The General Auto Insurance Review [2024]

Navigating the intricacies of high-risk auto insurance becomes crucial for drivers with challenging histories, and The General Auto Insurance emerges as a dedicated provider for those seeking coverage in such circumstances.

UPDATED: Dec 24, 2023Fact Checked

Scott W. Johnson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Scott W Johnson is an independent insurance agent in California. Principal Broker and founder of Marindependent Insurance Services, Scott brings over 25 years of experience to his clients. His Five President’s Council awards prove he uses all he learned at Avocet, Sprint Nextel, and Farmers Insurance to the benefit of his clients. Scott quickly grasped the unique insurance requirements of his...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Eric Stauffer

Licensed Insurance Agent

Eric Stauffer is an insurance agent and banker-turned-consumer advocate. His priority is educating individuals and families about the different types of insurance coverage. He is passionate about helping consumers find the best coverage for their budgets and personal needs. Eric is the CEO of C Street Media, a full-service marketing firm and the co-founder of ProperCents.com, a financial educat...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Dec 24, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Dec 24, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Dec 24, 2023Fact Checked
3.6
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

The General Auto Insurance

Average monthly rate for good drivers:

N/A

A.M. Best rating:

A-

Complaint level:

High

Pros

  • Easy to apply: The General Auto Insurance has a straightforward application process that takes just a few minutes. You can apply online or by phone and get a quote almost instantly.
  • Accepts high-risk drivers: The General is known for accepting drivers with less-than-perfect driving records, such as those with DUIs, accidents, or speeding tickets.
  • Affordable rates: The General’s rates are generally more affordable than those of other insurance companies, especially for high-risk drivers.
  • Multiple payment options: The General offers various payment options, including online payments, automatic payments, and payments by phone.
  • Good customer service: The General has received positive reviews for its customer service, with many customers praising its responsiveness and helpfulness.

Cons

  • Limited coverage options: The General offers only basic coverage options, such as liability, collision, and comprehensive coverage. It doesn’t offer any specialized coverage options, such as roadside assistance or rental car coverage.
  • Limited availability: The General Auto Insurance is not available in all states. It is currently available in only 47 states, which may be a drawback for some customers.
  • Higher deductibles: The General’s deductibles may be higher than those of other insurance companies, which could be a disadvantage for customers who need to make a claim.
  • Limited discounts: The General does not offer as many discounts as other insurance companies, which could make it less attractive to customers looking to save money on their premiums.

Final Verdict: Review of The General Auto Insurance

Everyone makes mistakes, but some mistakes are costlier than others. If insurance companies consider you a high-risk driver, you’ll find it challenging to get affordable insurance. You might even be denied car insurance altogether.

However, there are insurance companies that work with high-risk drivers. These companies specialize in writing policies for people who have a bad driving history, poor credit, or serious driving incidents like DUIs.

The General auto insurance is one such company that will provide you with an auto policy so you can legally drive. Since The General has a large customer base of high-risk drivers, its average rates are higher than the national average.

If you can’t find insurance anywhere else, The General will cover you.

If you have a less-than-perfect driving record read on to learn about The General. If you’re ready to see what quotes might look like for you, enter your ZIP code into our free tool today.

[su_box title="The Lowdown" style="default"]
  • The General is famous for providing insurance to high-risk drivers, including people that can’t buy insurance from other companies
  • The average rate from The General tend to be higher than the national average since a large percentage of its customers are expensive to insure
  • The company has an A- from A.M. Best and an A from the Better Business Bureau
  • The General receives more complaints than the average insurance company, with most complaints focused on poor customer service
[/su_box] Everyone makes mistakes, but some mistakes are costlier than others. If insurance companies consider you a high-risk driver, you’ll find it challenging to get affordable insurance. You might even be denied car insurance altogether. However, there are insurance companies that work with high-risk drivers. These companies specialize in writing policies for people who have a bad driving history, poor credit, or serious driving incidents like DUIs. The General auto insurance is one such company that will provide you with an auto policy so you can legally drive. Since The General has a large customer base of high-risk drivers, its average rates are higher than the national average. If you can’t find insurance anywhere else, The General will cover you. If you have a less-than-perfect driving record read on to learn about The General. If you’re ready to see what quotes might look like for you, enter your ZIP code into our free tool today.

What You Should Know About The General Auto Insurance

The General was founded in 1963 and has since become one of the biggest names for high-risk insurance providers. However, The General isn’t just for high-risk drivers – drivers with a good history and solid credit could also find affordable rates.

The General Insurance Reviews

The General is a solid company that gets high marks from professional rating services. From A.M. Best, The General got an A- for its financial stability, and the Better Business Bureau gives the company an A+.

That doesn’t mean the company is without complaints, though. The National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) scores insurance companies on their customer service. The national average score of customer experience and complaints is a 1. The General scored a high 5.86.

That means that The General receives more complaints compared to other insurance companies. The chief complaints involve customer service experiences, complicated claims processes, and confusing websites.

On the positive side, customers appreciate The General’s mobile app, from which you can file claims and get other policy information. Alternatively, you can use The General login to access the website. You can also call the support line and speak with a representative at any time.

The General Auto Insurance Coverage Options

The General offers traditional car insurance without many options to personalize your policy. The General sells:

  • Liability: Liability insurance will pay car repair and medical bills for the other driver when you cause an accident. Most states require a minimum amount of liability coverage to drive.
  • Collision: While not legally required, collision coverage is valuable protection for your vehicle. If you’re involved in an accident, collision helps pay your repair bill.
  • Comprehensive: If you have a car loan, you likely need collision and comprehensive. Comprehensive coverage protects your vehicle from damage outside of accidents, including vandalism, theft, weather, and animals.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist: Just because insurance is a legal requirement, it doesn’t mean that every driver has it. This protects you against drivers with inadequate insurance.
  • Personal injury protection (PIP): Medical bills can accumulate fast after an accident. PIP helps pay for your medical bills. It also helps cover the bills for any of your passengers.

While this list might not seem like the most exciting, The General company will make sure you have the coverage you want for your vehicle.

Does The General sell add-ons?

While The General focuses primarily on straightforward coverage, it does offer a few add-ons and additional insurance products for purchase.

  • Roadside assistance: Administered by Nation Safe Driver, The General’s roadside assistance is available 24/7 and provides service if your car becomes in-operational on the side of the road.
  • Towing: If you buy this coverage, the price of your tow is covered.
  • Custom equipment: A standard policy doesn’t usually cover custom equipment and upgrades. You can get up to $5,000 in coverage for paint jobs, camper shells, customized wheels, and other parts with this add-on.
  • SR-22: If you’ve been convicted of reckless driving or DUIs, you might have to file an SR-22 form with your state DMV before you can drive again. The General asks if you need this in your application and will file it for you.
  • Rental reimbursement: If your car needs extensive repairs and temporarily can’t be driven, The General will pay for a rental car.

Again, this isn’t the longest or most exciting list of options. However, you’ll find your basic insurance needs met through The General. For drivers that can only go to high-risk insurance companies, The General’s selections are relatively good.

The General: Best for High-Risk Drivers

If you’ve made mistakes on the road, The General can provide the coverage you need to drive legally. While it may not have the most coverage options or cheapest rates, The General is a good option for anyone who can’t get insurance elsewhere.

Hopefully you’ve learned all you need to know about The General. If you’re ready to see what quotes might look like for you, enter your ZIP code into our free tool today.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

The General Auto Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileThe GeneralNational Average
Clean Record$96$119
1+ Ticket$154$147
1+ Accident$188$173
DUI$292$209
Poor Credit$165$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver

View as image

As a high-risk driver insurance provider, The General has higher average rates than other insurance companies. This higher rate is because a large percentage of The General’s customer base are high-risk drivers, who cost more to insure.

However, you can get an idea of how much high-risk insurance costs by comparing the average price of some of the top insurance providers.

CompanyMonthly Rates
The General$363
Geico$206
State Farm$292
Allstate$429

If you’re looking for something affordable, The General might not be your best bet. However, there are a lot of factors that go into the cost of your insurance. That includes your age, gender, driving history, credit, and location.

The General Auto Insurance Discounts Available

DiscountsThe General
Anti Theft8%
Good Student18%
Low Mileage13%
Paperless10%
Safe Driver20%
Senior Driver10%

Most insurance companies offer discounts you can use to save money on your monthly payments. The General does not disappoint and has several options you might be eligible for.

  • New customer. If you switched to The General after having a policy with a different company for at least five years, you might be eligible for this discount.
  • Multi-car. You can save money by including more than one vehicle in your policy.
  • Double deductible. You can choose to double your deductible for the first 45 days of your policy. If you do, you’ll receive a discount.
  • Homeowners. The General gives a discount if you own a house and have home insurance, regardless of the company covering them.
  • Pay in full. Paying for your insurance annually rather than monthly can earn you a discount.
  • Good student. You can earn a discount by maintaining a B average as a full-time student.
  • Driver education. Complete a driver safety course to earn this discount. The course cannot be court-ordered.

As you can see, there are plenty of opportunities to save money with The General. You can work with an agent to ensure you receive every discount you’re eligible for.

How The General Auto Insurance Ranks Among Providers

In the competitive realm of auto insurance, The General Auto Insurance faces noteworthy competitors, each distinguished by specific strengths catering to diverse driver needs.

  • Geico: Geico is renowned for its extensive coverage options and competitive rates, appealing to a broad spectrum of drivers.
  • Progressive: Progressive stands out for its innovative approach, offering a variety of coverage options and personalized rates through features like Snapshot.
  • State Farm: State Farm’s vast agent network provides personalized service, emphasizing community engagement and robust support.
  • Esurance: Esurance excels with its online presence, delivering a user-friendly experience and competitive rates for a variety of driver profiles.

Understanding the distinctive strengths of each competitor is crucial for drivers seeking insurance coverage tailored to their specific preferences and circumstances.

Frequently Asked Questions

What types of coverage does The General offer?

The General offers basic types of coverage, including liability, collision, and comprehensive coverage. It also offers uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage, personal injury protection, and medical payments coverage.

How do I get a quote from The General?

You can get a quote from The General by visiting its website, calling its toll-free number, or using its mobile app. You’ll need to provide information about yourself, your vehicle, and your driving record to get a quote.

Can I customize my coverage with The General?

No, The General does not offer customized coverage options. It only offers basic types of coverage.

How do I file a claim with The General?

You can file a claim with The General by calling its claims hotline, filling out a claims form on its website, or using its mobile app. You’ll need to provide information about the accident or incident, as well as your policy information.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Scott W. Johnson

Licensed Insurance Agent

Scott W Johnson is an independent insurance agent in California. Principal Broker and founder of Marindependent Insurance Services, Scott brings over 25 years of experience to his clients. His Five President’s Council awards prove he uses all he learned at Avocet, Sprint Nextel, and Farmers Insurance to the benefit of his clients. Scott quickly grasped the unique insurance requirements of his...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Eric Stauffer

Licensed Insurance Agent

Eric Stauffer is an insurance agent and banker-turned-consumer advocate. His priority is educating individuals and families about the different types of insurance coverage. He is passionate about helping consumers find the best coverage for their budgets and personal needs. Eric is the CEO of C Street Media, a full-service marketing firm and the co-founder of ProperCents.com, a financial educat...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for The General Auto Insurance

3.58 (823 reviews)
5
February 16, 2022

Glarison

Great company I'm riding with shack

Great customer service. Very helpful they explained everything in detail and had the best rate I would recommend them to anyone
5
December 30, 2021

HWalla

Quick and thorough

I did the entire process online and received my quote within minutes. The company was quick to respond and provided me with my policy documents immediately
5
October 8, 2021

Kasarah90

Quick and affordable would recommend

My car broke down on my way to work and I had just purchased another car but did not have insurance, tags, or taxes paid yet. The car the broke down was unfixable so while waiting on a tow truck I called the General to get a quote for the other car. The process was simple and I didn't have to wait to speak to a representative. I gave all the required information and had a reasonable quote from the representative in less than 20 minutes. I made th...
My car broke down on my way to work and I had just purchased another car but did not have insurance, tags, or taxes paid yet. The car the broke down was unfixable so while waiting on a tow truck I called the General to get a quote for the other car. The process was simple and I didn't have to wait to speak to a representative. I gave all the required information and had a reasonable quote from the representative in less than 20 minutes. I made the payment over the phone and bam the car was insured before the tow truck arrived. the quote was cheaper than I thought and the monthly payments were reasonable. When I turned down roadside assistance and life insurance the representative was not pushy. I would 100% recommend The General car insurance.
5
March 17, 2021

mcgowanjr60_henry_yahoo_com

The Lion of the Jungle

I’m just gonna be honest I don’t think there is a better company out there that can completely understand what you need and offer you simply a caring agent and just what need and nothing more except a perfect price to match only the General
5
February 26, 2021

Bentot

Lower monthly rate

This is the only insurance company can lower my monthly premium compare to all insurance company. Like others general easy to deal with.
1
January 17, 2021

Junglezx_3

High Insurance

Their price was very high. We shopped around for other insurance after a month and the price increased.
4
January 8, 2021

bwaryasz2012

You get what you buy!

This was a relatively easy purchase to make, I would really give them 4.8 stars however the review platform wouldn't let me do that so I was forced to go slightly lesser. Let's talk about the why? The big issue, I have multiple cars that I wanted to list on the policy and quote and it only accepted and applied for one of the vehicles. When I logged into the app it linked to my old policy only telling me that it couldn't link my new policy, whic...
This was a relatively easy purchase to make, I would really give them 4.8 stars however the review platform wouldn't let me do that so I was forced to go slightly lesser. Let's talk about the why? The big issue, I have multiple cars that I wanted to list on the policy and quote and it only accepted and applied for one of the vehicles. When I logged into the app it linked to my old policy only telling me that it couldn't link my new policy, which meant having to call in and have the entire profile reset and redoing the process all again. Mind you my insurance was still good. (loss of 1/5 star) Then when my app was fully set up and ready to go again I can't add the other vehicle to the policy as a means of simplifying the bill. When I attempted to contact the company the virtual assistant wouldn't transfer me to a real agent and didn't have the ability to understand my request. (loss of 1/5 star)
5
January 7, 2021

goog39826_

Thank you for great service!

I am very pleased with my Geico premium. Out of ALL the 12 quotes I received Geico was by far the best. I searched for several days and I could not find any better rate then Geico.. What I think is even better is that it was all done without talking to anyone on the phone. Thank you Geico
3
January 7, 2021

Jessbell19

Poor customer service

Poor customer service while reviewing terms and conditions of policy. Lack of knowledge of the policy changes and updates.
1
December 29, 2020

counterstrike1911

The general will generally treat you like crap and rip u off

The General had horrible customer service and treated me like crap after having to file 2 claims on 2 accidents one of which was not my fault and was a tiny paint scuff. And they then doubled my rates and continued to make paperwork for the claims take months it took me over 2 months to get my car back from the shop and the repair shop said they had spent months not being able to work on the car till they got the go ahead from the general. All in...
The General had horrible customer service and treated me like crap after having to file 2 claims on 2 accidents one of which was not my fault and was a tiny paint scuff. And they then doubled my rates and continued to make paperwork for the claims take months it took me over 2 months to get my car back from the shop and the repair shop said they had spent months not being able to work on the car till they got the go ahead from the general. All in all they were the worst insurance company ever!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption