint level and extensive range of coverage options, catering to diverse needs.

The review, conducted by industry experts Laura D. Adams and Daniel Walker, underscores Progressive Choice Insurance’s reliability and quality service. The company distinguishes itself through technological advancements, such as a feature-rich mobile app and seamless online account management, enhancing the overall customer experience.

Additionally, Progressive’s efficient claims processing, commitment to swift resolutions, and positive customer feedback further establish its credibility. With a nationwide presence and a variety of discounts to help customers save on premiums, Progressive Choice Insurance stands out as a trustworthy and competitive option in the insurance market.

Progressive Insurance Coverage Options

Progressive Choice Insurance offers a wide range of coverage options to meet the diverse needs of their customers. Here is a bullet list detailing the coverage options provided by the company:

Auto Insurance Coverage

  • Comprehensive Coverage
  • Collision Coverage
  • Liability Coverage
  • Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
  • Rental Car Reimbursement
  • Roadside Assistance

Home Insurance Coverage

  • Dwelling Coverage
  • Personal Property Coverage
  • Liability Coverage
  • Guest Medical Coverage
  • Additional Living Expenses Coverage

Life Insurance Coverage

  • Term Life Insurance
  • Whole Life Insurance
  • Universal Life Insurance

Health Insurance Coverage

  • Health Maintenance Organization (HMO) Plans
  • Preferred Provider Organization (PPO) Plans
  • High-Deductible Health Plans (HDHPs)

Progressive Choice Insurance’s comprehensive coverage options ensure that customers can find the right insurance solutions to protect their assets and loved ones effectively.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Progressive Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileProgressive ChoiceNational Average
Clean Record$135$119
1+ Ticket$150$147
1+ Accident$180$173
DUI$220$209
Poor Credit$232$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver

Compare RatesStart Now →

Progressive Insurance Discounts Available

DiscountProgressive Choice
Anti Theft13%
Good Student9%
Low Mileage10%
Paperless7%
Safe Driver17%
Senior Driver13%

Compare RatesStart Now →

Progressive Choice Insurance provides a range of discounts to help customers save on their insurance premiums. These discounts are designed to reward safe and responsible behavior. Here’s a bullet list outlining the discounts offered by the company:

  • Safe Driver Discounts: Discounts based on safe driving habits monitored through a mobile app or device.
  • Multi-Policy Discounts: Bundle Discount: Savings for combining auto and home insurance policies with Progressive
  • Good Student Discount: Reduced rates for students who maintain good grades.
  • Continuous Insurance Discount: Rewards for customers who maintain continuous insurance coverage.
  • Homeowner Discount: Savings for homeowners who choose Progressive for their insurance needs.
  • Online Quote Discount: Discounts for customers who request and complete their quotes online.
  • Paperless Policy Discount: Incentives for customers who opt for paperless policy documents and billing.
  • Pay-in-Full Discount: Savings for customers who pay their premiums in a single, upfront payment.

These discounts make Progressive Choice Insurance an attractive option for customers looking to save on their insurance costs while maintaining quality coverage.

How Progressive Insurance Ranks Among Providers

Progressive Choice Insurance faces competition from several other major insurance companies in the market. Here are some of its main competitors:

  • Geico: Geico is one of Progressive’s top competitors, known for its witty advertising campaigns and competitive rates. They offer a wide range of insurance products, including auto, home, and more.
  • State Farm: State Farm is a well-established insurance provider with a vast network of agents. They offer auto, home, life, and various other insurance products, emphasizing personalized service.
  • Allstate: Allstate is another major player in the insurance industry, offering a range of coverage options, including auto, home, and life insurance. They are known for their extensive agent network and innovative features like Drivewise.
  • Liberty Mutual: Liberty Mutual offers various insurance products, including auto, home, and renters insurance. They are known for their customizable coverage options and discounts.
  • USAA: While primarily serving military members and their families, USAA competes with Progressive in the auto insurance sector. They are recognized for exceptional customer service and comprehensive coverage options.
  • Farmers Insurance: Farmers Insurance is a leading provider of auto, home, and life insurance. They offer a range of coverage options and have a strong presence in the market.
  • Nationwide: Nationwide is known for its diverse insurance offerings, including auto, home, and pet insurance. They emphasize customer-centric services and various discount opportunities.
  • Esurance: Owned by Allstate, Esurance is an online-focused insurance provider that competes with Progressive’s digital approach. They offer auto and home insurance with a streamlined online experience.
  • Travelers: Travelers offers a wide range of insurance solutions, including auto, home, and business insurance. They are known for their extensive coverage options and risk management services.
  • American Family Insurance: American Family Insurance provides auto, home, and life insurance with a strong emphasis on community involvement and customer relationships.

Each of these competitors has its unique strengths and weaknesses, and the choice between them often depends on the specific needs and preferences of the customer. Progressive distinguishes itself through its innovative technology, competitive pricing, and customizable coverage options, which are key factors that help it remain competitive in the insurance industry.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Progressive Choice Insurance: Claims Process Overview

Filing a Claim Made Simple

Progressive Choice Insurance is dedicated to simplifying the claims process for its policyholders. Whether you prefer the convenience of digital platforms or direct communication with a claims representative, Progressive Choice Insurance offers multiple options for filing a claim.

Their user-friendly approach ensures that policyholders can choose the method that best suits their needs.

Swift Claim Processing

When it comes to claim processing, time is of the essence. Progressive Choice Insurance aims for efficiency in handling claims. While the exact processing time may vary depending on the complexity of the claim, the company is committed to providing reasonable turnaround times.

This commitment is designed to alleviate the stress often associated with filing a claim, offering policyholders peace of mind.

Customer Satisfaction With Claim Resolutions

One of the key indicators of an insurance company’s performance is customer feedback on claim resolutions and payouts. Progressive Choice Insurance values this feedback and strives to meet its promises.

By understanding how well the company delivers on claims, potential customers can gain valuable insights into the reliability of their insurance coverage. Reviews from satisfied customers can provide confidence in the event of a claim.

Progressive Choice Insurance: Digital and Technological Features

Mobile App Advancements

Progressive Choice Insurance offers a feature-rich mobile app designed to enhance the customer experience. This app provides policyholders with convenient access to their insurance information, including policy documents, billing details, and claims status.

Moreover, it offers features such as digital ID cards and the ability to report and track claims directly from the app. These functionalities contribute to a seamless and modern insurance experience, putting important information and tools at policyholders’ fingertips.

Seamless Online Account Management

In today’s digital age, online account management is crucial. Progressive Choice Insurance understands this and has developed a secure online portal for policyholders. This portal allows customers to easily manage their accounts, make payments, and update policy details—all from the comfort of their own devices.

The online account management system empowers customers with self-service options, reducing the need for time-consuming phone calls or in-person visits.

Digital Tools and Resources

To further assist policyholders, Progressive Choice Insurance provides a range of digital tools and resources. These include educational materials, insurance calculators, and guides to help customers make informed decisions about their coverage.

The company’s commitment to offering digital resources reflects its dedication to supporting customers throughout their insurance journey, from selecting the right policy to understanding their coverage options.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I get a quote with Progressive Choice Insurance?

Getting a quote is easy! You can visit their website and use their online quoting tool, or you can reach out to one of their agents for personalized assistance.

What discounts does Progressive offer?

Progressive offers a variety of discounts, including safe driver discounts, multi-policy discounts, and discounts for good students.

How does Progressive handle claims?

Absolutely! Progressive offers customizable coverage options to tailor your policy to your unique needs.

Is Progressive Choice Insurance available nationwide?

Yes, Progressive Choice Insurance is available nationwide, providing coverage to customers across the United States.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Laura D. Adams

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Laura Adams is one of the nation’s leading finance, insurance, and small business authorities. As an award-winning author, spokesperson, and host of the top-rated Money Girl podcast since 2008, millions of readers and listeners benefit from her practical advice. Her mission is to empower consumers to live healthy and rich lives by planning for the future and making smart money decisions. She rec...

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Progressive Insurance

4.06 (13,127 reviews)
1
April 17, 2024

KLA-169

You may not get your full refund.

Not a company I would do business with again. I had progressive insurance, cancelled it because I sold the car. Got my refund check followed their instructions for returning their snapshot device. They stopped payment on the refund check after it was deposited and are issuing me two separate checks one for the "snapshot device" and the rest of the money they owe me. This cost me an over draft fee and a returned check fee, which they refuse to cov...
Not a company I would do business with again. I had progressive insurance, cancelled it because I sold the car. Got my refund check followed their instructions for returning their snapshot device. They stopped payment on the refund check after it was deposited and are issuing me two separate checks one for the "snapshot device" and the rest of the money they owe me. This cost me an over draft fee and a returned check fee, which they refuse to cover. Not because they didn't owe me the money but because they refunded it in two checks. Never do business with these people.
0.5
March 16, 2024

Bio Or

progressive insurance review

They will leave you if you need them! I can’t definitely recommend this company! Basically, one star is already too much for them.
1
January 10, 2024

fedoria7

DO NOT HONOR CLAIMS WILL DENY YOU INSTANTLY

Rated 1 out of 5 stars An hour ago DO NOT EVER MENTION INSTA-CART DO NOT EVER MENTION INSTA-CART, UBER, LYFT, etc. THEY WILL IMMEDIATELY DENY YOUR CLAIM BEFORE IT IS REVIEWED, BEAT THEM AT THEIR OWN GAME MAKE SURE TO ADD RIDE SHARE IN YOUR POLICY IF YOU DECIDED TO DO ANYTHING ELSE IN YOUR VEHICLE. THEY WILL FIND A WAY THROUGH LOOP HOLES NOT TO HONOR FULL COVERAGE. THEY SHOULD BE SUED!!!!! BEEN FIGHTING WITH THEM SINCE 01/01/2024, WHAT A WAY TO B...
Rated 1 out of 5 stars An hour ago DO NOT EVER MENTION INSTA-CART DO NOT EVER MENTION INSTA-CART, UBER, LYFT, etc. THEY WILL IMMEDIATELY DENY YOUR CLAIM BEFORE IT IS REVIEWED, BEAT THEM AT THEIR OWN GAME MAKE SURE TO ADD RIDE SHARE IN YOUR POLICY IF YOU DECIDED TO DO ANYTHING ELSE IN YOUR VEHICLE. THEY WILL FIND A WAY THROUGH LOOP HOLES NOT TO HONOR FULL COVERAGE. THEY SHOULD BE SUED!!!!! BEEN FIGHTING WITH THEM SINCE 01/01/2024, WHAT A WAY TO BEGIN THE NEW YEAR, ALSO THE CLIAMS REPRESENTIVES ARE VERY RUDE AND TWIST FACTS TO COVER THEMSELVES... DO NOT RECOMMEND PROGRESSIVE TO ANYONE!!!
1
January 14, 2023

FlyntRock78

Horrible customer service

It's funy to me how they pump all these commercials about how Progressive has your back. Well let me tell you in fact they don't! As soon as you file a claim, you don't get Flow and [REDACTED NAME] from their commercials that talk about how they take care of their customers. You get someone like [REDACTED NAME] E. [REDACTED NAME]. After dragging their feet for a week he hits me with a lowball offer at about 40% of what it would take to replace m...
It's funy to me how they pump all these commercials about how Progressive has your back. Well let me tell you in fact they don't! As soon as you file a claim, you don't get Flow and [REDACTED NAME] from their commercials that talk about how they take care of their customers. You get someone like [REDACTED NAME] E. [REDACTED NAME]. After dragging their feet for a week he hits me with a lowball offer at about 40% of what it would take to replace my vehicle. I sent him local market evidence of similar vehicles that are selling for more than double his offer. This was 3pm on a Friday. He had all the info he needed to make a phone call if he even needed to and then call me back with a real offer on my totaled vehicle so we could just settle and move forward. He simply replied that he would get back to me in a week!!! I could hear the frustration in his voice. For not accepting his low ball offer, I'm now being punished by him personally by getting put off yet another week without a vehicle. He couldn't care less about what I'm going through and it showed with his extremely poor customer service and lack of remorse over my situation which he only made worse. I only wish there was an option for zero stars because that's what Progressive really deserves.
1
November 28, 2022

Leah_p

The worst

Progressive has to be the worst insurance I've ever dealt with having them for 10 years no claims Then my car was stolen Had to pay everything out of pocket then get reimbursed a month later Which came out to be almost $7000 Not even a week after having my car back My radiator ran out they denied it I still had [REDACTED ZIP CODE] miles on my warranty of my tires They denied replacement of them When they were damaged from being in the desert Wh...
Progressive has to be the worst insurance I've ever dealt with having them for 10 years no claims Then my car was stolen Had to pay everything out of pocket then get reimbursed a month later Which came out to be almost $7000 Not even a week after having my car back My radiator ran out they denied it I still had [REDACTED ZIP CODE] miles on my warranty of my tires They denied replacement of them When they were damaged from being in the desert While it was stolen And i am talking about a brand new vehicle so it wasn't like it was an old car That might have mechanical issues Please don't use this insurance company It's nothing but my A headache if you actually have to use your insurance
1
July 10, 2021

RFK

Get lost Flo

Never again will I use progressive. You can’t hardly talk to anyone with any knowledge and if you try to sign up with the company on the phone they charge you extra money because you used a person.
1
May 24, 2021

Ace_1

This insurance [REDACTED WORD]

I will never go through this insurance company again they the sorry company I will never give them my money again their communication skills are off they giving you a run for your money I give their [REDACTED WORD] 0 stars whoever is [REDACTED NAME] they need to let him go making their company look bad and don’t know how to talk to anybody never give this company won’t get none of my money
1
May 18, 2021

KobuSosho

Random charge after I already paid premium in full

They asked for a garaging address confirmation out of the blue not long after I paid for the 12-month premium. If I don't, they will charge me $600 extra premium as a new rate, which is ridiculous. Why they didnt ask for it in the first place when they gave me the initial estimate to make a clean, one time payment is beyond me, probably want give me some hard time so they can get lucky with the extra money by trapping you since you already paid ?...
They asked for a garaging address confirmation out of the blue not long after I paid for the 12-month premium. If I don't, they will charge me $600 extra premium as a new rate, which is ridiculous. Why they didnt ask for it in the first place when they gave me the initial estimate to make a clean, one time payment is beyond me, probably want give me some hard time so they can get lucky with the extra money by trapping you since you already paid ? After I upload the proofs, it takes them almost a week to review but they are giving you so little time between the confirmation request and the due date for the extra premium. They shove the new charge in your face so quickly and actively with emails and multiple mails but when they reject your proofs, you are only notified by mail, which I am under the impression that they intentionally to make things slow for you to hard to get out of the extra charge. They are very nit picking about the proofs you provided also. When you called them, they say only certain information is needed but after they are sent, they will say they can't accept it, making the whole process such a hassle. Do not use them, as they will throw extra charges at you for no reason, or a made up reason in my case, since they already trapped you with the insurance that you already paid for. Either pay for the random bills or no insurance coverage for you
1
April 8, 2021

Suegoo

Worst insurance company and customer service.

My 22 year old son left our family policy and started his own. Progressive mistakenly charged him $900 because they mistakenly put my husband and my insurance with his. They charged him $900.00 without notifying him. They told him it would take two weeks to make a refund because he signed an agreement that they could charge more without asking. I entered a three way call but could not get anywhere with customer service. Now have to deal with ...
My 22 year old son left our family policy and started his own. Progressive mistakenly charged him $900 because they mistakenly put my husband and my insurance with his. They charged him $900.00 without notifying him. They told him it would take two weeks to make a refund because he signed an agreement that they could charge more without asking. I entered a three way call but could not get anywhere with customer service. Now have to deal with the bank. Thieves. Who goes into someone's wallet without asking?
4
March 24, 2021

Joseph02

Roadside assistance- waste of money

The insurance is good but the roadside assistance is crap! Called in for a tow at 7pm on Sunday evening. Got a text saying 90 minutes. When that was up, progressive called and said they can't reach the tow company so they will find another company. Got another text message, 60 minutes. At midnight, I called them again to see what was up. They said the ETA was still 40 minutes. I gave instructions where to drop it at my house, got some rea...
The insurance is good but the roadside assistance is crap! Called in for a tow at 7pm on Sunday evening. Got a text saying 90 minutes. When that was up, progressive called and said they can't reach the tow company so they will find another company. Got another text message, 60 minutes. At midnight, I called them again to see what was up. They said the ETA was still 40 minutes. I gave instructions where to drop it at my house, got some reassurance it would be there in the morning and went to bed. I woke at 5AM, still no truck!!!!! I call again and they tell me ETA is 4 hours! In addition to my monthly fee, I paid for this tow!! I am livid and say I want a refund. They just keep telling me they are sorry for the inconvenience and the truck will be the in 4 hours until I'm so [REDACTED WORD] I hang up! Don't waste your money, find your own tow company and save yourself the monthly fee and over 12 hours of stress and waiting!!!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption