State Auto Insurance Review [2024]

Unleash reliable auto insurance solutions with State Auto, a century-old provider offering fair policies and diverse coverage options, though not tailored for safe drivers seeking discounts or paperless incentives.

UPDATED: Jan 24, 2024Fact Checked

Merriya Valleri

Insurance and Finance Writer

Merriya Valleri is a skilled insurance writer with over a decade of professional writing experience. Merriya has a strong desire to make understanding insurance an easy task while providing readers with accurate and up-to-date information. Merriya has written articles focusing on health, life, and auto insurance. She enjoys working in the insurance field, and is constantly learning in order to ...

Insurance and Finance Writer

Jeff Root

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeff is a well-known speaker and expert in life insurance and financial planning. He has spoken at top insurance conferences around the U.S., including the InsuranceNewsNet Super Conference, the 8% Nation Insurance Wealth Conference, and the Digital Life Insurance Agent Mastermind. He has been featured and quoted in Nerdwallet, Bloomberg, Forbes, U.S. News & Money, USA Today, and other leading...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Jan 24, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jan 24, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jan 24, 2024Fact Checked
3.4
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Auto Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A-

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Over 100 years of experience in providing fair auto insurance policies
  • Partnership with Liberty Mutual for additional benefits
  • A- rating from A.M. Best for financial strength
  • A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau
  • Multiple coverage options to choose from

Cons

  • No discounts for safe drivers
  • No incentives for paperless members
  • Auto insurance rates above the national average

Final Verdict: Review of State Auto Insurance

State Auto insurance has over 100 years of service under its belt, and now that it has partnered with Liberty Mutual, the company can leverage the additional visibility to acquire more customers. Although there are some convenient benefits available, State Auto insurance isn’t for everyone.

State Auto is not for the safe drivers that are in search of a deal, and its benefits may not be appealing at all to bargain hunters. If you like to save paper by going paperless, State Auto is not a company that will reward you for your environmentally-conscious decisions.

Despite everything that it is now, State Auto has a stack of benefits that some lucky auto insurance policy hunter will find and fall in love with.

[su_box title="The Lowdown" style="default"]
  • For over 100 years, State Auto insurance has been dedicated to providing quality auto insurance to its members
  •  State Auto offers a handful of discounts available, but a safe drivers discount isn't one of them
  • While State Auto may be considered an affordable option in some states, its standard auto insurance policy is over $1,500 more than the national average
[/su_box] If you're exploring which car insurance rates are available in your corner of the market, State Auto insurance is a choice worth evaluating. The company offers three different layers of protection to over 28 states. State Auto has also partnered with Liberty Mutual, so now its members can enjoy everything they know and love from State Auto, plus even more benefits from the new auto insurance company on board. If you are located in one of the areas that State Auto car insurance is available, it would be wise to learn more about the company to see if it may be an option for you. Are you considering State Auto car insurance? Enter your ZIP code first to receive a free car insurance quote now.

What You Should Know About State Auto Insurance Companies

Since 1921, State Auto insurance, formerly known as State Automobile Mutual Insurance Company, has been committed to providing fair settlements and auto insurance policies at fair prices. Since State Auto insuranceopened its doors over 100 years ago, there have been several enhancements made to the company.

For example, Liberty Mutual, the sixth-largest auto insurance company in the United States, just acquired State Auto insurance. That means the State Auto insurance the world fell in love with can combine forces with one of the biggest, most recognized names in car insurance to maximize what they can offer to customers.

State Auto Insurance Companies Insurance Coverage Options

According to a report from the Insurance Research Council (IRC), one in eight drivers on the road is driving without insurance. You don’t have to be one of them. State Auto insurance provides its policyholders with three degrees of protection to choose from — Standard, Protection Plus, and Premier.

Standard Coverage

This coverage plan is customizable, and it only sees to the auto insurance basics, including roadside assistance.

AutoXtended Plus (Protection Plus)

This is a premium auto insurance plan that offers coverage such as accidental forgiveness and minor violation coverage, rented vehicle coverage, $10,000 emergency ambulance coverage, and $250 locksmith/key replacement. In addition, members can receive $500 in cell phone coverage, $500 in pet coverage, and the ability to add Full Safety Glass coverage to their plan.

AutoXtended Premiere (Premier)

This premier package provides the driver with the most coverage options. It comes with everything already included in the AutoXtended Plus plan, except it contains $1,000 cell phone coverage, $25,000 emergency ambulance, $500 locksmith/key replacement services, and $750 pet coverage.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

State Auto Insurance Companies Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileState AutoNational Average
Clean Record$92$119
1+ Ticket$125$147
1+ Accident$154$173
DUI$208$209
Poor Credit$158$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver


View as image

If you’ve been wondering if the discounts offered will amount to savings on your State auto insurance payment, the answer for many prospective customers is no. The average auto insurance rate a State Auto insurance driver pays is around $2,633. That is more than $1,000 above the national average auto insurance cost.

While some policyholders in select states can agree that State Auto is cost-effective, many of its consumers have cited its high prices as one of the main reasons they are not satisfied with the company. If affordability is a must-have for you, State Auto may or may not be a good choice.

State Auto Insurance Companies Discounts Available

DiscountsState Auto
Anti Theft8%
Good Student15%
Low Mileage10%
Paperless9%
Safe Driver15%
Senior Driver10%

One of the most important things insurance seekers looking for in a company is how affordable their plans are. To soothe the souls of frugal auto insurance hunters everywhere, State Auto insurance has a list of discounts available for its members to take advantage of:

  • State Auto Safety 360. Members can earn an instant 10% discount simply for joining and save up to 50% off their auto renewal premium.
  • Accident prevention course. Members who are 21 and over can participate in an accident prevention course for a discount on their auto insurance policy.
  • State Auto sign-on. This discount is available for members that make the switch to State Auto if they held a policy with their previous insurance company for at least six months.
  • Paid-in-full. Members that are interested in paying their entire policy in advance can earn a discount.
  • Driver training. Drivers that are 21-years-old and younger (up to 25-years-old in South Carolina) may take a driver training course to receive a discount.
  • Anti-theft device. Members that have additional security features added to their vehicle may be eligible for a discount.
  • Good student discount. If you are a full-time student and have at least a B (3.0) average, the company will provide you with a discount for your outstanding grades.
  • Multi-Car. If you include two or more vehicles on the same policy, you can get a discount.

With so many discounts available, State Auto members are bound to save something on their auto rate.

State Auto Insurance Savings

According to the Insurance Information Institute, the average auto insurance cost in the United States is $1,056. State Auto insurance has a couple of savings programs available that can help bring down auto insurance costs.

Unlike most auto insurance companies, State Auto does not have all of your typical discount programs. The company does not offer paperless discounts, nor do they have a safe driving program in place. Due to its lack of safe driving programs, safe drivers may want to consider an alternate auto insurance provider.

State Auto Insurance and Third-Party Data

If you are a stickler about who has access to your personal information, it’s important for you to have an idea of how State auto insurance and its subsidiaries operate. Since it is a third-party company, State Auto must share your information with Liberty Mutual and any other affiliates to confirm your eligibility.

If you are interested in finding an insurance company that protects your most sensitive data from outside sources, it might be best to go with an insurance company that is not offered through a third-party company but is instead provided directly.

State Auto Insurance Overview

State Auto insurance has over 100 years of service under its belt, and now that it has partnered with Liberty Mutual, the company can leverage the additional visibility to acquire more customers. Although there are some convenient benefits available, State Auto insurance isn’t for everyone. State Auto is not for the safe drivers that are in search of a deal, and its benefits may not be appealing at all to bargain hunters. If you like to save paper by going paperless, State Auto is not a company that will reward you for your environmentally-conscious decisions.

Despite everything that it is now, State Auto has a stack of benefits that some lucky auto insurance policy hunter will find and fall in love with.

Are you looking for more options like State Auto car insurance? Before continuing to shop for insurance rates, enter your ZIP code to receive a free insurance quote today.

How State Auto Insurance Companies Ranks Among Providers

Understanding how a provider measures up against industry standards is crucial for informed decision-making. State Auto Insurance emerges as a noteworthy player, fortified by a commendable A- rating for financial strength from A.M. Best and an A+ rating for customer satisfaction from the Better Business Bureau.

Financial Strength and Customer Satisfaction: State Auto Insurance stands strong with an A- rating from A.M. Best for financial strength, attesting to its robust financial standing. The A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau reflects high levels of customer satisfaction.

Industry Recognition: Forbes has acknowledged State Auto Insurance as one of America’s best insurance companies, highlighting its positive reputation within the insurance industry.

Complaint Index: The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) rates State Auto with a Complaint Index of 2.69, indicating a complaint level slightly above the national average. Prospective customers may want to weigh this factor when considering the company.

Strategic Partnership: With a service history spanning over a century, State Auto Insurance has recently joined forces with Liberty Mutual, the sixth-largest auto insurance company in the U.S. This partnership enhances State Auto’s visibility and provides an opportunity to expand its customer base.

While State Auto Insurance offers convenient benefits, such as customizable coverage plans, it may not be the optimal choice for safe drivers seeking discounts. Potential customers should carefully assess their priorities and preferences to determine if State Auto aligns with their insurance needs.

State Auto Insurance Ratings and Reviews

State Auto received an A- rating from A.M. Best for financial strength, and the Better Business Bureau (BBB) provided State Auto with an A+ rating. State Auto was also recognized by Forbes as one of America’s best insurance companies. The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) rated State Auto a 2.69 Complaint Index. Given the national average is 1, this indicates that the complaint levels are a little bit higher than average.

Frequently Asked Questions

What coverage options does State Auto Insurance offer?

State Auto Insurance provides three degrees of protection to choose from — Standard, Protection Plus, and Premier. Each plan is customizable, offering a range of coverage, from basic auto insurance essentials to premium features like accidental forgiveness, minor violation coverage, and more.

Are there any discounts available with State Auto Insurance?

While State Auto Insurance offers various savings programs to help lower auto insurance costs, it doesn’t follow the conventional approach of providing paperless discounts or safe driving programs. Policyholders can explore alternative discount programs offered by the company to find potential savings.

How does State Auto Insurance handle personal data?

As a third-party company, State Auto Insurance is obligated to share information with its affiliates, including Liberty Mutual. Those concerned about data privacy may want to consider insurance providers that operate directly rather than through a third-party arrangement.

What are the financial strength and customer ratings of State Auto Insurance?

State Auto Insurance holds an A- rating from A.M. Best for financial strength and an A+ rating from the Better Business Bureau. Despite some complaints, it has been recognized by Forbes as one of America’s best insurance companies.

Is State Auto Insurance suitable for safe drivers seeking discounts?

State Auto Insurance may not be the ideal choice for safe drivers in search of discounts, as the company doesn’t offer specific safe driving programs. Those looking for such incentives may want to explore other auto insurance providers that cater to this demographic.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Merriya Valleri

Insurance and Finance Writer

Merriya Valleri is a skilled insurance writer with over a decade of professional writing experience. Merriya has a strong desire to make understanding insurance an easy task while providing readers with accurate and up-to-date information. Merriya has written articles focusing on health, life, and auto insurance. She enjoys working in the insurance field, and is constantly learning in order to ...

Insurance and Finance Writer

Jeff Root

Licensed Insurance Agent

Jeff is a well-known speaker and expert in life insurance and financial planning. He has spoken at top insurance conferences around the U.S., including the InsuranceNewsNet Super Conference, the 8% Nation Insurance Wealth Conference, and the Digital Life Insurance Agent Mastermind. He has been featured and quoted in Nerdwallet, Bloomberg, Forbes, U.S. News & Money, USA Today, and other leading...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for State Auto Insurance Companies

3.36 (180 reviews)
1
February 3, 2023

Someone_Looking_for_a_Good_Insurance_Company

Do not get State Auto - they are completely incompetent

I am so incredibly frustrated with this company. We put one of those driving safety devices in our car to receive a policy discount. However, State Auto randomly stopped applying the discount 6 months into our policy and we could not get a hold of ANYBODY to make sure it was functioning properly. They just completely ignored us for 6 months, meanwhile, our policy doubled in price. We decided to cancel State Auto because of their ineptitude, and w...
I am so incredibly frustrated with this company. We put one of those driving safety devices in our car to receive a policy discount. However, State Auto randomly stopped applying the discount 6 months into our policy and we could not get a hold of ANYBODY to make sure it was functioning properly. They just completely ignored us for 6 months, meanwhile, our policy doubled in price. We decided to cancel State Auto because of their ineptitude, and we moved to a new insurance company. That was 3 months ago. Yet every month we still receive a charge from State Auto because they can't get it right that we've canceled our policy. We have signed documents terminating the policy and received confirmation that they have done so, yet we still receive this charge!! This company is an absolute joke and I would strongly recommend that you look elsewhere. You do not want to deal with their crap. They are completely incompetent.
1
June 28, 2022

KKing82

Scam Likely

State Auto has handled our insurance for years, without real incident. We had 3 vehicles insured, and in 2019, one of our vehicles was deemed a total loss BY State Auto. We paid off that vehicle, and purchased another-same make and model. We received updated insurance information that day for the new vehicle. Fast Forward nearly 3 years, I receive notification that the vehicle is being dropped from the policy, because it was a "commercial vehicle...
State Auto has handled our insurance for years, without real incident. We had 3 vehicles insured, and in 2019, one of our vehicles was deemed a total loss BY State Auto. We paid off that vehicle, and purchased another-same make and model. We received updated insurance information that day for the new vehicle. Fast Forward nearly 3 years, I receive notification that the vehicle is being dropped from the policy, because it was a "commercial vehicle"...I was confused. I pulled up all of our insurance cards, and they had the OLD vehicle insured, and not the NEW one. We had been driving the new vehicle since 2019. When I realized what happened, I asked to cancel, to move to another company, and for a refund of the premiums paid on the WRONG vehicle. That type of error, is not ok. After being bounced around from person to person, I FINALLY signed documents to have my policy cancelled, and submitted documentation to prove that we no longer had the vehicle that they wrongfully insured, in order to get a refund. TODAY, I received an UPDATED policy, with NEW premiums. I cancelled yesterday. Why am I receiving new documents, and where is the money I'm owed? Thankfully we weren't pulled over, or in any accidents during this 3 year period, but we'd like our money back. I have every email, and piece of requested documentation. This just isn't right. If this isn't resolved in a timely manner, I will be contacting an attorney.
1
July 3, 2021

Jennporter4

Don’t use State Auto

Trying to switch to someone else because we are being penalized for using our glass coverage that is INCLUDED with our policy!!!!!!!! We used it maybe twice for each vehicle once a year and they said that they considered to be “claims” and that we can’t switch because of how many claims we had aka glass repairs due to rocks hitting the windshield. Absolutely ridiculous!!!!!
1
April 10, 2021

bdom

SCAM ALERT!!!

SCAM! SCAM! SCAM! Do not even consider this company. I cancelled it a year ago, I got a confirmation from them. Yet, the kept taking money from my bank for almost a year, after the cancellation. My bank opened an investigation, and State Auto lied to them and stated that I never cancelled the insurance. Good thing, I kept the email confirming the cancellation and showed it to bank. Stay away from State Auto!
1
March 6, 2021

Daby0729

Read reviews before you purchase

Yeah they tried charging me twice after I canceled with them because they wanted to increase my rate when I have no accidents no tickets nada you should be lowering it not raising it. There's no way to remove your payment information off of their site the agent that was on my profile could not be reached kept getting undeliverable no return phone calls. I had to speak to five different people and file a report with my bank in order to get my mo...
Yeah they tried charging me twice after I canceled with them because they wanted to increase my rate when I have no accidents no tickets nada you should be lowering it not raising it. There's no way to remove your payment information off of their site the agent that was on my profile could not be reached kept getting undeliverable no return phone calls. I had to speak to five different people and file a report with my bank in order to get my money back. I had to threaten with a police report and BBB if they did not remove my payment information off of their website I'm still kind of worried I'm thinking of changing my debit card which is what my bank preferred me to do. Every time I contacted State Auto I was told I had to speak to an agent that I couldn't talk to them why would I have to talk to an agent when I'm talking directly to you I was told it's because he's our third party sellers it's not really State Auto insurance that's selling you the insurance these are people at home doing nothing that you are interacting with. Another thing that scared the crap out of me I can't contact the company to cancel I have to call the somebody else that I can't even get in contact with. you should be able to cancel online you should be able to remove your payment information online like every other insurance company allows you to do this is why they don't have a review button on their FB page because they're worried about reviews if you want to stateauto.com you would see them all should have read them The worst experience I've ever had with any insurance company. Be careful
1
February 23, 2021

JStou

Avoid State Auto at all cost!

State Auto is literally the most crooked Insurnace on the market. I have complete and full coverage commerical policy. I requested rental vehicle coverage. My wife slid off the road in a snow storm and State Auto didn’t cover a single thing. I’m stuck with a $9,000 bill. They refuse to actually cover anything but bodily harm. But a normal consumer policy would have covered it. Just not a commercial policy that’s 30% more expensive?!???!
1
August 20, 2020

Susan333

CRIMINALS THAT WILL STEAL YOUR MONEY

THE WORST GREEDY PIGS I HAVE EVER DONE BUSINESS WITH. My first policy started at $98 the following year it shot up to $198 because I had to file a claim that cost them possibly $500 so I let it go. This month my bill shot up to $298 a month. I was in shock so I called to ask why I had no accidents no tickets nothing had changed. They said it’s because of where I live lol mind you I do not live on the moon nor is the town I live in that bad. I ...
THE WORST GREEDY PIGS I HAVE EVER DONE BUSINESS WITH. My first policy started at $98 the following year it shot up to $198 because I had to file a claim that cost them possibly $500 so I let it go. This month my bill shot up to $298 a month. I was in shock so I called to ask why I had no accidents no tickets nothing had changed. They said it’s because of where I live lol mind you I do not live on the moon nor is the town I live in that bad. I said wait I’m in the same home I was in when I received my first policy. There response was “sorry” ARE YOU KIDDING ME PLEASE I BEG YOU DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY THEY WILL ROB YOU ONE WAY OR ANOTHER. THE OWNERS OF THIS COMPANY ARE GREEDY PIGS. I called them once for road side service I was on the tollway with a flat tire. GUESS WHAT NO ONE EVER CAME THEY LEFT ME THERE HELPLESS WAS FORCED TO CALL A FRIEND TO HELP. If you are young or older STAY AWAY FROM THIS JOKE ~ Yeah [REDACTED NAME] it’s time for you to go broke!!!! TERRIBLE TERRIBLE TERRIBLE THE WORST. I’m with a new company charging acceptable rates.. BUYER BEWARE ..
1
July 8, 2020

Disapprove

State Auto is inefficient, should not be in business.

DO NOT USE STATE AUTO they are inefficient. I found out that we had no comprehensive coverage on two of my vehicles. The vehicles have lien holders, so how does the underwriter approve a policy without FULL coverage?? Someone isn't doing their job at State Auto correctly and should be FIRED. My agent had to change the lien holder name on one vehicle because of a refinance and they charged 1606.80 for that change. When we inquired why we had no fu...
DO NOT USE STATE AUTO they are inefficient. I found out that we had no comprehensive coverage on two of my vehicles. The vehicles have lien holders, so how does the underwriter approve a policy without FULL coverage?? Someone isn't doing their job at State Auto correctly and should be FIRED. My agent had to change the lien holder name on one vehicle because of a refinance and they charged 1606.80 for that change. When we inquired why we had no full coverage, we were told no change can be made over the phone, contact the agent. However immediately at 6:15 pm. they made the change ?(without my agent), because as soon as we hung up I got an email, they charged and extra $2166.88 without the agent doing any change. When I texted my agent he was astonished and didn't get to look at the policy until the next day. When the agent checked his system the coverage showed on his end but State Auto showed 'Error! We are experiencing an issue with our system and are working to resolve the issue. Please try again later. If the issue persists, please refer to the SAHelps link at the top of the screen. Internal Server error, Please contact Administrator. Code 901 Timestamp 2020-01-28T17:28:44Z;CID plozx 3660700'. My agent cancelled the policy. We have been disputing these charges for months and State Auto took me to collections and is insisting I MUST pay.
1
June 17, 2020

Apar

Horrible Insurance Provider!

WORST INSURANCE COMPANY! Save your self the headache and frustration by choosing another company! I was insured for 5 months with State Auto I had issues after issue with them. My payments were set to take out each month automatically. Never happened when it was set to one month they took double payments. I paid twice a few months into my policy when trying to handle it wow what a pain. They finally refund that 2nd payment. A couple months pass I...
WORST INSURANCE COMPANY! Save your self the headache and frustration by choosing another company! I was insured for 5 months with State Auto I had issues after issue with them. My payments were set to take out each month automatically. Never happened when it was set to one month they took double payments. I paid twice a few months into my policy when trying to handle it wow what a pain. They finally refund that 2nd payment. A couple months pass I cancel my service my agent tells me I will get the refund for the days left refunded by check. Nope they are sending me to collections as they say they refunded me months ago and that I now owed a full month. No No No bank statements show they are incorrect but the lady they have working on it says she doesn't care what it shows I better pay or she is sending me to collections and I can say fair well to my credit score. OMG who is she! Trust me go with any other company this one sucks!
4
May 4, 2020

atiqa

Good customer service

Its a good company that offers different kind of packages of insurances. The customer service is excellent
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption