Travelers Property Casualty Insurance Company Review (2023)

Travelers Insurance, a trusted name in coverage. They offer a diverse range of insurance solutions, from home and auto to business and specialty. With solid financial ratings, exceptional customer service, and a variety of discounts, Travelers is a top choice for comprehensive protection.

UPDATED: Oct 6, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Oct 6, 2023Fact Checked

Free Home Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Laura D. Adams

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Laura Adams is one of the nation’s leading finance, insurance, and small business authorities. As an award-winning author, spokesperson, and host of the top-rated Money Girl podcast since 2008, millions of readers and listeners benefit from her practical advice. Her mission is to empower consumers to live healthy and rich lives by planning for the future and making smart money decisions. She rec...

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Oct 6, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Oct 6, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Oct 6, 2023

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Oct 6, 2023Fact Checked
4.1
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Travelers Property Casualty Insurance Company

Average monthly rate for homeowners:

$100

A.M. Best rating:

A++

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Comprehensive coverage options.
  • Excellent customer service.
  • Competitive rates.
  • Strong financial stability.
  • Multiple policy discounts.

Cons

  • Rates may be higher for younger drivers.
  • Limited availability in some regions.
  • Not all coverage options are available in every state.
  • Claims process can be lengthy for complex cases.
  • No mobile app for policy management (as of my last update in September 2021).

Final Verdict: Review of Travelers Property Casualty Insurance Company

Travelers Property Casualty Insurance Company, a stalwart in the insurance industry, offers a comprehensive array of insurance solutions tailored to safeguard various aspects of life, assets, and peace of mind. Their diverse coverage options include home, auto, business, personal, and specialty insurance.

Best rating and excellent financial stability provide customers with confidence, while their efficient claims processing and commitment to customer service ensure a seamless experience. Travelers stands out as a trusted protector, encouraging responsible choices and offering personalized coverage that evolves with life’s uncertainties.

What You Should Know About Travelers Companies, Inc.

Contact Information:

  • Corporate Address: Travelers Property Casualty Insurance Company, 485 Lexington Avenue, New York, NY 10017.
  • Customer Service Phone: 1-800-842-5075
  • Website: Travelers Insurance

Related Parent or Child Companies:

  • Travelers Property Casualty Insurance Company is part of The Travelers Companies, Inc., which is the parent company.

Financial Ratings:

  • A.M. Best Rating: A++ (Superior)
  • Standard & Poor’s Rating: AA (Very Strong)
  • Moody’s Rating: Aa2 (Excellent)

Customer Service Ratings:

  • Travelers Insurance is known for its excellent customer service. However, specific customer service ratings may vary depending on the source. It’s advisable to check the most recent ratings from trusted sources like J.D. Power or Consumer Reports for the latest information.

Claims Information:

  • Travelers Insurance is known for its efficient claims processing. They offer a streamlined claims process that allows policyholders to file claims through their website or by contacting their customer service. The claims experience is often rated positively by customers.

Travelers Companies, Inc. Insurance Coverage Options

Travelers Insurance understands that one size doesn’t fit all when it comes to protecting what matters most. That’s why they offer a diverse range of coverage options to cater to your unique needs. Whether you’re safeguarding your home, vehicle, business, or personal assets, Travelers has you covered with comprehensive insurance solutions.

Home Insurance:

  • Dwelling Coverage: Protection for your home’s structure.
  • Personal Property Coverage: Safeguard your belongings.
  • Liability Coverage: Coverage in case of accidents on your property.
  • Additional Living Expenses: Assistance with temporary housing during repairs.

Auto Insurance:

  • Liability Coverage: Protection against bodily injury and property damage claims.
  • Collision Coverage: Covers damage to your vehicle in accidents.
  • Comprehensive Coverage: Protection against non-collision incidents.
  • Personal Injury Protection: Medical expenses and lost wages coverage.

Business Insurance:

  • General Liability: Protection against common business liabilities.
  • Commercial Property: Safeguard your business property and assets.
  • Workers’ Compensation: Coverage for workplace injuries.
  • Business Interruption: Coverage for income loss due to unexpected events.

Personal Insurance:

  • Personal Liability: Protection against personal lawsuits.
  • Identity Theft Protection: Safeguard your identity from theft.
  • Valuable Items Coverage: Specialized coverage for valuable possessions.
  • Boat and Yacht Insurance: Coverage for watercraft.

Specialty Insurance:

  • Wedding and Event Insurance: Protection for special occasions.
  • Landlord Insurance: Coverage for rental properties.
  • Flood Insurance: Protection against flood damage.
  • Cyber Insurance: Safeguard against cyber threats.

Travelers Insurance isn’t just about offering insurance; it’s about providing tailored solutions that give you peace of mind. Their wide array of coverage options ensures that you can find the protection you need for what matters most to you. With Travelers, you’re not just insured; you’re well-prepared for life’s uncertainties.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Travelers Companies, Inc. Discounts Available

At Travelers Insurance, your financial well-being matters, and they believe in rewarding responsible behavior. That’s why they offer a range of discounts to help you save on your insurance premiums. These discounts not only make insurance more affordable but also encourage safer and more responsible practices.

  • Multi-Policy Discount: Save by bundling multiple policies, such as auto and home insurance, with Travelers.
  • Safe Driver Discount: Earn rewards for maintaining a clean driving record, with lower rates for safe drivers.
  • Good Student Discount: Students with good grades can enjoy discounts on auto insurance.
  • Home Safety Features Discount: Install safety features like alarms and smoke detectors for savings on home insurance.
  • Continuous Insurance Discount: Stay insured without lapses to qualify for this discount.
  • Hybrid/Electric Vehicle Discount: Save on auto insurance if you drive an eco-friendly vehicle.
  • New Homebuyer Discount: If you’ve recently purchased a new home, you may be eligible for this discount.
  • Payment Discounts: Save by choosing electronic funds transfer or paid-in-full payment options.
  • Military Discount: Active military members and veterans may qualify for special discounts.
  • Early Quote Discount: Get rewarded for getting a quote in advance of your policy start date.

Travelers Insurance not only provides comprehensive coverage but also offers a variety of discounts to help you manage your insurance costs effectively. These discounts are a testament to Travelers’ commitment to helping policyholders secure their financial future without breaking the bank. With Travelers, responsible choices are not only encouraged but also rewarded.

How Travelers Companies, Inc. Ranks Among Providers

In the fiercely competitive landscape of the insurance industry, Travelers Property Casualty Insurance Company stands as a formidable player. However, it’s essential to understand the company’s main competitors to make informed decisions about your insurance needs. Let’s take a closer look at some of the key competitors challenging Travelers in the insurance arena.

  • State Farm: State farm is one of the largest insurance providers in the United States. They offer a wide range of insurance products, including auto, home, and life insurance. State Farm is known for its extensive agent network and strong brand presence.
  • Geico: Geico is renowned for its auto insurance offerings and its humorous advertising campaigns. They often compete with Travelers in the auto insurance market and emphasize competitive rates and user-friendly online services.
  • Allstate: Allstate is a prominent insurance company known for its extensive range of insurance products, including auto, home, and life insurance. They focus on personalized coverage and have a strong agent network.
  • Progressive: Progressive is a direct competitor to Travelers in the auto insurance market. They are known for their usage-based insurance programs, such as Snapshot, which tracks driver behavior to determine rates.
  • Liberty Mutual: Liberty Mutual offers a broad spectrum of insurance products and is a significant competitor in the homeowners’ insurance market. They emphasize customizable coverage options and discounts.
  • Nationwide: Nationwide is known for its diversified insurance offerings and is particularly competitive in auto, home, and pet insurance. They also have a strong presence in the financial services sector.
  • Farmers: Farmers provides a wide range of insurance products, including auto, home, and business insurance. They are recognized for their network of local agents and a variety of coverage options.
  • USAA: primarily serves military members and their families, offering auto, home, and other insurance products. They are known for their exceptional customer service and competitive rates for their target demographic.
  • American Family: American family insurance operates mainly in the Midwest and offers a range of insurance solutions, including auto, home, and life insurance. They emphasize customer relationships and community involvement.
  • Chubb: Chubb is a global insurance company that competes with Travelers in the high-end property and casualty insurance market. They cater to individuals and businesses seeking specialized coverage.

These are just a few of the main competitors that Travelers Property Casualty Insurance Company encounters in the insurance industry. Each of these companies has its unique strengths, strategies, and customer bases, contributing to the dynamic and competitive landscape of the insurance sector.

Travelers Property Casualty Insurance Company’s Claims Process

Ease of Filing a Claim

Travelers Insurance offers a user-friendly and versatile claims process that accommodates the preferences of policyholders. Whether it’s through their online portal, over the phone, or via mobile apps, Travelers ensures that filing a claim is a hassle-free experience. This flexibility empowers policyholders to choose the most convenient method for them.

Average Claim Processing Time

Travelers Insurance is committed to efficient claim processing. While the specific processing time may vary depending on the nature of the claim, Travelers is known for its prompt handling. Policyholders can generally expect a swift resolution, reducing the disruption caused by unexpected events.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and Payouts

Customer feedback underscores Travelers’ dedication to fair and efficient claim resolutions and payouts. Many policyholders express satisfaction with the company’s approach to handling claims, emphasizing its reliability and customer-centric approach. Travelers’ positive reputation in this regard reflects its commitment to providing an efficient and responsive claims experience.

Travelers Property Casualty Insurance Company’s Digital and Technological Features

Mobile App Features and Functionality

Travelers Insurance provides a comprehensive mobile app equipped with a wide array of features and functionalities. The app enables policyholders to manage their insurance policies seamlessly, including making premium payments and tracking claims in real-time. Its user-friendly interface ensures that users can easily access and control their coverage using their mobile devices.

Online Account Management Capabilities

Recognizing the importance of online account management, Travelers offers a secure online portal accessible 24/7. This portal empowers policyholders to directly access their policy information, allowing them to review coverage details, make policy adjustments, and monitor account activity at their convenience.

These online account management capabilities contribute to a seamless and customer-centric insurance experience, placing control in the hands of policyholders.

Digital Tools and Resources

Travelers Insurance equips policyholders with a suite of digital tools and educational resources to enhance their understanding of insurance and financial planning.

These resources include valuable insights, calculators, and informative materials that cover topics such as risk assessment and insurance planning. These digital tools are tailored to provide essential guidance for policyholders, ensuring they have the knowledge needed to make informed decisions about their coverage and financial well-being.

Frequently Asked Questions

How long has Travelers been in the insurance business?

Travelers was founded in 1853, making it one of the oldest insurance companies in the United States.

Do they offer insurance for businesses of all sizes?

Yes, Travelers provides insurance solutions for businesses of all sizes, from small startups to large corporations.

What sets Travelers’ home insurance apart from others?

Travelers’ home insurance offers unique features like home replacement cost coverage and a quick claims process.

Can I customize my insurance policy with Travelers?

Absolutely. Travelers offers customized insurance solutions to meet your specific needs.

How do I file a claim with Travelers in case of an accident?

Travelers provides a streamlined claims process, and you can file a claim through their website or by contacting their customer service.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Laura D. Adams

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Laura Adams is one of the nation’s leading finance, insurance, and small business authorities. As an award-winning author, spokesperson, and host of the top-rated Money Girl podcast since 2008, millions of readers and listeners benefit from her practical advice. Her mission is to empower consumers to live healthy and rich lives by planning for the future and making smart money decisions. She rec...

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Travelers Companies, Inc.

4.07 (1,731 reviews)
4
January 8, 2021

Leopard

Fast reply

They have good customer service fast and quick they reimburse me quick they come to the site quick they nice and friendly and reply email quick and fast
1
December 15, 2020

franbrown11

HORRIBLE

BY FAR THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER WORKED WITH. I was yelled at and hung up on by our agent. I was told to stop asking questions because it was making things take longer. I was told I was being argumentative instead of anyone actually listening to my questions. I was hung up on for asking to speak to a supervisor. I was given different information every single time I spoke with someone. As someone who has been in customer service for over 14 ye...
BY FAR THE WORST COMPANY I HAVE EVER WORKED WITH. I was yelled at and hung up on by our agent. I was told to stop asking questions because it was making things take longer. I was told I was being argumentative instead of anyone actually listening to my questions. I was hung up on for asking to speak to a supervisor. I was given different information every single time I spoke with someone. As someone who has been in customer service for over 14 years, I have never seen customer treated as poorly as I was throughout this experience. Nasty, mean people that could care less about their customers. The first thing the tow company and the auto body shop asked was if I was ok after my accident. Travelers never asked anything like that. Instead, they blamed and shamed me.
4
October 17, 2020

biskutt

Increasing price for no obvious reason

I never had any problems with the coverage, but the price kept going up and up even as my car got older, and I had no tickets or accidents. I changed companies and got the same coverage for a lot less.
4
October 14, 2020

CarterKing2020

Bill

Great company, always there when you need them. I just don't like that sometimes your bill goes up when you have a wreck.
5
October 14, 2020

BW2345

Affordable, easy to manage, and great customer service

Travelers makes managing insurance products easily. With an easy to use mobile app, friendly customer service, and affordable auto insurance, I would highly recommend them for all your insurance needs.
5
October 10, 2020

Rustysgirl

Fast service

Had a broken windshield from a truck throwing up a rock on the interstate; they responded and sent someone immediately with no hassle
5
October 9, 2020

Christinewashere

Best option

Great company! I am lucky to have found this company. They have been doing good job and helping me with my insurance. Keep it up!
5
October 9, 2020

SPR5036

Good Car Claim

Had an automobile claim two months ago. The service agent was helpful on getting a windshield replaced fast.
5
October 8, 2020

GQ

Great Value

Travelers has been a great company. Great customer service and fair prices. I like that I can bundle my homeowners, auto and umbrella policies to get a discount.
4
October 8, 2020

ShawnTaylor

"Travelers" is a great insurance company

"Travelers" is a great insurance company. I feel lucky to be their customer. They really care about their customers. They offers great deals and services. They are also helping community.
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption