Westfield Insurance Company Review (2024)

Delving into the comprehensive landscape of Westfield Insurance Company, this article explores its extensive offerings, ranging from home and auto to business and life coverage, highlighting its commitment to customer satisfaction, competitive rates, and efficient claims processing.

UPDATED: Jun 14, 2024Fact Checked

Laura D. Adams

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Laura Adams is one of the nation’s leading finance, insurance, and small business authorities. As an award-winning author, spokesperson, and host of the top-rated Money Girl podcast since 2008, millions of readers and listeners benefit from her practical advice. Her mission is to empower consumers to live healthy and rich lives by planning for the future and making smart money decisions. She rec...

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Insurance Agent

UPDATED: Jun 14, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

UPDATED: Jun 14, 2024

Advertiser Disclosure

It’s all about you. We want to help you make the right coverage choices.

Advertiser Disclosure: We strive to help you make confident insurance decisions. Comparison shopping should be easy. We are not affiliated with any one insurance provider and cannot guarantee quotes from any single provider.

Our insurance industry partnerships don’t influence our content. Our opinions are our own. To compare quotes from many different insurance providers please enter your ZIP code above to use the free quote tool. The more quotes you compare, the more chances to save.

UPDATED: Jun 14, 2024Fact Checked
3.6
insuranceproviders.com

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Westfield Insurance Company

Average monthly rate for business insurance:

$103

A.M. Best rating:

A (Excellent)

Complaint level:

Low

Pros

  • Wide range of insurance offerings, including home, auto, business, and life insurance.
  • Excellent customer service and efficient claims processing.
  • Competitive rates and discounts available.
  • User-friendly online services for policy management.
  • Long-standing history and reputation in the insurance industry.

Cons

  • Rates may vary based on individual factors and location.
  • Specialized policies may not be available in all areas.

In this comprehensive article, we delve into the world of Westfield Insurance Company, a trusted name in the insurance industry with a rich history dating back to 1848. Offering a diverse range of insurance options, including home, auto, business, and life coverage, Westfield stands out for its commitment to customer satisfaction, competitive rates, and efficient claims processing.

This article explores the company’s offerings, its user-friendly online services, and its reputation for reliability. From safeguarding homes and vehicles to providing financial security for loved ones, Westfield Insurance Company emerges as a top choice for individuals and businesses alike, combining a long-standing tradition of excellence with modern insurance solutions.

Westfield Insurance Coverage Options

Westfield Insurance Company offers a lot of choices for coverage options. Here are the coverage options offered by Westfield Insurance Company, presented in a bullet list:

Home Insurance:

  • Dwelling coverage to protect your home’s structure.
  • Personal property coverage for your belongings.
  • Liability coverage to protect against legal claims.

Auto Insurance:

  • Liability coverage for bodily injury and property damage.
  • Collision coverage to repair or replace your vehicle in case of an accident.
  • Comprehensive coverage for non-collision incidents (e.g., theft, vandalism).
  • Personal injury protection (PIP) for medical expenses.
  • Uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage.

Business Insurance:

  • General liability insurance to protect against lawsuits.
  • Commercial property coverage for your business assets.
  • Business interruption insurance for income loss during disruptions.
  • Workers’ compensation for employee injuries.
  • Professional liability (errors and omissions) coverage.

Life Insurance:

  • Term life insurance for affordable, temporary coverage.
  • Whole life insurance for permanent coverage with cash value.
  • Universal life insurance with flexible premiums and death benefits.
  • Annuities for retirement income planning.

Westfield Insurance Company offers a comprehensive range of coverage options to meet the diverse needs of individuals, families, businesses, and more.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Westfield Insurance Rates Breakdown

Driver ProfileWestfield InsuranceNational Average
Clean Record$85$119
1+ Ticket$123$147
1+ Accident$175$173
DUI$263$209
Poor Credit$145$205

*monthly rates are based on an average of minimum and full coverage for a 45-year-old male driver

Compare RatesStart Now →

Westfield Insurance Discounts Available

DiscountsWestfield Insurance
Anti Theft17%
Good Student20%
Low Mileage17%
Paperless12%
Safe Driver28%
Senior Driver17%

Compare RatesStart Now →

Please note that the availability of these discounts may vary by location and policy type. Here are some of the discounts offered by Westfield Insurance Company, presented in a bullet list:

  • Multi-Policy Discount: Customers can save by bundling multiple insurance policies, such as home and auto insurance, with Westfield.
  • Safe Driver Discount: Policyholders with a clean driving record and a history of safe driving behavior are eligible for reduced premiums.
  • Home Security Discount: Customers who have installed home security systems can qualify for lower rates on their home insurance policies.
  • Claims-Free Discount: Policyholders who have not filed any recent insurance claims may be eligible for discounts on their premiums.
  • Good Student Discount: Young drivers who maintain good grades in school may be eligible for reduced auto insurance rates.
  • Anti-Theft Device Discount: Installing anti-theft devices in your vehicle can lead to discounts on your auto insurance.
  • Pay-in-Full Discount: Customers who choose to pay their insurance premium in a single annual payment can often receive a discount.
  • Renewal Discount: Westfield may offer discounts to loyal customers who renew their policies with them.
  • New Homebuyer Discount: Homeowners who have recently purchased a new home may qualify for special discounts.

It’s advisable to contact Westfield Insurance or a local agent to learn more about specific discounts applicable to your situation.

How Westfield Insurance Ranks Among Providers

Westfield Insurance Company operates in a highly competitive insurance industry. Its main competitors include both well-established national insurance companies and regional players. Here are some of Westfield’s main competitors:

  • State Farm: State Farm is one of the largest insurance companies in the United States, offering a wide range of insurance products, including auto, home, and life insurance. They have a strong national presence and are known for their extensive agent network.
  • Allstate: Allstate is another major player in the insurance industry, known for its broad range of coverage options, including auto, home, and life insurance. They also offer various discounts and innovative tools for policyholders.
  • Progressive: Progressive is renowned for its focus on auto insurance and its aggressive marketing campaigns. They are known for offering competitive rates, as well as innovative features like Snapshot, a usage-based insurance program.
  • Geico: Geico is famous for its direct-to-consumer approach and catchy advertising. They specialize in auto insurance but also provide other insurance products. Geico is known for offering competitive rates and a straightforward online quote process.
  • Farmers Insurance: Farmers Insurance offers a variety of insurance products, including home, auto, and business insurance. They have a strong network of local agents and a reputation for personalized service.
  • Liberty Mutual: Liberty Mutual is a national insurer offering a wide range of insurance products, with a focus on customizable policies. They are known for their home and auto insurance coverage and offer various discounts.
  • Nationwide: Nationwide is a well-established insurance company offering a comprehensive suite of insurance products. They have a strong presence in the property and casualty insurance market, including auto and home insurance.
  • Travelers: Travelers is a leading insurance company that provides coverage for businesses and individuals. They are known for their commercial insurance offerings, as well as personal lines like auto and home insurance.
  • Erie Insurance: Erie Insurance is a regional insurer with a strong presence in the Midwest and Northeast. They are known for their excellent customer service and competitive rates, particularly in the auto and home insurance sectors.
  • The Hartford: The Hartford specializes in insurance products for businesses, particularly small and mid-sized enterprises. They offer a range of business insurance solutions, including property, liability, and workers’ compensation coverage.

These are some of the main competitors of Westfield Insurance Company. Competition in the insurance industry is fierce, with companies vying to attract customers through a combination of pricing, coverage options, customer service, and innovative offerings. Consumers often compare multiple insurers to find the best fit for their specific needs and budget.

Read more:

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Claims Process at Westfield Insurance Company

Ease of Filing a Claim (Online, Over the Phone, Mobile Apps)

Westfield Insurance Company provides multiple convenient channels for filing claims, ensuring a hassle-free experience for policyholders. You can file a claim online through their user-friendly website, over the phone by speaking with their claims department, or even through their mobile app, which offers a seamless and efficient way to initiate a claim.

Average Claim Processing Time

One crucial aspect of any insurance company is the speed at which they process claims. Westfield Insurance Company has a reputation for prompt claim processing. Policyholders often experience timely resolutions, helping them get back on track without unnecessary delays. The company’s commitment to efficiency ensures that claims are handled swiftly.

Customer Feedback on Claim Resolutions and Payouts

Customer feedback is a valuable indicator of an insurance company’s performance in handling claims. Westfield Insurance Company consistently receives positive feedback regarding their claim resolutions and payouts. Their dedication to customer satisfaction is evident in the way they address and settle claims, providing policyholders with peace of mind during challenging times.

Westfield Insurance Company’s Advanced Digital and Technological Features

Mobile App Features and Functionality

Westfield Insurance Company’s mobile app offers a range of features and functionalities designed to enhance the overall insurance experience. Users can easily access their policy information, make payments, and, as mentioned earlier, file claims directly through the app. The intuitive design and user-friendly interface make it a valuable tool for policyholders on the go.

Online Account Management Capabilities

Managing your insurance policies and accounts online is a breeze with Westfield Insurance Company. Their online account management system allows policyholders to review and update their policies, track claims, view payment history, and access important documents. This digital convenience empowers customers to have greater control over their insurance needs.

Digital Tools and Resources

Westfield Insurance Company provides a wealth of digital tools and resources to assist their customers in making informed decisions. Whether you’re looking for insurance quotes, safety tips, or educational content about insurance, their website is a valuable resource.

The company’s commitment to offering informative and accessible digital tools reinforces their dedication to customer empowerment.

Frequently Asked Questions

What types of insurance does Westfield Insurance Company offer?

Westfield Insurance Company provides a diverse range of coverage options, including home, auto, business, and life insurance.

How does Westfield Insurance Company stand out in the insurance industry?

Westfield is recognized for its commitment to customer satisfaction, competitive rates, and efficient claims processing.

Are the discounts offered by Westfield Insurance Company location-specific?

Yes, the availability of discounts may vary by location and policy type. It’s recommended to contact Westfield Insurance or a local agent for specific information.

How does Westfield Insurance Company handle claims processing?

Westfield offers multiple convenient channels for filing claims, including online, over the phone, and through their mobile app. The company is known for prompt claim processing.

What digital features does Westfield Insurance Company provide to policyholders?

Westfield offers a mobile app with features like accessing policy information, making payments, and filing claims. Their online account management system allows users to review and update policies, track claims, and view payment history.

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption

Laura D. Adams

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Laura Adams is one of the nation’s leading finance, insurance, and small business authorities. As an award-winning author, spokesperson, and host of the top-rated Money Girl podcast since 2008, millions of readers and listeners benefit from her practical advice. Her mission is to empower consumers to live healthy and rich lives by planning for the future and making smart money decisions. She rec...

Insurance & Finance Analyst

Daniel Walker

Licensed Insurance Agent

Daniel Walker graduated with a BS in Administrative Management in 2005 and has run his family’s insurance agency, FCI Agency, for over 15 years (BBB A+). He is licensed as an insurance agent to write property and casualty insurance, including home, life, auto, umbrella, and dwelling fire insurance. He’s also been featured on sites like Reviews.com and Safeco. To ensure our content is accura...

Licensed Insurance Agent

Editorial Guidelines: We are a free online resource for anyone interested in learning more about auto insurance. Our goal is to be an objective, third-party resource for everything auto insurance related. We update our site regularly, and all content is reviewed by auto insurance experts.

Reviews
for Westfield Insurance

3.60 (122 reviews)
1
June 15, 2023

createascreenname

Insurance is fine or whatever but communication needs work.

I have had a policy with Westfield since 2014, and I never opted into texts. So tell me why I got a text today to my phone number addressed to my husband, who I married in 2016. This type of action from companies is really annoying. I don't need any additional unsolicited communication from a company I've already been using for almost a decade. I REALLY don't need patriarchal communication styles. You can talk to me without my husband present, We...
I have had a policy with Westfield since 2014, and I never opted into texts. So tell me why I got a text today to my phone number addressed to my husband, who I married in 2016. This type of action from companies is really annoying. I don't need any additional unsolicited communication from a company I've already been using for almost a decade. I REALLY don't need patriarchal communication styles. You can talk to me without my husband present, Westfield, it's 2023 not 1953.
1
April 19, 2023

Cang42

Westfield Insurance was not the company I thought it was...

I was with Westfield for quite sometime and I really thought they were an excellent insurance was willing to recommend them to everyone. But they kept going up year after year. In October 2022 I had gotten really sick and was out of commission for a over a month. I tried cancelling my insurance with them because they went up 100.00. I tried and tried to cancel with them they kept telling me I needed to call my credit union...I called the cred...
I was with Westfield for quite sometime and I really thought they were an excellent insurance was willing to recommend them to everyone. But they kept going up year after year. In October 2022 I had gotten really sick and was out of commission for a over a month. I tried cancelling my insurance with them because they went up 100.00. I tried and tried to cancel with them they kept telling me I needed to call my credit union...I called the credit union a number of times left a number of messages and never received a call back, I finally called the credit union a pushed the prompt saying I want to get insurance, guess what some one answered. By that time Westfield sent another statement, I didn't drive for a month because I couldn't even walk for about a month. Now I am being harassed by McCarthy, Burgess and Wolf because they sent this to collections.
1
December 12, 2022

Hi123654

Terrible service

TERRIBLE! They totaled my car and never told me! Auto graveyard called me - NOT THEM! Furious! [Redacted Name] never called me (returned my call or email) but I was notified by the car repair place that Copart was coming to pick up my car. UNACCEPTABLE!
1
September 29, 2022

boomhouse710

DO NOT USE WESTFIELD

This is the least customer friendly company I have ever worked with. A 24 hour hour wait for a declaration page is crazy. It almost delayed the purchase of my vehicle until I cancelled and went somewhere else. There is no way to update your policy/get quotes online. The only way to do so is to wait on hold (my last two wait times were over 30 minutes). Then, when we did cancel our home and auto that we pay for either through our escrow or in adva...
This is the least customer friendly company I have ever worked with. A 24 hour hour wait for a declaration page is crazy. It almost delayed the purchase of my vehicle until I cancelled and went somewhere else. There is no way to update your policy/get quotes online. The only way to do so is to wait on hold (my last two wait times were over 30 minutes). Then, when we did cancel our home and auto that we pay for either through our escrow or in advance, we received a bill for $600 with the statement day being the day after we cancelled our policies.
1
February 2, 2022

Herman

Run Away! Run Away! Run, far, far Away!

In December 2020, my vehicle was struck in the rear by an individual insured through Westfield. More than a year later, I am still trying to obtain a fair settlement. I have provided receipts documenting the amount invested in the vehicle to restore it to its current condition and have provided multiple listings indicating the actual prices cars of this model are bringing. Though the car suffered relatively minor damage, and has since been rep...
In December 2020, my vehicle was struck in the rear by an individual insured through Westfield. More than a year later, I am still trying to obtain a fair settlement. I have provided receipts documenting the amount invested in the vehicle to restore it to its current condition and have provided multiple listings indicating the actual prices cars of this model are bringing. Though the car suffered relatively minor damage, and has since been repaired, at my expense, Westfield maintains the car is a total loss and is offering less than 1/3 the amount required to replace it, and 1/2 the cost to repair it. I have filed a complaint with the Ohio Department of Insurance, and it appears I will have to take the insured to Small Claims Court. Insurance only has value if it protects the insured from loss. Westfield's interest appears not to be doing what is right or ethical, but only what they believe they can get away with offering. Regardless the outcome, I will never recover the lost time or aggravation in dealing with this company. My advice seek coverage elsewhere.
3
September 14, 2021

Gibbsdad

Nearly three hours for roadside assistance to arrive

The car had a flat and it took nearly three hours for roadside assistance to arrive. It happened at 7AM on a sunny, warm day, so weather cannot be used as an excuse. The location was a well populated urban area, not in the middle of nowhere. If that type of wait happened late at night in a dark location, it could have been extremely dangerous. There is no excuse for this type of delay in getting help.
1
March 3, 2021

Disjaw

Go to a different company and save your time and sanity

Every time I use them it’s a pain in my Butt I have to fight them on everything get what you pay for
2
February 25, 2021

2107

Be wary

I have an open and claim, and I have to say that the manner in which the claim has been handled has been poor to say the least. When, I first made the claim, I was told not to take my car to the body shop until the check arrived. Okay, makes sense. We are now several weeks since the claim was filed, and I have not received a check. I have emailed the agent several times. Response is always a copy of the claim with no other correspondence or an in...
I have an open and claim, and I have to say that the manner in which the claim has been handled has been poor to say the least. When, I first made the claim, I was told not to take my car to the body shop until the check arrived. Okay, makes sense. We are now several weeks since the claim was filed, and I have not received a check. I have emailed the agent several times. Response is always a copy of the claim with no other correspondence or an inappropriate answer to the question asked. I asked when I should be concerned about not receiving the check. The answer was an attached copy of the claim and the following, "Your claim will be closed when the body shop account is paid." That was definitely not an answer to the question I asked! Meanwhile, winter goes on here in Ohio and the salt is eating away at the damaged part of my car. Do I wash it and cause more damage or leave it as is and let the salt cause more damage? Are they going to pay for the additional damage? I am moving beyond frustration into the area of anger. Is it just the agent handling my claim or is this the attitude that prevails throughout the company? I have a homeowners policy with Westfield as well, and I am concerned if homeowners claim are handled in the same way. If a tree falls on your house in the middle of the winter are they going to take weeks and weeks to fix it while you lose hundreds if not thousands of dollars trying to heat your house and your house suffers additional water damage from snow? Not sure that I want to find out.
1
January 20, 2021

jonesH789

Total Nightmare

It's been a nightmare working with Westfield auto insurance these past few months. I got hit in September and only just now have gotten things totally resolved (January)! I was not at fault for the accident and was continually treated like I was - Westfield did not advocate for me AT ALL in this issue or take my side EVER in getting my car fixed or with what I wanted. All they cared about was their final decision and getting me over and done with...
It's been a nightmare working with Westfield auto insurance these past few months. I got hit in September and only just now have gotten things totally resolved (January)! I was not at fault for the accident and was continually treated like I was - Westfield did not advocate for me AT ALL in this issue or take my side EVER in getting my car fixed or with what I wanted. All they cared about was their final decision and getting me over and done with as soon as possible. Total headache from start to finish - Dropped them as soon as I could.
1
October 26, 2020

Lords137

Aggravated & Disgusted‼️

Our policy was canceled on 9/30/2020 thru Anderson Ins. On 10/6 & 10/7 two automatic withdrawals were made on my ck acct. spoke with Agent and she said a double payment was taken by error; when NO PAYMENT AT ALL should’ve be withdrawn at all. Called Westfield directly on the following dates: 10/7, 10/13, 10/16, 10/20 and today 10/26/2020. The customer care reps. (And I use that phrase lightly) continually lie to me and insist the second pay...
Our policy was canceled on 9/30/2020 thru Anderson Ins. On 10/6 & 10/7 two automatic withdrawals were made on my ck acct. spoke with Agent and she said a double payment was taken by error; when NO PAYMENT AT ALL should’ve be withdrawn at all. Called Westfield directly on the following dates: 10/7, 10/13, 10/16, 10/20 and today 10/26/2020. The customer care reps. (And I use that phrase lightly) continually lie to me and insist the second payment was sent out on the 16th/Oct. I’ve been waiting almost one (1) month to receive my refund ck. What the [REDACTED WORD] is going on? If any potential future customers are reading this, DO NOT deal with Westfield or Anderson Ins. I hate to see what may have happened if we had a claim!
↑ Back to Top

Write a Review

Policy Type?

Please select a `Policy Type!`
(Min. 100 Characters)

Company Overall Rating

When you submit this review, you will be asked to sign in/up for to your https://www.insuranceproviders.com account. If your account is not currently verified, we will send a verification email to the email on file for your account. Please select the verification button in that email. If you do not see the email in your inbox, please check your spam or junk folder. Your review cannot be reviewed and accepted until you complete this verification step.

Free Insurance Providers Comparison

Compare Insurance Providers Rates to Save Up to 75%

secured lock Secured with SHA-256 Encryption