FREE Insurance Comparison

Call (855) 425-8122

for FREE insurance quotes by phone
Insurance | Free Online Insurance Quotes

Compare Insurance Quotes!

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save

The Full Florida Auto Insurance Guide [Providers + Coverage]

Florida Statistics SummaryDetails
Road Miles in State122,659
Registered Vehicles15,532,254
State Population21,299,325
Most Popular Vehicle in StateToyota Corolla
Uninsured % / Underinsured %26.7%
State Rank: 1
Total Driving Related DeathsSpeeding Fatalities: 299
DUI Fatalities: 839
Average Annual PremiumsLiability: $857.64
Collision: $282.96
Comprehensive: $116.53
Full: $1,257.13
Cheapest ProvidersUSAA
State Farm

From the dense highways of Miami, to the quiet roads of Micanopy.

From the bustling attractions of Orlando, to the quiet wilderness of the Everglades.

And, from the beach communities of the Gulf, to the towns and cities of the Atlantic.

Indeed, to drive in Florida is nothing short of an adventure, as the landscapes and roadways are just as varied as the motorists themselves. But for all of the destinations Florida is known for, the Sunshine State is also known for something else —

Car accidents

For the Florida driver, it’s a sobering reminder of why car insurance is so important. And for the moments you may find yourself on the side of the road in the aftermath of a collision, you need to know that you have the best coverage possible — not only for your vehicle, but also for your peace of mind.

In the absence of expert advice and analysis, it may seem impossible to truly know whether your car insurance hits the mark.

Fortunately, that’s where our Full Florida Auto Insurance Guide comes in.

For the Floridian looking to discover cheap rates, best coverages, company-to-company comparisons, and important state laws — you’re in the right place.

By scrolling down, you’ll get valuable insight into all of these important topics and more. That includes commute times, texting and driving laws, and new Florida resident requirements.

Becoming a well-informed Florida driver starts with sticking with us. You can also begin shopping rates by entering your zip code into our free car insurance comparison tool.

Table of Contents

Florida Car Insurance Coverage and Rates

In the state of Florida, the statistics tell an important story — one of continued growth and expansion.

Take for instance, the fact that there are more than 15 million licensed drivers in the state.

Or, the fact that Florida held the nation’s top spot in “net domestic migration” in 2018. In other words, more people are moving to Florida than any other state in the country.

And then there’s the fact that two of Florida’s largest cities — Jacksonville and Miami — are among the fastest-growing in the U.S.

Without a doubt, more residents will translate into more drivers. And as more drivers hit Florida’s roads, knowing the fundamentals of car insurance coverage, rates, and regulations become more important than ever.

– Florida’s Minimum Coverage Requirements

The first thing any driver in the Sunshine State needs to know is this — Florida is a no-fault state.

Though it may appear otherwise, the term “no-fault” doesn’t eliminate fault in an accident. Rather,

No-fault insurance means that following a car accident, your insurance will pay for the medical bills and other loses of anyone covered by your policy (up to its limits) no matter who was at fault.

In the state of Florida, this coverage is called Personal Injury Protection, or PIP, and it’s required of every driver. In fact, here’s a look at the state’s minimum car insurance requirements:

Florida Minimum RequirementsCoverage
Personal Injury Protection (PIP)$10,000
Property Damage Liability (PDL)$10,000

First, the state law requires that each driver carries at least $10,000 in personal injury protection (PIP) to cover your own medical expenses or losses.

Secondly, drivers must carry at least $10,000 in property damage liability (PDL) to cover damage caused to someone else’s vehicle or property.

– What Florida’s PIP Insurance Covers

If you find yourself in a position where you need to use your PIP coverage, here’s a breakdown of what it covers:

  • 80 percent of medical bills
  • 60 percent of any wages lost as a result of the accident
  • $5,000 in death benefits
  • Mileage to and from medical offices

But here’s the kicker — if you plan on filing a PIP claim, you must act quickly. Florida law requires that you seek medical treatment within two weeks of the date of the accident in order to be eligible for reimbursement. Not doing so will forego your ability to take advantage of PIP.

Florida drivers should also be aware of what PIP does not cover:

  • Drivers cannot get compensation for “pain and suffering” under PIP. 
  • Drivers also cannot get other non-monetary damages that may come as a result of the collision.

– Bodily Injury Liability Coverage in Florida

What’s noticeably absent from the state’s minimum requirements is bodily injury liability coverage. That’s because, in the words of Nolo.com, Florida does not require drivers to carry liability “for bodily injury suffered by other drivers, passengers, pedestrians, and bicyclists in an accident caused by the policyholder.” 

However, it’s important to note that under the Florida Financial Responsibility Law, drivers who have been found to be at fault in an accident must have the following liability coverages in place:

  • $10,000 Bodily Injury liability per person
  • $20,000 Bodily Injury liability per crash

lndeed, not having bodily injury liability at the time of a car crash could prove to be devastating to your finances, knowing that you — and not your insurer — would be responsible in shouldering all of the out-of-pocket costs.

However, bodily injury liability insurance isn’t the only type of coverage Florida drivers should consider when putting together a policy.

In the instance that your car sustains damage in a collision with another car or object, collision coverage would help cover costs. While this is optional coverage and you’d likely pay a deductible, the rest would be covered by your insurer (up to your limits) — potentially saving you hundreds or even thousands of dollars.

Or, in the instance that your car is damaged in a non-collision event — like an “Act of God,” vandalism, or hitting an animalcomprehensive coverage comes into play. This coverage is also optional and would likely require a deductible, but again — this could save on costly repairs.

Keep in mind that drivers who are leasing or financing their cars are typically required to get comprehensive or collision coverage.

Finally, drivers will also want to consider uninsured/underinsured motorists coverage (UM/UIM).  This kicks in when you’re involved in a collision with someone who is uninsured or has insufficient coverage.  Having UM/UIM coverage could prove to be critical, because

Florida ranks first in the nation in its percentage of uninsured motorists.

– Forms of Financial Responsibility in Florida

According to the  Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles,

  • You must show proof that you have the state’s minimum PIP and PDL requirements before you register your car.
  • Your policy must be purchased from an insurance company licensed to do business in Florida.
  • You must maintain continuous coverage on your car, even if you’re not driving it or it’s inoperable.
  • Drivers must carry proof of insurance at all times.

Not following the letter of the law can result in some serious ramifications. This includes a suspended license plate or driving privileges for up to three years, and a reinstatement fee of up to $500.

Officials go on to say that there are “no provisions for a temporary or hardship driver license for insurance-related suspensions.” In other words, the law leaves no wiggle room — drivers must be in compliance.

– Premiums as a Percentage of Income in Florida

Just how much are Americans spending on car insurance? A 2017 Department of Treasury study examining the affordability of car insurance revealed this about U.S. drivers —

The typical U.S. household spends about two percent of its yearly income on car insurance.

Our own research confirms these findings. 2014 data from the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) reveals drivers spending 2.29 percent of their income on car insurance. This was factored against an average disposable income of $40,726.23 and an average full coverage policy of $943.80.

Naturally, disposable incomes and the cost of car insurance will vary from state to state. Here’s a look at figures specific to the state of Florida:

YearDisposable IncomeFull CoveragePercentage of Income
2014$38,350.00$1,208.773.15%
2013$36,606.00$1,209.703.30%
2012$37,195.00$1,196.573.22%

These stats reveal the average disposable income for a Florida resident in 2014 was $38,350.00, with drivers paying 3.15 percent of their income toward their premiums.

Even though that percentage represents a decline over the previous two years, it’s still higher than the national average. In fact, our research goes on to reveal that the only other states where residents are paying higher percentages toward their car insurance are West Virginia, Louisiana, and Michigan.

This begs the question — why are Florida drivers paying such a high percentage of their income toward car insurance? To some, this could be attributed to the state’s high number of uninsured drivers, unpredictable weather (particularly during hurricane season), and a high population density.

If you want to know how much of your income is going toward car insurance, enter your information into our FREE calculator tool below:

CalculatorPro

– Florida’s Core Coverage Costs

How does the cost of Florida’s core insurance coverage compare to the rest of the nation? We begin by looking at Florida averages provided by the NAIC, and based upon the state’s minimum requirements:

  • Liability — $857.64
  • Collision — $282.96
  • Comprehensive — $116.53
  • Full Coverage — $1,257.13

Although the average cost of Florida collision and comprehensive coverage is relatively low (ranked 30th and 45th in the nation, respectively), the average cost of liability is high. In fact, our research reveals that Florida’s average liability costs are second only to New Jersey.

When comparing the state’s average cost of full coverage car insurance to the rest of the nation, Florida ranks among the nation’s top ten:

  1. Louisiana $1,405.36
  2. New Jersey $1,382.79
  3. Michigan $1,364.00
  4. New York $1,360.66
  5. District of Columbia $1,330.73
  6. Rhode Island $1,303.50
  7. Florida $1,257.13
  8. Delaware $1,240.57
  9. Connecticut $1,151.07
  10. Massachusetts $1,129.29

– Loss Ratio and Additional Liability in Florida

Taking a closer look at an insurance company’s loss ratio will help drivers get a better understanding of its financial reliability — particularly when it comes to paying out claims.

Simply put, a loss ratio is a ratio of loss to gains. It’s given as a percentage, and represents what auto insurance company is paying out in claims versus the money it’s receiving in premiums.

So, let’s say an insurance company has a loss ratio that’s over 100 percent. This means the company is paying out more in claims than they are receiving in premiums. In fact, Investopedia reports that a high loss ratio can be “an indicator of financial distress,” and could result in a company raising rates in order to cover costs. 

However, if a company’s loss ratio is too low, this could be an indicator that they aren’t paying out enough in claims.

A loss ratio between 60 and 70 percent is considered to be a safe range for insurers.

Here’s a look at the state’s loss ratio trends in Personal Injury Protection, Medical Payments, and Uninsured/Underinsured:

Loss Ratio201520142013
Personal Injury Protection89.29%75.57%63.3%
Medical Payments (MedPay)84.49%78.36%71.82%
Uninsured/Underinsured (UM/UIM)86.37%87.39%79.75%

What’s notable is that we can see a considerable increase in the loss ratio for PIP and MedPay from 2014 to 2015. While these percentages still do not exceed 100, they exceed the safe range between 60 and 70 percent. Drivers should certainly take note, especially if they continue to grow.

Remember, even though personal injury protection (PIP) is required in the state of Florida, MedPay and UI/UIM coverage are not. But when you consider Florida’s designation as a state with a high number of crashes and uninsured drivers, having the additional coverage becomes more compelling.

– Add-ons, Endorsements, and Riders

Drivers looking to enhance their policies have options — and a lot of them. From classic car to usage-based insurance, here’s a listing of add-ons, endorsements, and riders you can discuss with your provider:

– Florida Rates by Gender and Age

For some, it will be a matter of experience.

For others, it will be a matter of statistics.

Bottom line?

Age and gender are significant factors in car insurance and can, for some, result in higher rates.

It’s with this research in mind we’re zeroing in on what drivers of different ages and gender are paying in Florida.

To do this, we analyzed data purchased from Quadrant Information Services. These figures represent the actual cost of car insurance coverage purchased by Florida residents, and factors everyone from high-risk drivers (who often pay the highest rates), to those with minimum coverage.

CompanySingle 17-year old femaleSingle 17-year old maleSingle 25-year old femaleSingle 25-year old maleMarried 35-year old femaleMarried 35-year old maleMarried 60-year old femaleMarried 60-year old male
Allstate F&C$15,905.72$17,179.33$4,592.92$4,639.32$4,653.38$4,423.29$4,040.00$4,089.70
GEICO General$5,342.74$6,713.47$3,292.51$3,344.27$2,986.89$3,001.17$2,793.99$2,793.99
Liberty Mutual Ins Co$7,859.88$12,116.72$3,711.14$5,037.27$3,711.14$3,711.14$3,398.94$3,398.94
Allied P&C$7,314.60$9,013.69$3,347.30$3,483.83$3,039.80$3,000.81$2,710.48$2,806.30
Progressive Select$10,512.83$11,453.56$4,508.82$4,302.83$3,736.10$3,523.35$3,200.74$3,428.17
State Farm Mutual Auto$6,166.09$7,832.79$2,399.41$2,556.07$2,158.99$2,158.99$1,954.51$1,954.51
USAA$5,638.10$6,551.72$2,060.09$2,226.40$1,646.31$1,619.33$1,536.18$1,525.12

First, we see that every single car insurance provider in our data set charges higher rates for single men ages 17 and 25.

  • The biggest difference in rates can be seen among 17-year-olds insured with Progressive Select, where are males paying an astounding $3,593.68 more than females.
  • The smallest difference in rates can be seen among 25-year-olds insured by State Farm, where males are paying roughly $52 more than females.

Once we move into comparing married men and women, premiums vary. In some cases, women are paying more. But in others, women are paying less.

Bottom line? It appears that premiums between male and female drivers in Florida become more consistent as they grow older, and marry.

– Cheapest Florida Rates by Zip Code

For the Florida driver, a zip code reveals much more than where you live. In the eyes of car insurers, those five digits reveal key statistics.

Experts say that insurers are not only looking to the amount of car-related crime in your zip code (like thefts, vandalism, and break-ins), but some are also looking to trends in medical, litigation, and car-repair costs.

For many, using zip codes to assess rates is a point of contention. In fact, a Consumer Federation of America (CFA) study found that drivers living in lower-income zip codes were paying higher rates than their neighbors — even if they had similar profiles.

Perhaps this will come as no surprise, but when it comes to the Florida zip codes paying the highest average premiums (33142, 33147, 33125, 33134 and 33130), our data overwhelmingly points to Miami. In fact, some residents see premiums exceed $12,000 annually.

As for the zip codes paying the lowest average premiums (32618, 32667, 32643, 32694), our data pointed to smaller communities like Gainesville, Archer, Micanopy, Newberry, High Springs, and Waldo. The insurance company charging the lowest average premium in this group of zip codes is Geico, at just over $2,900.

– Cheapest Florida Rates by City

In the same way that rates will vary by zip code, they will also vary by city. Here’s a breakdown:

Here’s a listing of the cities with the lowest average premiums:

  • Waldo ($3,481.35)
  • High Springs ($3,486.23)
  • Archer ($3,486.59)
  • Micanopy ($3,486.59)
  • Newberry ($3,486.59)

And, here’s a listing of the cities with the highest average premiums:

  • Key Biscayne ($6,683.63)
  • Homestead ($6,888.54)
  • Miami ($6,963.04)
  • Opa Locka ($6,972.48)
  • Hialeah ($7,130.02)

As for the difference between the city with the lowest premium (Waldo) and the city with the highest premium (Hileah)? That’s a staggering $3,648.67

– Car Insurance Rates in Florida’s 10 Largest Cities

We also broke down rates among the state’s 10 largest cities by population:

CityAverage Rate
Jacksonville$4,297.99
Miami$6,963.04
Tampa$6,340.98
Orlando$4,815.99
St. Petersburg$5,326.07
Hialeah$7,130.02
Port St. Lucie$4,534.00
Tallahassee$3,933.92
Cape Coral$4,049.27
Fort Lauderdale$5,923.21

Hialeah, Miami, and Tampa top this list with average annual rates in the six to seven thousand dollar range.

Tallahassee — which is also the state’s capital — boasts the lowest average annual rate among the state’s ten biggest cities. So much so, it is the only city on the list with an annual average in the three-thousand dollar rage.

Best Florida Car Insurance Companies

At the end of the day, car insurance represents much more than a piece of paper in your glove compartment.

It’s the understanding that by having certain coverages, you’re meeting the letter of the law.

And, it’s the assurance that should you end up in a collision, you have the right coverage in place — not only for yourself, but also for your family.

Once drivers begin to understand the importance of car insurance, making a well-rounded decision becomes even more important. It’s why we’re spending the next few moments digging deeper into the topics that matter the most, including ratings, rates, and customer satisfaction.

– Financial Ratings of the Largest Companies in Florida

Think about it.

Whether a student receives an A or a D on an assignment says a lot about how well they’ve mastered the content. The same can be said for car insurance providers.

Case in point — A.M. Best.

For years, the rating issuer has provided insight into more than 3,5000 companies worldwide. A.M. Best’s Financial Strength Ratings (FSR) range from A++ to D. Here’s a look at how Florida’s largest insurers fared in their FSRs:

CompanyRating
GeicoA++
State Farm GroupA++
Progressive GroupA+
Allstate Insurance GroupA+
USAA GroupA++
Liberty Mutual GroupA
Travelers GroupA++
Amtrust NGH GroupLong Term ICR: bbb-
ICR Outlook/Implication: Stable
J. Whited Group (Windhaven)No Rating
InFinanciality Prop & Casualty Insurance GroupNo Rating

Impressively, four major insurers in Florida have earned A.M. Best’s top A++ rating — Geico, State Farm, USAA, and Travelers. Not too far behind those four are Progressive and Allstate, both earning an A+.

AM Best did not provide Financial Strength Ratings for Amtrust NGH Group, J. Whited Group (Windhaven), or InFinanciality Property & Casualty Insurance Group.

A.M. Best, however, did provide a Best-Issuer Credit Rating (ICR) for Amtrust NGH. According to AM Best, an ICR represents an opinion of a company’s ability to meet its ongoing senior financial obligations.

For Amtrust, AM Best’s long-term ICR ranking of “bbb-” represents “a good ability to meet their senior financial obligations”

– Florida Companies with the Best Customer Satisfaction Rankings

For many drivers, their experience with a provider will be just as important as price and affordability. With J.D. Power, we find an entity that has spent years surveying consumers, and analyzing their feedback.

In J.D. Power’s 2019 U.S. Auto Insurance Study, auto-insurance companies are ranked by region and measured in five areas: interaction, policy offerings, price, billing process and policy information, and claims.

J.D. Power additionally assigns “Power Circle Ratings” to each insurer. They are:

  • Five out of Five Circles, or “Among the Best”
  • Four out of Five Circles, or “Better than Most”
  • Three out of Five Circles, or “About Average”
  • Two out of Five Circles, or “The Rest”

Here’s a look at how different insurers fared in the Florida region:

JD Power 2019 Florida RegionIn reviewing these results, a clear front-runner can be seen in the Overall Customer Satisfaction Index Rating — that’s Allstate, scoring 847 out of 1,000 points.

It’s also worth noting that both Allstate and Esurance (which is owned by Allstate) earned the highest-possible Power Circle Ranking – five circles, or “Among the Best.” According to J.D. Power, companies earning this Power Circle Ranking have scored in the top ten percent of their study.

Finally, you may have noticed that even though USAA has a higher customer satisfaction index rating than Allstate, it’s not ranked among the rest. This is because USAA is only open to U.S. military personnel and their families, and therefore, is not included in the rankings.

– Companies with the Most Complaints in Florida

In moving from customer satisfaction to complaints, Florida drivers can begin to get an even fuller picture of how insurers relate to their customers.

Through the state’s Division of Consumer Services (under the Department of Financial Services), drivers are able to research and compare complaint data. The division tracks complaints logged for each insurance company over a 12-month period.

We gathered complaint data over a three-year period for the state’s largest providers:

Complaint Data201820172016
Geico847572
State Farm344351349
Progressive215140153
Allstate514649
USAA525333
Liberty Mutual232515
Travelers021

This data very clearly reveals two companies with much higher complaint numbers than the rest — State Farm and Progressive. Where State Farm has the highest overall numbers, Progressive saw a noticeable increase moving from 2017 to 2018, going from 140 to 215.

Conversely, Travelers registered the lowest complaint numbers — down to zero in 2018. The company with the next-lowest complaints is Liberty Mutual, registering 23 complaints in 2018.

– Cheapest Companies in Florida

Here’s a look at the average rates among the state’s largest auto insurers:

CompanyAverageCompared to
State Average (+/-)
Compared to
State Average (%)
Allstate F&C$7,440.46$2,760.0037.09%
Geico General$3,783.63-$896.83-23.70%
Liberty Mutual Ins Co$5,368.15$687.6912.81%
Allied P&C$4,339.60-$340.86-7.85%
Progressive Select$5,583.30$902.8416.17%
State Farm Mutual Auto$3,397.67-$1,282.79-37.75%
USAA$2,850.41-$1,830.05-64.20%

When it comes to which provider has the highest average rate, Allstate takes the top spot at $7,440.46.

On the flip side, USAA rates are significantly lower than the rest, at $2,850.41.

Here’s a visual representation of the top five providers and how they compare to each other, and to the state average.

– Florida Rates by Commute

For some drivers, the length of their daily commute will have an impact on their rates. According to the III,

The more miles you put on your vehicle, the more likely you are to get into accidents. Therefore, you’ll pay likely more if you consistently drive longer distances.

This leads us to investigate whether Florida drivers are, in fact, paying more for longer commutes:

Company10 miles commute/
6,000 annual mileage
25 miles commute/
12,000 annual mileage
Allstate$7,227.85$7,653.06
Geico$3,765.00$3,802.25
Liberty Mutual$5,193.97$5,542.32
Nationwide$4,339.60$4,339.60
Progressive$5,583.30$5,583.30
State Farm$3,278.22$3,517.12
USAA$2,818.01$2,882.80

For drivers insured with Progressive or Nationwide, the length of their commute doesn’t impact premiums. But for every other carrier on this list, drivers with a longer annual commute tend to pay more in premiums — with the highest overall rates going to Allstate customers.

For drivers who don’t get behind the wheel very often — like stay-at-home moms, or people who work from home — pay-per-mile usage-based insurance may come in handy.

Through pay-per-mile insurance, drivers are charged a monthly base rate, as well as a per-mile rate. Therefore, Floridians who don’t drive much could stand to save a lot of money.

Several insurers also offer incentives for drivers who drive less than 7,500 miles a year. As you’re shopping for rates, be sure to ask your provider if they offer pay-per-mile options or low-mileage discounts.

– Coverage Level Rates by Companies

It’s pretty safe to conclude that as drivers choose to purchase additional coverage for their cars, they can expect to pay more.  

Here’s a look at what Florida drivers are paying with low, medium, and high coverage:

CompanyLow CoverageMedium CoverageHigh Coverage
Allstate$5,762.84$7,820.73$8,737.79
Geico$3,105.08$3,915.19$4,330.61
Liberty Mutual$4,921.70$5,456.65$5,726.09
Nationwide$3,427.69$4,511.14$5,079.97
Progressive$4,681.36$5,712.27$6,356.27
State Farm$2,915.85$3,477.29$3,799.88
USAA$2,450.79$2,954.56$3,145.87

We can see that each listed provider shows an increase in rates as drivers progress from low to high coverage.

The provider with the biggest difference between low and high coverage is Allstate, at almost $3,000.

The provider with the smallest difference in coverage levels is USAA, with a $695.08 difference between its low and high coverage options.

– Florida Rates by Credit History

Without a doubt, the state of your credit is important. When it comes to car insurance, experts consider your score to be an indicator of how financially responsible you are, and how much of a risk you pose.

According to the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC), a number of insurers will look to something called a credit-based insurance score when calculating your rates.

Credit-based insurance scores consider some, but not all, factors in your credit history. This includes payment history, outstanding debt, and the length of your credit history.

According to Experian’s 2017 State of Credit Survey, the average Vantage Credit Score in the United States was 675. Americans had, on average, 3.1 credit cards and a balance of $6,534.

In looking at data specific to Florida, residents had an average Vantage Credit Score of 668. Floridians had an average of 3.19 credit cards and a balance of $6,388.

We took a look at what some of the state’s top insurers were charging drivers with poor, fair and bad credit:

CompanyPoor CreditFair CreditGood Credit
Allstate$10,432.38$6,574.17$5,314.82
Geico$5,509.78$3,335.60$2,505.51
Liberty Mutual$6,921.08$5,073.66$4,109.70
Nationwide$5,441.06$3,981.62$3,596.12
Progressive$7,278.07$5,169.65$4,302.18
State Farm$4,651.82$3,045.80$2,495.39
USAA$4,639.45$2,266.46$1,645.31

It’s obvious — drivers with poor credit are consistently paying a higher price. mong Florida drivers with poor credit, those paying the highest price are those insured with Allstate, at $10,432.38.

As for the drivers paying the lowest rates? That distinction goes to USAA customers with good credit, who are averaging $1,645.31 in annual premiums.

– Florida Rates by Driving Record

“The better your record, the lower your premium.”

That’s the word from the Insurance Information Institute as experts affirm that your driving record can have an impact on your rates.

But here’s what Florida drivers need to know — the law dictates that only at-fault drivers and partially at-fault drivers can be assessed higher rates following an accident. In other words, if you were not at fault, your rates can’t go up. 

That being said, we compared the rates of Florida drivers with various records:

CompanyClean RecordWith 1 Speeding
Violation
With 1 AccidentWith 1 DUI
Allstate$6,417.39$7,119.64$7,700.66$8,524.13
Geico$2,636.72$4,116.12$3,368.94$5,012.72
Liberty Mutual$3,869.33$5,285.32$5,026.31$7,291.64
Nationwide$3,705.32$4,114.99$4,065.71$5,472.37
Progressive$4,407.95$5,915.72$6,519.19$5,490.35
State Farm$3,105.11$3,397.66$3,690.25$3,397.66
USAA$2,233.94$2,341.64$2,755.24$4,070.81

Generally speaking, one can see a steady uptick in rates as you move across the table, from left to right.

However, there are a few exceptions.

  • Geico, Liberty Mutal, and Nationwide each charge higher rates for a speeding ticket than an accident.
  • Progressive and State Farm both charge higher rates for an accident than a DUI.

Speaking of DUIs,

  • Drivers insured with Liberty Mutual and Allstate will pay the highest rates for a DUI, both exceeding $7,200 and $8,500, respectively.
  • On the flip side, motorists who have had one DUI and are insured with State Farm and USAA will pay the lowest rates, both at roughly $4,000.

Drivers should know that there are incentives for remaining accident-free. Most insurers offer some sort of discount to drivers who remain claim-free for a set period of time.

Some insurers, like Liberty Mutual, also offer accident forgiveness:

– Largest Car Insurance Companies in Florida

Looking at an insurer’s market share can provide insight as to how well it is performing in the state of Florida.

A market share is a number that illustrates a company’s portion of sales within the market it operates.

In essence, a company’s market share is an indicator of its size in the market. The larger the market share, the more prominent the company is in that particular industry.

CompanyDirect Premiums WrittenMarket Share
GEICO$4,678,32624.44%
State Farm Group$3,042,87115.89%
Progressive Group$3,031,44415.84%
Allstate Insurance Group$1,842,8009.63%
USAA Group$1,357,3677.09%
Liberty Mutual Group$617,0893.22%
Travelers Group$444,6232.32%
Amtrust NGH Group$413,3512.16%
J. Whited Group (Windhaven)$385,8852.02%
InFinanciality Prop & Casualty Insurance Group$357,0111.86%

As this table illustrates, Geico takes the top spot with a 24.44 percent market share in Florida. State Farm and Progressive are nearly neck-and-neck with market shares of 15.89 and 15.84 percent, respectively. Rounding out the top 5 are Allstate and USAA.

– Number of Insurers in Florida

Finally, here’s a look at the number of domestic (in-state) and foreign (out-of-state) Property and Casualty insurers operating in Florida.

  • Domestic Insurers — 114
  • Foreign Insurers — 953

When comparing Florida’s domestic and foreign insurers to other states, we know that:

  • Florida has the seventh-highest number of domestic property and casualty insurers in the nation
  • Florida has the fourth-highest number of foreign property and casualty insurers in the nation.

Bottom line? Floridians will have plenty of options when it comes to auto insurers. You can begin shopping rates by using the free car insurance comparison tool below:

Free Car Insurance Comparison

Compare Quotes From Top Companies and Save

  

Florida Driving Laws

When it comes to the state’s driving laws, a lack of knowledge can lead to serious consequences — many of which are avoidable.

In looking at everything from high-risk drivers to license renewal procedures, we’re hitting the high points of what every Florida driver needs to know.

– Car Insurance Laws in Florida

From the new Florida resident to the seasoned Sunshine State motorist — having a better understanding of the state’s car insurance laws will always be of value.

It’s why we’re beginning by taking a look at who regulates auto insurance in Florida.

– How State Laws for Insurance are Determined

The Office of Insurance Regulation is responsible for regulating and enforcing statutes related to car insurance in the state of Florida. This office is led by the Insurance Commissioner, and the office is also in charge of monitoring all statewide industry markets.

Here’s what you need to know — if car insurers don’t follow the letter of the law, they can risk losing their license to sell in the state. 

Insurers are also closely regulated in how they establish rates. If they’re found to be too high, the state will ask them to make adjustments and return any excess earnings.

Drivers who want to take a closer look at state statutes and regulations tied to auto insurance can visit this page.

– Windshield Repair and Coverage in Florida

Drivers who find themselves with a cracked windshield have some good news  — Florida drivers with comprehensive car insurance have no deductible to fix windshields In other words, as long as you have comprehensive insurance, fixing your windshield will come at no charge.

According to state statute, insurance companies do not have to use Original Equipment Manufacturer (OEM) car parts, but the replacement parts must be “of same fit, quality and performance”

– High-Risk Insurance in Florida

For drivers who are considered high-risk — including those with multiple traffic violations, or DUI convictions — finding a provider that is willing to insure them can be challenging.

Certain high-risk drivers will be asked to add an SR-22 or an FR-44 added to their car insurance policies. These are certificates are typically court-ordered, and are required as a result of a serious driving violation.

  • Drivers requiring an SR-22 include those who have failed to provide proof of insurance after being in an accident, and those who have too many points on their license.
  • Drivers requiring an FR-44 include those convicted of a DUI.

Here’s the kicker — drivers required to have an SR-22 or an FR-44 must also purchase higher levels of liability insurance. The table below breaks down the requirements:

SR-22 Liability RequirementsFR-44 Liability Requirements
$10,000 Bodily Injury per person
$20,000 Bodily Injury per accident
$10,000 Property Damage
$100,000 Bodily Injury per person
$300,000 Bodily Injury per accident
$50,000 Property Damage

As you can see, the liability requirements for an SR-22 and an FR-44 far surpass state requirements.

Finding car insurance for high-risk drivers may prove to be difficult, as many providers will refuse to provide coverage. Drivers who fall into that category can turn to the state’s assigned-risk insurance pool. 

The Florida Automobile Joint Underwriting Association “is available to licensed drivers and vehicle owners who have been unable to purchase insurance from other companies.”

To learn more about this plan, click here.

– Low-Cost Insurance

In spite of having offerings for high-risk drivers, Florida does not have a low-cost insurance program for low-income drivers. The only states offering government-funded, low-cost car insurance programs are California, Hawaii, and New Jersey.

However, low-income drivers can consider the following strategies to help cut down costs:

  • Reduce the number of cars you own. The fewer cars on your policy, the less you’re likely to pay.
  • Purchase older, less expensive cars. Older cars will typically cost less to insure.
  • Consider reducing your coverage by removing comprehensive or collision.
  • Look for discounts. Ask your insurer what discounts they offer, and see what you qualify for.
  • Consider pay-per-mile insurance if you don’t drive often.
  • Don’t skip on any insurance payments. Doing so can lead to having your license suspended.

– Automobile Insurance Fraud in Florida

Make no mistake about it — fraud is a serious matter in Florida. So much so, some state officials call it “rampant” and an “epidemic.”

State leaders estimate that fraud costs the average American between $400 and $700 annually in the form of higher premiums. Officials go on to say that Floridians must be especially vigilant about identifying and penalizing PIP schemes.

To help address the issue, leaders launched FraudFreeFlorida.com, a place in which Florida residents can report instances of fraud.

Drivers wishing to report alleged acts of insurance fraud can visit the site or call 850-413-3115.

– Statute of Limitations for Florida Drivers

In the world of car accidents and collisions, the term “statute of limitations” is important. A statute of limitations can be defined as the maximum amount of time one can decide to initiate legal action following an accident.

This can apply to both personal injury and property damage, and vary from state to state. That being said, in the state of Florida, the statute of limitations is four years, for both personal injury and property damage.

– Florida’s Vehicle Licensing Laws

Whether you’re a novice driver or a seasoned motorist, all Florida drivers must adhere to the state’s licensing laws.

For the next few moments, we’re giving you an inside look at what it takes to apply for and maintain your license.

– Real ID in Florida

The state of Florida, along with almost every state in the country, enforces driver’s license requirements in accordance with the federal REAL ID Act.

Passed in Congress in 2005,  REAL ID calls for a minimum set of security standards for state-issued licenses. Drivers who don’t have compliant REAL ID licenses by October 1, 2020 (or an acceptable alternative ID) will not be able to get through most airport security checkpoints.

Under the terms of the REAL ID Act, drivers must provide documentation establishing their identities – some examples include birth certificates, social security cards, and proof of residential address. You can find out what documents are acceptable by clicking here.

Building upon these standards, the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles began issuing new Florida driver licenses and ID cards in August 2017. The new cards showcase a number of enhanced security features, including the placement of photos in multiple locations, ultraviolet ink, and more.

Here’s an example as illustrated by the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles.

Florida REAL ID

You can also watch the news report below for additional insight. To learn more about these changes, click here.

– Florida Penalties for Driving Without Insurance

It can’t be stated enough —you must carry proof of your coverage in your vehicle at all times – it is the law. Not doing so will result in serious consequences including suspensions and fines:

  • Your driving privileges, license plate, and registration may be suspended for up to three years
  • A reinstatement fee of up to $500, along with demonstrable proof of insurance, will be required to regain driving privileges.

– Teen Driver Laws in Floria

It’s an exciting and significant time in a teen’s life — learning to drive, and earning a license for the very first time.

But being a teen driver comes with a unique set of circumstances and challenges. This includes abiding by the state’s Graduated Licensing Laws (GDL), as well as facing higher-than-normal car insurance rates.

First, we’ll begin by taking look at the state’s GDL system.

In order to earn a learner’s license, teens must be at least 15 years old. In addition, they:

  • Must have a signed or notarized Parental Consent form if they’re under 18
  • Must have proof of completing the TLSAE (Traffic Law and Substance Abuse) course
  • Pass a vision and hearing test, as well as a Class E Knowledge Exam
  • Must be able to provide documents that establish proof of identity, proof of social security, and proof of residential address.
  • Drivers are only permitted to drive during daylight hours for the first three months, and until 10 p.m. afterward.

To earn a Florida Driver License, teens must be at least 16. They must also:

  • Possess a learner’s license for at least one year OR reach age 18
  • Have a parent, legal guardian or responsible adult over 21 complete the Certification of Minor Driving Experience Form. This certifies the completion of 50 hours of driving experience, including nighttime hours.
  • Drivers cannot have any moving violation convictions for one year from the date of when their learner’s license was issued
  • Must pass the Class E Driving Skills Test. Note that the car used for the driving test must have a valid registration, proof of insurance, and pass a basic vehicle inspection.
  • Must provide documents establishing proof of identity, social security, and residential address.

Finally, teen drivers will need to make a note of certain nighttime driving restrictions:

  • 16-year-olds cannot drive between 11 p.m. and 6 a.m.
  • 17-year-olds cannot drive between 1 a.m. and 5.am.

For a full list of rules and exceptions, visit this site.

To parents and teens experiencing sticker shock from high car insurance premiums, know this — there are ways to save. Searching for discounts will be crucial, especially those catering to teens and students:

Discount for TeensDetails
Driver's EducationDiscounts for taking a driver's education courses.
Check with your provider to see what courses are eligible.
Distant StudentSometimes referred to as "Away Student" or "Resident Away."
Discounts for college students attending college at least 100 miles away and without a car
Good StudentDiscounts for students earning a minimum 3.0 or B average.

– License Renewal Procedures for Older Drivers in Florida

A popular destination for retirees, the Sunshine State is often associated with an older population.

In fact, the state’s Department of Elder Affairs sheds more light on the number of older drivers hitting the road in Florida:

Florida Drivers by AgeStatistics
Older Drivers (Age 60+)5,092,124
All Drivers16,980,735

Here’s what you need to know — as drivers age, so does their driving risk. In fact, the III reports that older drivers have some of the highest rates of vehicle fatalities among all age groups

As a result, Florida state law dictates specific requirements for older drivers looking to renew their licenses.

  • A Florida Class E license must be renewed every eight years for drivers 79-years-old and younger.
  • Once drivers turn 80, licenses must be renewed every six years.
  • Drivers who are over 80 but not eligible to renew must pass a vision test.

For more specific rules and regulations, visit this site.

– New Florida Residents

Under state law, new residents have 30 days to get a new license upon establishing residency.

Depending on the license, you may be asked to take a hearing, vision, driving, or knowledge exam test at one of the state’s driver license centers.

The standard, Original Class E license costs $48.

Click here to see a full list of licenses and fees.

Click here to learn more about general license information.

– Florida License Renewal Procedures

Florida drivers are required to renew their licenses every eight years.

Some drivers will be able to renew online, by heading to GoRenew.com and following the site’s prompts.

However, others will need to renew in person. This includes:

  • Becoming REAL ID compliant
  • Updating your photo
  • Changing your name
  • Adding or removing a designation
  • A court order to update their credential.
  • Getting a Florida driver’s license or ID card for the first time.
  • If you have a commercial driver’s license.
  • If your license has the word “TEMPORARY” printed on it.

Learn more by visiting this site.

– Negligent Operator Treatment System (NOTS) in Florida

Careless driving, speeding, and failing to yield to pedestrians.

They’re all traffic violations that can lead to points being added to your driving record. What drivers need to remember is that getting too many points in a set period of time can result in your license being suspended.

Here’s a breakdown of each threshold that can lead to suspension:

POINTSSUSPENSION
12 points within 12 months30-day suspension
18 points within 18 monthsThree-month suspension
24 points within 36 monthsOne-year suspension

Finally, here’s a list of common traffic violation points, according to the state. For a complete guide, you can view this document.

DESCRIPTIONPOINTS
RECKLESS DRIVING4
CRASH - Leaving scene without giving information more than $50 damage (specify amount)6
CRASH - Fail to leave information UNATTENDED vehicle - property damage6
CARELESS DRIVING3
SPEEDING3
Violation of 316.183(2), 316.187, or 316.189, Speed in excess of 50 MPH4
TOO fast for conditions3
Passing on enter/exit side while bus is stopped [See 318.19(3) Mandatory Hearing Required]4
SCHOOL BUS - failure to stop for (school election available to have adjudication withheld)4
Fail to stop at STEADY RED signal, one-way street, before making left turn4
Fail to obey traffic control signal (Failed to stop at traffic signal/red light)4
Fail to stop at STEADY RED signal3
Failed to yield right-of-way to pedestrian3
TRAFFIC CONTROL DEVICE Fail to obey traffic control device (sign)3
FAILED TO YIELD3
BACKING - improper3
CHILD RESTRAINT - Infant thru 3 years MUST be in SEPARATE carrier, 4-5 years in carrier/seat belt. Applies to ANY location in vehicle (Driver to be cited)3

– Florida Rules of the Road

How fast is too fast?

When do drivers need to keep right or move over?

At what age do children need to be in car seats?

All valid questions for any Florida driver, and all the more reason to know the state’s rules of the road. We’re breaking them down right now:

– Fault vs. No-Fault

Florida is one of 12 no-fault states in the U.S., plus Puerto Rico. Experts say the intent behind no-fault insurance is to reduce the delays and hassles that can come with insurance claims and litigation.

In fact, the idea behind no-fault insurance is that if drivers are able to file claims with their own insurers, claims will not only be paid more quickly, but drivers would also be less likely to file lawsuits.

It’s important to note that even if a state is considered no-fault, drivers can still make claims against at-fault drivers. However, in order to do so, injuries sustained in the crash must meet certain thresholds set by their state. In Florida, this will include at least one of the following:

  • Significant disfigurement
  • Bone fracture
  • Permanent limitation of use of a body organ or member
  • Significant limitation of use of a body function or system
  • Substantially full disability for 90 days.

In moving to make a claim against an at-fault party, drivers can pursue pain and suffering, as well as other non-monetary damages.

Keep in mind that this form of insurance is certainly not without its detractors.

Opponents argue that Florida’s PIP system not only opens the door to fraud, but it also continues to produce lawsuits — and in record numbers. In fact, a report from the Florida Justice Reform Institute indicates that PIP-related lawsuits hit a record in 2017.

Some lawmakers have even pushed for the repeal of Florida’s PIP. However, these efforts have not been successful to date.

– Florida Seatbelt and Car Seat laws

It’s been proven time and time again — seat belts save lives.

In fact, an NHTSA study found that between 1960 and 2012, seat belts saved 329,715 lives — more than all other vehicle technologies combined.

Statistics like this remind us why the state of Florida, and many others, have seat belt and car seat laws in place. 

When it comes to the state’s seat belt laws:

As for the state’s car seat laws:

  • Children ages 5 and younger must be in a child safety seat.
  • Adult belts are not acceptable.
  • Not doing so can result in a fine of $60 (first offense – additional fees may apply)

Finally, riding in pickup truck beds is prohibited for anyone under 18with some exceptions.

– Keep Right and Move Over Laws in Florida

Under Florida’s “Move Over Law”, drivers who encounter stopped law enforcement, emergency, utility service vehicles, sanitation, tow trucks, or wreckers while on the road are expected to slow down 20 mph less than the posted speed limit (or to 5 mph if the posted speed limit is 20 mph or less).

Drivers are also asked to vacate the lane closest to the stationary vehicle if at all possible.

The state’s “Keep Right” law asks slower drivers to yield and move right if they are blocking traffic in the left lane, or to let faster traffic pass.

– Florida Maximum Speed Limits

Here’s a look at Florida’s maximum speed limits:

Road TypeMax Speed Limit
Rural Interstates70 mph
Urban Interstates65 mph
Other Limited Access Roads70 mph
Other Roads65 mph

– Ridesharing Coverage in Florida

The research is in, and it’s official — more and more Americans are using ridesharing services.

The Pew Research Center reports that 36 percent of all U.S. adults have used a ridesharing service like Uber or Lyft. This is a huge jump from just 15 percent in 2015.

But it’s not just about catching rides. Many are getting behind the wheel as a source of income.

Because ridesharing drivers are using their cars for business, and not personal use, not all traditional insurers will cover their needs. 

However, Florida, drivers have some options with State Farm, Foremost (a subsidiary of Farmers), Prime Insurance, Progressive, Infinity, USAA, and Geico.

– Automation on the Road

State officials have made important strides in enhancing autonomous vehicle technology in Florida.

According to this press release, the signing of CS/HB 311: Autonomous Vehicles in June 2019 “removes unnecessary obstacles that hinder the development of autonomous vehicle technology and solidifies Florida’s position as a leading state for transportation innovation.”

Officials go on to say that, “CS/HB 311 embraces the future of transportation by removing barriers to the advancement of autonomous vehicles and establishing a statewide statutory framework.”

In the meantime, the Florida Automated Vehicles (FAV) Program, aims to deploy autonomous vehicles throughout the state.

According to program officials, the use of autonomous vehicles and connected vehicle technology “can improve safety and efficiency of our transportation system in Florida since over 90 percent of traffic crashes are due to human error.”

The FAV program has been engaged in a number of pilot projects, research projects, and working groups — all with a goal of reducing congestion and improving safety. You can learn more by visiting this site.

– Florida Safety Laws

Distracted driving, and Driving Under the Influence. They’re both dangerous and avoidable acts that carry serious consequences — even the loss of life.

By gaining a greater understanding of both, drivers will not only protect themselves, but they’ll also protect others.

– Florida DUI Laws

839.

It’s the number of alcohol-impaired driving deaths that occurred in the state of Florida in 2017, according to the Foundation for Advancing Alcohol Responsibility.

The foundation additionally reports that Florida had an alcohol-impaired driving fatality rate of four per 100,000 population. This is higher than the national average of 3.4 per 100,000.

Driving under the influence carries serious repercussions under Florida state law. See the table below for a breakdown:

DUI Laws
in Florida
Details
BAC Limit0.08
1st Offense - Imprisonment8hrs minimum, but not more than 6 months;
with high BAC or minor in car, not more than 9 months;
for a first Conviction, total period of probation and incarceration may not exceed 1 year
1st Offense - Fine$500-$1000;
High BAC or minor in car, $1000-$2000
2nd Offense - ImprisonmentNot more than 9 months;
with high BAC or minor in car, not more than 12 months;
If 2nd in 5 years, mandatory imprisonment at least 10 days with 48 hours consecutive confinement
2nd Offense - Fine$1000-$2000;
High BAC or minor in car, $2000-$4000
3rd Offense - ImprisonmentIf 3rd in 10 years, mandatory 30 days with 48 consecutive hours;
if 3rd in over 10 years, imprisonment for not more than 12 months
3rd Offense - FineMore than 10 years from 2nd conviction: $2000-$5000;
high BAC or minor in car, $4000 min

– Marijuana-Impaired Driving Laws

We also checked with the foundation to see what marijuana-impaired driving laws may be in place in Florida. Although several states have laws in place, that is not the case for Florida. According to the site:

The state of Florida does not have any laws in place when it comes to marijuana-specific drugged driving.

– Florida Distracted Driving Laws

In 2017, 3,166 people were killed in distracted-driving crashes.

It’s why more and more states, including Florida, are taking action.

As of July 1, 2019 it is illegal to text and drive, and it is now seen as a primary offense.

Here’s what else drivers need to know —

  • A first offense carries a base fine of $30
  • A second offense within five years carries a base fine of $60, and three points on your license
  • An offense in a school or work zone carries a base fine of $60, with three points on your license.
  • Drivers can use headsets if sound is provided in one ear, freeing the driver to hear with the other.

Driving Safely in Florida

From vehicle thefts, to road fatalities — they’re the kinds of trends every Florida driver should be aware of.

As we wrap up this guide, we’re taking a closer look at the stats and trends surrounding road fatalities in Florida.

– Vehicle Theft in Florida

It’s a costly crime, impacting countless drivers annually. In fact, experts estimate that 237.4 cars per 100,000 people were stolen in 2017, costing drivers six billion dollars.

FBI statistics reveal the following Florida cities with the highest amount of vehicle theft in 2017:

  1. Jacksonville (2,925 thefts)
  2. Miami (1,835 thefts)
  3. Orlando (1,387 thefts)
  4. St. Petersburg (978 thefts)
  5. Fort Lauderdale (925 thefts)

Below, we’ve compiled a list of the top 10 most stolen vehicles in Florida:

Make/ModelYear of VehicleThefts
Ford Pickup (Full Size)20062,070
Honda Civic20001,127
Nissan Altima20151,098
Toyota Camry20141,089
Honda Accord19971,025
Toyota Corolla2014914
Chevrolet Pickup (Full Size)2015786
Chevrolet Impala2015542
Dodge Pickup (Full Size)2005534
Nissan Maxima2014479

– Road Fatalities in Florida

Unfortunately, car crashes happen. What’s worse, is that many will end with fatalities.

Through data provided by the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration, we’re able to take a closer look at some of the trends surrounding fatal crashes in Florida — where they’re happening, and how often they’re occurring.

– Most fatal highway in Florida

East coast motorists will be familiar with U.S. Highway 1, as it stretches from Northeast Florida down to the Keys. What drivers may not be aware of, is the highway’s status as the deadliest highway in America.

Geotab reveals that when compared to roads in all 50 states, U.S.1 Ranks first in the following categories:

  • Fatal crash rate (2.8)
  • Crashes (1,011)
  • Fatalities (10,079)

The site goes on to say that the Florida section of U.S. 1 “saw more fatal crashes for any highway in any state in the last 10 years.”

– Fatal Crashes by Weather Condition and Light Condition

In looking at fatal crashes at various times of day and weather conditions, we see that the majority are taking place during normal daylight hours:

Weather ConditionDaylightDark, but LightedDarkDawn or DuskOther / UnknownTotal
Normal1,12580165814742,735
Rain61473150144
Snow/Sleet000000
Other38243240
Unknown012003
TOTAL1,18985771515562,922

– Fatalities (All Crashes) by County

Reviewing crashes county-by-county reveals the obvious — a higher number of fatalities in larger counties. According to this data, the counties with the highest number of fatalities in 2017 were Miami-Dade (285), Broward (225), Hillsborough (190), Orange (189), and Palm Beach (162).

County20132014201520162017
Alachua3330374655
Baker9212137
Bay1730323829
Bradford541067
Brevard7665829884
Broward180173224245225
Calhoun12431
Charlotte2219233027
Citrus1726292431
Clay1018332621
Collier3339463523
Columbia1715222020
Desoto27161115
Dixie92624
Duval133120133156151
Escambia4543494651
Flagler1624122533
Franklin22151
Gadsden126121819
Gilchrist43354
Glades8314213
Gulf22219
Hamilton36559
Hardee5102512
Hendry11810199
Hernando2920352534
Highlands2121222118
Hillsborough171158190228190
Holmes659910
Indian River2222242628
Jackson918301817
Jefferson61574
Lafayette50425
Lake4841615548
Lee928195105113
Leon1833294034
Levy2113212323
Liberty21043
Madison94772
Manatee4049567154
Marion4655707090
Martin1520303425
Miami-Dade225280339294285
Monroe2011213218
Nassau1017152218
Okaloosa2229342132
Okeechobee12961013
Orange124143142171189
Osceola4250494955
Palm Beach137130187181162
Pasco55717086107
Pinellas83116103128118
Polk94113112137111
Putnam1920202626
Santa Rosa3118191319
Sarasota3131586849
Seminole4430444147
St. Johns3139373042
St. Lucie3338363541
Sumter1920171723
Suwannee1317122014
Taylor664613
Union21324
Volusia908687122130
Wakulla322147
Walton171391721
Washington835510

– Traffic Fatalities in Florida

When comparing fatalities on rural and urban roads, we see that fatalities are consistently happening more frequently on urban roads.

Road Type201520162017
Rural859870674
Urban1,9722,2751,731
Unknown10731707
Total2,9383,1763,112

– Fatalities by Person Type

In looking at data from 2013 to 2017, we see a higher rate of fatalities among car passengers.

Person Type20132014201520162017
Passenger Car7267689031,0481,001
Light Truck - Pickup189199213289256
Light Truck - Utility219186271262306
Light Truck - Van8154739477
Light Truck - Other20282
Large Truck2522313045
Other/Unknown Occupants2629253430
Bus02060
Total Motorcyclists485478615586590
Pedestrian499588629653654
Bicyclist and Other Cyclist133139150138125
Other/Unknown Nonoccupants1829262826
Total2,4032,4942,9383,1763,112

– Fatalities by Crash Type

These figures show that from 2013 to 2017, the greatest number of fatalities occurred in single-vehicle crashes, followed by roadway departures.

Crash Type20132014201520162017
Single Vehicle1,3761,3951,6001,6961,622
Involving a Large Truck197190225293292
Involving Speeding346245320310299
Involving a Rollover431371481573538
Involving a Roadway Departure9579401,0711,2031,122
Involving an Intersection (or Intersection Related)
Total Fatalities (All Crashes)2,4032,4942,9383,1763,112

– Five-Year Trend For The Top 10 Counties in Florida

Among the 10 largest counties in the state, Miami Dade and Broward have the highest number of fatalities.

County20132014201520162017
Miami-Dade County225280339294285
Broward County180173224245225
Hillsborough County171158190228190
Orange County124143142171189
Palm Beach County137130187181162
Duval County133120133156151
Volusia County908687122130
Pinellas County83116103128118
Lee County928195105113
Polk County94113112137111
Top Ten Counties1,3291,4001,6121,7671,674
All Other Counties1,0741,0941,3261,4091,438
All Counties2,4032,4942,9383,1763,112

– Fatalities Involving Speeding by County

In 2017, Miami-Dade, Broward, Hillsborough, and Lee counties all had more than 20 fatalities involving speeding.

County20132014201520162017
Alachua93568
Baker01011
Bay23275
Bradford01010
Brevard1168915
Broward2819302822
Calhoun00000
Charlotte32352
Citrus30222
Clay00132
Collier62112
Columbia25223
Desoto00630
Dixie50000
Duval1654911
Escambia106238
Flagler23112
Franklin11000
Gadsden00164
Gilchrist30101
Glades11101
Gulf20000
Hamilton00214
Hardee00000
Hendry13032
Hernando20510
Highlands01302
Hillsborough3427302722
Holmes00400
Indian River01230
Jackson22342
Jefferson20301
Lafayette20100
Lake50632
Lee1513181221
Leon35733
Levy32721
Liberty00010
Madison30000
Manatee33151
Marion969710
Martin03282
Miami-Dade3125293023
Monroe32011
Nassau20010
Okaloosa24132
Okeechobee11003
Orange1610101019
Osceola42100
Palm Beach1915373118
Pasco22764
Pinellas716141316
Polk159181113
Putnam41201
Santa Rosa53102
Sarasota526114
Seminole85355
St. Johns56214
St. Lucie50334
Sumter32200
Suwannee72223
Taylor00011
Union00000
Volusia1388129
Wakulla11001
Walton04123
Washington01001

– Fatalities in Crashes Involving an Alcohol-Impaired Driver by County

The counties with the highest number of fatalities in accidents involving alcohol-impaired drivers in 2017 were Miami-Dade (66), Broward (57), Orange (51), Duval (44), and Hillsborough (44)

County20132014201520162017
Alachua9813914
Baker12452
Bay4129155
Bradford21021
Brevard1415252522
Broward5142566657
Calhoun00101
Charlotte6651012
Citrus364713
Clay34896
Collier712964
Columbia34846
Desoto044310
Dixie60513
Duval3939395344
Escambia2411141215
Flagler512366
Franklin11010
Gadsden20758
Gilchrist10102
Glades31405
Gulf21101
Hamilton12134
Hardee16012
Hendry43353
Hernando64769
Highlands53674
Hillsborough5647547044
Holmes00214
Indian River29976
Jackson44553
Jefferson20030
Lafayette20111
Lake227151615
Lee2419333338
Leon61481410
Levy451017
Liberty10011
Madison22131
Manatee1215132015
Marion1212141922
Martin4510108
Miami-Dade5173817366
Monroe93793
Nassau32564
Okaloosa6101246
Okeechobee53213
Orange3342446051
Osceola1110101219
Palm Beach3632465440
Pasco1613232024
Pinellas2240244334
Polk2627343329
Putnam51091310
Santa Rosa154724
Sarasota87172116
Seminole911121210
St. Johns5109910
St. Lucie714799
Sumter56346
Suwannee63542
Taylor11015
Union11211
Volusia2526214038
Wakulla12034
Walton87359
Washington10012

– Teen Drinking and Driving

In 2016, Florida’s rate of under-21 alcohol-impaired driving fatalities was 1.6 per 100,000 population.

This figure was higher than the national average of 1.2 per 100,000 population.

Below, we’ve compiled data highlighting DUI arrests among teens in Florida:

Teen Drinking and DrivingStats
DUI Arrest
(Under 18 years old)
109
DUI Arrests (Under 18 years old)
Total Per Million People
26.29
Rank47

– EMS Response Time

Finally, here’s a look at the average response times for Emergency Vehicles in Florida:

Road TypeTime of Crash
to EMS Notification
EMS Notification
to EMS Arrival
EMS Arrival at Scene
to Hospital Arrival
Time of Crash
to Hospital Arrival
Rural6.2110.69NANA
Urban2.146.6319.526

– Transportation in Florida

Commute times, traffic congestion, and car ownership.

They’re characteristics every Florida driver can relate to. With the help of Data USA, we’re breaking down each factor below.

– Car Ownership in Florida

First, we begin with car ownership. Data USA reports that in 2017, 44 percent of all Florida drivers owned two cars. The next highest group were drivers who owned one car, at 22.7 percent.

– Commute Time

When it comes to commute times, Florida drivers are averaging 26.1 minutes, which is slightly higher than the national average of 25.5 minutes.

This commute time is higher than that of neighboring Alabama (23.8 minutes) but is lower than that of nearby Georgia (27.1 minutes).

But for some Florida drivers, the commute gets even longer. That’s because an estimated 2.33 percent of Florida’s workforce (roughly 205,000 households) experience “super commutes” of over 90 minutes. The image below compares average drive times in Florida (in orange) to drive times in the rest of the country.

– Commuter Transportation

When it comes to whether Floridians are driving alone or carpooling, we find the majority prefer to go it alone.

Roughly 7.44 million households, or 79 percent of Florida drivers, drive by themselves. This compares to just 9 percent who carpool.

– Traffic Congestion

Endless congestion, and bumper-to-bumper traffic.

We get it — bad traffic makes for driving headaches. But for some Florida cities, the problem is more commonplace.

To learn which Florida communities have higher levels of traffic, we turned to the INRIX 2018 Global Traffic Scorecard. We reviewed the data and found four Florida cities on the list:

City2018 Impact Rank
(Rank in 2017)
Hours Lost in Congestion
(Hours in 2017)
Change from
2017 to 2018
Cost of Congestion
(per driver)
Inner City Travel
Time (in minutes)
Inner City Last Mile Speed
(MPH)
Miami, FL73 (70)105 (106)-5%$1,470512
Tampa, FL107 (114)87 (139)11%$1,216513
Orlando, FL127 (125)74 (155)16%$1,037415
Jacksonville, FL179 (180)60 (181)1%$840317

What shouldn’t come as a surprise is that the state’s most populous cities make this list, with Miami taking the top spot. In fact, Miami drivers are losing an estimated 105 hours of time behind the wheel, costing an estimated $1,470 annually.

With that, we conclude our Full Florida Auto Insurance Guide. Now is the best time to begin shopping rates and comparing companies. Start now by entering your zip code into our FREE car insurance comparison tool.

Compare Insurance Quotes!

Compare Quotes from Top Companies and Save