Safety Insurance Review [2024]

Safety Insurance serves residents in Massachusetts, Maine, and New Hampshire, providing reliable home, auto, and business insurance while maintaining solid financial stability and a commitment to excellent customer service.

UPDATED: Jan 28, 2024Fact Checked

Jeffrey Manola

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeffrey Manola is an experienced life insurance agent who founded TopQuoteLifeInsurance.com and NoMedicalExamQuotes.com. His mission when creating these sites was to provide online consumers searching for life insurance with the most affordable term life insurance, permanent life insurance, no medical exam life insurance, and burial insurance. Not only does he strive to provide consumers with t...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Laura D. Adams

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Laura Adams is one of the nation’s leading finance, insurance, and small business authorities. As an award-winning author, spokesperson, and host of the top-rated Money Girl podcast since 2008, millions of readers and listeners benefit from her practical advice. Her mission is to empower consumers to live healthy and rich lives by planning for the future and making smart money decisions. She rec...

Insurance & Finance Analyst

UPDATED: Jan 28, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 28, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 28, 2024Fact Checked
4.0
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Safety Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • A.M. Best rating of A and A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau.
  • Positive customer reviews and lower-than-average complaint level.
  • Personalized attention from agents.
  • Affordable rates compared to competitors.
  • Discounts and unique benefits are available.

Cons

  • Limited availability in only three states (Massachusetts, Maine, and New Hampshire).
  • Some negative reviews regarding the claims process.

Final Verdict: Review of Safety Insurance

If you’re a resident of Massachusetts, Maine, or New Hampshire, the Safety Insurance company might have the coverage you need for your home, car, or business.

Founded in 1979, Safety Insurance has a reputation for excellent customer experiences for car or home insurance. Although they only sell in three states, customers typically enjoy getting personalized attention from their agents.

You should still consider other companies before calling the Safety Insurance phone number to sign up for a policy. Shopping around for quotes is the best way to ensure you get the lowest price possible for whatever insurance you need.

Safety Insurance quotes might be the cheapest for your needs, but plenty of other options are available to you. Enter your ZIP code into our free tool to see what quotes might look like for you.

[su_box title="The Lowdown" style="default"]
  • Safety Insurance serves a small area: Massachusetts, Maine, and New Hampshire
  • The company sells car, home, business, commercial vehicle, umbrella, and boat insurance
  • M. Best gives Safety an A, the Better Business Bureau an A+, and the company receives fewer complaints than average, according to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners
[/su_box] If you’re a resident of Massachusetts, Maine, or New Hampshire, the Safety Insurance company might have the coverage you need for your home, car, or business. Founded in 1979, Safety Insurance has a reputation for excellent customer experiences for car or home insurance. Although they only sell in three states, customers typically enjoy getting personalized attention from their agents. You should still consider other companies before calling the Safety Insurance phone number to sign up for a policy. Shopping around for quotes is the best way to ensure you get the lowest price possible for whatever insurance you need. Safety Insurance quotes might be the cheapest for your needs, but plenty of other options are available to you. Enter your ZIP code into our free tool to see what quotes might look like for you.

What You Should Know About Safety Insurance Company

Safety Insurance receives an A from A.M. Best and an A+ from the Better Business Bureau. In general, customer reviews are positive, and it receives fewer complaints than average, according to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners.

Customers enjoy affordable Safety Insurance rates, stating that they tend to be lower than competitors in the area. People appreciate the easy Safety Insurance bill pay options and the friendly customer service representatives.

Negative reviews tend to focus on the Safety Insurance claims process. Some customers feel they were dealt with too slowly or that assessors inaccurately reported damage to their vehicle or home.

Safety Insurance Company Insurance Coverage Options

Safety sells a variety of insurance products to residents of Maine, Massachusetts, and New Hampshire, including:

  • Auto
  • Home
  • Business
  • Umbrella
  • Commercial car
  • Boat

According to their website, Safety is committed to making buying and managing your insurance as easy as possible. True to its name, they also promote safe driving habits for teens and other drivers.

In fact, they have an entire section on the Safety website dedicated to providing safe driving resources to its customers. While it’s not the largest insurance provider, most customers report being happy with the service they receive.

Safety Auto Insurance

Auto insurance is Safety’s most popular product, and Safety offers the same traditional coverage as its competitors do. This includes:

  • Liability. Liability coverage pays for damage you cause to other vehicles and property.
  • Collision. While collision isn’t a legal requirement to drive, it provides invaluable protection if your car is damaged in an accident, regardless of who is at fault.
  • Comprehensive. Comprehensive covers damage to your vehicle outside of accidents, including vandalism, theft, weather, and animal contact.

Safety also offers several unique plans with unique benefits to meet your auto insurance needs.

  • Safety Shield. Available options vary by state, but this can include glass coverage, guaranteed replacement cost, personal belongings coverage, waiver of your collision deductible, and emergency travel expenses.
  • Safety Shield Plus. This is an upgrade to the Safety Shield plan available to Massachusetts residents. If you purchase this, you’ll get accident forgiveness, seat belt coverage, pet coverage, and more coverage for your personal belongings.
  • GAP coverage. If you finance a new car and something happens to it, you’ll likely owe more on the loan than your car is worth. GAP coverage will pay the difference between what your car is worth and how much is left on your loan in case your car is totaled.

While this isn’t the most comprehensive list of coverage options out there, Safety Insurance can cover most insurance needs.

Safety Home Insurance

As far as home insurance goes, Safety Insurance has relatively standard coverage for homes, apartments, and condos. If you live in Massachusetts or New Hampshire, you may also be eligible for cyber protection for your technological needs.

You can also buy additional coverage with Safety’s home insurance packages.

  • Safety Supreme. This plan comes with more coverage for high-value items like jewelry, more liability coverage, ordinance/law coverage, and water and sewer backup coverage. It also comes with replacement cost coverage for your personal items.
  • Safety Supreme Plus. On top of everything that the Safety Supreme plan offers, this comes with extra water backup protection. It also guarantees to rebuild your home, even if the damage costs more than the limit of your policy.
  • Safety Complete. The ultimate Safety home insurance package, this comes with everything listed above as well as identity theft protection, more protection for water backup, and business coverage if you work from home. It also covers your appliances.

Like auto, you’ll need to speak to an agent to get a quote for homeowners insurance. However, Safety offers discounts to save you money:

  • Customer loyalty
  • Bundling
  • New home
  • Safety devices

In general, Safety receives positive customer reviews for their homeowners insurance. Customers appreciate fast response times and good customer service.

Other Insurance Products by Safety

With Safety, you can purchase insurance for various needs, including business owners, commercial car, and umbrella.

Safety’s business owner’s insurance covers apartments and condos, restaurants, office buildings, processing centers, wholesaling businesses, and trade contractors. Business policies include protection for your equipment, and additional coverages are available for purchase.

Commercial car insurance will cover vehicles used for business, including trucks, cars, vans, and tractor-trailers. Safety also offers fleet insurance if you have multiple business vehicles.

Umbrella insurance is additional coverage for your liability policies in either home or business insurance.

If someone is injured on your property and you’re determined to be at fault, your liability insurance might run out before your legal fees are covered. Umbrella insurance makes up for the difference.

While quotes are unavailable online, a simple Safety Insurance login can determine what policies you qualify for.

See if Safety Insurance is Right for You

If you are a Massachusetts, New Hampshire, or Maine resident, Safety Insurance might have the coverage you need. From home, auto, business, and many other products, Safety has a reputation for excellent customer service.

If you want to buy Safety Insurance, you should also shop other companies to get the lowest price possible. Enter your ZIP code into our free tool to see what quotes might look like for you.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Safety Insurance Company Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileSafety InsuranceNational Average
Clean Record$83$119
1+ Ticket$125$147
1+ Accident$154$173
DUI$250$209
Poor Credit$143$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver


View as image

While you need to speak with an agent to get a quote, Safety reviews generally state that its car insurance is comparable in price to other companies. Safety also offers a long list of discounts you can take advantage of to save money.

  • Customer loyalty
  • Multi-car
  • Bundling
  • Good student
  • Accident-free
  • Student away-from-home
  • Defensive driver course
  • Drive with Safety app

The Drive with Safety app monitors your driving habits such as hard braking, cell phone use while driving, speeding, and late-night driving.

Safety Insurance Company Discounts Available

DiscountsSafety Insurance
Anti Theft8%
Good Student13%
Low Mileage10%
Paperless8%
Safe Driver18%
Senior Driver12%

Safety Insurance provides various discounts to help customers save money on their insurance policies. These discounts cater to different factors and circumstances, allowing policyholders to benefit from reduced rates while maintaining quality coverage.

  • Safe Driver Discount: Rewards policyholders who maintain a clean driving record without accidents or violations.
  • Multi-Policy Discount: Provides savings for customers who bundle multiple insurance policies, such as auto and home insurance.
  • Good Student Discount: Offers reduced rates for students who demonstrate strong academic performance.
  • Anti-Theft Device Discount: Gives discounts to policyholders who install anti-theft devices in their vehicles for added security. (For more information, read our “Why You Should Get an Anti-Theft Device for Your Car“).
  • Low Mileage Discount: Rewards customers who drive fewer miles than average, reducing their insurance premiums.
  • Mature Driver Discount: Offers discounts to older drivers who complete recognized safe driving courses.
  • Group Discounts: Provides reduced rates for certain professional groups or affiliations.

Safety Insurance offers a range of discounts that cater to various aspects, including driving behavior, policy bundling, security measures, and demographics. These discounts aim to incentivize safe practices and provide financial benefits to policyholders, encouraging responsible behavior and fostering customer satisfaction.

How Safety Insurance Company Ranks Among Providers

In the insurance landscape, Safety Insurance faces competition from several notable companies that offer similar coverage options and services. Understanding these competitors can help individuals make informed decisions when exploring insurance providers.

  • GEICO: Known for competitive rates and a wide range of coverage options, GEICO offers auto, home, and other insurance products, often emphasizing affordability and user-friendly online tools.
  • Progressive: Recognized for its innovative insurance offerings, Progressive provides auto, home, and other policies with a focus on technology-driven services, like Snapshot, which monitors driving habits to offer personalized rates.
  • State Farm: One of the largest insurers in the U.S., State Farm offers various insurance products, including auto, home, and life insurance, along with a network of agents known for personalized customer service.
  • Allstate: Known for its extensive network of agents and diverse insurance offerings, Allstate provides auto, home, and other policies, often highlighting comprehensive coverage options and various discounts.
  • Liberty Mutual: Offers auto, home, and other insurance products with customizable coverage options and a strong emphasis on customer service and technological advancements.

Safety Insurance operates in a competitive market alongside major insurance providers like GEICO, Progressive, State Farm, Allstate, and Liberty Mutual. Each of these competitors has its own strengths and unique selling points, offering diverse coverage options and services to attract and retain customers.

Understanding the offerings of these competitors can aid individuals in comparing and selecting the most suitable insurance provider based on their needs and preferences.

Effortless Claims Processing at Safety Insurance

Ease of Filing a Claim

Safety Insurance offers multiple avenues for filing claims, including online, over the phone, and through mobile apps, ensuring flexibility for policyholders.

Average Claim Processing Time

While processing times can vary depending on individual cases, Safety Insurance generally aims for efficient and timely claim resolutions.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and Payouts

Customer reviews on claim resolutions and payouts vary. While many appreciate the smooth process and timely payouts, some express concerns regarding delays or inaccuracies in the assessment of damages to vehicles or properties.

Embrace Technological Convenience With Safety Insurance

Mobile App Features and Functionality

The Safety Insurance mobile app offers user-friendly features, allowing policyholders to manage their accounts, file claims, access policy information, and make payments conveniently from their mobile devices.

Online Account Management Capabilities

Safety Insurance provides robust online account management capabilities, enabling policyholders to review policy details, track claims, and update information through a user-friendly online portal.

Digital Tools and Resources

The company’s digital platform offers resources such as safe driving resources, educational materials, and access to policy-related information, enhancing customers’ understanding and engagement with their insurance coverage.

Frequently Asked Questions

What regions does Safety Insurance serve?

Safety Insurance serves residents of Massachusetts, Maine, and New Hampshire, offering home, auto, and business insurance within these areas.

What are Safety Insurance’s financial ratings?

Safety Insurance holds an A rating from A.M. Best and an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau, indicating strong financial stability.

What are the primary insurance coverage options provided by Safety Insurance?

Safety Insurance offers various coverage options, including auto insurance, home insurance for homes, apartments, and condos, as well as specialized insurance for businesses.

How does Safety Insurance compare to competitors in terms of customer satisfaction?

Safety Insurance generally receives positive customer reviews for affordable rates, easy bill payments, and good customer service. However, some negative feedback pertains to delays in the claims process.

What technological tools and resources does Safety Insurance offer to policyholders?

Safety Insurance provides a mobile app for managing accounts, filing claims, and accessing policy information. They also offer online account management capabilities and digital resources promoting safe driving habits.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Jeffrey Manola

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeffrey Manola is an experienced life insurance agent who founded TopQuoteLifeInsurance.com and NoMedicalExamQuotes.com. His mission when creating these sites was to provide online consumers searching for life insurance with the most affordable term life insurance, permanent life insurance, no medical exam life insurance, and burial insurance. Not only does he strive to provide consumers with t...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Laura D. Adams

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Laura Adams is one of the nation’s leading finance, insurance, and small business authorities. As an award-winning author, spokesperson, and host of the top-rated Money Girl podcast since 2008, millions of readers and listeners benefit from her practical advice. Her mission is to empower consumers to live healthy and rich lives by planning for the future and making smart money decisions. She rec...

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Safety Insurance Company

3.98 (145 reviews)
1
December 13, 2022

Marianne_F

Avoid at all cost

Terrible service. Refuse to cancel policy despite proper paperwork. Purposely given the run around when trying to get in contact with anyone.
4
December 26, 2020

Steph6727

Safety is good

Have been with Safety for over 10 years. Always fair and reliable. Would recommend to anyone. Give them a shot.
4
October 18, 2020

Papa2012

Safety Insurance review

I have had this insurance company for over ten years for my vehicles. They offer low rates and multiple discounts . Safety insurance online is good place to get a good quote and decent coverage.
3
January 30, 2020

true12

general

My experience with this company has been mostly positive but you would think that being with them so long I would get extra perks sometimes - I do like my local business agent but I did have a situation that I felt they could have fought harder for me
5
January 27, 2020

Kathleen666

Low auto Insurance rates.

I've had Safety Insurance for well over 25years, for my car. I have never had a problem with them. I've gotten quotes from other company's but can 't find one that will bring my insurance lower than $565. a year. So I stay with them.
4
July 30, 2019

noshar

Good ezxperience overall

I have had good experiences with Safety overall. The coverage is good and the price is fair. They've helped me out through a few accidents and mishaps and I've never had a bad experience.
4
March 28, 2019

mopar

Claims

I have had insurance through this company for many years. I have only had 2 instances where I needed to file a report/claim. One thing I do not like is I had to bring the car to them, they did not come out to me to see the car/damage. Other than that the claim was settled to my satisfaction quickly.
1
March 26, 2019

dt05

Disrespectful, cancelled without notification

I had a terrible experience. My policy was cancelled for non-payment after I had made a payment. Nobody notified me of the cancellation by mail or other means. When I had gone on-line to make a payment I got an error message and could not make a payment. This was on a Saturday, so I could not call to fix the issue. When I called the following I found I had been cancelled, without being notified. I was told the notice was sent out, but I had not r...
I had a terrible experience. My policy was cancelled for non-payment after I had made a payment. Nobody notified me of the cancellation by mail or other means. When I had gone on-line to make a payment I got an error message and could not make a payment. This was on a Saturday, so I could not call to fix the issue. When I called the following I found I had been cancelled, without being notified. I was told the notice was sent out, but I had not received it. I questioned why I wasn't notified and the representative began arguing with me. I asked to speak to a manager and was put on hold...it has been over 20 minutes and I am still waiting. I am on the phone now with a new agency. Do not insure with this company!!!!!
4
January 9, 2019

Whitera637

Good company

Unlike many insurance co.pany they have a 12 month pay schedule which is great. I love how I don't need to upfront 20% just to make my policy active
1
January 1, 2019

Hennesseylaw1

Claim filed 6 months after alleged accident not investigated

I was notified that a claim was being made against my insurance. The allegation was an accident involving my daughter 6 months ago and that the person just put the claim in. I immediately contacted my claims adjuster demanding to know more but was told safety insurance policy prevents information about the accident being released. The only info was the claim was presented on 12/27/18 from an accident occurring on 7/1/18. This was a day we were ou...
I was notified that a claim was being made against my insurance. The allegation was an accident involving my daughter 6 months ago and that the person just put the claim in. I immediately contacted my claims adjuster demanding to know more but was told safety insurance policy prevents information about the accident being released. The only info was the claim was presented on 12/27/18 from an accident occurring on 7/1/18. This was a day we were out of the state. No other information was being released. I'm their client and they are refusing to inform me about this accident. I was provided an accident report form to fill out without any other information. Don't use Safety insurance. Overpriced without support for their own client.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption